DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species group II in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Species groups I and III are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 10,836,937) in view of Jung et al. (KR 20180032132).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, and 10, Suzuki et al. teaches a PSA composition comprising a (meth)acrylic polymer comprising, as monomeric components constituting the (meth)acrylic polymer: (A) a C.sub.2-18 alkyl (meth)acrylate, and (C) a monomer having a hydroxyl group (See Abstract), which corresponds to (meth)acrylate monomer and hydroxyl-containing monomer as claimed, and wherein component (A) content is 30% to 90% by weight and component (C) content is 5% to 30% by weight (col. 7, line 22-col. 8, line 16). The composition comprises initiator in an amount of 0.001 to 5 parts by weight (col. 13, line 59-col. 15, line 44).
It is noted that Suzuki et al. discloses amounts of components in weight percent while claims recite parts by weight. However, given that the amounts disclosed by Suzuki et al. overlaps those amounts claimed, respectively, it is clear that Suzuki et al. meets the ranges as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Suzuki et al. teaches other monomer(s) or optional monomers may be present (col. 8, lines 17-20) but fails to teach the high Tg monomer as claimed.
However, Jung et al. teaches an adhesive composition comprising an acrylic copolymer including 40 to 95% by weight of a (meth) acrylate monomer containing an alkyl group having from 1 to 12 carbon atoms in addition to 3 to 25% by weight of a hydroxyl group-containing acrylic monomer. In addition, the acrylic copolymer may further include 20 to 50% by weight of a high Tg monomer having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 10° C to 100° C (pages 4-5), including 3,3,5-trimethylcyclohexyl acrylate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a high Tg monomer such as 3,3,5-trimethylcyclohexyl acrylate in the composition of Suzuki et al. in order to impart desired durability and adhesion (Jung et al, page 5).
Regarding claims 3, 6, and 8, Suzuki et al. teaches examples of a C.sub.2-18 alkyl (meth)acrylate having a straight-chain alkyl group at the ester end include ethyl (meth)acrylate, n-butyl (meth)acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth)acrylate, etc. (col. 3, line 58-col. 4, line 12), examples of the hydroxyl group-containing monomer include 2-hydroxyethyl (meth)acrylate, 2-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate, 3-hydroxypropyl (meth)acrylate, 4-hydroxybutyl (meth)acrylate etc. (col. 6, lines 20-47), and examples of initiators include 2,2-dimethoxy-1,2-diphenylethane-1-one and 1-hydroxycyclohexyl phenyl ketone (col. 14, lines 31-37).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 5, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 10,836,937).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4 5, 7, 9, and 10, Suzuki et al. teaches a PSA composition comprising a (meth)acrylic polymer comprising, as monomeric components constituting the (meth)acrylic polymer: (B) an alicyclic monomer including alicyclic (meth)acrylate monomers, (A) a C.sub.2-18 alkyl (meth)acrylate, and (C) a monomer having a hydroxyl group (See Abstract), which corresponds to (meth)acrylate monomer, high Tg monomer, and hydroxyl-containing monomer as claimed, and wherein component (B) content is 5% to 65% by weight, component (A) content is 30% to 90% by weight, and component (C) content is 5% to 30% by weight (col. 7, line 22-col. 8, line 16). The composition comprises initiator in an amount of 0.001 to 5 parts by weight (col. 13, line 59-col. 15, line 44). The C.sub.2-18 alkyl (meth)acrylate may be tert-butyl acrylate (col. 4, lines 1-3) which is identical to that presently claimed and, therefore, considered a high Tg monomer having a glass transition temperature as presently claimed.
It is noted that Suzuki et al. discloses amounts of components in weight percent while claims recite parts by weight. However, given that the amounts disclosed by Suzuki et al. overlaps those amounts claimed, respectively, it is clear that Suzuki et al. meets the ranges as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20180032132).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 10, Jung et al. teaches an adhesive composition comprising an acrylic copolymer including a (meth) acrylate monomer containing an alkyl group having from 1 to 12 carbon atoms such as n-butyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, etc. in addition to a hydroxyl group-containing acrylic monomer including 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate, 2 hydroxypropyl (meth) acrylate, etc. In addition, the acrylic copolymer may further include a high Tg monomer having a glass transition temperature (Tg) of 10° C to 100° C (pages 4-5), including 3,3,5-trimethylcyclohexyl acrylate, wherein the (meth) acrylate monomer containing an alkyl group having from 1 to 12 carbon atoms is in an amount of 40 to 95% by weight, the hydroxyl group-containing acrylic monomer is in an amount of 3 to 25% by weight, the high Tg monomer is in an amount of 20 to 50% by weight (pages 4-5). Jung et al. teaches further including a photoinitiator including 2,2-dimethoxy-2-phenylacetophenone in an amount of 0.01 to 1.0 part by weight (pages 8-9).
It is noted that Jung et al. discloses amounts of components in weight percent while claims recite parts by weight. However, given that the amounts disclosed by Suzuki et al. overlaps those amounts claimed, respectively, it is clear that Jung et al. meets the ranges as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); see MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claim 1 to recite the high Tg monomer has a glass transition temperature of 60oC to 85oC.
Applicant argues the claimed Tg range is critical and points to Tables 1 and 2.
However, the data is not persuasive given that the data is not commensurate in scope with the scope of the present claims. For example, the examples use specific types of monomers while the claim broadly recites any type of each monomer. There is no data at the upper end point and lower end point of each of the amounts of each of the claimed monomers. Further, there is no data at the upper end point and lower end point of the glass transition temperature of the high Tg monomer, i.e. at 60oC and at 85oC.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787