DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: connecting mechanism in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (U.S. Patent No. 10,350,770).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an edged tool (10, 20)(Figure 1) comprising: a blade (11), at a rear end portion thereof, divided in a thickness direction and provided with a space (14) open at the rear end side (Figure 2) and a handle (30) gripped by a user (Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the edged tool according to claim 1, wherein the space is formed by bonding a blade side end portion (121) and a back side end portion (122) at the rear end portion of the blade divided in the thickness direction (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the edged tool according to claim 1, wherein the handle is connected to the blade via the space (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches he edged tool according to claim 1, wherein the handle is a portion in which the space of the blade is provided (Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the edged tool according to claim 1, further comprising a connecting member (12) provided at the rear end portion and having a connecting mechanism (22) at a rear end thereof, wherein the handle is connected to the blade via the connecting member (Figures 2-4; Col. 3, Lines 49-64).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the edged tool according to claim 1, wherein a side surface of the blade is a continuous surface from a cutting edge to the rear end portion, and the rear end portion is spread in the thickness direction (Figures 2-4).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references B-M on page 1 and A-C on Page 2 establish the state of the art with a variety of knives with a variety of handles and attachment mechanisms for the handles.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 02/06/2026Examiner, Art Unit 3724