DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 20210290053) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method of implementing a virtual vision test for peripheral vision ([0178]), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); comprising: at an electronic device (Fig. 1A) including a head-mounted display (208) and a camera ([0116]): generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]: visual interface) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) in the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface); and while simulating the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]), in real time ([0118]): continuously tracking ([0008]), using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) to one or more stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]); and evaluating the gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) for peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) require detection ([0123]) and reaction ([0123]) to the one or more stimuli ([0122]) appearing in a peripheral field of view ([0006]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) comprise one or more tasks selected from the group consisting of: identifying objects that appear at the edges of visual field ([0006]), tracking ([0008]) multiple moving targets across a wide area ([0145]), and navigating through complex environments that require peripheral awareness to avoid obstacles ([0146]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) comprise one or more tasks for assessing different aspects of peripheral vision ([0178]), including field extent ([0178]; field of view), reaction ([0123]) time ([0006]) to peripheral one or more stimuli ([0122]), and the ability to process and respond to peripheral information ([0146]) while maintaining central focus ([0145]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) comprise a task for identifying peripheral objects for assessing field extent ([0178]), a task for tracking ([0008]) multiple moving targets for assessing reaction ([0123]) time, and a task for navigation ([0146]) requiring peripheral vision ([0178]) to assess the ability to process and respond to peripheral information ([0146]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) comprise changing scenarios every few seconds to a minute ([0153]), wherein duration of each scenario is a few seconds to a minute ([0153]), wherein at least 5-10 scenarios are simulated ([0153]; 12 cycles).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) comprise one or more tasks that progressively challenge different aspects of peripheral vision ([0178]) with parameters comprising object size ([0186]), speed ([0084]), and trajectory ([0132]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the tracking ([0008]) is performed using one or more infrared ([0205]) cameras ([0116]) capable of capturing detailed eye movements and peripheral responses ([0006]) with high accuracy ([0066]) and minimal latency ([0066]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein evaluating for peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]) comprises evaluating extent by measuring a maximum angle ([0135]) at which objects are detected while focusing on a central point ([0135]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein evaluating for peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]) comprises evaluating accuracy by assessing correctness and reaction ([0123]) time to one or more stimuli ([0122]) in the peripheral areas.
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising compiling results ([0017]) of the evaluation into a comprehensive report ([0017]) that highlights peripheral vision ([0178]) capabilities, identifying any deficiencies that could indicate conditions, including glaucoma, retinitis pigmentosa, or similar visual field defects ([0110]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising establishing baseline performance metrics ([0200]) by comparing user data with profiles of individuals with normal vision ([0139]) and those with known conditions affecting peripheral vision ([0178]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]) comprises a photorealistic ([0149]) representation of real-world conditions ([0206]), including varied lighting conditions and complex visual elements ([0085]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising using foveated ([0169]) rendering to optimize rendering performance by providing the highest resolution ([0097]) and detail in the area where the user is directly focusing ([0004]), while reducing resolution ([0097]) and detail in the peripheral regions ([0178]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein evaluating the gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) includes analyzing saccades at rates of at least 100-500 Hz and fixations at rates of 50-100 Hz ([0155]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising dynamically adjusting the difficulty of the spatial task scenarios ([0135]) based on real-time analysis of the user's performance using artificial intelligence algorithms ([0192]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein evaluating peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]) includes generating a 360-degree visual field map ([0208]) that color-codes areas showing peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]) and indicates maximum detection ([0123]) angles.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising simulating various visual corrections ([0006]) within the virtual environment to assess the impact of different corrective measures ([0006]) on peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, in at least (Fig. 1a, 2a; and [0215]); storing one or more programs ([0192]) for execution by one or more processors ([0214]) of a computer system ([0214]), the one or more programs including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]: visual interface) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) in the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface); and while simulating the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]), in real time ([0118]): continuously tracking ([0008]), using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) to one or more stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]); and evaluating the gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) for peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches an electronic device, in at least (Fig. 1a, 2a; and [0113]); comprising: an HMD (208) and a camera ([0116]); one or more processors; and memory for storing one or more programs for execution by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]: visual interface) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]) in the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface); and while simulating the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]), in real time ([0118]): continuously tracking ([0008]), using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) to one or more stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more spatial task scenarios ([0135]); and evaluating the gaze direction ([0174]) and peripheral responses ([0006]) for peripheral vision ([0178]) performance ([0006]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872