Specification
The objection based on the title being non-descriptive was overcome after the Applicant amended the title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamitsu U.S. Patent Publication Number US20240321322A1(hereinafter Kawamitsu) in view of Lee at al. U.S. Patent Publication Number US20050026472A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawamitsu discloses a disk apparatus comprising: plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., plurality of magnetic disks); a spindle motor (para. [0012] i.e., spindle motor) that rotates the plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., The spindle motor is configured to rotate the plurality of magnetic disks); a housing (para. [0012] i.e., housing) having a bottom wall (Fig. 1 i.e., 25; para. [0021] i.e., bottom wall 25 ) to which the spindle motor is attached (para. [0012] i.e., a first wall having the spindle motor attached) and extending in a first direction from the bottom wall (Fig. 1 i.e., "Ax1" and "SPM";para. [0044] i.e., SPM 14; para. [0045] i.e., The axis Ax1 extends in the Z direction), and a side wall molded integrally with the bottom wall (para. [0024] i.e., … The bottom wall 25 and the side wall 26 are integrated. ); a board (Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0064] i.e., The PCBA 81 includes a PCB 85 and an interface (I/F) connector 86. ) attached to the side wall (Fig. 2 i.e., inner surface 91 and Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0081] i.e., …PCBA 81 are mounted on the inner surface 91… ); and a connector (Fig. 3 and Fig. 1 i.e., interface (I/F) connector 86 ) attached to the board (Fig. 3 i.e., interface (I/F) connector 86; para. [0070] i.e., The I/F connector 86 is attached to the PCB 85. For example, the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the inner surface 91 of the PCB 85.), wherein the connector (Fig. 1 i.e., 86; para. [0070] i.e., connector 86 )has a housing portion (Fig. 1 i.e., 95; para. [0068] i.e., main body 95) having a first surface at least partially facing the bottom wall and a second surface crossing the first surface (Fig. 1 i.e., "95" and "96", The housing portion has two adjoining surfaces that are differently oriented.; para. [0068] i.e., The main body 95 has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape extending substantially in the X direction….The two attachment parts 96 are provided at both ends of the main body 95 in the X direction. ), and a contact portion (Fig. 1 i.e., 97; para. [0071] i.e., connection terminal 97 ) provided in contact with at least one of the first surface or the second surface (para. [0071] i.e., …the connection terminal 97 extends in the Y direction substantially orthogonal to the inner surface 91 on which the I/F connector 86 is mounted. Thus, the data cable and the power cable are inserted into the I/F connector 86… ), and the contact portion has a first end for electric connection with an external device (Fig. 1, The portion where the connector contacts the external device when the external device is inserted.; para. [0071] i.e., …the data cable and the power cable are inserted into the I/F connector 86…) but remains silent as to the contact portion has a second end provided on a side of the connector away from the bottom wall and in physical contact with the board at a position on the board that is between an upper end of the housing portion of the connector and an upper end of the side wall in the first direction.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches the contact portion has a second end (claim 1 i.e., …a plurality of contacts each having an engaging portion retained in the L-shaped tongue and a solder portion extending beyond the rear wall and bent in right angle so as to be parallel to the rear wall for being soldered to the PCB… ). Kawamitsu teaches the contact portion (Fig. 1 i.e., 97; para. [0071] i.e., connection terminal 97 ) including the connector (Fig. 1 i.e., 86; para. [0070] i.e., connector 86 ) including the bottom wall (Fig. 1 i.e., 25; para. [0021] i.e., bottom wall 25 ) and the relevant structural configuration of the connector (Fig. 1 i.e., 38; para. [0028-0029] i.e., recess 38; para. [0070] i.e., … the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the inner surface 91 of the PCB 85. Thus, the I/F connector 86 protrudes substantially in the +Y direction from the inner surface 91.). Applying the teaching of Lee regarding the second end to the connector of Kawamitsu would result in the second end being provided on a side of the connector away from the bottom wall.
Lee teaches the second end is in physical contact with the board at a position on the board (claim 1 i.e., …a plurality of contacts each having an engaging portion retained in the L-shaped tongue and a solder portion extending beyond the rear wall and bent in right angle so as to be parallel to the rear wall for being soldered to the PCB… ).
Kawamitsu teaches the housing portion (Fig. 1 i.e., 95; para. [0068] i.e., main body 95) including the side wall (para. [0024] i.e., side wall 26) the relevant structural configuration of the connector (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Applying the teaching of Lee regarding the second end being in physical contact with the board at a position on the board of Lee to the connector of Kawamitsu would result in the second is between an upper end of the housing portion of the connector and an upper end of the side wall in the first direction (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 i.e., "26" and "11"("25"); para. [0023-0025] i.e., "bottom wall 25" and "side wall 26"; para. [0019] i.e., housing 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of providing a right-angle bent solder portion for contacting a connector to a PCB as taught by Lee to the I/F connector 86 of Kawamitsu to improve the connector for the predictable result of simplifying the assembly and manufacturing of the SATA connector (Lee, para. 6-8).
Regarding Claim 2, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the connector is a connector that conforms with at least one of a SAS standard and a SATA standard (para. [0069] i.e., The I/F connector 86 is a connector (port) conforming to Serial ATA (SATA) standard or Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) standard).
Regarding Claim 5, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the board has a third surface facing the side wall, and the connector is electrically connected to the third surface with solder (Fig. 3 ; para. [0089] i.e., The PCB 85 includes two pads 91 a and 91 b on the inner surface 91. The pad 91 a is bonded to the electrode 101 d via, for example, solder. … the electrodes 101 d and 101 e are electrically connected to the PCB 85. ).
Regarding Claim 6, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the board is provided with a first recess (Fig. 1 i.e., recess 38; para. [0099] i.e., recess 38) in which the connector is disposed (para. [0099] i.e., the recess 38 to accommodate the I/F connector 86 ).
Regarding Claim 7, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein each longitudinal end of the connector has an attachment portion (Fig. 3, i.e., 96 attachment part) into which a screw is to be inserted (Fig. 3 i.e., screws 89; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into … the attachment part 96 ).
Regarding Claim 8, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 7 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the attachment portion is located between the board and the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; The attachment part is located between the PCBA and housing.).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 7 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein a screw is inserted into the attachment portion and the board, and is fixed to the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Regarding Claim 10, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 7 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the connector is directly fixed to the housing with the screw inserted into the attachment portion (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamitsu in view of Lee as applied to claims 1-2 and 5-10 above, and further in view of Degner U. S. Patent Number US8888536B2(hereinafter Degner).
Regarding Claim 3, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the contact portion further has a curved portion between the first end and the second end.
In an analogous art, Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion (Fig. 7 the curved portion positioned slightly inward to the right of the end portion of the 610 ) between the first end and the second end (The curved portion is positioned between the 322 and the end portion of the 610.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the curved structure as taught by Degner into a disk apparatus to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 4, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 3 as discussed above but remains silent as to the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion between the curved portion and the second end.
In an analogous art, Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a bent portion (Fig. 7 i.e., third portions 324; Col. 6 lines 9-15 i.e., third portions 324 are bent upward…) between the curved portion and the second end (The bent portion of 324 is positioned between 610 and 322).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bent portion as taught by Degner into a disk apparatus to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Claim(s) 11-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamitsu in view of Lee.
Regarding Claim 11, Kawamitsu discloses a disk apparatus comprising: plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., plurality of magnetic disks); a spindle motor (para. [0012] i.e., spindle motor) that rotates the plural magnetic disks (para. [0012] i.e., The spindle motor is configured to rotate the plurality of magnetic disks); a housing having (para. [0012] i.e., housing) a bottom wall (Fig. 1 i.e., 25; para. [0021] i.e., bottom wall 25 ) to which the spindle motor is attached (para. [0012] i.e., a first wall having the spindle motor attached), and a side wall extending in a first direction from the bottom wall (para. [0024] i.e., The side wall 26 protrudes substantially in the +Z direction from the edge of the bottom wall 25.); a printed circuit board (PCB)(Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0064] i.e., The PCBA 81 includes a PCB 85 and an interface (I/F) connector 86. ) attached to the side wall (Fig. 2 i.e., inner surface 91 and Fig. 3 i.e., PCB 85; para. [0081] i.e., …PCBA 81 are mounted on the inner surface 91… ); and a connector having a body (Fig. 1 i.e., 95; para. [0068] i.e., main body 95) with a first surface at least partially facing the bottom wall and a second surface crossing the first surface (Fig. 1 i.e., "95" and "96", The housing portion has two adjoining surfaces that are differently oriented.; para. [0068] i.e., The main body 95 has a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape extending substantially in the X direction….The two attachment parts 96 are provided at both ends of the main body 95 in the X direction. ), and a contact portion(Fig. 1 i.e., 97; para. [0071] i.e., connection terminal 97 ) provided in contact with at least one of the first surface or the second surface (para. [0071] i.e., …the connection terminal 97 extends in the Y direction substantially orthogonal to the inner surface 91 on which the I/F connector 86 is mounted. Thus, the data cable and the power cable are inserted into the I/F connector 86… ), wherein the contact portion has a first end for electric connection with an external device (Fig. 1, The portion where the connector contacts the external device when the external device is inserted.; para. [0071] i.e., …the data cable and the power cable are inserted into the I/F connector 86…) but remains silent as to the contact portion has a second end spaced away from the body of the connector in the first direction away from the bottom wall and electrically connected to the PCB and in physical contact with the PCB at a position that is between an upper end of the body of the connector and an upper end of the sidewall in the first direction.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches the contact portion has a second end (claim 1 i.e., …a plurality of contacts each having an engaging portion retained in the L-shaped tongue and a solder portion extending beyond the rear wall and bent in right angle so as to be parallel to the rear wall for being soldered to the PCB… ). Kawamitsu teaches the contact portion (Fig. 1 i.e., 97; para. [0071] i.e., connection terminal 97 ) including the connector (Fig. 1 i.e., 86; para. [0070] i.e., connector 86 ) including the bottom wall (Fig. 1 i.e., 25; para. [0021] i.e., bottom wall 25 ) and the relevant structural configuration of the connector (Fig. 1 i.e., 38; para. [0028-0029] i.e., recess 38; para. [0070] i.e., … the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the inner surface 91 of the PCB 85. Thus, the I/F connector 86 protrudes substantially in the +Y direction from the inner surface 91.).
Applying the teaching of Lee regarding the second end to the connector of Kawamitsu would result in the second end being provided on a side of the connector away from the bottom wall and electrically connected to the PCB (para. [0069] the I/F connector 86 is connected to a data cable and a power cable at the connection terminal 97 and is connected to an external device via the data cable and the power cable; para. [0070] i.e., the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the inner surface 91 of the PCB 85.; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96, The I/F connector 86 includes the 97 that connects to a data cable and the power cable and thus to an external device, while the I/F connector 86 is mounted on the PCB 85. ).
Kawamitsu teaches the body of the connector (Fig. 1 i.e., 95; para. [0068] i.e., main body 95) including the side wall (para. [0024] i.e., side wall 26) the relevant structural configuration of the connector (Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
Applying the teaching of Lee regarding the second end being in physical contact with the board at a position on the board of Lee to the connector of Kawamitsu would result in the second is between an upper end of the body of the connector and an upper end of the sidewall in the first direction (Fig. 3 i.e., "26" and "11"("25"); para. [0023-0025] i.e., "bottom wall 25" and "side wall 26"; para. [0019] i.e., housing 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the known technique of providing a right-angle bent solder portion for contacting a connector to a PCB as taught by Lee to the I/F connector 86 of Kawamitsu to improve the connector for the predictable result of simplifying the assembly and manufacturing of the SATA connector (Lee, para. 6-8).
Regarding Claim 12, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further discloses the disk apparatus wherein the connector conforms with at least one of a SAS standard and a SATA standard (para. [0069] i.e., The I/F connector 86 is a connector (port) conforming to Serial ATA (SATA) standard or Serial Attached SCSI (SAS) standard).
Regarding Claim 15, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the PCB is provided with a first recess (Fig. 1 i.e., recess 38; para. [0099] i.e., recess 38) in which the connector is disposed (para. [0099] i.e., the recess 38 to accommodate the I/F connector 86 ).
Regarding Claim 16, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the PCB is provided with a first recess (Fig. 1 i.e., recess 38; para. [0099] i.e., recess 38) in which the connector is disposed (para. [0099] i.e., the recess 38 to accommodate the I/F connector 86 ).
Regarding Claim 17, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 11 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the connector extends in a second direction parallel to a surface of the side wall and perpendicular to the first direction and has an attachment portion (Fig. 3, i.e., 96 attachment part; The connector 86 extends horizontally parallel to the 91.) into which a screw is to be inserted, at each end thereof in the second direction (Fig. 3 i.e., screws 89; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into … the attachment part 96; The screws 89 are inserted into the attachment portion in the second direction. ).
Regarding Claim 18, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 17 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the attachment portion is located between the PCB and the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; The attachment part is located between the PCBA and housing.).
Regarding Claim 19, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 18 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein a screw is inserted into the attachment portion and the PCB, and is fixed to the housing (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Regarding Claim 20, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 17 as discussed above. Kawamitsu further teaches the disk apparatus wherein the connector is directly fixed to the housing with the screw inserted into the attachment portion (Fig. 3 i.e., "attachment part 96", "PCBA 81", and "housing 11"; para. [0070] i.e., The screws 89 are inserted into the side wall 26 through the PCB 85 and the attachment part 96. ).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamitsu in view of Lee as applied to claims 11-12 and 15-20 above, and further in view of Degner.
Regarding Claim 13, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 1 as discussed above but remains silent as to the contact portion further has a curved portion between the first end and the second end.
In an analogous art, Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion (Fig. 7 the curved portion positioned slightly inward to the right of the end portion of the 610 ) between the first end and the second end (The curved portion is positioned between the 322 and the end portion of the 610.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the curved structure as taught by Degner into a disk apparatus to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Regarding Claim 14, Kawamitsu as modified by Lee discloses the disk apparatus in claim 3 as discussed above but remains silent as to the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a curved portion between the curved portion and the second end.
In an analogous art, Degner teaches the disk apparatus wherein the contact portion further has a bent portion (Fig. 7 i.e., third portions 324; Col. 6 lines 9-15 i.e., third portions 324 are bent upward…) between the curved portion and the second end (The bent portion of 324 is positioned between 610 and 322).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the bent portion as taught by Degner into a disk apparatus to provide a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement (Col. 6 lines 26-38).
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning (See the last paragraph on page 8 and the first paragraph on page 9), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Degner explicitly teaches that the claimed feature provides a consistent force that helps maintain reliable electrical engagement(Col. 6 lines 26-38). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to incorporate that feature into Reference of Kawamitsu to obtain the known advantage.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688