DETAILED ACTION
Claim 11 objected to for minor informalities.
Claims 11, 13, and 16 rejected under 35 USC § 101.
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
The least restrictive claim "should be presented as claim 1." 37 CFR 1.75(g). Claim 11 objected to because it is less restrictive than claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11, 13, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 11
Step 2A Prong One. Claim 11 recites “identifying a responsible node for the message based upon an identifier included in the message.” This limitation encompasses reading the message identifier and consulting an association between identifiers and responsible nodes to select a corresponding node. A person can practically perform that evaluation by reading an identifier and determining the corresponding node from a written list. The limitation requires no particular selection algorithm or volume of information that would prevent that evaluation. It therefore falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. The computing device’s performance of the evaluation does not remove it from that grouping. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection III.
Step 2A Prong Two. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements are a computing device in a cluster, processors and memory storing executable instructions, receipt of a message from a messaging queue, forwarding the message to the selected responsible node, and delivery by that node to a destination identified in the message. The processors and memory execute the selection. The queue supplies its input. The forwarding and delivery perform the ordinary relay selected by the evaluation.
Considered together, these elements implement identifier based selection followed by message relay. The claim does not specify an organization or operation of the queue, an intermediate work assignment structure, or a communication mechanism that changes how the computer or cluster performs these functions. Although forwarding and delivery require actual computer communication, their recitation at this level merely applies the selection through ordinary message transmission. The cluster designation supplies the computing environment without requiring a particular improvement to its operation. The claimed combination therefore does not impose a meaningful limitation beyond implementing the evaluation on computers and communicating the selected message. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1), 2106.05(a), 2106.05(f), and 2106.05(h).
Step 2B. The claim does not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Receipt and relay between computing devices correspond to “Receiving or transmitting data over a network,” identified in MPEP § 2106.05(d), subsection II, computer functions item i. Storing instructions in memory and obtaining an already queued message correspond to “Storing and retrieving information in memory,” item iv. These functions are claimed generically, without a particular storage, queue control, or transmission implementation. Execution of the selection by the processors amounts to an instruction to appl the mental evaluation using a computer. MPEP § 2106.05(f).
The ordered combination likewise supplies no further mechanism: the queue provides the message, the identifier determines the responsible node, and the computing device and responsible node relay the message to the identified destination. The storage and communication elements retain their ordinary functions in carrying out the selection, the sequence adds no particular coordination or alteration of those functions. Accordingly, the additional elements, individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. MPEP §§ 2106.05(d), 2106.05(f), and 2106.07(a).
Claims 13 and 16
Claim 13 further requires the identifier to comprise an international mobile equipment identity number assigned to a meter in a utility metering environment. This restricts the information used for selection and its field of use without changing the selection or relay mechanism; the claim does not require measuring utility consumption or controlling the meter. Claim 16 further requires the responsible node to comprise a virtual machine or a container. Those alternative identify the execution environment of the delivery node without specifying an additional operation or arrangement that improves computer functionality. Together with the limitations of claim 11, these restrictions neither integrate the mental process into a practical application nor supply significantly more. MPEP §§ 2106.05(f) and 2106.05(h).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2017/0032011 A1 (hereinafter SONG), in view of Wang et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2021/0182102 A1 (hereinafter WANG), further in view of SRINIVASAN et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2018/0276251 A1 (hereinafter SRINIVASAN).
Claim 1
SONG discloses a method. ¶ 0024: A sharding protocol divides endpoint routing information among spine nodes. Stored mappings identify which spine supplies routing information for which endpoints.
SONG discloses determining, by the node, a shard … that corresponds to the message based upon an identifier included in the message. ¶ 0045: Receiving spine 20(1) hashes a “unique identifier” of the destination endpoint and queries its shard mapping table for the interval containing the resulting key. ¶ 0027: Packets contain source and destination endpoint addresses together with payload data.
SONG discloses determining, by the node, a responsible node associated with the shard. ¶ 0045: The receiving spine queries its mapping table to identify the spine mapped to the identified interval. ¶ 0040: Stored mappings indicate which spine nodes “own which shard intervals” through primary and backup assignments.
SONG discloses forwarding, by the node, the message to the responsible node, wherein the responsible node delivers the message to a destination. ¶ 0045: When another spine owns the interval, the traffic is “forwarded to the identified spine node;” that spine forwards it to the leaf connected to the destination endpoint.
SONG does not expressly disclose obtaining, by a node in a cluster of nodes, a message from a queue.
WANG discloses obtaining, by a node … a message from a queue. ¶ 0023: Task poller 204 “receives messages 222 containing tasks” from message queues in distributed messaging system 202. ¶ 0038: Components may operate on computers, virtual machines, or clusters and may be implemented together or separately.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the message intake of SONG to incorporate the queued message consumption taught by WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate queued message consumption into SONG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to permit message producers and consumers to be added, modified, or removed without disrupting other message streams by decoupling message transmission from receipt, as taught by WANG at ¶ 0024.
SONG-WANG does not expressly disclose a node in a cluster of nodes and a shard within the cluster.
SRINIVASAN discloses a node in a cluster of nodes. ¶ 0038: Node cluster 100 contains nodes 102, 104, and 106 each having cluster management and heartbeat modules. ¶ 0040: Cluster managers maintain a “list of all current members in the cluster.”
SRINIVASAN discloses a shard within the cluster. ¶ 0041: Membership changes are proposed when nodes fail or join; an accepted succession list becomes the current membership.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the organization and membership management of the routing nodes of SONG-WANG to incorporate the managed node cluster taught by SRINIVASAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that cluster organization into SONG-WANG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect unavailable members and maintain an agreed current membership as nodes fail or join by using heartbeat monitoring and accepted membership updates, as taught by SRINIVASAN at ¶¶ 0039, 0041.
Claim 2
SONG discloses performing a mathematical operation on an identifier associated with a sender or a recipient of the message. ¶ 0045: Receiving spine 20(1) generates a key by “hashing” a unique identifier of the destination endpoint, such as its MAC address with network context or IP address with routing context.
SONG discloses identifying the shard based on a result of the mathematical operation. ¶ 0045: The receiving spine queries its shard mapping table to identify a shard interval that “includes the key.”
Claim 4
SRINIVASAN discloses sending, by the node, first status information associated with the node to a peer node within the cluster of nodes, the first status information comprising an indication that the node is operating; and receiving, by the node, second status information associated with a reporting node within the cluster of nodes, the second status information comprising an indication that the reporting node is operating, wherein the peer node and the reporting node are different nodes in the cluster of nodes. ¶ 0038: Heartbeat modules in the three node cluster send pulse messages “to every other node in the cluster.” ¶ 0033: A heartbeat can indicate “normal operation.” ¶ 0040: Each heartbeat module maintains a list of nodes from which it receives periodic heartbeats.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cluster health monitoring of SONG-WANG to incorporate the operational heartbeat exchanges taught by SRINIVASAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivates to integrate those exchanges into SONG-WANG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect node or network link failures by monitoring whether periodic heartbeats remain absent for a timeout period, as taught by SRINIVASAN at ¶ 0039.
Claim 11
SONG discloses a computing device …, the computing device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ¶ 0024: Cooperating spine nodes divide endpoint routing information and maintain mappings identifying the spine responsible for particular endpoints. ¶ 0029: Spine node may be virtual or physical network elements, including servers, with hardware and software supporting communication. ¶ 0082: Memory elements store software and “processor instructions” executed to perform the disclosed activities. ¶ 0083: Network elements include one or more processors executing software and suitable memory elements.
SONG discloses identifying a responsible node for the message based upon an identifier included in the message. ¶ 0045: Receiving spine 20(1) hashes the destination identifier and queries its mapping table to identify the spine assigned to the corresponding interval. ¶ 0027: Packets contain source and destination endpoint addresses together with payload data.
SONG discloses forwarding, by the computing device, the message to the responsible node, wherein the responsible node delivers the message to a
destination identified in the message. ¶ 0045: Traffic is “forwarded to the identified spine node,” which forwards to the leaf connected to the destination endpoint.
SONG does not expressly disclose receiving a message from a messaging queue.
WANG discloses receiving a message from a messaging queue. ¶ 0023: Task poller 204 “receives messages 222 containing tasks” from message queues in a distributed messaging system. ¶ 0038: Components may run on computers, virtual machines, or clusters and may be implemented together or separately.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the message intake of SONG to incorporate the queued message consumption taught by WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate queued message consumption into SONG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to permit producers and consumers to be added, modified, or removed without disrupting other message streams by decoupling message transmission from receipt, as taught by WANG at ¶ 0024.
SONG-WANG does not expressly disclose a computing device in a cluster.
SIRINIVASAN discloses a computing device in a cluster. ¶ 0038: The disclosed cluster includes nodes with cluster management and heartbeat modules. ¶ 0040: Cluster managers maintain the current membership list.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the organization and membership management of the routing nodes of SONG-WANG to incorporate the managed node cluster taught by SRINIVASAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that cluster organization into SONG-WANG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect unavailable members and maintain an agreed current membership as nodes fail or join by using heartbeat monitoring and accepted membership updates, as taught by SRINIVASAN at ¶¶ 0039, 0041.
Claim 12
SONG discloses wherein identifying the responsible node comprises identifying a shard to which the identifier corresponds, wherein the shard is associated with a plurality of destinations based on respective identifiers of the plurality of destinations. ¶ 0032: Each shard interval defines a “range of keys;” endpoints correspond to keys within intervals, and intervals are mapped to spine nodes. ¶ 0034: Each endpoint’s key is generated from its unique identifier including its MAC address with bridge domain information or IP address with virtual network information. ¶ 0042: A spine’s repository contains routing information for “endpoints corresponding to a primary shard interval” and assigned backup intervals. ¶ 0045: Receiving spine 20(1) hashes the destination identifier, identifies the interval containing the resulting key, and identifies the spine mapped to that interval.
Claim 14
SRINIVASAN discloses sending, a first heartbeat message associated with the computing device to a peer node within the cluster, the first heartbeat message comprising an indication that the computing device is operational as a node within the
cluster; and receiving a second heartbeat message associated with a reporting node within the cluster, the second heartbeat message comprising an indication that the reporting node is operational, wherein the peer node and the reporting node are different nodes in the cluster. ¶ 0038: The example cluster contains nodes 102, 104, and 106, each having a heartbeat module that sends pulse messages “to every other node in the cluster.” ¶ 0033: A heartbeat can indicate “normal operation.” ¶ 0040: Each heartbeat module maintains a list of nodes from which it receives heartbeats at a specified period and steady rate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cluster health monitoring of SONG-WANG to incorporate the operational heartbeat exchanges taught by SRINIVASAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those exchanges into SONG-WANG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect node or network link failures by monitoring whether periodic heartbeats remain absent for a timeout period, as taught by SRINIVASAN at ¶ 0039.
Claim 16
WANG discloses wherein the responsible node comprises a virtual machine or a container. ¶ 0038: Distributed messaging components and task executors may be provided by “one or more virtual machines;” components may be implemented together or separately.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of Alizadeh Attar et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2015/0124820 A1 (hereinafter ATTAR).
Claim 3
ATTAR discloses wherein the mathematical operation comprises a modulo operation and the result of the modulo operation comprises an identifier of the shard. ¶ 0072: A pointer into a fabric shard table is generated by hashing the incoming packet’s address and “taking modulo M” of the result. With a modulus of 60, the remainder is from 0 through 59 and selects a table entry identifying eligible fabric cards.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endpoint identifier based shard selection of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the hash followed by modulo selection of indexed routing buckets taught by ATTAR. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that selection into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to distribute address entries evenly across eligible routing nodes by selecting shard table entries whose assignments are balanced among the nodes, as taught by ATTAR at ¶¶ 0072, 0078.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, further in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of Joshi, U.S. PG-Publication No. 2023/0251976 A1 (hereinafter JOSHI).
Claim 5
JOSHI discloses transmitting, by the node, a request for first status information from a reporting node in the cluster of nodes; determining, by the node in response to the reporting node not responding to the request or the reporting node returning an error code, that the reporting node is a failed node; and updating, by the node, cluster data in a data store to reflect that the reporting node is a failed node. ¶ 0086: The leader node sends a health check to another cluster node and determines its status from the reply. ¶ 0101: A node expects an authentication response from the leader. After the response timeout, it determines that the leader failed or is unresponsive. The detecting node stores “data indicative of the failure” in data storage.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cluster failure monitoring of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the health requests and response timeout procedure with stored failure determination taught by JOSHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that monitoring procedure into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to mitigate node failure disruption and associated latency by detecting and recording unavailable members for recovery, consistent with the cluster recovery benefits taught by JOSHI at ¶ 0118.
Claim 15
JOSHI discloses prior to receiving the message from the messaging queue, adding a node identifier identifying the computing device to a listing of nodes in the cluster. ¶ 0069: At startup, the node sends a registration request; the registry adds or updates its node ID, registration time, and status. ¶ 0071: Node data is provided as a chronological list containing node IDs, addresses, statuses, and registration times. ¶ 0115: A standby node initially registers but is not initially allocated data slots.
JOSHI discloses claiming at least one orphaned shard associated with the cluster. ¶ 0112: The leader determines that a failed member is unresponsive and unavailable in the cluster. ¶ 0114” The surviving leader reallocates slots previously assigned to the failed member “to itself.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the startup and recovery procedures of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the node registration and acquisition of failed node work taught by JOSHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those procedures into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to maintain request processing during node recovery by preparing replacement capacity and restoring responsibility for failed node work, as taught by JOSHI at ¶¶ 0116, 0118.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, further in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of JOSHI, further in view of Neginhal et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2020/0233689 A1 (hereinafter NEGINHAL).
Claim 6
NEGINHAL discloses updating, by the node, a generation identifier associated with the cluster in the cluster data. ¶ 0042: The stored cluster configuration contains a “cluster configuration version” together with member identities and status. Cluster managers keep the configuration current as members join or leave. ¶ 0069: The manager on the first node updates the configuration for a joining member and “increments the cluster configuration’s version” to version 2. ¶ 0072: The same manager writes the new cluster configuration to the database.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stored cluster state of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI to incorporate the versioned cluster configuration maintained in a consistent database taught by NEGINHAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that configuration mechanism into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce network traffic and CPU cycles needed to keep cluster members synchronizes by using consistently stored configuration, membership, and status information, as taught by NEGINHAL ¶ 0104.
Claim 8
JOSHI discloses identifying, by the node, an unclaimed shard within the cluster based on cluster data stored in a data store; and claiming, by the node, the unclaimed shard by updating the cluster data stored in the data store.. ¶ 0108: After leader failure, the surviving leader allocates some slots previously assigned to the failed leader “to itself.” ¶ 0101: The surviving second node determines failure of the first node and stores data indicating that failure. ¶ 0106: The second node retrieves current node data from the registry and identifies itself as the surviving leader because the former leader is offline or unresponsive.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recovery and stored shard ownership of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the surviving node’s acquisition of failed node work taught by JOSHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that acquisition into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to mitigate node failure disruption and associated latency by restoring responsibility for the failed node’s work, consistent with the cluster recovery benefits taught by JOSHI at ¶ 0118.
SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI does not expressly disclose updating, by the node, a generation identifier associated with the cluster in the cluster data.
NEGINHAL discloses updating, by the node, a generation identifier associated with the cluster in the cluster data. ¶ 0042: The stored cluster configuration includes a “cluster configuration version” and member identifies and status. ¶ 0069: The first node’s manager increments the configuration version when adding a member. ¶ 0072: The manager writes the new configuration to the database.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stored recovery configuration of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI to incorporate the versioned configuration maintained in a consistent database taught by NEGINHAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that configuration mechanism into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce network traffic and CPU cycles needed to synchronize members with the recovered configuration by using consistently stored configuration and status information, as taught by NEGINHAL at ¶ 0104.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, further in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of JOSHI, further in view of NEGINHAL, further in view of Bestler, U.S. PG-Publication No. 2019/0036703 A1 (hereinafter BESTLER).
Claim 7
BESTLER discloses initiating, by the node, selection of a new peer node in the cluster of nodes in response to updating the generation identifier. ¶ 0036: Configuration distributed to cluster participants enumerates the server members of a shard group. ¶ 0040: A member sends to the “next member of the shard group” according to a predetermined order, such as increasing IP address. ¶ 0045: New servers replace departed members to maintain the configured group size. ¶ 0046: The cluster detects a down or departed member and assigns a replacement.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cluster monitoring and configuration update procedure of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI-NEGIHAL to incorporate the ordered member selection taught by BESTLER, initiating selection of a new peer upon completion of the generation update. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that selection into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI-NEGINHAL, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid retaining a departed communication target by selecting from the revised member configuration, a benefit inferred from BESTLER ¶¶ 0036, 0040, 0045, and 0046.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, further in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of Neginhal et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2020/0233689 A1 (hereinafter NEGINHAL).
Claim 9
SRINIVASAN discloses receiving, by the node, a generation identifier from a reporting node in the cluster of nodes. ¶ 0040: Each cluster transition is identified by a “uniquely generated cluster key.” ¶ 0043: Nodes monitor cluster health through heartbeats that may include the “current cluster key.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cluster monitoring of SONG-WANG to incorporate the heartbeat cluster keys and membership checks taught by SRINIVASAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those features into SONG-WANG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to avoid relying on inconsistent cluster membership by comparing reported cluster keys with current cluster state, a benefit inferred from SRINIVASAN at ¶¶ 0043-0044.
SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN does not expressly disclose determining, by the node and based on the generation identifier, that a change in the cluster of nodes has occurred; retrieving, by the node in response to determining that the change in the cluster of nodes has occurred, cluster data from a data store, the cluster data identifying the nodes in the cluster; and selecting, by the node and based upon the cluster data, a peer node.
NEGINHAL discloses determining, by the node and based on the generation identifier, that a change in the cluster of nodes has occurred; retrieving, by the node in response to determining that the change in the cluster of nodes has occurred, cluster data from a data store, the cluster data identifying the nodes in the cluster; and selecting, by the node and based upon the cluster data, a peer node. ¶ 0090: Examination of the version table indicates that the node is not synchronized with the current configuration, causing configuration update operations. ¶ 0042: Stored configuration contains its version and each member’s unique identifier, network address, and status. ¶ 0096: A recovering node requests the latest configuration through another node’s service, which retrieves it from the database and returns it.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the membership refresh of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the stored configuration version comparison and configuration retrieval taught by NEGINHAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those operations into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce network traffic and CPU cycles needed to keep cluster members synchronized by using consistently stored configuration, membership, and status information, as taught by NEGINHAL at ¶ 0104.
sorting, by the node, a listing of the nodes of the cluster by respective identifiers
of the nodes; and
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, further in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of NEGINHAL, further in view of Bestler, U.S. PG-Publication No. 2019/0036703 A1 (hereinafter BESTLER).
Claim 10
BESTLER discloses sorting, by the next node, a listing of the nodes of the cluster by respective identifiers of the nodes; and selecting a next or previous node in the sorted listing of the nodes as the peer node. ¶ 0036: Configuration replicated to cluster participants enumerates the server members of a shard group. ¶ 0040: A member sends to the “next member of the shard group;” ordering may use IP addresses “going from lowest to highest.”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peer selection from refreshed membership of SONG-WANG-SRINICASAN-NEGINHAL to incorporate the ordered successor selection taught by BESTLER. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivate to integrate that selection into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN-NEGINHAL, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to obtain a reproducible communication recipient from current membership by applying a common identifier ordering, a benefit inferred from BESTLER at ¶¶ 0036, 0040.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of WANG, further in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of Singhal et al., U.S. Patent No. 12,107,750 B1 (hereinafter SINGHAL).
Claim 13
SINGHAL discloses wherein the identifier comprises an international mobile equipment identity (IMEI) number assigned to a meter in a utility metering environment. Col. 2, ll. 49-64: A cluster extracts a device identifier from a packet, including an “International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI),” and applies a function to select a processing destination. Col. 4, ll. 21-34: listed services include a “smart-grid network.” Col. 8, ll. 54-67: The extracted identifier may be an IMEI and may identify the packet’s source or destination device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the endpoint identifier selection of SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the IMEI based device identification taught by SINGHAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that identification into SONG-WANG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to distribute processing load while consistently directing packets carrying the same device identifier to the same processing destination, by deriving that destination from the identifier, as taught by SINGHAL at col. 9, ll. 13-35 and col. 9, ll. 60 – col.10, ll. 13.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2017/0032011 A1 (hereinafter SONG), in view of SRINIVASAN et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2018/0276251 A1 (hereinafter SRINIVASAN).
Claim 17
SONG discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a node device …, cause the one or more processors to perform operations. ¶ 0082: Tangible media may be “non-transitory;” memory elements store software and processor instructions executed to perform the disclosed activities.
SONG discloses receiving a message from a client device. ¶ 0076: Spine 20(1) receives traffic originating at endpoint 40(1) through an ingress leaf.
SONG discloses identifying a shard … based upon an identifier of a sender or
recipient of the message. ¶ 0045: The receiving spine hashes the destination identifier and identifies the interval containing the resulting key.
SONG discloses identifying an assigned node device associated with the shard. ¶ 0045: The lookup identifies the spine mapped to the interval. ¶ 0040: Stored mappings identify which nodes “own which shard intervals.”
SONG discloses sending the message to the assigned node device, wherein the assigned node device delivers the message to a destination. ¶ 0045: Traffic is “forwarded to the identified spine node,” which forwards it to the leaf connected to the destination.
SONG does not expressly disclose a node device of a cluster; a client device of the cluster, and a shard within the cluster.
SRINIVASAN discloses a node device of a cluster. ¶ 0038: Node cluster 100 contains nodes with cluster management and heartbeat modules. ¶ 0040: Cluster managers maintain a “list of all current members in the cluster.”
SRINIVASAN discloses a client device of the cluster. ¶ 0038: The disclosed system includes an expressly identified node cluster.
SRINIVASAN discloses a shard within the cluster. ¶ 0041: Accepted membership updates account for failures and joining nodes.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in he art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the organization and membership management of the routing nodes of SONG to incorporate the managed node cluster taught by SRINIVASAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that cluster organization into SONG, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detect unavailable members and maintain an agreed current membership as nodes fail or join by using heartbeat monitoring and accepted membership updates, as taught by SRINIVASAN at ¶¶ 0039, 0041.
Claim 18
SRINIVASAN discloses sending first status information associated with the node device to a peer node device within the cluster, the first status information comprising an indication that the node device is operational; and receiving second status information associated with a reporting node device within the cluster of node devices, the second status information comprising an indication that the reporting node device is operational, wherein the peer node device and the reporting node device are different
node devices in the cluster. ¶ 0038: Nodes 102, 104, and 106 each have a heartbeat module sending pulse messages “to every other node in the cluster.” ¶ 0033: A heartbeat can indicate “normal operation.” ¶ 0040: Each heartbeat module maintains a list of nodes from which it receives periodic heartbeats.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of Joshi et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2023/0251976 A1 (hereinafter JOSHI), further in view of Neginhal et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2020/0233689 A1 (hereinafter NEGINHAL).
Claim 19
JOSHI discloses identifying an unclaimed shard within the cluster based on cluster data stored in a data store; and claiming the unclaimed shard by updating the cluster data stored in the data store. ¶ 0108: After leader failure, the surviving leader allocates some slots previously assigned to the failed leader “to itself.” ¶ 0101: The surviving second node determines failure of the first node and stores data indicating that failure. ¶ 0106: The second node retrieves current node data from the registry and identifies itself as the surviving leader.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the recovery and stored shard ownership of SONG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the surviving node’s acquisition of failed node work taught by JOSHI. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that acquisition into SONG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to mitigate node failure disruption and associated latency by restoring responsibility for the failed node’s work, consistent with the cluster recovery benefits taught by JOSHI ¶ 0118.
SONG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI does not expressly disclose updating a generation identifier associated with the cluster in the cluster data.
NEGINHAL discloses updating a generation identifier associated with the cluster in the cluster data. ¶ 0042: Stored configuration includes a “cluster configuration version” together with member identities and status. ¶ 0069: The first node’s manager increments the configuration version when adding a member. ¶ 0072: The manager writes the new configuration to the database.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stored recovery configuration of SONG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI to incorporate the versioned configuration maintained in a consistent database taught by NEGINHAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate that configuration mechanism into SONG-SRINIVASAN-JOSHI, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce network traffic and CPU cycles needed to synchronize members with the recovered configuration by using consistently stored configuration and status information, as taught by NEGINHAL ¶ 0104.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG, in view of SRINIVASAN, further in view of, further in view of Neginhal et al., U.S. PG-Publication No. 2020/0233689 A1 (hereinafter NEGINHAL).
Claim 20
SRINIVASAN discloses receiving a generation identifier from a reporting node device in the cluster. ¶ 0040: Each cluster transition is identified by a “uniquely generated cluster key.” ¶ 0043: Heartbeats may carry the “current cluster key.”
SONG-SRINIVASAN does not expressly disclose determining, based on the generation identifier, that a change in the cluster has occurred; retrieving cluster data from a data store, the cluster data identifying node devices in the cluster; and selecting, based upon the cluster data, a peer node device.
NEGINHAL disclose determining, based on the generation identifier, that a change in the cluster has occurred; retrieving cluster data from a data store, the cluster data identifying node devices in the cluster; and selecting, based upon the cluster data, a peer node device. ¶ 0090: Examination of configuration versions indicates a cluster configuration change and causes configuration update operations. ¶ 0042: Stored configuration includes its version and each member’s unique identifier, network address, and status. ¶ 0096: A recovering node requests current configuration through another node’s service, which retrieves it from the database and returns it.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the membership refresh of SONG-SRINIVASAN to incorporate the stored configuration version comparison and configuration retrieval taught by NEGINHAL. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate those operations into SONG-SRINIVASAN, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to reduce network traffic and CPU cycles needed to keep cluster members synchronized by using consistently stored configuration, membership, and status information, as taught by NEGINHAL, ¶ 0104.
Conclusion
/FRANK D MILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194 September 28, 2026