Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2024 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamitsu U.S. Patent Publication Number US20240321322A1(hereinafter Kawamitsu) in view of Degner U. S. Patent Number US8888536B2(hereinafter Degner).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawamitsu discloses A disk apparatus comprising: plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., plurality of magnetic disks); a spindle motor (para. [0012] i.e., spindle motor) that rotates the plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., The spindle motor is configured to rotate the plurality of magnetic disks); a housing (para. [0012] i.e., housing) having a bottom wall to which the spindle motor is attached (para. [0012] i.e., a first wall having the spindle motor attached), and a side wall molded integrally with the bottom wall (para. [0012] i.e., … a second wall protruding from the first wall to surround the inner space. ); a board (Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0064] i.e., The PCBA 81 includes a PCB 85 and an interface (I/F) connector 86. ) attached to the side wall (Fig. 2 i.e., inner surface 91 and Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0081] i.e., …PCBA 81 are mounted on the inner surface 91… ); and a connector (Fig. 3 and Fig. 1 i.e., interface (I/F) connector 86 ) attached to the board (Fig. 3 i.e., interface (I/F) connector 86; para. [0070] i.e., The I/F connector 86 is attached to the PCB 85. For example, the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the inner surface 91 of the PCB 85.).
Kawamitsu fails to explicitly disclose a specific connector configuration wherein the connector has a housing portion having a first surface at least partially facing the bottom wall and a second surface crossing the first surface, and a contact portion provided in contact with at least one of the first surface or the second surface, and the contact portion has a first end for electric connection with an external device, and a second end provided on a side of the connector away from the bottom wall.
An analogous art Degner teaches the connector has a housing portion (Fig. 1 i.e., tongues 122 and 124; Col. 3 lines 59-67 and Col. 4 lines 1-3 i.e., tongues 122 and 124) having a first surface at least partially facing the bottom wall (Fig. 7, The vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue; The vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue 124 faces the bottom wall, the upper portion of 110, as shown in Fig. 7. ) and a second surface crossing the first surface (Fig. 7, The horizontal portion of the L-shaped tongue; The horizontal portion of the L-shaped tongue 124 crosses the first surface, the vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue 124, as shown in Fig. 7.), and a contact portion (Fig. 7 i.e., "contacts 130", "contacts 320" , "first portion 322", "third portion 324" and "passageways 610") provided in contact with at least one of the first surface or the second surface (Col. 4 lines 60-63 i.e., Contacts 320 may form electrical connections with contacts 130 on tongues 122 and 124… ), and the contact portion has a first end for electric connection with an external device (Fig. 7 i.e., first portion 322; Col. 5 lines 63-66 i.e., Contacts 320 may include a first portion 322 for contacting contacts 130 on connector insert 120… ), and a second end provided on a side of the connector away from the bottom wall (Fig. 7 the end portion of the passageways 610; Col. 5 lines 50-53 i.e., Passageways 610; The end portion of the 610 is positioned at the vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue 124 and is located away from the upper portion of the 110.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector structure of reference Degner into a disk apparatus of reference Kawamitsu to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 2, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the connector is a connector that conforms with at least one of a SAS standard and a SATA standard (para. [0069] i.e., The I/F connector 86 is a connector (port) conforming to Serial ATA (SATA) standard or Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) standard).
Regarding Claim 3, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion between the first end and the second end. Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion (Fig. 7 the curved portion positioned slightly inward to the right of the end portion of the 610 ) between the first end and the second end (The curved portion is positioned between the 322 and the end portion of the 610.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector structure of reference Degner into a disk apparatus of reference Kawamitsu to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 3 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion between the curved portion and the second end. Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a bent portion (Fig. 7 i.e., third portions 324; Col. 6 lines 9-15 i.e., third portions 324 are bent upward…) between the curved portion and the second end (The bent portion of 324 is positioned between 610 and 322).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector structure of reference Degner into a disk apparatus of reference Kawamitsu to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 5, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the board has a third surface facing the side wall, and the connector is electrically connected to the third surface with solder (Fig. 3 ; para. [0089] i.e., The PCB 85 includes two pads 91 a and 91 b on the inner surface 91. The pad 91 a is bonded to the electrode 101 d via, for example, solder. … the electrodes 101 d and 101 e are electrically connected to the PCB 85. ).
Regarding Claim 6, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the board is provided with a first recess (Fig. 1 i.e., recess 38; para. [0099] i.e., recess 38) in which the connector is disposed (para. [0099] i.e., the recess 38 to accommodate the I/F connector 86 ).
Regarding Claim 7, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein each longitudinal end of the connector has an attachment portion (Fig. 3, i.e., 96 attachment part) into which a screw is to be inserted (Fig. 3 i.e., screws 89; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into … the attachment part 96 ).
Regarding Claim 8, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 7 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the attachment portion is located between the board and the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; The attachment part is located between the PCBA and housing.).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 7 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein a screw is inserted into the attachment portion and the board, and is fixed to the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Regarding Claim 10, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 7 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the connector is directly fixed to the housing with the screw inserted into the attachment portion (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Regarding Claim 11, Kawamitsu discloses A disk apparatus comprising: plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., plurality of magnetic disks); a spindle motor (para. [0012] i.e., spindle motor) that rotates the plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., The spindle motor is configured to rotate the plurality of magnetic disks); a housing having (para. [0012] i.e., housing) a bottom wall to which the spindle motor is attached (para. [0012] i.e., a first wall having the spindle motor attached), and a side wall extending in a first direction from the bottom wall (para. [0012] i.e., … a second wall protruding from the first wall to surround the inner space.); a printed circuit board (PCB)(Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0064] i.e., The PCBA 81 includes a PCB 85 and an interface (I/F) connector 86. ) attached to the side wall (Fig. 2 i.e., inner surface 91 and Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0081] i.e., …PCBA 81 are mounted on the inner surface 91… ) but fails to explicitly disclose a connector having a body with a first surface at least partially facing the bottom wall and a second surface crossing the first surface, and a contact portion, wherein the contact portion has a first end for electric connection with an external device, and a second end spaced away from the body of the connector in the first direction away from the bottom wall.
In an analogous art, Degner teaches a connector having a body (Fig. 1 i.e., tongues 122 and 124; Col. 3 lines 59-67 and Col. 4 lines 1-3 i.e., tongues 122 and 124) with a first surface at least partially facing the bottom wall (Fig. 7, The vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue; The vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue 124 faces the bottom wall, the upper portion of 110, as shown in Fig. 7. ) and a second surface crossing the first surface (Fig. 7, The horizontal portion of the L-shaped tongue; The horizontal portion of the L-shaped tongue 124 crosses the first surface, the vertical portion of the L-shaped tongue 124, as shown in Fig. 7.), and a contact portion(Fig. 7 i.e., "contacts 130", "contacts 320" , "first portion 322", "third portion 324" and "passageways 610") ), wherein the contact portion has a first end for electric connection with an external device (Fig. 7 i.e., first portion 322; Col. 5 lines 63-66 i.e., Contacts 320 may include a first portion 322 for contacting contacts 130 on connector insert 120… ), and a second end (Fig. 7 i.e., third portion 324) spaced away from the body of the connector in the first direction away from the bottom wall (Fig. 7 i.e., third portion 324; The portion 324 is vertically spaced away from the tongues 124 and is positioned away from the top portion of the 110.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector structure of reference Degner into a disk apparatus of reference Kawamitsu to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Kawamitsu further discloses a second end is electrically connected to the PCB (para. [0069] the I/F connector 86 is connected to a data cable and a power cable at the connection terminal 97 and is connected to an external device via the data cable and the power cable; para. [0070] i.e., the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the inner surface 91 of the PCB 85.; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96, The I/F connector 86 includes the 97 that connects to a data cable and the power cable and thus to an external device, while the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the PCB 85.).
Regarding Claim 12, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the connector conforms with at least one of a SAS standard and a SATA standard (para. [0069] i.e., The I/F connector 86 is a connector (port) conforming to Serial ATA (SATA) standard or Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) standard).
Regarding Claim 13, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion between the first end and the second end. Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion (Fig. 7 the curved portion positioned slightly inward to the right of the end portion of the 610 ) between the first end and the second end (The curved portion is positioned between the 322 and the end portion of the 610.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector structure of reference Degner into a disk apparatus of reference Kawamitsu to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 14, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 13 as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a bent portion between the curved portion and the second end. Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a bent portion (Fig. 7 i.e., third portions 324; Col. 6 lines 9-15 i.e., third portions 324 are bent upward…) between the curved portion and the second end (The bent portion of 324 is positioned between 610 and 322).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector structure of reference Degner into a disk apparatus of reference Kawamitsu to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 15, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the PCB is provided with a first recess (Fig. 1 i.e., recess 38; para. [0099] i.e., recess 38) in which the connector is disposed (para. [0099] i.e., the recess 38 to accommodate the I/F connector 86 ).
Regarding Claim 16, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the PCB is provided with a first recess (Fig. 1 i.e., recess 38; para. [0099] i.e., recess 38) in which the connector is disposed (para. [0099] i.e., the recess 38 to accommodate the I/F connector 86 ).
Regarding Claim 17, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the connector extends in a second direction parallel to a surface of the side wall and perpendicular to the first direction and has an attachment portion (Fig. 3, i.e., 96 attachment part; The connector 86 extends horizontally parallel to the 91.) into which a screw is to be inserted, at each end thereof in the second direction (Fig. 3 i.e., screws 89; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into … the attachment part 96; The screws 89 are inserted into the attachment portion in the second direction. ).
Regarding Claim 18, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 17 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the attachment portion is located between the PCB and the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; The attachment part is located between the PCBA and housing.).
Regarding Claim 19, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 18 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein a screw is inserted into the attachment portion and the PCB, and is fixed to the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Regarding Claim 20, Kawamitsu as modified by Degner discloses the disk apparatus in claim 17 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the connector is directly fixed to the housing with the screw inserted into the attachment portion (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688