DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 04/24/2026 with respect to previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and persuasive.
Upon further consideration of the prior art of record, including Zhang, Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 04/24/2026 with respect to previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and persuasive.
With respect to the newly amended subject matter and applicant’s arguments, the Examiner relies upon newly cited reference Taimoor et al (US 2025/0201133 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of GSMA (“Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem” “https://www.gsma.com/solutions-and-impact/technologies/internet-of-things/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/ACJA-NetworkCoverage-Service-Definition-v1.00.pdf”) in further view of Zhang et al (US 2025/0063592 A1), (hereinafter Zhang) in further view of Taimoor et al (US 2025/0201133 A1) in further view of De Rosa et al (US 2022/0045747 A1), (Hereinafter De Rosa).
Regarding claim 1, GSMA teaches a method performed by an uncrewed aerial system (UAS), the method comprising: (see GSMA “3.3” fig. 1 and page 16),
receiving from a first network function device of a first network, a network selection policy indicating a second network providing local UAS traffic information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the UAS receives coverage change in active FPL),
receiving from a second network function device of the second network, uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the connectivity service provides coverage information to the UAS),
But GSMA fails to explicitly teach selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information.
However, Zhang teaches selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information (see Zhang paras “0211” and “0249” “the control signaling receiving manager 745 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network, or both, where communicating the sidelink message is based on the first authorization, the second authorization, or both” and “the control signaling transmitting manager 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network” regarding applying the appropriate authorization requires the UE to evaluate network conditions and operate under the network context that satisfies the policy requirements for the UAV service support (i.e., selecting a second network…)),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0211] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information.
However, Taimoor teaches the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information (see Taimoor paras “0077”, “0085-0093” and “0105-0108” “Detect and avoid (DAA) for collision avoidance of UAVs is not yet supported in the standards [1] and [2], and to support the DAA for UAVs the following issues need to be addressed”, “proposed support for the DAA procedure may be accomplished by enabling direct communication between the UAVs and/or with the network assistance for collision detection and conflict resolution. The disclosed systems and methods may or may not involve coordinated maneuvers of the UAVs”, “UAV1 may broadcast a message, e.g., safety message which may be an application layer message, and may include DAA capability, collision detection alert, CAA-level UAV IDs of its own and the other UAV, and/or trajectory correction information to avoid collision. The message may include frequency of subsequent messages to be exchanged between UAVs for traffic conflict resolution and/or position/trajectory monitoring” and “the UAE server may receive a DAA management request from a serving USS for managing the DAA. The request may include the UAV (UAE client) identification information and/or DAA configuration parameters/DAA policy”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to improve collision detection and conflict resolution by providing UAVs with DAA capabilities” as taught by Taimoor (paras [0077] – [0085-0093]) in order to enhance flight safety and enabling efficient detect and avoid operations through network-assisted and broadcast communications.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach connecting to the second network function device to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches connecting to the second network function device to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 2, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the first network is a home network that the UAS subscribes to, and the second network is different from the first network.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first network is a home network that the UAS subscribes to, and the second network is different from the first network (see Zhang para “0067” “One or more of the network entities 105 described herein may include or may be referred to as a base station 140 (e.g., a base transceiver station, a radio base station, an access point, a radio transceiver, a NodeB, an eNodeB (eNB), a next-generation NodeB or a giga-NodeB (either of which may be referred to as a gNB), a next-generation eNB (ng-eNB), a Home NodeB, a Home eNodeB, or other suitable terminology)”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0067] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 3, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the second network is part of a network of a base station or of a cell of the base station.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the first network is a home network that the UAS subscribes to, and the second network is different from the first network (see De Rosa claim 18 and paras “0053-0059” and “0072” “the UAV 105 may select a serving base station based on relative signal strengths of different base stations and generate measurement reports containing power measurements associated with the serving base station and/or other surround base stations (e.g., neighbor base stations of the serving base station). The UAV 105 communicates with its serving base station via a communication channel assigned to the UAV 105 by the serving base station. For example, between the points 145A and 150B, the UAV 105 may select the base station 120A as its serving base station and perform measurements (e.g., power measurements) on signals transmitted to and received from the base station 120A and base stations 120B-C by the UAV 105. In this example, the measurements associated with the base stations 120B-C may be indicative of the interference impact of the UAV 105 on the base stations 120B-C when the UAV 105 is connected to the base station 120A. The base station 120A, as the serving base station of the UAV 105, decodes signals received from the UAV 105, whereas any signals received by the base stations 120B-C from the UAV 105 is considered noise (e.g., also referred to as uplink interference noise or simply interference noise) to the base stations 120B-C. The UAV 105 may select other base stations as its serving base station during the flight (e.g., based on relative signal strengths associated with different base stations)”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18 and para [0072]) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 4, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the UTM support information is broadcast by the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the UTM support information is broadcast by the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 5, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the local UAS traffic information is multicast or broadcast by the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the local UAS traffic information is multicast or broadcast by the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 6, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the second network function device is a base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the second network function device is a base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device (see De Rosa claim 18 and paras “0053-0059” and “0072” “the UAV 105 may select a serving base station based on relative signal strengths of different base stations and generate measurement reports containing power measurements associated with the serving base station and/or other surround base stations (e.g., neighbor base stations of the serving base station). The UAV 105 communicates with its serving base station via a communication channel assigned to the UAV 105 by the serving base station. For example, between the points 145A and 150B, the UAV 105 may select the base station 120A as its serving base station and perform measurements (e.g., power measurements) on signals transmitted to and received from the base station 120A and base stations 120B-C by the UAV 105. In this example, the measurements associated with the base stations 120B-C may be indicative of the interference impact of the UAV 105 on the base stations 120B-C when the UAV 105 is connected to the base station 120A. The base station 120A, as the serving base station of the UAV 105, decodes signals received from the UAV 105, whereas any signals received by the base stations 120B-C from the UAV 105 is considered noise (e.g., also referred to as uplink interference noise or simply interference noise) to the base stations 120B-C. The UAV 105 may select other base stations as its serving base station during the flight (e.g., based on relative signal strengths associated with different base stations)”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18 and para [0072]) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 7, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the local UAS traffic information is unicast by the second network function device.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the local UAS traffic information is unicast by the second network function device (see Zhang para “0121” “Comparatively, in the context of U2X communication over Uu (e.g., communication link 305), U2X communication via unicast over the Uu reference point supports non-roaming and roaming operations. For transport of U2X messages over Uu reference point, communications mechanisms can be used to establish the suitable PDU Sessions, and U2X messages may be routed towards U2X application server or towards UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-c, 115-d, 115-e) with existing unicast routing”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0121] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 9, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the second network function device is a ground-based base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device, and the UAS is at least one of an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) or a UAV controller controlling the UAV.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the second network function device is a ground-based base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device, and the UAS is at least one of an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) or a UAV controller controlling the UAV. (see De Rosa claim 18 and paras “0037”, “0053-0059” and “0072” “the UAV 105 may select a serving base station based on relative signal strengths of different base stations and generate measurement reports containing power measurements associated with the serving base station and/or other surround base stations (e.g., neighbor base stations of the serving base station). The UAV 105 communicates with its serving base station via a communication channel assigned to the UAV 105 by the serving base station. For example, between the points 145A and 150B, the UAV 105 may select the base station 120A as its serving base station and perform measurements (e.g., power measurements) on signals transmitted to and received from the base station 120A and base stations 120B-C by the UAV 105. In this example, the measurements associated with the base stations 120B-C may be indicative of the interference impact of the UAV 105 on the base stations 120B-C when the UAV 105 is connected to the base station 120A. The base station 120A, as the serving base station of the UAV 105, decodes signals received from the UAV 105, whereas any signals received by the base stations 120B-C from the UAV 105 is considered noise (e.g., also referred to as uplink interference noise or simply interference noise) to the base stations 120B-C. The UAV 105 may select other base stations as its serving base station during the flight (e.g., based on relative signal strengths associated with different base stations)”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18 and para [0072]) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 10, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the UAS provides location information to the second network function device, the second network function device providing traffic information tailored to a group of joined member devices based on information from the joined member devices in the group, and wherein the group includes the UAS.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the UAS provides location information to the second network function device, the second network function device providing traffic information tailored to a group of joined member devices based on information from the joined member devices in the group, and wherein the group includes the UAS (see Zhang paras “0087-0088” “which may support aspects of such D2D communications being configured by or scheduled by the network entity 105. In some examples, one or more UEs 115 in such a group may be outside the coverage area 110 of a network entity 105 or may be otherwise unable to or not configured to receive transmissions from a network entity 105. In some examples, groups of the UEs 115 communicating via D2D communications may support a one-to-many (1:M) system in which each UE 115 transmits to each of the other UEs 115 in the group”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0087-0088]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 11, GSMA teaches a method, comprising: (see GSMA “3.3” fig. 1 and page 16),
transmitting, by a second network function device of a second network to an uncrewed aerial system (UAS), uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the connectivity service provides coverage information to the UAS),
the UAS receiving from a first network function device of a first network, a network selection policy indicating the second network providing local UAS traffic information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the UAS receives coverage change in active FPL),
But GSMA fails to explicitly teach the UAS selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information.
However, Zhang teaches the UAS selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information (see Zhang paras “0211” and “0249” “the control signaling receiving manager 745 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network, or both, where communicating the sidelink message is based on the first authorization, the second authorization, or both” and “the control signaling transmitting manager 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network” regarding applying the appropriate authorization requires the UE to evaluate network conditions and operate under the network context that satisfies the policy requirements for the UAV service support (i.e., selecting a second network…)),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0211] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information.
However, Taimoor teaches the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information (see Taimoor paras “0077”, “0085-0093” and “0105-0108” “Detect and avoid (DAA) for collision avoidance of UAVs is not yet supported in the standards [1] and [2], and to support the DAA for UAVs the following issues need to be addressed”, “proposed support for the DAA procedure may be accomplished by enabling direct communication between the UAVs and/or with the network assistance for collision detection and conflict resolution. The disclosed systems and methods may or may not involve coordinated maneuvers of the UAVs”, “UAV1 may broadcast a message, e.g., safety message which may be an application layer message, and may include DAA capability, collision detection alert, CAA-level UAV IDs of its own and the other UAV, and/or trajectory correction information to avoid collision. The message may include frequency of subsequent messages to be exchanged between UAVs for traffic conflict resolution and/or position/trajectory monitoring” and “the UAE server may receive a DAA management request from a serving USS for managing the DAA. The request may include the UAV (UAE client) identification information and/or DAA configuration parameters/DAA policy”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to improve collision detection and conflict resolution by providing UAVs with DAA capabilities” as taught by Taimoor (paras [0077] – [0085-0093]) in order to enhance flight safety and enabling efficient detect and avoid operations through network-assisted and broadcast communications.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach connecting, by the second network function device of the second network with the UAS to transmit the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches connecting, by the second network function device of the second network with the UAS to transmit the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 12, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the first network is a home network that the UAS subscribes to, and the second network is different from the first network.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the first network is a home network that the UAS subscribes to, and the second network is different from the first network (see Zhang para “0067” “One or more of the network entities 105 described herein may include or may be referred to as a base station 140 (e.g., a base transceiver station, a radio base station, an access point, a radio transceiver, a NodeB, an eNodeB (eNB), a next-generation NodeB or a giga-NodeB (either of which may be referred to as a gNB), a next-generation eNB (ng-eNB), a Home NodeB, a Home eNodeB, or other suitable terminology)”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0067] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 13, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the UTM support information is broadcast by the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the UTM support information is broadcast by the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 14, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the local UAS traffic information is multicast or broadcast by the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the local UAS traffic information is multicast or broadcast by the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 15, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the second network function device is a base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the second network function device is a base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device (see De Rosa claim 18 and paras “0053-0059” and “0072” “the UAV 105 may select a serving base station based on relative signal strengths of different base stations and generate measurement reports containing power measurements associated with the serving base station and/or other surround base stations (e.g., neighbor base stations of the serving base station). The UAV 105 communicates with its serving base station via a communication channel assigned to the UAV 105 by the serving base station. For example, between the points 145A and 150B, the UAV 105 may select the base station 120A as its serving base station and perform measurements (e.g., power measurements) on signals transmitted to and received from the base station 120A and base stations 120B-C by the UAV 105. In this example, the measurements associated with the base stations 120B-C may be indicative of the interference impact of the UAV 105 on the base stations 120B-C when the UAV 105 is connected to the base station 120A. The base station 120A, as the serving base station of the UAV 105, decodes signals received from the UAV 105, whereas any signals received by the base stations 120B-C from the UAV 105 is considered noise (e.g., also referred to as uplink interference noise or simply interference noise) to the base stations 120B-C. The UAV 105 may select other base stations as its serving base station during the flight (e.g., based on relative signal strengths associated with different base stations)”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18 and para [0072]) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 16, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the local UAS traffic information is unicast by the second network function device.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the local UAS traffic information is unicast by the second network function device (see Zhang para “0121” “Comparatively, in the context of U2X communication over Uu (e.g., communication link 305), U2X communication via unicast over the Uu reference point supports non-roaming and roaming operations. For transport of U2X messages over Uu reference point, communications mechanisms can be used to establish the suitable PDU Sessions, and U2X messages may be routed towards U2X application server or towards UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-c, 115-d, 115-e) with existing unicast routing”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0121] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 18, modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the second network function device is a ground-based base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device, and the UAS is at least one of an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) or a UAV controller controlling the UAV.
However, De Rosa teaches wherein the second network function device is a ground-based base station or an internet protocol (IP) based function device, and the UAS is at least one of an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) or a UAV controller controlling the UAV. (see De Rosa claim 18 and paras “0037”, “0053-0059” and “0072” “the UAV 105 may select a serving base station based on relative signal strengths of different base stations and generate measurement reports containing power measurements associated with the serving base station and/or other surround base stations (e.g., neighbor base stations of the serving base station). The UAV 105 communicates with its serving base station via a communication channel assigned to the UAV 105 by the serving base station. For example, between the points 145A and 150B, the UAV 105 may select the base station 120A as its serving base station and perform measurements (e.g., power measurements) on signals transmitted to and received from the base station 120A and base stations 120B-C by the UAV 105. In this example, the measurements associated with the base stations 120B-C may be indicative of the interference impact of the UAV 105 on the base stations 120B-C when the UAV 105 is connected to the base station 120A. The base station 120A, as the serving base station of the UAV 105, decodes signals received from the UAV 105, whereas any signals received by the base stations 120B-C from the UAV 105 is considered noise (e.g., also referred to as uplink interference noise or simply interference noise) to the base stations 120B-C. The UAV 105 may select other base stations as its serving base station during the flight (e.g., based on relative signal strengths associated with different base stations)”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18 and para [0072]) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 19, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the network selection policy includes at least one of a candidate network identifier (ID) or a candidate DAA ID, and UTM support information includes a network ID of the second network and a DAA network ID.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the network selection policy includes at least one of a candidate network identifier (ID) or a candidate DAA ID, and UTM support information includes a network ID of the second network and a DAA network ID (see Zhang para “0115” “A U2X service can be associated with one or more U2X applications, and a U2X application can be associated with one or more U2X services. One example of a U2X service may include “detect and avoid (DAA),” in which a UE 115 may surveil traffic and remain a safe distance from nearby aircraft (e.g., cooperative aircraft and non-cooperative aircraft) so as not to create a collision hazard”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0121] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 20, GSMA fails to explicitly teach wherein the UAS provides location information to the second network function device, wherein the second network function device provides traffic information tailored to a group of joined member devices based on information from the joined member devices in the group, and wherein the group includes the UAS.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the UAS provides location information to the second network function device, wherein the second network function device provides traffic information tailored to a group of joined member devices based on information from the joined member devices in the group, and wherein the group includes the UAS (see Zhang paras “0087-0088” “which may support aspects of such D2D communications being configured by or scheduled by the network entity 105. In some examples, one or more UEs 115 in such a group may be outside the coverage area 110 of a network entity 105 or may be otherwise unable to or not configured to receive transmissions from a network entity 105. In some examples, groups of the UEs 115 communicating via D2D communications may support a one-to-many (1:M) system in which each UE 115 transmits to each of the other UEs 115 in the group”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0087-0088]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
Regarding claim 21, GSMA teaches an uncrewed aerial system (UAS), comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the UAS to perform operations including: (see GSMA “3.3” fig. 1 and pages 16-20),
receiving from a first network function device of a first network, a network selection policy indicating a second network providing local UAS traffic information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the UAS receives coverage change in active FPL),
receiving from a second network function device of the second network, uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the connectivity service provides coverage information to the UAS),
But GSMA fails to explicitly teach selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information.
However, Zhang teaches selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information (see Zhang paras “0211” and “0249” “the control signaling receiving manager 745 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network, or both, where communicating the sidelink message is based on the first authorization, the second authorization, or both” and “the control signaling transmitting manager 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network” regarding applying the appropriate authorization requires the UE to evaluate network conditions and operate under the network context that satisfies the policy requirements for the UAV service support (i.e., selecting a second network…)),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0211] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information.
However, Taimoor teaches the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information (see Taimoor paras “0077”, “0085-0093” and “0105-0108” “Detect and avoid (DAA) for collision avoidance of UAVs is not yet supported in the standards [1] and [2], and to support the DAA for UAVs the following issues need to be addressed”, “proposed support for the DAA procedure may be accomplished by enabling direct communication between the UAVs and/or with the network assistance for collision detection and conflict resolution. The disclosed systems and methods may or may not involve coordinated maneuvers of the UAVs”, “UAV1 may broadcast a message, e.g., safety message which may be an application layer message, and may include DAA capability, collision detection alert, CAA-level UAV IDs of its own and the other UAV, and/or trajectory correction information to avoid collision. The message may include frequency of subsequent messages to be exchanged between UAVs for traffic conflict resolution and/or position/trajectory monitoring” and “the UAE server may receive a DAA management request from a serving USS for managing the DAA. The request may include the UAV (UAE client) identification information and/or DAA configuration parameters/DAA policy”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to improve collision detection and conflict resolution by providing UAVs with DAA capabilities” as taught by Taimoor (paras [0077] – [0085-0093]) in order to enhance flight safety and enabling efficient detect and avoid operations through network-assisted and broadcast communications.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach connecting to the second network function device to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches connecting to the second network function device to receive the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Regarding claim 22, GSMA teaches a second network function device, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing programming that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second network function device to perform operations including: (see GSMA “3.3” fig. 1 and pages 16-20),
transmitting, to an uncrewed aerial system (UAS), uncrewed aerial system traffic management (UTM) support information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the connectivity service provides coverage information to the UAS), the UAS receiving from a first network function device of a first network, a network selection policy indicating a second network providing local UAS traffic information (see fig. 1 on page 16, the UAS receives coverage change in active FPL),
But GSMA fails to explicitly teach the UAS selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information.
However, Zhang teaches the UAS selecting the second network in accordance to the network selection policy and the UTM support information (see Zhang paras “0211” and “0249” “the control signaling receiving manager 745 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for receiving, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network, or both, where communicating the sidelink message is based on the first authorization, the second authorization, or both” and “the control signaling transmitting manager 1140 may be configured as or otherwise support a means for transmitting, via the control signaling, the additional control signaling, or both, a first authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is connected to a serving network, a second authorization for the UE to perform the one or more UAV services in accordance with the UE policy configuration during time intervals in which the UE is not connected to the serving network” regarding applying the appropriate authorization requires the UE to evaluate network conditions and operate under the network context that satisfies the policy requirements for the UAV service support (i.e., selecting a second network…)),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to receive control signaling indicating a UE policy configuration including a set of radio parameters usable by the UE to perform sidelink communications to support one or more UAV services” as taught by Zhang (paras [0211] – [0249]) in order to maintain and operate under a network that supports such services when the initially connected network does not.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information.
However, Taimoor teaches the UTM support information including network-assisted or network-broadcast UAS detect and avoid (DAA) information (see Taimoor paras “0077”, “0085-0093” and “0105-0108” “Detect and avoid (DAA) for collision avoidance of UAVs is not yet supported in the standards [1] and [2], and to support the DAA for UAVs the following issues need to be addressed”, “proposed support for the DAA procedure may be accomplished by enabling direct communication between the UAVs and/or with the network assistance for collision detection and conflict resolution. The disclosed systems and methods may or may not involve coordinated maneuvers of the UAVs”, “UAV1 may broadcast a message, e.g., safety message which may be an application layer message, and may include DAA capability, collision detection alert, CAA-level UAV IDs of its own and the other UAV, and/or trajectory correction information to avoid collision. The message may include frequency of subsequent messages to be exchanged between UAVs for traffic conflict resolution and/or position/trajectory monitoring” and “the UAE server may receive a DAA management request from a serving USS for managing the DAA. The request may include the UAV (UAE client) identification information and/or DAA configuration parameters/DAA policy”),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem “to improve collision detection and conflict resolution by providing UAVs with DAA capabilities” as taught by Taimoor (paras [0077] – [0085-0093]) in order to enhance flight safety and enabling efficient detect and avoid operations through network-assisted and broadcast communications.
But modified GSMA fails to explicitly teach connecting, with the UAS to transmit the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device.
However, De Rosa teaches connecting, with the UAS to transmit the local UAS traffic information from the second network function device (see De Rosa claim 18 “establish a first network connection via a first network during a first portion of the flight route; and migrating the unmanned aerial device from the first network connection via the first network to a second network connection via a second network that operates according to a different communication protocol than a communication protocol according to which the first network operates, wherein the different communication protocol is not supported by the first network, and wherein the migrating results in the unmanned aerial device being connected according to the second network connection during a second portion of the flight route” regarding migration from a first network connection to a second network connection during flight and establishing and maintaining the second network connection involves communication with network-side entities that support the second network)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of modified GSMA for Interface for Data Exchange between MNOs and the UTM Ecosystem to “maintain connectivity to and communicate with base stations and also allowing automated and adaptive flight routes and channel allocation instructions for connecting to a network during flight on the flight routes can maintain network connectivity of user equipment (UEs) at flight altitude” as taught by De Rosa (claim 18) in order to facilitate maintaining network connectivity of aerial devices during unmanned flight.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOSSAM M ABD EL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 3664