DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claim 1 incorporating some limitations from the prior version of claim 2 and an optional limitation of the prior version of claim 3 are sufficient to overcome the anticipation rejection using Cole et al.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ding et al (“Carbon nitride embedded with transition metals for selective electrocatalytic CO2 reduction”) in combination with Cole et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al (US 2011/0114502 A1) in view of Ding et al (“Carbon nitride embedded with transition metals for selective electrocatalytic CO2 reduction”).
Cole et al teach (see abstract, figs. 1 and 2A and paragraphs [0042] and [0081]) an electrolysis apparatus comprising an anode module (combination of 118 and 114a) configured to electrochemically oxidize water to generate oxygen gas (128) and hydrogen ions (i.e. protons), a cathode module (combination of 120 and 114b) arranged opposite to the anode module and configured to electrochemically reduce carbon dioxide to generate a reduced material, and a separation module (product extraction 110) configured to receive the reduced material from the cathode module and to separate a desired product from the reduced material. Cole et al teach that the reduced material may include ethanol and acetone (see paragraph [0042]) and that the separation module (110) was designed to separate products such as acetone from the electrolyte leaving the cathode module. The cathode module of Cole et al included a cathode compartment (114b) accommodating carbon dioxide, a cathode (120) disposed on one side of the cathode compartment and receiving carbon dioxide from the cathode compartment.
Cole et al do not teach the cathode electrocatalyst comprised a nitrogen-doped porous carbon with a single atom dimer coating.
Ding et al teach (see abstract, figs. 4 and 6, section 4) that graphitic carbon nitride (i.e. nitrogen-doped porous carbon) that included a bimetallic metal atom catalyst on the surface (i.e. single atom dimer as claimed, see esp. fig. 4(d) of Ding et al in comparison to fig. 2 of the instant application) possessed excellent catalyst properties for carbon dioxide electroreduction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the single atom dimer coated nitrogen-doped porous carbon cathode electrocatalyst taught by Ding et al for the cathode electrocatalyst of Cole et al because Ding et al teach that the dimer metal-nitrogen-carbon electrocatalyst possessed excellent catalyst properties for reducing the carbon dioxide.
Regarding claim 2, the protons generated in the anode module were moved from the anode module to the cathode (via separator 116). The cathode electrochemically reduced the carbon dioxide by using the protons to generate the reduced material.
Regarding claim 5, the anode module of Cole et al included an anode compartment (114a) and an anode (118) disposed on one side of the anode compartment.
Regarding claim 9, Cole et al indicate (see fig. 7, paragraphs [0064] and [0073]-[0076]) conducting a step of analysis of the composition of the electrolysis products (i.e. “a composition of the reduced material generated from the cathode module”) and included a monitoring system (e.g. Gas Chromatograph or Spectrophotometer) for performing the analysis.
Regarding claim 15, Ding et al teach the dimer including an atom of manganese and an atom of nickel (“NiMn-N/CNT”).
Regarding claim 16, the electrolysis apparatus of Cole et al was configured to (i.e. capable of) operation for any desired length of time, such as continuously for 24-48 hours.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al (US 2011/0114502 A1) in view of Ding et al (“Carbon nitride embedded with transition metals for selective electrocatalytic CO2 reduction”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fleischer et al (US 2018/0195184 A1).
Cole et al do not teach using a gas diffusion cathode.
Fleischer et al teach (see abstract, fig. 2, paragraph [0074]) that use of a gas diffusion cathode that separated a cathode chamber into a liquid catholyte chamber (“KE”) and a gaseous CO-2 chamber was known in the field of electrochemical carbon dioxide reduction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Cole et al according to the known gas diffusion cathode technique taught by Fleischer et al to achieve predictable results. The elements of the prior art continue to perform their same functions in the combination. See MPEP 2143.I.A. Further, gas diffusion electrodes were well known in the prior art for increasing the size of the three phase interface between the carbon dioxide gas, the liquid electrolyte, and the solid catalyst.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al (US 2011/0114502 A1) in view of Ding et al (“Carbon nitride embedded with transition metals for selective electrocatalytic CO2 reduction”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ono et al (US 2017/0271089 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Cole et al do not teach that the separator was a cation exchange membrane.
Ono et al teach (see abstract, fig. 1, paragraphs [0013] and [0038]-[0039]) utilization of a cation exchange membrane, especially a proton exchange membrane, as the separator for a carbon dioxide reduction electrolyzer, wherein the membrane was capable of increasing migration efficiency of the protons generated at the anode to the cathode for reaction with carbon dioxide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have utilized a cation/proton exchange membrane as taught by Ono et al for the separator of Cole et al because Ono et al teach that the proton exchange membrane increased migration efficiency of protons from the anode to the cathode as was required by the system of Cole et al.
Regarding claim 8, Cole et al do not provide details of the extraction system.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have sought out known techniques for separating the desired product (ethanol and/or acetone) from the remaining electrolyte.
Ono et al teach (see abstract, paragraph [0052]), in the field of carbon dioxide electrolysis, that ethanol produced at a cathode by carbon dioxide reduction may be extracted into a xylene solution, with subsequent distillation (boiling point separation) of the ethanol-xylene to more easily recover the ethanol product than from the aqueous solution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have added the xylene extraction with subsequent distillation taught by Ono et al to the system of Cole et al for the purpose of making recovery of the ethanol product from water easier as taught by Ono et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al (US 2011/0114502 A1) in view of Ding et al (“Carbon nitride embedded with transition metals for selective electrocatalytic CO2 reduction”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gottschling (DE 3539525 A1).
Cole et al do not provide details of the extraction system.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have sought out known techniques for separating the desired product (ethanol and/or acetone) from the remaining electrolyte.
Gottschling teaches (see abstract and upper half of page 4 of the machine translation) the acetone and/or ethanol may be separated from water by using a dimethylpolysiloxane oil that utilized a difference in solubility to extract the acetone and/or ethanol from the water.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied the known technique of Gottschling to the system of Cole et al to achieve the predictable result of separating the acetone and/or ethanol product from the water based upon a difference in solubility according to the teachings of Gottschling.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY D WILKINS III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794