DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 8/29/2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are independent claims.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: presenting a page for selecting attributes of the recommended object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trepca et al. (hereinafter “Trepca”), U.S. Published Application No. 20160140519.
Claim 1:
Trepca teaches A method of presenting information, comprising:
presenting an information feed page, wherein the information feed page comprises recommendation information of at least one recommended object; ( e.g., displaying product information or merchandise data on an ecommerce website for purchase by a user See Figures 2 and 5; par. 190; FIG. 2 shows the product selection user interface in overview. Interface 40 represents to user 30 an aggregation of product or merchandise data par. 230; FIG. 8 shows a typical user interaction with this “integrated checkout” system. [0231] 1. Having selected a product/item, the customer selects a size of item (if the product is a sized item) and then selects the “Buy Now” button. Par. 413; In more detail, the recommendation engine system comprises two stages: [0414] Ranking—which comprises selecting products that a given user is likely to find attractive [0415] Merchandising—which comprises combining or grouping products into a set that is both pleasing to the user as a whole (for example, according to parameters determined to be of importance to the user and/or aesthetically) and meets certain merchandising requirements.)
and in response to a trigger operation for recommendation information of a recommended object, presenting a page for selecting attributes of the recommended object, the page for selecting attributes comprising a placing order option and attribute information of the recommended object. (e.g., In response to an existing member or customer selecting “buy now” for a product item, displaying a final order review page comprising a submit order and product details of the product item par. 230; FIG. 8 shows a typical user interaction with this “integrated checkout” system. [0231] 1. Having selected a product/item, the customer selects a size of item (if the product is a sized item) and then selects the “Buy Now” button. [0232] The available sizes are fetched from the retailer's own product page. [0233] 2. The customer is prompted to sign in as a member of the system or to continue as a Guest. [0234] Returning customers are also prompted to sign in for security purposes as their payment details are saved for faster checkout in the future. For return purchases by members, the customer only experiences steps 1, 2, 6, 7, 8.
par. 240; 6. On the final Order Review page, the customer has an opportunity to check all the details of their order: Product, size, price, shipping option, payment method, shipping and billing addresses. [0241] 7. The customer then selects “Submit Order”. [0242] At this point the backend assembles all of the relevant data (customer details, product details) and submits it to the retailer's own website. This process is hidden from the customer and conducted in the background. [0243] 8. If it is successfully submitted, they are shown a page confirming that the order has been submitted, along with a summary of their order. The customer is advised that they will soon receive further status of their purchase from the system and from the Retailer in the email that they submitted during checkout.)
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Trepca teaches wherein presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object comprises:
in response to a preset target condition being met, presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object; (e.g., in response to the user being a returning member (i.e., preset target condition) , skipping steps to display the final review order page faster par. 233; 2. The customer is prompted to sign in as a member of the system or to continue as a Guest. [0234] Returning customers are also prompted to sign in for security purposes as their payment details are saved for faster checkout in the future. For return purchases by members, the customer only experiences steps 1, 2, 6, 7, 8.)
wherein at least one of the following:
the preset target condition comprises a number of placing order operations of objects performed by a login account within a first historical period being not less than a first number threshold, (e.g., returning customer may indicates at least one purchase from the login account since the account existence (i.e., first historical period) par. 234; [0234] Returning customers are also prompted to sign in for security purposes as their payment details are saved for faster checkout in the future. For return purchases by members, the customer only experiences steps 1, 2, 6, 7, 8.)
and a number of placing order operations of objects performed by the login account within a second historical period being less than a second number threshold; (e.g., returning member placing product in basket to order while product availability last par. 335; The placing by a user of an item into the user shopping basket may be considered as an “intent to buy”. The merchant system queries the retailer for stock availability once at that stage (even if two or more users have added the item to their baskets, only one stock level check is required), and again at the time user confirms they wish to proceed with the purchase. The rate of stock level checking may depend on stock level; eg. made more frequent for popular items.)
or the preset target condition comprises the recommended object belonging to a target object type. (e.g., displaying product items on the final review order page belonging to the merchant website (i.e., target object type) par. 240; [0240] 6. On the final Order Review page, the customer has an opportunity to check all the details of their order: Product, size, price, shipping option, payment method, shipping and billing addresses. [0241] 7. The customer then selects “Submit Order”. [0242] At this point the backend assembles all of the relevant data (customer details, product details) and submits it to the retailer's own website.)
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Trepca teaches wherein, in response to the trigger operation for the recommendation information of the recommended object, presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object, comprises:
in response to the trigger operation for the recommendation information of the recommended object, presenting an information aggregation page corresponding to the recommended object, and presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object on the information aggregation page, ( e.g., In response to an existing member or customer selecting “buy now” for a product item, displaying optional pages such as forms to enter shipping and billing information (i.e., information aggregation page) and a final order review page comprising a submit order and product details of the product item par. 230; FIG. 8 shows a typical user interaction with this “integrated checkout” system. [0231] 1. Having selected a product/item, the customer selects a size of item (if the product is a sized item) and then selects the “Buy Now” button. [0232] The available sizes are fetched from the retailer's own product page. [0233] 2. The customer is prompted to sign in as a member of the system or to continue as a Guest. [0234] Returning customers are also prompted to sign in for security purposes as their payment details are saved for faster checkout in the future. For return purchases by members, the customer only experiences steps 1, 2, 6, 7, 8. [0235] 3. If this is a first time purchase or a Guest Checkout, the customer is displayed with a form to enter in their shipping and billing addresses. They then select “Proceed”. [0236] 4. Optionally, the customer is then given the option to select the Cheapest or Fastest shipping options available. [0237] Although the specific retailer may have more options available, for simplicity only the Cheapest and Fastest options are displayed. It is displayed with the shipping method type, estimated shipping time, and cost. [0238] 5. Before proceeding, the customer enters their payment method details: Credit card number, Expiration date, and CVC (security number). [0239] These details are securely saved for members for faster checkout in the future (typically, the CVC is not saved or stored, in compliance with regulations and/or best practice methodology). They can change the payment method from the Order Review page.)
wherein a size of a presenting area of the information aggregation page is greater than a size of a presenting area of the page for selecting attributes. (e.g., form for entering shipping or credit cards information is greater than the area of attributes such as cost and size on the review page see Figure 8). Par. 235; 3. If this is a first time purchase or a Guest Checkout, the customer is displayed with a form to enter in their shipping and billing addresses. They then select “Proceed”. [0236] 4. Optionally, the customer is then given the option to select the Cheapest or Fastest shipping options available. [0237] Although the specific retailer may have more options available, for simplicity only the Cheapest and Fastest options are displayed. It is displayed with the shipping method type, estimated shipping time, and cost. [0238] 5. Before proceeding, the customer enters their payment method details: Credit card number, Expiration date, and CVC (security number). [0239] These details are securely saved for members for faster checkout in the future (typically, the CVC is not saved or stored, in compliance with regulations and/or best practice methodology).)
Claim 4 depends on claim 3:
Trepca teaches wherein at least one of the following: in a case that the information feed page is used to recommend a recommended object, the information aggregation page is an object detail page which is used to describe the recommended object in at least one dimension; or in a case that the information feed page is used to recommend a plurality of candidate objects, the information aggregation page is an object aggregation page which is used to present object description information of the plurality of candidate objects, and the plurality of candidate objects comprises the at least one recommended object. ( e.g., displaying product information or merchandise data on an ecommerce website for purchase by a user Examiner notes that the quantity of the product can selected by the user (i.e., plurality of recommended object) See Figures 2 and 5; par. 190; FIG. 2 shows the product selection user interface in overview. Interface 40 represents to user 30 an aggregation of product or merchandise data par. 230; FIG. 8 shows a typical user interaction with this “integrated checkout” system. [0231] 1. Having selected a product/item, the customer selects a size of item (if the product is a sized item) and then selects the “Buy Now” button.
Par. 256; Based on similar underpinnings as described above, further embodiments extend the system 1 to allow for the simultaneous purchase of multiple items from multiple retailers. [0261] This has several advantages, including: [0262] the ability to buy more than one item when shopping online, particularly to make shipping charges “worth it” i.e. when considering the cost of shipping items individually compared to possibly combining multiple orders into a smaller number of shipments or only one shipment)
Claim 5 depends on claim 3:
Trepca teaches wherein the information aggregation page is an object aggregation page; and the method further comprises after presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object on the information aggregation page: in response to a page switching operation triggered for the page for selecting attributes, presenting a page for selecting attributes of a target object corresponding to the recommended object, and the target object being determined based on the page switching operation. (e.g., selecting a link to the product on the final order review page to switch back to the main page of the product or sending an email confirming the status of the order or a summary of the order par. 243; 8. If it is successfully submitted, they are shown a page confirming that the order has been submitted, along with a summary of their order. The customer is advised that they will soon receive further status of their purchase from the system and from the Retailer in the email that they submitted during checkout. [0244] If the order is unsuccessfully submitted due to a system error on the system, the customer will receive an email notifying them of this status. [0245] If the order is successfully submitted, the customer receives one email from the system and one from the retailer confirming this status.
Par. 263; the opportunity for a user to fully consider their purchases in a shopping basket before initiating a purchase at checkout par. 283; Shopping Bag page [0284] Displays the contents of the shopping bag, and optionally [0285] Groups items by retailer and their relative estimated shipping [0286] Allows user to remove items [0287] Allows user to increase or decrease quantities [0288] Moves an item to their List [0289]
Par. 301; Confirmation email [0302] (sent by the system sends upon order submission) [0303] Displays orders from multiple retailers in a single confirmation email)
Claim 6 depends on claim 3:
Trepca teaches further comprising after presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object on the information aggregation page: in response to a page exit operation triggered for the page for selecting attributes, presenting the information aggregation page; and in response to a page exit operation triggered for the information aggregation page, presenting the information feed page. (e.g., before confirming the order, reconsidering the products in the basket and selecting a link to the product on the final order review page to switch back to the main page of the product Par. 263; the opportunity for a user to fully consider their purchases in a shopping basket before initiating a purchase at checkout par. 283; Shopping Bag page [0284] Displays the contents of the shopping bag, and optionally [0285] Groups items by retailer and their relative estimated shipping [0286] Allows user to remove items [0287] Allows user to increase or decrease quantities [0288] Moves an item to their List [0289] )
Claim 7 depends on claim 1:
Trepca teaches wherein the information feed page is used to recommend a recommended object; ( e.g., displaying product information or merchandise data on an ecommerce website for purchase by a user See Figures 2 and 5; par. 190; FIG. 2 shows the product selection user interface in overview. Interface 40 represents to user 30 an aggregation of product or merchandise data par. 230; FIG. 8 shows a typical user interaction with this “integrated checkout” system. [0231] 1. Having selected a product/item, the customer selects a size of item (if the product is a sized item) and then selects the “Buy Now” button.)
the attribute information comprises object overview information and specification attribute information, wherein the specification attribute information in each attribute dimension is non-adjustable; or the attribute information comprises object overview information and specification attribute information, wherein the specification information in at least one attribute dimension comprises a plurality of pieces of candidate specification attribute information. (e.g., final order review page displays product overview information and attribute information of each product see Figure 8 par. 240; 6. On the final Order Review page, the customer has an opportunity to check all the details of their order: Product, size, price, shipping option, payment method, shipping and billing addresses. [0241] 7. The customer then selects “Submit Order”.)
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Trepca teaches wherein the information feed page is used to recommend a plurality of recommended object; wherein presenting the information feed page comprises: presenting the information feed page, and presenting, on the information feed page, recommendation information of a portion or all of the plurality of recommended objects; ( e.g., displaying product information or merchandise data on an ecommerce website for purchase by a user Examiner notes that the quantity of the product can selected by the user (i.e., plurality of recommended object) See Figures 2 and 5; par. 190; FIG. 2 shows the product selection user interface in overview. Interface 40 represents to user 30 an aggregation of product or merchandise data par. 230; FIG. 8 shows a typical user interaction with this “integrated checkout” system. [0231] 1. Having selected a product/item, the customer selects a size of item (if the product is a sized item) and then selects the “Buy Now” button.
Par. 256; Based on similar underpinnings as described above, further embodiments extend the system 1 to allow for the simultaneous purchase of multiple items from multiple retailers. [0261] This has several advantages, including: [0262] the ability to buy more than one item when shopping online, particularly to make shipping charges “worth it” i.e. when considering the cost of shipping items individually compared to possibly combining multiple orders into a smaller number of shipments or only one shipment)
the attribute information comprises object overview information and specification attribute information, wherein the specification attribute information in each attribute dimension is non-adjustable; or the attribute information comprises object overview information and specification attribute information, wherein the specification attribute information in at least one attribute dimension comprises a plurality of pieces of candidate specification attribute information. (e.g., final order review page displays product overview information and attribute information of each product see Figure 8 par. 240; 6. On the final Order Review page, the customer has an opportunity to check all the details of their order: Product, size, price, shipping option, payment method, shipping and billing addresses. [0241] 7. The customer then selects “Submit Order”.)
Claim 9 depends on claim 8:
Trepca teaches further comprising after presenting the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object in response to the trigger operation for the recommendation information of the recommended object: in response to a page switching operation triggered for the page for selecting attributes of the recommended object, presenting a page for selecting attributes of a target object corresponding to the recommended object, and the target object being determined based on the page switching operation. (e.g., selecting a link to the product on the final order review page to switch back to the main page of the product or sending an email confirming the status of the order or a summary of the order par. 243; 8. If it is successfully submitted, they are shown a page confirming that the order has been submitted, along with a summary of their order. The customer is advised that they will soon receive further status of their purchase from the system and from the Retailer in the email that they submitted during checkout. [0244] If the order is unsuccessfully submitted due to a system error on the system, the customer will receive an email notifying them of this status. [0245] If the order is successfully submitted, the customer receives one email from the system and one from the retailer confirming this status.
Par. 263; the opportunity for a user to fully consider their purchases in a shopping basket before initiating a purchase at checkout par. 283; Shopping Bag page [0284] Displays the contents of the shopping bag, and optionally [0285] Groups items by retailer and their relative estimated shipping [0286] Allows user to remove items [0287] Allows user to increase or decrease quantities [0288] Moves an item to their List [0289]
Par. 301; Confirmation email [0302] (sent by the system sends upon order submission) [0303] Displays orders from multiple retailers in a single confirmation email)
Independent Claim 10:
Claim 10 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 10. (see Figure 1; computer system)
Claim 11 depends on claim 10:
Claim 11 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 11.
Claim 12 depends on claim 10:
Claim 12 is substantially encompassed in claim 3, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 3 to reject claim 12.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12:
Claim 13 is substantially encompassed in claim 4, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 4 to reject claim 13.
Claim 14 depends on claim 12:
Claim 14 is substantially encompassed in claim 5, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 5 to reject claim 14.
Claim 15 depends on claim 12:
Claim 15 is substantially encompassed in claim 6, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 6 to reject claim 15.
Claim 16 depends on claim 10:
Claim 16 is substantially encompassed in claim 7, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 7 to reject claim 16.
Claim 17 depends on claim 10:
Claim 17 is substantially encompassed in claim 8, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 8 to reject claim 17.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17:
Claim 18 is substantially encompassed in claim 9, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 9 to reject claim 18.
Independent Claim 19:
Claim 19 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 19. (see Figure 1; computer system)
Claim 20:
Claim 20 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Isaacson; et al. US 20200014670 A1
Par. 154; In this case, after hitting enter or clicking a search button, the browser navigates directly and automatically to a merchant website 2004 listing the item already placed in the shopping cart, order details, and a one-click purchase button 2008. Alternatively, the browser can navigate to a stage where the order has already been placed, such as the page that would load after the user clicks the purchase button 2008. The system can populate other details of the shopping cart automatically on behalf of the user, as well. The system can even create a new account at the merchant on behalf of the user, if the user does not have an account with that merchant. In this way, the system enables a user to access websites, through a unified search field, as if they were one-click purchase merchant websites, even if the user has not previously registered with that merchant or if the merchant does not offer an “Amazon style” one-click purchase interface.
Par. 180; The processed state can include one of a state wherein the user could perform a single click which would cause a purchase and delivery of an item associated with the input or wherein the user could perform a single click and view search results on the second website as though the user had navigated to the second website and entered in the input for a search. The method can include identifying a third website that could process the input and presenting the third website in the area on the user interface in a second position around the unified input field. FIG. 27 illustrates this approach.
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172