DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action in response to the amendment filed 6/23/2026.
Claims 6-7, 10, 16-17 and 20 are amended, and claims 21-22 added.
Claims 1-22 are pending and examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 6, line 2, “respective”(first occurrences) should be “the respective” and in line 4, “a frame” should be “the frame”; and in claim 7, line 2, “the each” should be “each”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 11-13, 15-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Selzer(9,422,715; previously cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Selzer discloses an actuator system/method for a patio cover and assembly(see Figs. 2A-C and 6), the patio cover comprising a frame(160), the actuator system comprising:
a motor(310, see Fig. 6); and
a linking assembly(250, see Figs. 2A-2C) coupled to the motor(via 350 and 316. see Fig. 2C) and configured to rotate cover panels of the patio cover between an open configuration and a closed configuration(see Figs. 2A-2C),
wherein the motor is pivotally coupled to the frame to allow the motor to pivot toward the frame when the cover panels(110) rotate to the closed configuration(see Fig. 2A), and pivot away from the frame when the cover panels rotate to the open configuration(see Fig. 2C, the angle of the actuator is different in Figs. 2A and 2C and considered the pivoting of the motor from the frame and away from the frame meeting the claim limitation; the disclosure may not explicitly disclose pivoting of the motor, the Figs. are considered to show this pivoting and to meet the claimed limitation).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Selzer disclosed the actuator system of claims 1 and 11, wherein the motor is rotationally coupled to the linking assembly by a bracket(312, see Fig. 6), the bracket comprising one or more of a bolt(see column 4, line 22), a flat washer, a lock nut, and/or a spacer.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Selzer discloses the actuator system of claims 2 and 12, wherein the linking assembly comprises:
a piston(316) coupled to the motor(310, see Fig. 6);
an arm(350) coupled to the piston and configured to extend toward the patio cover panels(see Figs. 2B and 2C), the arm being rotationally coupled to the piston to provide the rotational coupling between the motor and the linking assembly(see Figs. 2A-2C); and a linking member(250) coupled to the arm(350, see Figs. 2B and 2C) and the cover panels(110), the linking member configured to rotate the cover panels in unison when driven by the arm, the piston, and/or the motor, between the open configuration and the closed configuration(see Figs. 2A-2C), wherein the linking member, the piston, and the arm are configured to pivot with the motor toward the frame when the cover panels rotate to the closed configuration(see Fig. 2A), and pivot away from the frame when the cover panels rotate to the open configuration(see Fig. 2C).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Selzer discloses the actuator system of claims 3 and 13, wherein the linking member(250) is rotatably coupled to a plurality of individual link pins(242, see column 4, lines 14-15 and Figs. 4-5) that extend from different ones of the cover panels, the linking member configured to rotate the cover panels between the open configuration and the closed configuration via the link pins(see Figs. 2A-2c).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Selzer discloses the actuator system of claims 5 and 15, wherein the link pins(242) extend from one side of respective cover panels(110) at ends of the respective cover panels such that at least a portion of the linking member and/or the arm moves between a first position and a second position relative to a frame of the patio cover when the cover panels rotate between the open configuration and the closed configuration, the first position being higher than the second position along a vertical axis relative to the frame(the link pin is higher when the panel are open and lower when the panels are closed meeting the claim limitation, see Figs. 2A-2C and 4-5).
Regarding claim 21, Selzer discloses the actuator system of claim 1, wherein the motor(310) is pivotally coupled to the frame(160) by a motor base bracket fixed relative to the frame(see Fig. 6), and wherein the motor pivots relative to the motor base bracket as the cover panels rotate between the open configuration and the closed configuration(see Figs. 2A-2C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 10, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selzer.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Selzer disclosed the actuator system of claim 3, wherein the linking member is longer than the arm along a first axis(see Figs. 2B and 2C), and the arm is longer than the linking member along a second, substantially perpendicular axis(see Fig. 2C) but lacks the linking member has a longer first end located toward the motor along the first axis relative to a shorter second, opposite, end of the linking member.
The spacing of the linking member with respect to the frame is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan, such as differing linking member lengths depending on at what location the linking arms is couped to the panels, given the intended use of the assembly and design requirements thereof
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Selzer discloses the actuator system of claim 1, wherein the motor(310) is pivotally coupled to the frame via a motor base bracket(312, see Fig. 6), the motor base bracket coupled to a top surface of the frame(160) toward one end of the frame via one or more connections(see Fig. 6), wherein the motor is coupled to the motor base bracket by a pivot connection(interaction of motor around bolt), the pivot connection including a bolt(313) extending along a pivot, such that the motor is configured to rotate around the pivot axis relative to the motor base bracket.
Selzer lacks the specific attachment of the bracket to the top surface of the frame and lock nut with the bolt.
Applicant's disclosure lends no criticality to the specific attachments(see paras. [0064] and [0076]).
Therefore, the specific connection between the bracket and frame is considered a feature best determined by a skilled artisan given the intended use of the assembly and design requirements thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-9, 11, 13-19 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,098,553. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both show an actuator with motor and linking assembly as discussed in detail in the prior office action not repeated here for brevity, as well as the rotation pins of new claim 22(see claim 1).
Claims 2, 10, 12 and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,098,553 in view of Selzer.
'553 discloses the actuator system and method of claims 1 and 11, but lacks the specific bracket.
Selzer discloses the bracket as discussed above.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided the system/method of '553 with coupling brackets such as disclosed by Selzer, given a reasonable degree of success, in order to rotatably couple the motor to the frame and linking members given the intended use of the system and design requirements thereof.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the previous drawing objection and 112, 102 and 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner initially interpreted the motor of the Torman reference as pivoting with respect to the frame but is persuaded by applicant’s arguments that the motor of Torman does not pivot.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the double patenting rejection are not persuasive and are maintained.
BETH A. AUBREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/Beth A Aubrey/