CTNF 18/819,855 CTNF 83759 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to the application 18/819,855 filed on 08/29/2024. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024, 03/12/2025, and 08/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is/are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claim 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. Regarding claim 7 ; claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory statutory subject matter. The claims are directed to a computer program per se because the claimed “computer program product” is not stored on any non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. See Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31 USPQ2d at 1760. The claim also recites “a computer readable storage medium;” Under a recent precedential opinion, the scope of the recited “computer readable storage medium” encompasses transitory media such as signals or carrier waves, where, as here the Specification does not limit the computer readable storage medium to non-transitory forms. See Ex parte Mewherter , 107 USPQ2d 1857, 1862 (PTAB 2013) (precedential) (holding recited machine-readable storage medium ineligible under § 35 U.S.C. 101 since it encompassed transitory media). The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claim be amended to either “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” or “ a computer-readable storage device ” to make the claim statutory under 35 USC 101; (emphasis added). Regarding claims 8-12; claims 8-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter for the same reasons. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Behzadi et al., (“Behzadi,” US 2018/0351373), published on December 6, 2018 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 -3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzadi et al., (“Behzadi,” US 2018/0351373), published on December 6, 2018, in view of Choi et al., (“Choi,” US 2017/0032692), published on February 2, 2017 . Regarding claim 1 , Behzadi discloses an electronic device, comprising: a first battery (Behzadi: par. 0200; Fig. 6A; a charge device 600) ; charging circuitry; communication circuitry; a display; at least one processor; and memory storing instructions, that, when executed by the processor, individually and/or collectively (Behzadi: pars. 0044, 0049-0050, 0051-0055, 0287-0294; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A, 10) , cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that a wearable electronic device is mounted in the electronic device, transmit, using the charging circuitry, power wirelessly to the wearable electronic device (Behzadi: pars. 0210-0211; Figs. 6G-6H; a second device 620) , display, on the display, at least one of first state information of the first battery or second state information of a second battery included in the wearable electronic device while transmitting the power wirelessly (Behzadi: pars. 0210-0213; Figs. 6H-6I; a charge status 642) . However, Choi discloses mobile terminal, further comprising display, on the display, at least one object corresponding to at least one function related to the wearable electronic device (Choi: pars. 0321-0324; Fig. 46-50) , and based on identifying an input to a first object among the at least one object, transmit, through the communication circuitry, a control signal to cause the wearable electronic device to execute a first function corresponding to the first object to the wearable electronic device (Choi: pars. 0321-0333, 0039-0341, 0343-0344; Figs. 46-60) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Choi with the system/method of Bahzadi. One would have been motivated to directly enhancing usability and functionality . Regarding claim 2 , Bahzadi and Choi disclose the electronic device of claim 1. The combination of Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the wearable electronic device is in a power on state, display, on the display, the first state information, or display, on the display, the first state information and the second state information according to an input (Bahzadi: pars. 0210-0213; Figs. 6H-6I; a charge status 642. Choi: pars. 0321-0333, 0039-0341, 0343-0344; Figs. 46-60) . The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above Regarding claim 3 , Bahzadi and Choi disclose the electronic device of claim 1. Bahzadi further discloses the electronic device, wherein the at least one function includes a function of turning on or off power of the wearable electronic device (Bahzadi: par. 0220; Fig. 6N) , a function of initializing the wearable electronic device, and/or a function of communicatively connecting the wearable electronic device to an external electronic device different from the electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0210-0213; Figs. 6H-6I) . Regarding claim 4 , Bahzadi and Choi disclose the electronic device of claim 1. The combination of Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the wearable electronic device is mounted in the electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0210-0213; Figs. 6H-6I) , display, on the display, biometric information of a user obtained between a time when the wearable electronic device is identified to be worn by the user and a time when the wearable electronic device is identified to be mounted in the electronic device (Bahzadi: Choi: pars. 0171-0174, 0179-0180, 0200-0209; Figs. 4-8 and also Figs. 9-12) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Choi with the system/method of Bahzadi. One would have been motivated to directly tracking health, fitness, and another user’s information. Regarding claim 5 , Bahzadi and Choi disclose the electronic device of claim 1. The combination of Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying the input to the first object capable of executing a function of initializing the wearable electronic device, store the biometric information in the memory, and transmit a control signal to cause the wearable electronic device to initialize the wearable electronic device to the wearable electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0210-0213; Figs. 6H-6I; a charge status 642. Choi: pars. 0315-0331; Figs. 20-38 and 43-50) . The motivation is the same that of claims 1 and 4 above. Regarding claim 6 , Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device of claim 1. The combination of Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: obtain, through the communication circuitry, the second state information of the second battery from the wearable electronic device in a state in which the wearable electronic device is not mounted in the electronic device, and display, on the display, the second state information in the state in which the wearable electronic device is not mounted in the electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0210-0213; Figs. 6H-6I; a charge status 642. Choi: pars. 0315-0331; Figs. 43-50) . The motivation is the same that of claims 1 and 4 above Regarding claim 7 , Bahzadi and Choi further disclose the electronic device of claim 1. Bahzadi further discloses the electronic device, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that a remaining amount of the second battery is less than a specified value based on the second state information, transmit a control signal to cause the wearable electronic device to output notification information to the wearable electronic device (Bahzadi: par. 0265; “primary device 610 delivers a low charge alert regardless of the current charge level”) . Regarding claim 8 , Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device of claim 1. Bahzadi further discloses a microphone, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on obtaining a voice signal for executing a second function among the at least one function through the microphone, transmit a control signal to cause the wearable electronic to execute the second function to the wearable electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0181, 0261; an input mechanism 508 is a microphone; par. 0265; “primary device 610 delivers a low charge alert regardless of the current charge level.”) . Regarding claim 9 , Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device of claim 1. Bahzadi further discloses the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display, on the display, first biometric information of a user obtained from the wearable electronic device at a first time in a state in which the wearable electronic device is not mounted in the electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0171-0175, 0179-0181, 0196, 0200-0225; Figs. 4-12) , and based on obtaining second biometric information of the user obtained at a second time after the first time from the wearable electronic device in the state in which the wearable electronic device is not mounted in the electronic device, display, on the display, the second biometric information (Bahzadi: pars. 0228-0241; Figs. 13-18, 29-33) . Regarding claim 10 , Bahzadi and Choi further discslose the electronic device of claim 9. Bahzadi further discloses individually and/or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on identifying that the user is exercising based on the biometric information, transmit a control signal to cause the wearable electronic device to adjust a measurement period of a sensor included in the wearable electronic device to a second period shorter than a first specified period to the wearable electronic device (Bahzadi: pars. 0264-0265, 0280; Figs. 9B) . Regarding claims 11-19 ; claims 11-19 are directed to method associated with the system claimed in claims 1-10 respectively; Claims 11-19 are similar in scope to claims 1-10 respectively, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale. Regarding claim 20 ; claim 20 is directed to non-transitory computer-readable recording medium associated with the system claimed in claim 1; Claim 20 is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale. Conclusion The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)) Inquiries Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LINH K PHAM whose telephone number is (571)270-3230. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William L Bashore can be reached on (571) 272-4088. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LINH K PHAM/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 2 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 3 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 5 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 6 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 7 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 8 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 9 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 10 Art Unit: 2174 Application/Control Number: 18/819,855 Page 11 Art Unit: 2174