Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180068548 by Hwang et. al. (hereafter Hwang).
Claim 1:
Hwang discloses
“receiving, by a first user device from a second user device over a wireless connection, battery level information for the second user device;” [receiving, by a first user device (0118, mobile device; fig. 1 mobile/control) from a second user device (0118, communication-connected devices) over a wireless connection (fig. 1 1030; 0060), battery level information for the second user device (0118, mobile device may receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected devices)]
“based on the battery level information: determining, by the first user device, that a battery level of the second user device is below a threshold level;” [based on the battery level information (0138, threshold is smaller): determining, by the first user device (fig. 18; fig. 1 mobile/control ; 0133, control), that a battery level of the second user device (0138, remaining battery amount of the smart watch is smaller than a preset threshold)is below a threshold level (0138, preset threshold)]
“responsive to determining that the battery level of the second user device is below the threshold level:” [responsive to determining that the battery level of the second user device (0138 remaining battery amount of the smart watch is smaller than a preset threshold) is below the threshold level (0138, smaller than a preset threshold)]
“presenting, by the first user device on a display screen of the first user device, a low battery notification based on the battery level of the second user device being below the threshold level.”[ presenting, by the first user device on a display screen of the first user device (0133, gui of a control device; fig. 1 mobile/control; fig. 18b), a low battery notification (fig. 18b, 18040 this notification to mobile only; 0137, notification based on remaining battery amount; 0138 remaining battery amount of the smart watch is smaller than a preset threshold)based on the battery level of the second user device being below the threshold level (0138 remaining battery amount of the smart watch is smaller than a preset threshold)]
Claim 4:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein presenting the low battery notification comprises presenting the battery level of the second user device.”[ wherein presenting the low battery notification (fig. 18b 18040; 0138) comprises presenting the battery level (fig. 18b, 13%) of the second user device (fig. 18b, LEGE G watch R)]
Claim 5:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein presenting the low battery notification comprises presenting charging status data for the second user device.”[ wherein presenting the low battery notification (fig. 18b 18040; 0138)comprises presenting charging status data (0135, a battery state display 18020; 0027 battery state may inidicate …charge frequency) for the second user device (fig. 18b, LEGE G watch R)]
Claim 6:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first user device is a cell phone and the
second user device is a wearable device.”[ wherein the first user device (fig. 1 1010, mobile device/ processor controlling notification output) is a cell phone (0054, electronic devices such as…a smart phone) and the second user device (fig. 1 1020, external electronic devices) is a wearable device (0054, wearable device refers to various electronic devices)]
Claim 7:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first user device is a wearable device and
the second user device is a cell phone.”[ wherein the first user device(fig. 1 1010, mobile device/ processor controlling notification output) is a wearable device (0054, wearable devices)and
the second user device (fig. 1 1020, external electronic devices) is a cell phone (0054, electronic devices such as…a smart phone)]
Claim 8:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise the first user
device periodically receiving the battery level information for the second user device.”[ wherein the operations further comprise the first user device (fig. 1 mobile/control) periodically receiving the battery level information (0118, battery state information may be received …at a predetermined time interval) for the second user device (0118, receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected device)]
Claim 9:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 8, wherein the second user device periodically broadcasts
the battery level information and wherein the first user device receives the battery level
information for the second user device via the broadcasted battery level information.”[ wherein the second user device (0118, receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected devices)periodically broadcasts the battery level information (0118, received at predetermined time intervals) and wherein the first user device (0118, mobile device may receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected device) receives the battery level
information for the second user device (0118, receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected devices) via the broadcasted battery level information (0118, battery state information…received at predetermined time intervals)]
Claim 10:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first and second user devices correspond
to a same user account, wherein the first user device receiving the battery level info for the
second user device is based at least in part on the first and second user devices corresponding to
the same user account.”[ wherein the first (fig. 1 1010 mobile / control) and second user devices (fig. 1 1020, electronic devices) correspond to a same user account (fig. 1, 0057, user), wherein the first user device(fig. 1 1010 mobile / control) receiving the battery level info for the second user device (0118, receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected devices) is based at least in part on the first (fig. 1 1010 mobile / control) and second user devices(fig. 1 1020, electronic devices) corresponding (fig. 1) to the same user account (fig. 1; 0057, user)]
Claim 11:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein the first user device receives the battery level
information for the second user device via a Bluetooth connection with the second user device.”[ wherein the first user device (fig. 1 1010, mobile/control) receives the battery level information (0118, receive the present battery remaining amount of the communication-connected devices) for the second user device (fig. 1 1020, electronic devices) via a Bluetooth connection (fig. 1 1030; 0060, Bluetooth; 0060,transmitting and receving electronic data wiredly or wirelessly;) with the second user device(fig. 1 1020, electronic devices)]
Claim 12 and 15-18:
Claims 12 and 15-18 recite similar limitations as that of claims 1 and 4-7 except that claims 12-18 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium instead of a method. Claims 12 and 15-18 are rejected under similar rationale as that of claims 1 and 4-7. Hwang further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more sequence of instructions that, when executed by one or more processes cause the one or more processors to perform operations in at least figure 21.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 recite similar limitations as that of claim 1 except that claim 19 is directed to a system instead of a method. Claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale as that of claim 1. Hwang further discloses one or more processors and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including one or more sequence of instructions that, when executed by one or more processes cause the one or more processors to perform operations in at least figure 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 20180068548 by Hwang et. al. (hereafter Hwang) further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 20090098914 by Martin-Cocher et. al. (hereafter Martin-Cocher).
Claim 2:
Hwang discloses “The method of claim 1, wherein presenting the low battery
notification comprises”[presenting the low battery notification comprises (fig. 18b, 18040 this notification to mobile only; 0137, notification based on remaining battery amount; 0138 remaining battery amount of the smart watch is smaller than a preset threshold)]
Hwang does not explicitly disclose “presenting a prompt to charge a battery of the second user device.”
On the other hand, Martin-Cocher discloses “presenting a prompt to charge a battery of the second user device.” [wherein the low battery notification (0021, notification could be received about the battery level; abstract battery level is above or below a predetermined threshold; fig. 1 112; 0065, notification to the application that a low battery threshold has been reached) comprises presenting a prompt to charge a battery (fig. 1 116, charging, yes) of the second user device (0021, mobile device)]
Both Hwang and Martin-Cocher are directed to systems that check for battery levels of user devices and providing notification of battery levels of them. Hwang provides for a control/mobile device that provides for battery level information of a connected device; and Martin-Cocher discloses a server application also provides battery level information of a connected mobile device. It would have been obvious to a person of an ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have utilized Martin-Cocher’s disclosure of a server application instead of the control/mobile device of Hwang for the purpose of allowing for the system to provide notification of charging, allowing the system to know if the second user device is charging, and to enable or disable features are necessary in order to conserve applications, see fig. 1 Martin-Cocher.
Claim 3:
Hwang discloses “receiving, by the first user device, a charging status data for the second user device” [receiving, by the first user device (fig. 1 mobile/control), a charging status data (fig. 16, s16020, check battery state of communication-connected device; 0027, battery state may indicate…charge frequency) for the second user device (s16020, communication-connected device) ]
Hwang does not explicitly disclose
“determining that the second user device is not plugged into any external power source
based on the charging status data,”
“wherein presenting the low battery notification is based further on determining that the second user device is not plugged into any external power source.”
On the other hand, Martin-Cocher discloses:
“receiving, by the first user device, charging status data for the second user device, and
determining that the second user device is not plugged into any external power source
based on the charging status data,”[ receiving, by the first user device (0020, server), charging status data (0022, battery is currently being charged) for the second user device (0020 mobile), and determining that the second user device is not plugged into any external power source based on the charging status data (fig. 1 116, charging- no)]
“wherein presenting the low battery notification is based further on determining that the second
user device is not plugged into any external power source.”[ wherein presenting the low battery notification(0021, notification could be received about the battery level; abstract battery level is above or below a predetermined threshold; fig. 1 112; 0065, notification to the application that a low battery threshold has been reached) is based further on determining that the second user device is not plugged into any external power source (fig. 1 116, charging no - flows to check battery level 112 which provides notification)]
Both Hwang and Martin-Cocher are directed to systems that check for battery levels of user devices and providing notification of battery levels of them. Hwang provides for a control/mobile device that provides for battery level information of a connected device; and Martin-Cocher discloses a server application also provides battery level information of a connected mobile device. It would have been obvious to a person of an ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have utilized Martin-Cocher’s disclosure of a server application instead of the control/mobile device of Hwang for the purpose of allowing for the system to provide notification of charging, allowing the system to know if the second user device is charging, and to enable or disable features are necessary in order to conserve applications, see fig. 1 Martin-Cocher.
Claim 13-14:
Claims 13-14 recite similar limitations as that of claims 2-3 except that claims 13-14 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium instead of a method. Claims 13-14 are rejected under similar rationale as that of claims 2-3. The combination of Hwang and Martin-Cocher further discloses in Hwang a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more sequence of instructions that, when executed by one or more processes cause the one or more processors to perform operations in at least figure 21.
Claim 20:
Claim 20 recite similar limitations as that of claim 2 except that claim 20 is directed to a system instead of a method. Claim 20 is rejected under similar rationale as that of claim 2. The combination of Hwang and Martin-Cocher further discloses in Hwang one or more processors and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including one or more sequence of instructions that, when executed by one or more processes cause the one or more processors to perform operations in at least figure 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections based on applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20130002441 by Tabarak Khan - The method involves sending a low battery update (42) to a presence server (44) to enable the low battery update to be provided to contacts associated with a mobile device (10A) after detecting a low battery state. A user interface for the mobile device is updated with a low battery presence indicator to indicate the low battery state, where the low battery presence indicator comprises an icon and a description. The low battery presence indicator is altered to indicate that a recharge of a battery is in progress upon detecting that the battery for the device is connected to a power source.
U.S. 20160292989 by Belk et. al. In particular fig. 8 provides for determining battery level of a second electronic device is below a threshold, send a notification to a first device that the battery of second device is low. However, U.S. 20160292989 is a commonly owned disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
.
/MICHAEL PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2167