Priority
Acknowledgment is made to the instant applications claim for priority to provisional application 63/628,858, and as such the earliest date of priority of 08/29/2023 is granted to the instant application.
Drawings
Photographs, color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one photograph. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first set of notches and the second set of notches” of claim 5, the “first set of notches operatively connected to the first layer” of claim 6, the “sensor” of claim 8, the “first pad (2), plurality of slots (3)m and first demarcation area (7) residing within the first layer (10A)” of claim 15, the “the second pad (4), the third pad (5), the fourth pad (6), the second demarcation area (8), and the fifth pad (13) reside within the second layer (10B)” of claim 16, and the “outer core and inner core” of claim 17, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
The examiner notes that the drawings are unclear and claimed features such as the third pad 5, fourth pad 6 and fifth pad 13, the rubber band 11 of claim 1, are not shown. Furthermore the labels and reference numerals on each figure cannot be read as the scanning has blurred the lettering to the point of ineligibility, most notably these clarity issues are causing the location and functions of the first and second demarcation areas of claim 1, to be unclear. Black and white line drawings with clear reference numerals and labeling of each claimed feature are required when submitting new drawings. No new matter should be entered.
In addition, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “7” has been used to designate both a demarcation area and a demarcation unit.
Claim Objections
The examiner suggests removing the reference numerals from the claims, OR if the applicant wishes to keep them in the claims, they must all be placed within parenthesis as noted below.
In claim 2 if the reference numerals are kept: line 2 “first layer 10A” should be –first layer (10A)--.
Claim 9 is objected to for the following informalities:
On line 1 “is configured” should be –are configured--.
Claim 20 is objected to for the following informalities:
On lines 1-2, “wherein the first demarcation unit (7) contacts the bar, such that a lifter handling the bar orients elbows of the lifter at 45 degrees” should be –wherein the first demarcation unit (7) contacts the bar such that elbows of a lifter handling the bar are oriented at 45 degrees--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a rebound effect, wherein the rebound effect modifies the bench press device from a first height to a second height” on lines 5-7. It is unclear what this “rebound effect” is meant to be as there is no definition provided in the specification. It is unclear if the bench press device is compressed and then decompressed which is the rebound effect, which requires the compressed height to be the first height and the second height to be the decompressed height, or if the rebound effect is when pads are added the height of the overall assembly is changed, which the claim recites five pads in total at once and does not claim adding/removing pads.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the first pad (2) is four inches” on line 1. It is unclear which dimension, height, length, or width, this limitation is in regards to, or if the measurement for every dimension of the pad is four inches.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the first set of notches is operatively connected to the first layer (10A) and the second set of notches is operatively connected to the second layer (10B).” Due to the lack of direction from the drawings, as noted in the drawing objections above, it is unclear where the first and second sets of notches are, as there are only two shown in the current set of drawings, and both are depicted as attached to the second layer (10B). The examiner notes that the figures do appear to show a notch near the label for first layer (10A) , however which are the first and second set of notches are not shown which is why the claimed limitation is unclear.
Claim 8 recites the limitation, “the first demarcation unit (7)” on line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation as a demarcation unit has not yet been claimed only a demarcation area. It is further noted that it is unclear if the demarcation area (7) claimed in claim 1, which claim 8 depends on, is the same structure or a separate structure than that of the demarcation unit (7) claimed in claim 8.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “ a flexible PCP pipe and tubular polyurethane.”, on lines 2-3. It is unclear what material PCP pipe is meant to be as the acronym is not fully written out in any preceding claim, nor is it defined within the specification. It is unclear if this is referring to a brand of pipe such as “Pacific Corrugated Pipe Company” or if this is a synonym for PVC pipe.
Claim 20 recites the limitation, “the first demarcation unit (7)” on line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation as a demarcation unit has not yet been claimed only a demarcation area. It is further noted that it is unclear if the demarcation area (7) claimed in claim 1, which claim 12 depends on which also only claims a demarcation area, is the same structure or a separate structure than that of the demarcation unit (7) claimed in claim 20.
Dependent claims 2-3,5,7,9, and 11-19 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,9-13,15-16,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barrow US 20120165163 A1.
Regarding claim 1:
Barrow discloses a bench press device (“This invention relates to a weightlifting aid and a method of weightlifting, with particular reference to weightlifting from a recumbent position, such as bench pressing.” See paragraph [0001]) comprising: a first layer (base region 14) and a second layer (See annotated figure 1); a first pad (board element(s) 16); a plurality of slots (side members 12a which as depicted appear to be slots for the harness 12 to go through) ; a second pad (board element(s) 16, the examiner notes that paragraph [0025] discusses a step of forming a stack of a desired number of board/pad elements and therefore as many board elements as desired can be used. In addition, figure 1 depicts 5 total board elements.), wherein the second pad is configured for a rebound effect, wherein the rebound effect modifies the bench press device from a first height to a second height. The examiner notes that due to the unclear nature of the claim language, see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, and the fact that paragraph [0050] of the instant application’s specification states in regards to the rebound effect, “The padding network of assembly 1 can be composed of polyurethane foam on the outer core, with an inner core flexible PCP pipe and more tubular polyurethane inside assembly 1, thereby providing a rebound effect, when the bar contacts assembly 1”, as a result the rebound effect claimed is being interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations, as an inherent property of the material of the pad, which paragraph [0044] of Barrow states, “It is preferred that the board pads are formed from a relatively high density foam material. Such materials are relatively light, but provide sufficient resilience against the weight of the barbell. Other materials, such as a suitable rubber, might be used in its place.” Therefore the pads are being considered as being configured for a rebounding effect.) ; a third pad (board element(s) 16, the examiner notes that paragraph [0025] discusses a step of forming a stack of a desired number of board/pad elements and therefore as many board elements as desired can be used. In addition, figure 1 depicts 5 total board elements.), wherein the third pad is configured for the rebound effect (See discussion of the rebound effect above); a fourth pad (board element(s) 16, the examiner notes that paragraph [0025] discusses a step of forming a stack of a desired number of board/pad elements and therefore as many board elements as desired can be used. In addition, figure 1 depicts 5 total board elements.), wherein the fourth pad is: (i) configured for the rebound effect (See discussion of the rebound effect above) and (ii) operatively connected into the first pad (See annotated figure 1); a first demarcation area (Paragraph [0016] of the instant application’s specification states, “the first demarcation area (7) is an area for a bar to contact”, in which case the any of the board elements which contact the barbell during use, inherently include a first demarcation area.) ; a second demarcation area (The examiner notes that the specification does not provide a definition for the difference between the first and second demarcation areas, and due to the lack of direction from the drawings noted in the objection above, the examiner is noting the definition of a demarcation which as provided by Merriam-Webster dictionary is “something that marks or constitutes a boundary”, therefore any of the pads which when used have boundaries inherently include a second demarcation area.); a rubber band (harness 12. The examiner notes that paragraph [0038] states, “The harness 12 is formed from a length of material which has elastic properties, and is connected at both of its ends to the base region 14.” Therefore due to the lack of direction from the drawings, and the fact that the harness is stated as being made from elastic materials, under the broadest reasonable interpretation it is being considered a rubber band.); a plurality of notches (See annotated figure 4) ; and a fifth pad (board element(s) 16, the examiner notes that paragraph [0025] discusses a step of forming a stack of a desired number of board/pad elements and therefore as many board elements as desired can be used. In addition, figure 1 depicts 5 total board elements.).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (5th pad)][AltContent: textbox (4th pad)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3rd pad)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd pad)][AltContent: textbox (2nd Layer)][AltContent: textbox (1st Layer)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd set of Notches)][AltContent: textbox (First set of Notches)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2:
Barrow discloses the bench device of claim 1, wherein the first layer is operatively connected to the second layer (See figure 1) or the first layer is separated from the second layer (The examiner notes that as stated above in claim 1 with respect to paragraph [0025] of Barrow, if the user desires to leave the first layer and the second layer separated they can choose to not connect them).
Regarding claim 3:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the first height is four inches (“Preferably, each board element is at least 5 cm thick. Board element thicknesses of 7.5 cm or greater might be used.” See paragraph [0015]. The examiner notes the 7.5cm is 3 inches, therefore Barrow stating the pads can be over 3 inches allows the height of each pad to be 4 inches if desired. ) and the second height is eight inches (The examiner notes that due to the unclear nature of the claim language in claim 1, if the rebound effect is meant to be adding more pads, then adding another 4 inch high pad will make the second height inches as claimed.).
Regarding claim 4:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the first pad is four inches (“Preferably, each board element is at least 5 cm thick. Board element thicknesses of 7.5 cm or greater might be used.” See paragraph [0015]. The examiner notes the 7.5cm is 3 inches, therefore Barrow stating the pads can be over 3 inches allows the height of each pad to be 4 inches if desired. ).
Regarding claim 5:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of notches has a first set of notches and second set of notches (The examiner notes that due to the lack of direction from the drawings in regards to which notches are the first set and second set since only two notches are shown in the figures, the invention of Barrow as depicted in figure 4 any of the notches can be considered a first or a second set as there are notches on the top and bottom and left and right sides of each pad).
Regarding claim 6:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 5, wherein the first set of notches is operatively connected to the first layer (See annotated figure 4, where the phrase “operatively connected” only requires that when in use the structures are connected somehow, not requiring direct connection, therefore when the pads are connected to the first layer the first set of notches are operatively connected to the first layer) and the second set of notches is operatively connected to the second layer (See annotated figure 4, where the phrase “operatively connected” only requires that when in use the structures are connected somehow, not requiring direct connection, therefore when the pads are connected to the first layer the first set of notches are operatively connected to the second layer).
Regarding claim 7:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of notches is operatively connected to the rubber band (The examiner notes that the phrase “operatively connected” only requires that when in use the structures are connected somehow, not requiring direct connection, therefore when the pads are connected to the first layer the notches thereof are operatively connected to the rubber band).
Regarding claim 9:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of slots is configured to receive polyurethane tubular pads to enhance the rebound effect (The examiner notes that the polyurethane tubular pads have not been positively recited, therefore the slots of Barrow being depicted as open slots for a structure to pass through, in the case of barrow being the harness 12, tubular pads could be inserted and therefore they are being considered as being configured to receive polyurethane tubular pads).
Regarding claim 10:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 2, wherein the first layer operatively connected to the second layer leads to a compression effect, when contacted with a bar (The examiner notes that as stated in paragraph [0044] the pads, which make up the first and second layers of the bench press device, are comprised of high density foam material or rubber, which both inherently allow for compression under load, and therefore when the bar is lowered during bench press the layers would compress).
Regarding claim 11:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 10, wherein the compression effect leads to the rebound effect (As noted above in the rejection of claim 1, which claim 2 depends on, which claim 10 depends on, which claim 11 depends on, the rebound effect of the pads is an inherent property of the materials and therefore when compressed under load, and then de-loaded they return to their original shape and size and would rebound).
Regarding claim 12:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the first demarcation area is an area for a bar to contact (See rejection of claim 1, and figure 5(b), which depicts the user starting to lift the bar off the top pad in the assembly).
[AltContent: textbox (1st demarcation area of top pad)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 13:
The bench press device of claim 1, wherein the fifth pad is configured to contact a bar, wherein the bar is descending downwards (“The number of board elements 16 can be varied in accordance with the user's wishes in order to vary the nature of the exercise performed. FIGS. 5a and 5b show a user 50 performing a bench press exercise with a barbell 52 using a training aid 54 of the invention. The training aid 54 includes a stack formed from a plurality of board elements 56.”See paragraph [0041], and figures 5(a) and 5(b). The examiner notes that as stated above if the user chooses to stack all five boards the fifth pad would be configured to contact the bar when the user brings the barbell down).
Regarding claim 15:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the first pad, the plurality of slots, and the first demarcation area reside within the first layer (The examiner notes that due to the lack of direction from the drawings, see drawing objection(s) above, that as the instant application doesn’t depict the structures residing within the first layer, the annotated figure 1 of Barrow as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, where the first layer includes the first pad, and its corresponding first demarcation area on the top surface, and the slots in the base for the harness, are being considered as the first pad, plurality of slots, and first demarcation area residing within the overall assembly of the first layer).
Regarding claim 16:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the second pad, the third pad, the fourth pad, the second demarcation area, and the fifth pad reside within the second layer (The examiner notes that due to the lack of direction from the drawings, see drawing objection(s) above, that as the instant application doesn’t depict the structures residing within the first layer, the annotated figure 1 of Barrow as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above, where the second layer includes the second pad, the third pad, the fourth pad, the second demarcation area, and the fifth pad are being considered as these structures residing within the overall assembly of the second layer).
Regarding claim 19:
Barrow discloses the bench device of claim 1, wherein the rubber band is configured to span a first side of the bench device and a second side of the bench device (See figure 1 which depicts the harness 12 of Barrow going from one side of the assembly to the other, with the examiner noting that the definition of span as provided by Merriam-Webster dictionary is “an extent, stretch, reach , or spread between to limits” and therefore the harness 12 of Barrow extending between both sides of the bench device assembly is being considered as configured to span it.) ).
Regarding claim 20:
Barrow discloses the bench press device of claim 12, wherein the first demarcation unit contacts the bar, such that a lifter handling the bar orients elbows of the lifter at 45 degrees (The examiner notes that as stated in paragraph [0025] of Barrow that the user forms a stack of a desired number of board elements, in order to train with different ranges of motion, which is the same function and intended use of the instant application. Therefore if the user chooses to stack the pads so that their elbows are oriented at 45 degrees during a lift they can do so.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrow US 20120165163 A1, and further in view of Song US 20110251802 A1.
Barrow teaches the invention as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 8:
Barrow teaches the bench press device of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first demarcation unit contains a sensor.
Song, however, teaches articles of clothing and for detection systems used to monitor and registering the intensity, location and sources of impacts in contact sports such as boxing, martial arts, fencing, and so forth (See abstract), and further teaches wherein the first demarcation unit contains a sensor (“FIG. 1 shows the sensor 3 situated in the center of the target area 17 comprises a circular area that is preferably distinguished from the surrounding surface of the vest by being of a different color, thus providing greater visibility and thus enhancing the likelihood that the impact from a kick will be applied to the target area.” See paragraph [0039]. The examiner notes that due to the unclear nature of the claim language, see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, the demarcation area of claim 1, and the demarcation unit of claim 8, are being considered as the same structure under the broadest reasonable interpretation with no further structural or functional limitations, and therefore the pad of Song having a visually distinct target housing a sensor, is a demarcation unit containing a sensor). In addition, Song teaches, wherein the sensor sends a signal if a bar contacts the first demarcation unit (“Once enabled, upon receiving an impact, the impact transducers generate an electrical signal that is processed by a data acquisition and detector processor 28 and transmitted to a remote monitoring station 29 by a wireless communication processor 28A through an antenna 28C. This signal is then displayed or otherwise indicated at a display 30 or bar graph or alarm 31.” See paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to house a sensor which transmits a signal when impacted in the pad(s) of Barrow as taught by Song, as this would allow the user to more specifically tailor their training for proper form and range of motion as the sensor would only send the signal when valid contact with the bar is sensed.
Regarding claim 14:
Barrow as modified teaches the bench press device of claim 8, wherein the sensor sends a signal if a bar contacts the first demarcation unit (See rejection of claim 8 above) .
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barrow US 20120165163 A1, and further in view of Alba US11534660 B2.
Barrow teaches the invention as substantially claimed above.
Regarding claim 17:
Barrow teaches the bench press device of claim 1, wherein the first layer and the second layer has an outer core (The examiner notes that due to the lack of direction from the drawings with no outer or inner core being depicted, and with the specification merely reciting the claim language, the outer core under the broadest reasonable interpretation is being considered as the bulk of material surrounding the outside of the layers, and therefore Barrow states, in paragraphs [0018], “The board elements may be formed from any suitable material. Preferably, the board elements are formed from a resilient foam, such as high density foam. Other materials, such as elastomeric or polymeric materials, might be utilized.” Which shows that there is an outer core material) but fails to teach an inner core.
Alba, however, teaches a flexibly bendable pole with spring-like properties that may be used for many exercise methods (See col. 1 lines 34-36), and further teaches an inner core (“FIG. 13A shows an illustrative exercise device 100 that may include the single rod core 302 and FIG. 13B show a cross-sectional view taken at line 13-13. Bendable pole 102 includes a tubing 304 comprising PVC or other thermoplastic polymer.” See col. 14 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layers of Barrow to include an inner core as taught by Alba, as this would provide a more resilient structure, and enhance how much the pads protect the user from the load of the barbell during exercise.
Regarding claim 18:
Barrow as modified by Alba teaches the bench press device of claim 17, wherein the outer core is composed of polyurethane foam (As noted in the rejection of claim 17 above, paragraph [0018] of Barrow states that the outer core material of the pads is a high density foam, which polyurethane foam is a high density foam and therefore is anticipated by Barrow.) but fails to teach that the inner core is composed of a flexible PCP pipe and tubular polyurethane.
Alba, however, teaches a flexibly bendable pole with spring-like properties that may be used for many exercise methods (See col. 1 lines 34-36), and further teaches that the inner core is composed of a flexible PCP pipe and tubular polyurethane (“Bendable pole 102 includes a tubing 304 comprising PVC or other thermoplastic polymer.” …Foam outer layer 306 may comprise, for example, a closed cell foam of medium density polyurethane or neoprene and may have a 3⅛ inch wall thickness.” See col.14 lines 4-12. The examiner notes that due to the unclear nature of the claim language, see 35 USC 112(b) rejection above, regarding what material PCP pipe is meant to be, under the broadest reasonable interpretation the claim is being considered as a typographical error of PVC and therefore the corresponding sections of Alba have been used to teach a PVC and polyurethane core).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layers of Barrow to make the inner core out of PVC pipe and tubular polyurethane as taught by Alba, so that when compressed the padded layers would retain structural rigidity when compressed, but still be able to rebound back to their original shape when decompressed.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of the record has not been relied upon but has been found to be pertinent to the content of the applicant’s disclosure:
Dalessio et al. US 20150072839 A1: Weight Training Apparatus, which teaches a weight training apparatus having a number of blocks preferably constructed out of wood. These blocks have an attachment mechanism such as a hook and loop fastener to adhere the blocks to one another. One of the blocks has straps that secure the apparatus to a weighted barbell for weight training. The user then lies, on their back, on a weight bench, and performs a typical bench press.
Ferrell US 20150065315 A1: Weightlifting Aid, which teaches an improved weightlifting aid and method of use thereof, comprising: a barbell supporting block element; and a plurality of barbell contacting arrangements for attaching different sides of the block element to a barbell; in which the one or more barbell contacting arrangements are releasably connectable to the barbell.
Mayo US 6676575 B1:Weight Support for Abdominal Exercises, which teaches an apparatus for supporting a weight on a supine person's abdomen for performing abdominal exercises, including a base and a platform removably resting on the base. The platform has at least one depression for receiving a curl barbell, a straight barbell, and/or dumbbells.
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3784
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784