DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
1. Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitations “... based on the terminal impedance: a second short circuit between the two network lines, ...” (lines 7-8) are separated by a colon (:) punctuation where it should be separated by a comma or semicolon.
2. Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
2.1. The limitations “... detect based on the first measurement voltage: a first short circuit ...” (line 6) are separated by a colon (:) punctuation where it should be separated by a comma or semicolon.
2.2. The limitation “... a third sensor unit ...” and there is no mention of the first and second sensor units in the claim and/or any indication of the presence of three sensor units.
3. Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
2.1. The limitations “... based on the first comparison result: a first short circuit between one of the two network lines ...” (lines 8-9) are separated by a colon (:) punctuation where it should be separated by a comma or semicolon.
2.2. The limitation “... a third sensor unit ...” and there is no mention of the first and second sensor units in the claim and/or any indication of the presence of three sensor units.
4. Appropriate correction is required. The examiner appreciates the assistance of the Applicant(s).
Examiner’s Note
5. All the words in the language of the claims of which the specifications do not provide a definition in the form stated in the MPEP, the examiner has interpreted them by their plain meanings, pursuant to the MPEP 2111.01 “Plain Meaning” and MPEP 2173.01.
6. Claims 1-15 were cancelled via proletary amendments on the same filing date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 16-20, 29-33 and 35 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DIAB et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0211832 hereinafter mentioned as “Diab”, which was submitted via IDS) in view of Li (Pub. No.: US 2024/0048407 hereinafter mentioned as “Li”).
As per claim 16, Diab discloses:
A network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) comprising:
a network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) for connecting to two-wire network lines (Fig. 3A, see the two-wire/conductors network lines 104 and 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]), a transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]), and a test unit (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228. Also see [0028], [0022] and [0026]),
wherein the network interface comprises a first network terminal for connecting to a first of two network lines and a second network terminal for connecting to a second of the two network lines (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is configured to generate a transmit signal at the network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) representing an Ethernet packet (see [0034] and [0018]),
wherein the test unit is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228 galvanically connected, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]).
Diab discloses the test unit as described above but does not explicitly disclose that it is configured to detect a short circuit.
However, Li further discloses:
wherein the test unit (see [0245]) is configured to detect a short circuit between the first and second network terminals, a short circuit between the two network lines and/or a short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node, and/or to detect a break in at least one of the two network lines (Fig. 5, see any of network nodes 510, 310, 320, 330 and/or 340. Also see [0182] and [0209]-[0212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature relative to the detecting a short circuit disclosed by Li into Diab, with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the testing, system and measurements by determining different types of faults in the network (Li, Paragraph [0182]), and also by shortening the response time for switching between an active link and a standby link and implement fast network restructuring (Li, Paragraph [0006]).
Furthermore, Diab states that “While various embodiments of the present disclosure have been described above, it should be understood that they have been presented by way of example only, and not limitation. It will be apparent to persons skilled in the relevant art that various changes in form and detail can be made therein without departing from the spirit and scope of the disclosure” (Diab, Paragraph [0057]).
Furthermore, Li states that “The foregoing descriptions are merely specific implementations of this application, but are not intended to limit the protection scope of this application. Any variation or replacement readily figured out by a person skilled in the art within the technical scope disclosed in this application shall fall within the protection scope of this application” (Li, Paragraph [0332]).
As per claim 17, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the network node of claim 16 as described above.
Diab further discloses:
wherein the transceiver is galvanically isolated coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 galvanically isolated coupled, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028] and [0020]-[0021]).
As per claim 18, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the network node of claim 16 as described above.
Diab discloses the transceiver galvanically coupled to the first and second network terminals as described above but does not explicitly disclose that they are capacitively coupled.
However, one ordinary skilled in the art would have determined to be an obvious choice to try galvanic isolation using capacitively coupling with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the system/device coupling by proving very high isolation strength, high data rates, and excellent integration (see, https://www.come-star.com/blog/galvanic-vs-electrical-vs-optical-isolation/).
As per claim 19, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the network node of claim 16 as described above.
Diab further discloses:
wherein the transceiver is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 galvanically connected coupled, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]).
As per claim 20, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the network node of claim 16 as described above.
Diab further discloses:
wherein the test unit is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals via the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 galvanically connected coupled, via any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 with transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]).
As per claim 29, Diab discloses:
A system (See MPEP 2111.02, Effect of Preamble, and II. Preamble Statements Reciting Purpose or Intended Use), comprising:
a primary network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]), at least one secondary network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]), and a two-wire network (Fig. 3A, see the networks two-wire/conductors/lines 104 and 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the primary network node comprising:
a network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) for connecting to two-wire network lines (Fig. 3A, see the two-wire/conductors/lines 104 and 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]), a transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]), and a test unit (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228. Also see [0028], [0022] and [0026]),
wherein the network interface comprises a first network terminal for connecting to a first of two network lines and a second network terminal for connecting to a second of the two network lines (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is configured to generate a transmit signal at the network interface representing an Ethernet packet (see [0034] and [0018]),
wherein the test unit is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228 galvanically connected, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]), and
wherein the at least one secondary network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) comprises a transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]),
wherein the at least one secondary network node comprises a network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) for connecting to the two network lines of the two-wire network (Fig. 3A, see the two-wire/conductors network lines 104 and 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the network interface of the at least one secondary network node comprises a first network terminal for connecting to the first of the two network lines and a second network terminal for connecting to the second of the two network lines (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver of the at least one secondary network node is coupled to the first and second network terminals of the respective network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]) in a galvanically isolated manner (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228 galvanically connected, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]),
wherein the transceiver of the at least one secondary network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is configured to generate a transmit signal at the network interface of the at least one secondary network node (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]), the transmit signal representing an Ethernet packet (see [0034] and [0018]), and
wherein each of the primary network node and the at least one secondary network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) is galvanically connected coupled to the two network lines (Fig. 3A, see the two-wire/conductors network lines 104 and 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]) via the associated network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]).
Diab discloses the test unit as described above but does not explicitly disclose that it is configured to detect a short circuit.
However, Li further discloses:
wherein the test unit (see [0245]) is configured to detect a short circuit between the first and second network terminals, a short circuit between the two network lines and/or a short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node, and/or to detect a break in at least one of the two network lines (Fig. 5, see any of network nodes 510, 310, 320, 330 and/or 340. Also see [0182] and [0209]-[0212]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature relative to the detecting a short circuit disclosed by Li into Diab, with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the testing, system and measurements by determining different types of faults in the network (Li, Paragraph [0182]), and also by shortening the response time for switching between an active link and a standby link and implement fast network restructuring (Li, Paragraph [0006]).
As per claim 30, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the system of claim 29 as described above.
Diab further discloses:
wherein one or both transceiver of the primary network node and the transceiver of the at least one secondary network node is galvanically isolated coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 galvanically isolated coupled, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028] and [0020]-[0021]).
As per claim 31, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the system of claim 29 as described above.
Diab discloses the one or both of the transceiver of the primary network node and the transceiver of the at least one secondary network node galvanically coupled to the first and second network terminals as described above but does not explicitly disclose that they are capacitively coupled.
However, one ordinary skilled in the art would have determined to be an obvious choice to try galvanic isolation using capacitively coupling with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the system/device coupling by proving very high isolation strength, high data rates, and excellent integration (see, https://www.come-star.com/blog/galvanic-vs-electrical-vs-optical-isolation/).
As per claim 32, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the system of claim 29 as described above.
Diab further discloses:
wherein one or both of the transceiver of the primary network node and the transceiver of the at least one secondary network node is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 galvanically connected coupled, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]).
As per claim 33, the combination of Diab and Li discloses the system of claim 29 as described above.
Diab further discloses:
wherein the test unit of the primary network node is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals via the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 galvanically connected coupled, via any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219 with transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]).
As per claim 35, Diab discloses:
A method (see abstract) for a network node (Fig. 3A, see any of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) comprising
a network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) for connecting to two-wire network lines (Fig. 3A, see the two-wire/conductors network lines 104 and 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]), a transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]), and a test unit (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228. Also see [0028], [0022] and [0026]),
wherein the network interface comprises a first network terminal for connecting to a first of two network lines and a second network terminal for connecting to a second of the two network lines (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the connectors/terminals 301 and/or 303 connecting two-network-lines/conductor-pairs 104 and/or 110. Also see [0028] and [0020]),
wherein the transceiver (Fig. 3A, see any of the transceivers 202 and/or 219. Also see [0028]) is configured to generate a transmit signal at the network interface (Fig. 3A, any of the unnamed/unnumbered interface of the first or second network nodes PSE 102 and/or PD 106. Also see [0028] and [0016]) representing an Ethernet packet (see [0034] and [0018]),
wherein the test unit is galvanically connected coupled to the first and second network terminals (Fig. 3A, see any of the PSE controller 218 and/or PD controller 228 galvanically connected, via transformers 208, 212, 220 and/or 224, to the connectors 301 and 303. Furthermore, using transformers is one way to provide galvanic isolation/connection. Also see [0028]-[0029] and [0020]-[0021]).
Diab discloses the test unit as described above but does not explicitly disclose that it is configured to detect a short circuit.
However, Li further discloses:
Detecting a short circuit between the first and second network terminals, a short circuit between the two network lines and/or a short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node Fig. 5, see any of network nodes 510, 310, 320, 330 and/or 340. Also see [0182] and [0209]-[0212]) via the test unit (see [0245]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the feature relative to the detecting a short circuit disclosed by Li into Diab, with the motivation and expected benefit related to improving the testing, system and measurements by determining different types of faults in the network (Li, Paragraph [0182]), and also by shortening the response time for switching between an active link and a standby link and implement fast network restructuring (Li, Paragraph [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim(s) 21-28 and 34 are/is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the objection:
10. Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein:
wherein the test unit comprises a driver unit configured to cause a reference common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit comprises a first sensor unit galvanically connected to both of the first and second network terminals,
wherein the first sensor unit configured to detect an actual common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit is configured to detect a first short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node based on a voltage difference between the reference common mode voltage and the actual common mode voltage.
11. Regarding claim 22, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein.
wherein the test unit comprises a driver unit configured to cause a reference differential voltage and/or a reference common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit comprises a second sensor unit galvanically connected to both of the first and second network terminals,
wherein the second sensor unit configured to directly or indirectly detect an impedance referred to as terminal impedance between the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit is configured to detect, based on the terminal impedance: a second short circuit between the two network lines, and/or a first break in one of the two network lines, and/or a termination error at the two network lines and/or the first and second network terminals.
12. Claim(s) 23 would also be allowable because it further limits and depends on claim 22.
13. Regarding claim 24, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein:
wherein the test unit comprises a driver unit configured to cause a reference differential voltage and/or reference common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit comprises a third sensor unit galvanically connected to the first network terminal, wherein the third sensor unit configured to detect a first measurement voltage at the first network terminal, the test unit being configured to detect based on the first measurement voltage: a first short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node, and/or a second short circuit between the two network lines, and/or a first break in one of the two network lines, and/or a termination error at the two network lines and/or the first and second network terminals.
14. Claim(s) 26-28 would also be allowable because they further limit and depend on claim 24.
15. Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein:
wherein the test unit comprises a driver unit configured to cause a reference differential voltage and/or reference common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals, wherein the test unit comprises a third sensor unit galvanically connected to the first network terminal, wherein the third sensor unit configured to detect a first measurement voltage at the first network terminal,
wherein the test unit is configured to compare the first measurement voltage with a reference voltage resulting in a first comparison result, the test unit being configured to detect based on the first comparison result: a first short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node, and/or a second short circuit between the two network lines, and/or a first break in one of the two network lines, and/or a termination error at the two network lines and/or the first and second network terminals.
16. Regarding claim 34, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the below underlined limitations incorporated together with the other claimed limitations not mentioned herein:
wherein the test unit of the primary network node comprises a driver unit configured to cause a reference common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit comprises a first sensor unit galvanically connected to both network terminals,
wherein the first sensor unit configured to detect an actual common mode voltage at the first and second network terminals,
wherein the test unit is configured to detect a first short circuit between one of the two network lines and a supply voltage of the network node based on a voltage difference between the reference common mode voltage and the actual common mode voltage.
17. The prior art of record does not anticipate the limitations of the independent claims.
Furthermore, there is not any obvious motivation for an ordinary skilled in the art to combine some and/or all of the features of the prior art of record to achieve the features of the allowable subject matter. In addition, it will further require substantial structural modification of the components that will also require substantial modification of the measurements, signal processing and configurations to achieve the features of the allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/ALVARO E FORTICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858