DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US Application 2018/0124753, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claims 1, 14,Sun discloses an apparatus (Figs. 5, 6) comprising at least one processor (604) coupled with a non-transitory computer-readable medium (605) having stored thereon, computer executable instructions([0099]-[0100]), that when executed cause the at least one processor to perform a method(Figs. 1,5, 7,10) comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of two stage DCI, the first stage DCI (Abstract, [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites various control information, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI) for one or more scheduled entities, may be transmitted. The DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700) comprising:
scheduling information for a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI, wherein the scheduling information identifies a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is a physical channel without data transmission(Abstract, [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites various control information, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI) for one or more scheduled entities, may be transmitted. The DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700); and
an indication as to whether the scheduling information for the second stage DCI is for scheduling an initial transmission or a retransmission of the second stage DCI; and receiving, by the UE in the first stage DCI(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites transmission of downlink control information (DCI). Embodiments can provide techniques for piggybacking the DCI in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) as follows:
receiving, by the UE in the first stage DCI, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) configuration information for HARQ feedback for the initial transmission of the second stage DCI(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites the DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. Thus, DCI-2 710 may be time division multiplexed and/or frequency division multiplexed with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. DCI-1 706 may include, for example, initial control information regarding a downlink assignment, while DCI-2 710 may include, for example, remaining control information regarding the downlink assignment. In some examples, the initial control information may include the resource assignment, rank and modulation order of the downlink assignment. In some examples, the remaining control information may include non-time critical control information, such as the HARQ process ID, redundancy version ID, a new data indicator, transmit power control indicator, channel quality indicator request, sounding reference signal request, or downlink assignment index); or
receiving, by the UE, in the first stage DCI, HARQ configuration information for HARQ feedback for the retransmission of the second stage DCI and HARQ configuration information for HARQ feedback for a second PDSCH comprising data transmission scheduled by the retransmission of the second stage DCI(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites the DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. Thus, DCI-2 710 may be time division multiplexed and/or frequency division multiplexed with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. DCI-1 706 may include, for example, initial control information regarding a downlink assignment, while DCI-2 710 may include, for example, remaining control information regarding the downlink assignment. In some examples, the initial control information may include the resource assignment, rank and modulation order of the downlink assignment. In some examples, the remaining control information may include non-time critical control information, such as the HARQ process ID, redundancy version ID, a new data indicator, transmit power control indicator, channel quality indicator request, sounding reference signal request, or downlink assignment index).
Regarding claim 8, Sun discloses a method(Figs. 1,5, 7,10), comprising:
transmitting, by a base station in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a first stage downlink control information (DCI) of two stage DCI, the first stage DCI (Abstract, [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites various control information, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI) for one or more scheduled entities, may be transmitted. The DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700) comprising:
scheduling information for a second stage DCI of the two stage DCI, wherein the scheduling information identifies a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is a physical channel without data transmission(Abstract, [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites various control information, including a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying downlink control information (DCI) for one or more scheduled entities, may be transmitted. The DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700); and
an indication as to whether the scheduling information for the second stage DCI is for scheduling an initial transmission or a retransmission of the second stage DCI(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites transmission of downlink control information (DCI). Embodiments can provide techniques for piggybacking the DCI in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)); and transmitting, by the base station in the first DCI, as follows:
transmitting, by the base station in the first stage DCI, hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) configuration information for HARQ feedback for an initial transmission of the second stage DCI(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites the DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. Thus, DCI-2 710 may be time division multiplexed and/or frequency division multiplexed with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. DCI-1 706 may include, for example, initial control information regarding a downlink assignment, while DCI-2 710 may include, for example, remaining control information regarding the downlink assignment. In some examples, the initial control information may include the resource assignment, rank and modulation order of the downlink assignment. In some examples, the remaining control information may include non-time critical control information, such as the HARQ process ID, redundancy version ID, a new data indicator, transmit power control indicator, channel quality indicator request, sounding reference signal request, or downlink assignment index); or
transmitting, by the base station, in the first stage DCI, HARQ configuration information for HARQ feedback for a retransmission of the second stage DCI and HARQ configuration information for HARQ feedback for a second PDSCH comprising data transmission scheduled by the retransmission of the second stage DCI(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116], which recites the DCI of a PDCCH may be split into a first DCI control portion (DCI-1) 706 and a second control portion (DCI-2) 710. DCI-1 706 may be transmitted within the DL burst 702 of the slot 700, while DCI-2 may be transmitted within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. Thus, DCI-2 710 may be time division multiplexed and/or frequency division multiplexed with downlink user data traffic within the downlink traffic region 704 of the slot 700. DCI-1 706 may include, for example, initial control information regarding a downlink assignment, while DCI-2 710 may include, for example, remaining control information regarding the downlink assignment. In some examples, the initial control information may include the resource assignment, rank and modulation order of the downlink assignment. In some examples, the remaining control information may include non-time critical control information, such as the HARQ process ID, redundancy version ID, a new data indicator, transmit power control indicator, channel quality indicator request, sounding reference signal request, or downlink assignment index).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 15, Sun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: when the scheduling information is for the initial transmission, the HARQ configuration information is selected from a set of values, the set of values comprising values of HARQ feedback timing for the second stage DCI; or when the scheduling information is for the retransmission, the HARQ configuration information is selected from a set of pairs of values, the set of pairs of values comprising pairs of values of HARQ feedback timing for the retransmission of the second stage DCI and HARQ timing for the second PDSCH(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 16, Sun discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the values of HARQ feedback timing are values indicating an offset between a reference slot and an uplink (UL) slot where an acknowledgement (ACK) feedback or negative acknowledgement (NACK) feedback is scheduled for the data transmission(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116]).
Regarding claims 4, 11,17, Sun discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the reference slot is a DL slot where the data transmission is scheduled on the second PDSCH(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 18, Sun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: when the scheduling information is for the initial transmission, the HARQ configuration information is selected from a set of values, the set of values comprising values of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource information for sending the HARQ feedback for the second stage DCI; or when the scheduling information is for the retransmission, the HARQ configuration information is selected from a set of pairs of values, the set of pairs of values comprising pairs of values of PUCCH resource information for the retransmission of the second stage DCI and for the PUCCH resource information for the second PDSCH(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116]).
Regarding claims 6, 19, Sun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the HARQ configuration information is a bit map value that corresponds to one set of values for the initial transmission or one set of pairs of values for the retransmission(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116]).
Regarding claims 7, 13, 20, Sun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: in response to a PUCCH resource of the HARQ feedback for the second stage DCI and the HARQ feedback for the second PDSCH being non-overlapping in time domain, transmitting, by the UE, HARQ feedback on two PUCCH; and in response to the PUCCH resource of the HARQ feedback for the second stage DCI and the HARQ feedback for the second PDSCH overlapping in the time domain, transmitting HARQ feedback on the PUCCH for second stage DCI and not transmitting the HARQ feedback for the second PDSCH(Abstract, [0002], [0083],[0112]-[0116]).
Conclusion
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418