Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-12, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 20130002441 by Khan et. al. (hereafter Khan).
Claim 1:
Khan discloses:
“receiving, by a first user device from a second user device over a wireless connection, battery level information for the second user device;” [receiving, by a first user device (fig. 1, 10b; fig. 11 @mobile device 10b;)from a second user device (fig. 1 10a) over a wireless connection (fig. 1 12, wireless network), battery level information (0063, provides visual indication of a low battery state; 0066 updated to show the low battery state has been rectified or no longer exists; fig. 11 124) for the second user device (fig. 9, @ mobile device 10a user a)]
“based on the battery level information:” [based on the battery level information (0063, provides visual indication of a low battery state; 0066 updated to show the low battery state has been rectified or no longer exists)]
“determining, by the first user device, that a battery level of the second user device is below a threshold level;” [determining, by the first user device(fig. 1, 10b; fig. 11 @mobile device 10b;), that a battery level of the second user device is below a threshold level(fig. 11 124; 0063 provides visual indication of a low battery state; low battery state is battery level below threshold level )]
“determining that the second user device is not plugged in to any external power source;” [determining that the second user device is not plugged in to any external power source (figs. 11-14; 0065, rectify the low battery state by recharging; determined not plugged in view of low battery state (fig. 11/13)]
“responsive to determining both that the battery level of the second user device is below the threshold level and the second user device is not plugged in to any external power source:”[ responsive to determining both that the battery level of the second user device is below the threshold level (fig. 11 124; 0063 provides visual indication of a low battery state; low battery state is battery level that is below a threshold level) and the second user device is not plugged in to any external power source(figs. 11-14; 0065, rectify the low battery state by recharging; determined not plugged in view of low battery state (fig. 11/13)]
“presenting, by the first user device on a display screen of the first user device, one or more of (a)a prompt to plug in the second user device to an external power source or (b) a low battery notification.” [presenting, by the first user device on a display screen of the first user device (fig. 1 10b), one or more of (a)a prompt to plug in the second user device to an external power source (fig. 25 user a is now recharged) or (b) a low battery notification (fig. 11 124)]
Claim 4:
Khan discloses: “The method of claim 1, wherein presenting the low battery notification comprises presenting the battery level of the second user device.”[ wherein presenting the low battery notification (fig. 11 124) comprises presenting the battery level of the second user device (0063, low battery state; 0066, updated to show the low battery state has been rectified)]
Claim 5:
Khan discloses: “The method of claim 1, wherein presenting the low battery notification comprises presenting charging status data for the second user device.”[ wherein presenting the low battery notification(fig. 11 124) comprises presenting charging status data for the second user device (0063, low battery state; 0066, updated to show the low battery state has been rectified)]
Claim 6:
Khan discloses: “The method of claim 1, wherein the first user device is a cell phone and the second user device is a wearable device.”[ wherein the first user device (fig. 1 10b) is a cell phone (0039, cellular phones) and the second user device (fig. 1 10a) is a wearable device (0039, portable)]
Claim 7:
Khan discloses: “The method of claim 1, wherein the first user device is a wearable device and the second user device is a cell phone.”[ wherein the first user device (fig. 1 10b) is a wearable device (0039, portable) and the second user device (fig. 1 10a) is a cell phone (0039, cellular phones)]
Claim 8:
Khan discloses:”The method of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise the first user device periodically receiving the battery level information for the second user device.” [wherein the operations further comprise the first user device (fig. 1 10b) periodically receiving the battery level information (0059, periodically, a current battery level…updating one or more contacts accordingly; 0052, recharge update…low battery update ) for the second user device (0052, mobile device 10a)]
Claim 9:
Khan discloses: “The method of claim 8, wherein the second user device periodically broadcasts the battery level information and wherein the first user device receives the battery level information for the second user device via the broadcasted battery level information.”[ wherein the second user device (0052, mobile device 10a) periodically broadcasts the battery level information (0059, periodically, a current battery level…updating one or more contacts accordingly; 0052, recharge update…low battery update )and wherein the first user device (fig. 1 10b) receives the battery level information for the second user device(0052, mobile device 10a) via the broadcasted battery level information(0059, periodically, a current battery level…updating one or more contacts accordingly; 0052, recharge update…low battery update]
Claim 10:
Khan discloses: “The method of claim 1, wherein the first and second user devices correspond to a same user account, wherein the first user device receiving the battery level info for the second user device is based at least in part on the first and second user devices corresponding to the same user account.”[ wherein the first and second user devices (fig. 1 10a/10b) correspond to a same user account (figs. 11-14, user A), wherein the first user device (fig. 11 @mobile device 10b) receiving the battery level info (fig. 11 124; fig. 5) for the second user device (fig. 13, @mobile device 10a) is based at least in part on the first and second user devices (fig. 1 10a/10b) corresponding to the same user account(figs. 11-14, user A)]
Claim 11:
Khan discloses: ”The method of claim 1, wherein the first user device receives the battery level information for the second user device via a Bluetooth connection with the second user device.”[ wherein the first user device (fig. 11 @mobile device 10b) receives the battery level information (fig. 11 124; fig. 5) for the second user device(fig. 13, @mobile device 10a) via a Bluetooth connection (0094, Bluetooth) with the second user device (0094, communication between mobile device 10 and different systems or devices)]
Claim 12:
Claims 12 and 15-18 recite similar limitations as that of claims 1 and 4-7 except that claims 12-18 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium instead of a method. Claims 12 and 15-18 are rejected under similar rationale as that of claims 1 and 4-7. Khan further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising one or more sequence of instructions that, when executed by one or more processes cause the one or more processors to perform operations in at least figure 31 and 0097.
Claim 19:
Claim 19 recite similar limitations as that of claim 1 except that claim 19 is directed to a system instead of a method. Claim 19 is rejected under similar rationale as that of claim 1. Khan further discloses one or more processors and a non-transitory computer-readable medium including one or more sequence of instructions that, when executed by one or more processes cause the one or more processors to perform operations in at least figure 31 and 0097.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 20140228062 by Rubowitz provides relevance in fig. 2 wherein there is power level of an electronic device being monitored, power level is below a threshold, identify contacts to send a notification message.
U.S. 10083105 by De la Cropte de chanterac et. al. provides relevance in fig. 7 wherein a first computing system taking charge information of a second computing system, determining that the second system is below a level of remaining charge and taking action. However, U.S. 100083105 is commonly owned disclosure.
U.S. 20060089733 by Dickinson provides relevance in fig. 18 and 0114-0016, in particular there is discussion of a battery having a low state of charge 1802 followed by a plug in compliance send alert message.
Contact Information
.
/MICHAEL PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2167