DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, sixth line from bottom, “an adaptor” should read “[[an]] the adaptor” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Claim 1, fourth line from bottom, “a power driver” should read “[[a]] the power driver” to avoid the antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the language recites “the radially inwardly facing surface”. However, the term “the radially inwardly facing surface” lacks proper antecedent basis because it is not precisely clear which radially inwardly facing surface is being referenced, wherein the claim previously introduces a radially inwardly facing surface of the first drive end, the second drive end and the third drive end. For purposes of examination, as best understood by the examiner, the language will be interpreted as referencing the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold (US Patent 5901620) in view of MacDonald (US PGPUB 20190321946) and further in view of Todd et al. (US Patent 9981366), hereinafter Todd.
Regarding claim 1, Arnold teaches a pass-through socket tool set (figs. 6, 11 and 12); the tool set comprising:
a ratchet wrench (fig. 6) comprising;
a ratchet head (see annotated fig. 6 below),
a handle extending from the ratchet head to allow a user to apply a torque force to the ratchet head (see annotated fig. 6 below), and
a socket drive member (pawl member 38) mounted in the ratchet head (see annotated fig. 6 below) to selectively transfer torque from the ratchet head to a socket engaged in the socket drive member (fig. 6 and 11), the socket drive member having a pass-through opening (as shown in fig. 11) including an radially inwardly facing socket drive surface (fig. 6, teeth 40) centered on a drive axis (the teeth 40 are centered on their own drive axis) and configured to transfer torque from the drive member to a socket engaged in the socket drive member (col. 5, lines 46-56);
a first nut driving socket (fig. 6, socket 10) having a first drive end (fig. 6), a first driven end (fig. 6), and a first pass-through opening extending along a first longitudinal axis and sized to allow a threaded rod or shank of a predetermined diameter to extend through the first nut driving socket from the first drive end to the first driven end (fig. 11), the first drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the first longitudinal axis (fig. 10, surface 18) and configured to drivingly engage a hexagonal shaped exterior of a first size on a threaded nut (col. 5, lines 6-12), the first driven end having an radially outwardly facing surface centered on the first longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by the socket drive surface of the drive member (fig. 6, ratchet gear 26);
a second nut driving socket (fig. 12 and 13 showing a set of different sized driving sockets) having a second drive end, a second driven end (fig. 12), and a second pass-through opening extending along a second longitudinal axis and sized to allow a threaded rod or shank of the predetermined diameter to extend through the second nut driving socket from the second drive end to the second driven end (fig. 11), the second drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the second longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage a hexagonal shaped exterior of a second size on a threaded nut (col. 5, lines 6-12), the second size being larger than the first size (col. 7, lines 1-5), the second driven end having an radially outwardly facing surface centered on the second longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by the socket drive surface of the drive member (fig. 12).
Arnold does not explicitly teach
an adaptor to allow attachment to a power driver;
a socket driving extension having a third drive end, a third driven end, and a third pass-through opening centered on a third longitudinal axis and sized to allow a threaded rod or shank of the predetermined diameter to extend through the socket driving extension from the third drive end to the third driven end, the third drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the third longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first and second driven ends, the third driven end having an radially outwardly facing surface centered on the third longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by the socket drive surface of the drive member; and
an adaptor having a shank extending from a fourth drive end, the shank having an exterior surface centered on a fourth longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by a quick connect of a power driver, the fourth drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the fourth longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends.
However, MacDonald teaches a ratcheting wrench which includes an extension pass through socket 58 (fig. 16). Specifically, MacDonald teaches
a socket driving extension (fig. 16, socket 58) having a third drive end, a third driven end, and a third pass-through opening centered on a third longitudinal axis and sized to allow a threaded rod or shank of the predetermined diameter to extend through the socket driving extension from the third drive end to the third driven end (fig. 16), the third drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the third longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first and second driven ends (fig. 16, [0096]), the third driven end having an radially outwardly facing surface centered on the third longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by the socket drive surface of the drive member (fig. 16, [0096]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Arnold to incorporate the teachings of MacDonald to provide a socket driving extension having a third drive end, a third driven end, and a third pass-through opening centered on a third longitudinal axis and sized to allow a threaded rod or shank of the predetermined diameter to extend through the socket driving extension from the third drive end to the third driven end, the third drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the third longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first and second driven ends, the third driven end having an radially outwardly facing surface centered on the third longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by the socket drive surface of the drive member.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the extension socket members of MacDonald into the set of Arnold, wherein the incorporated extension socket members are sized to cooperate with the set of Arnold. Doing so would provide increased utility and maneuverability for the operator in different situations/environments.
Arnold, as modified, does not explicitly teach
an adaptor to allow attachment to a power driver;
an adaptor having a shank extending from a fourth drive end, the shank having an exterior surface centered on a fourth longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by a quick connect of a power driver, the fourth drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the fourth longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends.
However, Todd teaches a socket and driver including
an adaptor (fig. 1, driver 10) to allow attachment to a power driver (col. 2, lines 45-50; wherein the driver is capable of allowing attachment to a power driver);
an adaptor (fig. 1, driver 10) having a shank (shank 12) extending from a fourth drive end (fig. 1), the shank having an exterior surface centered on a fourth longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by a quick connect of a power driver (fig. 1, the shank is capable of being drivingly engaged by a quick connect of a power driver), the fourth drive end being configured to attach to a socket 32.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Arnold, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Todd to provide
an adaptor to allow attachment to a power driver;
an adaptor having a shank extending from a fourth drive end, the shank having an exterior surface centered on a fourth longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by a quick connect of a power driver, the fourth drive end having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the fourth longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to incorporate the driver 10 of Todd into the set of Arnold, wherein the driver 10 of Todd is configured to operate with the socket set of Arnold. Doing so would increase the utility of Arnold’s set and the compatibility of use of the socket set with different driving input means (col. 2, lines 45-50 of Todd).
Regarding claim 3, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Arnold, as modified, teaches wherein the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends have identical transverse profiles (fig. 12 of Arnold, col. 7, lines 1-3 of Arnold, see above rejection of claim 1 for more details).
Regarding claim 6, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Arnold, as modified, teaches wherein the exterior surface of the shank has a hexagonally shaped transverse profile (hex shaped shaft 14 of Todd, as incorporated above).
Regarding claim 7, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 6. Additionally, Arnold, as modified, teaches wherein the shank includes an annular groove (annular groove 16 of Todd, as incorporated above).
Regarding claim 8, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Arnold, as modified, teaches wherein each of the radially inwardly facing surfaces of the first and second drive ends has a hexagonal shaped transverse profile (col. 5, lines 6-12 of Arnold).
Regarding claim 9, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Additionally, Arnold, as modified, teaches
further comprising a plurality of additional nut driving sockets (fig. 12-13 of Arnold), each having an additional drive end, an additional driven end, and an additional pass-through opening extending along an additional longitudinal axis and sized to allow a threaded rod or shank of the predetermined diameter to extend through the additional nut driving socket from the additional drive end to the additional driven end (figs. 11-13 of Arnold), each of the additional drive ends having a radially inwardly facing surface centered on the additional longitudinal axis and configured to drivingly engage a hexagonal shaped exterior of an additional size on a threaded nut (fig. 12-13 of Arnold), each of the additional size being different than any of the other additional sizes and different than the first and second size (fig. 12 of Arnold), each of the additional driven ends having an radially outwardly facing surface centered on the additional longitudinal axis and configured to be drivingly engaged by each of the socket drive surface of the drive member, the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end, and the radially inwardly facing surface of the fourth drive end (fig. 12 of Arnold).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold (US Patent 5901620) in view of MacDonald (US PGPUB 20190321946) and further in view of Todd et al. (US Patent 9981366), hereinafter Todd, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu (US Patent 6971286).
Regarding claim 2, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Arnold, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end have identical transverse profiles.
However, Hu teaches a ratcheting wrench with a 12 point drive surface (fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Arnold, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hu to provide wherein the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end have identical transverse profiles. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end have identical transverse 12 point profiles, wherein the torque transfer interface of Arnold, as modified, is a twelve point configuration. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known torque transfer profile for another known torque transfer profile to obtain the predictable results of providing a profile to transfer torque from the tool to the workpiece. Additionally, doing so would promote stability of the torque transfer due to the 12 point profile configuration and also promote universal configurations.
Regarding claim 4, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Arnold, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein each of the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surface is defined by twelve axially extending grooves that are equally circumferentially spaced from each other.
However, Hu teaches a ratcheting wrench with a 12 point drive surface including twelve axially extending grooves that are equally circumferentially spaced from each other (fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Arnold, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hu to provide wherein each of the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surface is defined by twelve axially extending grooves that are equally circumferentially spaced from each other. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end have identical transverse 12 point profiles, wherein the torque transfer interface of Arnold, as modified, is a twelve point configuration. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known torque transfer profile for another known torque transfer profile to obtain the predictable results of providing a profile to transfer torque from the tool to the workpiece. Additionally, doing so would promote stability of the torque transfer due to the 12 point profile configuration and also promote universal configurations.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold (US Patent 5901620) in view of MacDonald (US PGPUB 20190321946) and further in view of Todd et al. (US Patent 9981366), hereinafter Todd, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hobbs (US Patent 6019019).
Regarding claim 5, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1. Arnold, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends is defined by twelve axially extending teeth that are equally circumferentially spaced from each other.
However, Hobbs teaches a wrench mechanism including wherein the radially outwardly facing surface of the torque transfer interface is defined by twelve axially extending teeth that are equally circumferentially spaced from each other (fig. 1, outer surface 24 with 12 point configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Arnold, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Hobbs to provide wherein the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends is defined by twelve axially extending teeth that are equally circumferentially spaced from each other. Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends of Arnold, as modified, includes the twelve point configuration of Hobbs, wherein the torque transfer interface of Arnold, as modified, is a twelve point configuration. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known torque transfer profile for another known torque transfer profile to obtain the predictable results of providing a profile to transfer torque from the tool to the workpiece. Additionally, doing so would promote stability of the torque transfer due to the 12 point profile configuration and also promote universal configurations.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold (US Patent 5901620) in view of MacDonald (US PGPUB 20190321946) and further in view of Todd et al. (US Patent 9981366), hereinafter Todd, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chow (US Patent 5295422).
Regarding claim 10, Arnold, as modified, teaches the claimed invention as rejected above in claim 1.
Additionally, Arnold, as modified, teaches a retaining element 42 (fig. 10).
Arnold, as modified, does not explicitly teach wherein:
each of the socket drive surface of the drive member, the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end, and the radially inwardly facing surface of the fourth drive end has an annular groove receiving a circular shaped retaining ring; and
each of the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second, and third driven ends includes at least on relief configured to receive a portion of each of the retaining rings when the driven ends are drivingly engaged with each of the socket drive surface of the drive member, the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end, and the radially inwardly facing surface of the fourth drive end.
However, Chow teaches a wrench including an annular groove 15 (fig. 1) located on the internal driving surface which receives a circular shaped retaining ring 16, wherein the radially outward driven surface includes a relief 24 configured to receive a portion of the retaining ring 16 when the driven surface is drivingly engaged with the drive surface (col. 2, lines 13-17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified, Arnold, as modified, to incorporate the teachings of Chow to provide wherein:
each of the socket drive surface of the drive member, the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end, and the radially inwardly facing surface of the fourth drive end has an annular groove receiving a circular shaped retaining ring; and
each of the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second, and third driven ends includes at least on relief configured to receive a portion of each of the retaining rings when the driven ends are drivingly engaged with each of the socket drive surface of the drive member, the radially inwardly facing surface of the third drive end, and the radially inwardly facing surface of the fourth drive end.
Specifically, it would have been obvious to provide wherein the socket drive surface and the radially inwardly facing surfaces of the third and further drive ends have an annular groove receiving a circular shaped retaining ring (as taught by Chow), wherein the radially outwardly facing surface of each of the first, second and third driven ends of Arnold, as modified, includes a relief configured to receive a portion of the respective retaining ring when the driven ends are drivingly engaged. Doing so would have been a simple substitution (MPEP 2143) of one known retaining configuration for another known retaining configuration to obtain the predictable results of retaining the elements together during operation. Additionally, doing so would solidly couple the elements together during operation (col. 2, lines 13-17 of Chow) which prevents damage to the operator and workpiece.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mullen (US Patent 7044031) teaches a fastener driving tool similar to the instant adaptor.
Carroll (US PGPUB 20040074344) teaches an external torque transfer interface similar to the claimed invention.
/MICHAEL A GUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723