DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 10 and 15 have been amended. Claims 9 and 19-21 have been canceled. Claim 22 has been added. Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 22 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10-18 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-2, 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengtsson et al. (US 20220163651 A1) in view of Speidel et al. (US 20220052753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bengtsson teaches an asymmetric communication system (system of Fig. 1) comprising:
downlink transmitter configured to transmit a waveform defining a downlink (the transmission of a radar probing request 230, transmitted from the radio device 120 to the terminal UE1 to act as a radar transmitter, and to the terminal UE2 configured to act as a radar receiver. The radar probing request 230 may include establishment of a radio channel 601 between the BS1 and the respective terminal UE1, UE2, [0058]);
a user equipment (UE) configured to receive transmission of the downlink from the downlink transmitter (The UE1 may be triggered to specifically transmit 241 radar pulses 240 in a direction Dir1 obtained from the radar probing request 230, [0061], inherently receiving the radar probing request);
an uplink base station operably coupled to the UE for uplink transmission from the UE via a different communication protocol than the downlink transmitter (This may be obtained in the radio device 120 by data communication 261 from the terminal UE2 to the base station BS1 in connected mode, using radio resources 700 not employed for radar probing, [0063]).
However, Bengtsson does not teach an IP-based backhaul network operably couple to the uplink base station; and a super network operations center (SNOC) operably coupled to the uplink base station and the downlink transmitter to provide communication services to the UE via the uplink and the downlink, wherein the SNOC is configured to select the uplink base station from among a plurality of candidate base stations associated with different networks capable of communication with the UE.
However, Bengtsson does not teach IP-based backhaul network operably coupled to the uplink base station; and a super network operations center (SNOC) operably coupled to the uplink base station and the downlink transmitter to provide communication services to the UE via respective different entities providing unidirectional communication on the uplink and the downlink, wherein the SNOC is configured to select the uplink base station from among a plurality of candidate base stations associated with different networks capable of communication with the UE, the different networks using different wireless communication protocols than each other and the downlink transmitter..
In an analogous art, Speidel teaches an IP-based backhaul network operably coupled to the uplink base station (The P-GW acts as the serving node for routing IP traffic using the SGi interface 218 between the UE and the Packet Data Network (PDN) stack 210 that is providing back-end IP services for the end UE, [0012]); and a super network operations center (SNOC) operably coupled to the uplink base station and the downlink transmitter to provide communication services to the UE via respective different entities providing unidirectional communication on the uplink and the downlink (The Network Operations Center, or NOC (sometimes also known as the Operations Management Center, or OMC) is the component of the network that enables control and monitoring of network infrastructure operations and status...it can even be used to control the traffic load at the base station/E-UTRAN subsystem. The NOC typically has a connection to each base station, MME, S-GW, P-GW node in the LTE network, [0036]), wherein the SNOC is configured to select the uplink base station from among a plurality of candidate base stations associated with different networks capable of communication with the UE (satellite S.sub.5 is selected in time step to 2740 to provide service to base station 5. Similarly, each ground station may communicate with satellites, and those links 2754 may be selected, [0376]), the different networks using different wireless communication protocols than each other and the downlink transmitter (Alternatively, there may be embodiments where the NB-IoT protocol is only used on the uplink to the satellite, but a different RF interface, such as LTE is used to communicate on the downlink, [0454]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson with the network of Speidel to provide communications alongside terrestrial mobile cellular networks that may reduce footprint bleed over and resolve possible regulatory infringements from the previous link transmission scheme as suggested, Speidel [0334].
Regarding claim 2, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the UE provides information regarding capabilities of the UE for network communications to enable the SNOC to determine the candidate base stations based on a location of the UE (the terminal UE1 may specifically indicate a UE capability including the power parameter, such as a UE Tx power class, for its radar capability, Bengtsson [0066]; The radar probing request 230 may include a geometric identification of the radar probing, including an identification of a location for radar probing. In various embodiments, the identification of location may be defined as a location area LOC, which may be identified as one of a geographic position, a radius connected to a certain position, a geofence, or other identification of a location area, Bengtsson [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the downlink transmitter is a broadcast downlink transmitter (radar probing request 230 may include broadcasted transmissions on the radio channel 601, Bengtsson [0058]) and the waveform comprises a complex broadcast waveform (the probing pulse section may comprise a waveform having spectral contributions arranged within the frequency associated with the respective second resource element. An amplitude of the waveform may be modulated; this is sometimes referred to as an envelope, Bengtsson [0056]).
Regarding claim 8, Bengtsson teaches an asymmetric communication system (system of Fig. 1) comprising:
downlink transmitter configured to transmit a waveform defining a downlink (the transmission of a radar probing request 230, transmitted from the radio device 120 to the terminal UE1 to act as a radar transmitter, and to the terminal UE2 configured to act as a radar receiver. The radar probing request 230 may include establishment of a radio channel 601 between the BS1 and the respective terminal UE1, UE2, [0058]);
a user equipment (UE) configured to receive transmission of the downlink from the downlink transmitter (The UE1 may be triggered to specifically transmit 241 radar pulses 240 in a direction Dir1 obtained from the radar probing request 230, [0061], inherently receiving the radar probing request);
an uplink base station operably coupled to the UE for uplink transmission from the UE via a different communication protocol than the downlink transmitter (This may be obtained in the radio device 120 by data communication 261 from the terminal UE2 to the base station BS1 in connected mode, using radio resources 700 not employed for radar probing, [0063]).
However, Bengtsson does not teach an IP-based backhaul network operably couple to the uplink base station; and a super network operations center (SNOC) operably coupled to the uplink base station and the downlink transmitter to provide communication services to the UE via the uplink and the downlink, wherein the SNOC is configured to select the uplink base station from among a plurality of candidate base stations associated with different networks capable of communication with the UE.
However, Bengtsson does not teach IP-based backhaul network operably coupled to the uplink base station; and a super network operations center (SNOC) operably coupled to the uplink base station and the downlink transmitter to provide communication services to the UE via respective different entities providing unidirectional communication on the uplink and the downlink, wherein the SNOC is configured to select the uplink base station from among a plurality of candidate base stations associated with different networks capable of communication with the UE, the different networks using different wireless communication protocols than each other and the downlink transmitter..
In an analogous art, Speidel IP-based backhaul network operably coupled to the uplink base station (The P-GW acts as the serving node for routing IP traffic using the SGi interface 218 between the UE and the Packet Data Network (PDN) stack 210 that is providing back-end IP services for the end UE, [0012]); and a super network operations center (SNOC) operably coupled to the uplink base station and the downlink transmitter to provide communication services to the UE via respective different entities providing unidirectional communication on the uplink and the downlink (The Network Operations Center, or NOC (sometimes also known as the Operations Management Center, or OMC) is the component of the network that enables control and monitoring of network infrastructure operations and status...it can even be used to control the traffic load at the base station/E-UTRAN subsystem. The NOC typically has a connection to each base station, MME, S-GW, P-GW node in the LTE network, [0036]), wherein the SNOC is configured to select the uplink base station from among a plurality of candidate base stations associated with different networks capable of communication with the UE (satellite S.sub.5 is selected in time step to 2740 to provide service to base station 5. Similarly, each ground station may communicate with satellites, and those links 2754 may be selected, [0376]), the different networks using different wireless communication protocols than each other and the downlink transmitter (Alternatively, there may be embodiments where the NB-IoT protocol is only used on the uplink to the satellite, but a different RF interface, such as LTE is used to communicate on the downlink, [0454]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson with the network of Speidel to provide communications alongside terrestrial mobile cellular networks that may reduce footprint bleed over and resolve possible regulatory infringements from the previous link transmission scheme as suggested, Speidel [0334].
7. Claims 3, 5-7, 10, 15 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengtsson in view of Speidel and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20250344060 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 2.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the UE is required to provide the information regarding capabilities in order to register for services via the system.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the UE is required to provide the information regarding capabilities in order to register for services via the system (upon UE registration, the UE may indicate a subscription. If the UE subscription is for an aerial UE (a UAV UE deployed on a UE) and if the AMF successfully authenticates the UAV UE, the AMF may authenticate and authorizes the UAV. In this case, the AMF may indicate to the RAN whether LDS is authorized for this UE. In some cases, the AMF may also require successful UUAA authentication/authorization. In some cases, the UAV may also be expected to indicate (e.g., in 5GMM capabilities) that it supports LDS service, Zhang [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
Regarding claim 5, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 4.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the SNOC is configured to enable handover of the UE from the broadcast downlink transmitter to another broadcast downlink transmitter based on a handover indication from the UE.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the SNOC is configured to enable handover of the UE from the broadcast downlink transmitter to another broadcast downlink transmitter based on a handover indication from the UE. (UAV1 may move out of the coverage area of the source LDS and into the coverage area of a target LDS. To facilitate a handover of the UAV, at (3), the source LDS may transfer context information of the UAV to the target LDS, [0119]; when the UAV moves out of the coverage area of the source LDS and into the coverage area of a target LDS, the source LDS may transfer context information of the UAV to the target LDS. The target LDS may use this information to establish or resume a connection with the UAV, Zhang [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
Regarding claim 6, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the SNOC is configured to enable handover of the UE from the uplink base station to another base station that employs a same communication protocol as the uplink base station based on a handover indication from the UE.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the SNOC is configured to enable handover of the UE from the uplink base station to another base station that employs a same communication protocol as the uplink base station based on a handover indication from the UE (when the UAV moves out of the coverage area of the source LDS and into the coverage area of a target LDS, the source LDS may transfer context information of the UAV to the target LDS. The target LDS may use this information to establish or resume a connection with the UAV, Zhang [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
Regarding claim 7, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the SNOC is configured to enable handover of the UE from the uplink base station to another base station that employs a different communication protocol as the uplink base station based on a handover indication from the UE.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the SNOC is configured to enable handover of the UE from the uplink base station to another base station that employs a different communication protocol as the uplink base station based on a handover indication from the UE (when the UAV moves out of the coverage area of the source LDS and into the coverage area of a target LDS, the source LDS may transfer context information of the UAV to the target LDS. The target LDS may use this information to establish or resume a connection with the UAV, Zhang [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
Regarding claim 10, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 9.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein a drone is launched to perform a surveillance activity based on detecting a trigger condition via the passive radar module.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein a drone is launched to perform a surveillance activity based on detecting a trigger condition via the passive radar module (the LDS may collect awareness data (e.g., from sensors deployed at a gNB and/or data from UAVs relayed through a gNB). (As shown at 2B), the LDS may detect a possible conflict situation, based on the collected information and may take appropriate action. For example, (as shown at 2C), the LDS may trigger a warning to another UAV (e.g., UAV2). As shown at 3A, if a collision is imminent, the LDS may trigger an emergency directive to another UAV, [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
Regarding claim 15, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the UE is located at a monitored facility, and wherein the UE provides environmental information comprising weather information based on actual observation at regarding the monitored facility to the SNOC.
In an analogous art, Zhang teaches wherein the UE is located at a monitored facility, and wherein the UE provides environmental information comprising weather information based on actual observation at regarding the monitored facility to the SNOC (The network-assisted service proposed herein may rely on gNBs and other sources of information feeding data to the LDS. In some cases, sensors may be deployed at gNBs (e.g., DAA broadcast receivers, BRID receivers, ADS-B receiver, weather, radar, NR sensing, LIDAR, etc.), [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
Regarding claim 22, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel and Zhang teaches system of claim 15, wherein the SNOC controls implementation of signal conditioning of the waveform defining the downlink based on the weather information (The network-assisted service proposed herein may rely on gNBs and other sources of information feeding data to the LDS. In some cases, sensors may be deployed at gNBs (e.g., DAA broadcast receivers, BRID receivers, ADS-B receiver, weather, radar, NR sensing, LIDAR, etc.). LDS nodes may implement traffic separation algorithms and collision notification features across 1 or more cells; A UAV may be visible to multiple LDSs, Zhang [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the aviation service of Zhang to provide a wireless communication that improves the technical performance of wireless communications systems, including, for example: improving speed and data carrying capacity of communications, improving efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, reducing power used by transmitters and receivers while performing communications as suggested, Zhang [0003].
8. Claims 11, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengtsson in view of Speidel and further in view of Abhigyan et al. (US 20230121609 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 10.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the drone receives command and control instructions regarding air space management via the downlink and communicates image or video data associated with the surveillance activity via the uplink.
In an analogous art, Abhigyan teaches wherein the drone receives command and control instructions regarding air space management via the downlink (drone service 210A may provide operational information to UAV 128. Examples of operational information include a modified flight path, multiple suggested flight paths, commands to change latitude, longitude, height, orientation, or the like, [0034]) and communicates image or video data associated with the surveillance activity via the uplink (UAV will operate beyond visual line of sight and the communication system is used to provide both control information to the UAV and two exchange data with the UAV. Examples include retrieving surveillance video from the UAV, [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the method of Abhigyan to provide a closed-loop feedback and control mechanism that may include a network service such as a “drone service that supports UAV operations as suggested, Abhigyan [0027].
Regarding claim 16, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the SNOC employs software defined network control to configure candidate base stations to communicate with the UE (the network architecture can provide a substrate of networking capability, often called Network Function Virtualization Infrastructure (NFVI) or simply infrastructure that is capable of being directed with software and Software Defined Networking (SDN) protocols to perform a broad variety of network functions and services, [0052]).
In an analogous art, Abhigyan teaches wherein the SNOC employs software defined network control to configure candidate base stations to communicate with the UE (the network architecture can provide a substrate of networking capability, often called Network Function Virtualization Infrastructure (NFVI) or simply infrastructure that is capable of being directed with software and Software Defined Networking (SDN) protocols to perform a broad variety of network functions and services, [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the method of Abhigyan to provide a closed-loop feedback and control mechanism that may include a network service such as a “drone service that supports UAV operations as suggested, Abhigyan [0027].
Regarding claim 18, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the SNOC provides air traffic control signals via the downlink beyond the visual line of sight.
In an analogous art, Abhigyan teaches wherein the SNOC provides air traffic control signals via the downlink beyond the visual line of sight (UAV will operate beyond visual line of sight and the communication system is used to provide both control information to the UAV and two exchange data with the UAV. Examples include retrieving surveillance video from the UAV, retrieving current flight information from the UAV such as speed, altitude, heading, or orientation or exchanging any other control plane or user plane data with the UAV, [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the method of Abhigyan to provide a closed-loop feedback and control mechanism that may include a network service such as a “drone service that supports UAV operations as suggested, Abhigyan [0027].
9. Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengtsson in view of Speidel and further in view of Khare et al. (US 20230254931 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the UE is disposed on an aircraft or drone, and wherein instructions for uploading a flight plan of the aircraft or drone are provided via the downlink, and the flight plan is uploaded via the uplink, wherein authorization to takeoff or launch the aircraft or drone is withheld until confirmation of receipt of the flight plan is received and registration of the UE with the SNOC is completed.
In an analogous art, Khare teaches teach wherein the UE is disposed on an aircraft or drone (UE comprised in a UAV, [0175]), and wherein instructions for uploading a flight plan of the aircraft or drone are provided via the downlink, and the flight plan is uploaded via the uplink (The physical link from a device to a (e/g)NodeB is called uplink or reverse link and the physical link from the (e/g)NodeB to the device is called downlink or forward link, [0355]; Fig. 5), wherein authorization to takeoff or launch the aircraft or drone is withheld until confirmation of receipt of the flight plan is received and registration of the UE with the SNOC is completed (Assuming that a UE comprised in a UAV has registered into the 3GPP network and has established user plane connectivity after a successful UAV authentication/authorization procedure (as described in TS 23.256), the UAV may proceed with a flight mission, using a cellular connectivity (e.g., a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session) for command and control (C2) communication with a UAV controller, [0175]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the connection of Khare to enhance mechanisms related to at least one of network-initiated UE de-registration procedure at the AMF and network requested PDU session release procedure at the SMF in order to support a mechanism to send indication of service termination as suggested, Khare [0183].
Regarding claim 13, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel and Khare teaches the system of claim 12. Khare further teaches wherein the SNOC evaluates the flight plan relative to an ability to provide continuity of connectivity to the aircraft or drone over an entirety of the flight plan (the 3GPP connectivity (PDU session) used for C2 or Networked Remote ID etc. are critical for safe operation of the UAV, and therefore needs to be extremely reliable, [0176]; USS and/or the application function may respond to the network function by providing either a confirmation that some action has been taken by the UAV so that it is safe to terminate the connectivity (e.g., that the UAV has been grounded, or to instruct the network function to await such confirmation from the USS and/or application function before continuing with the de-registration and/or session release procedure, [0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the connection of Khare to enhance mechanisms related to at least one of network-initiated UE de-registration procedure at the AMF and network requested PDU session release procedure at the SMF in order to support a mechanism to send indication of service termination as suggested, Khare [0183].
Regarding claim 14, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel and Khare teaches the system of claim 13. Khare further teaches wherein the SNOC provides recommended changes to the flight plan to maintain continuity of connectivity to the aircraft or drone over the entirety of the flight plan (This has led them to conclude that 3GPP does not abruptly disconnect communication channels used by a UAV for C2 communication, and/or Remote ID, and/or Telemetry, [0178]; 3GPP network can assure safe grounding of the UAV before de-registering the UE or before the User Plane connectivity of the UE is released, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the connection of Khare to enhance mechanisms related to at least one of network-initiated UE de-registration procedure at the AMF and network requested PDU session release procedure at the SMF in order to support a mechanism to send indication of service termination as suggested, Khare [0183].
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bengtsson in view of Speidel and further in view of Allen (US 20210110689 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Bengtsson as modified by Speidel teaches the system of claim 1.
However, Bengtsson and Speidel do not teach wherein the UE employs software defined radio to communicate with different ones of the candidate base stations.
In an analogous art, Allen teaches wherein the UE employs software defined radio to communicate with different ones of the candidate base stations (the communication enabled device 204 comprises a Software Defined Radio (“SDR”), [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the passive radar communication of Bengtsson and Speidel with the device structure of Allen to provide a method to improve surveillance and customer experience as suggested, Allen [0057].
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Perry et al. (US 20140096163 A1): Systems, methods, apparatus, and computer program products are provided for wirelessly providing transcoded broadcasts to mobile devices and receiving content wirelessly via mobile devices. For example, in one embodiment, a distribution device can receive an over-the-air broadcast, transcode the over-the-air broadcast, and broadcast the transcoded broadcast to mobile devices within range.
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641