DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 20210290053) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method of implementing a virtual vision test for assessing visual field ([0178]) loss ([0178]) with interactive visual maps, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); comprising: at an electronic device (Fig. 1A) including a head-mounted display (208) and a camera ([0116]): generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]: visual interface) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) in the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface); and while simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]), in real time ([0118]) : continuously tracking, using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]) and responses in response to one or more stimuli ([0122]) appearing at a plurality of locations within a visual field ([0178]) ; and analyzing the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses to map out areas of visual field ([0178]) loss.
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprise tasks ([0135]) selected from the group consisting of: identifying visual targets ([0122])appearing randomly on a map ([0145]), following moving objects across different regions of a visual field ([0178]), and responding to changes in a visual environment ([0146]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprise tasks that require detection ([0123]) and reaction ([0123]) to one or more stimuli ([0122]) at edges and within central and peripheral areas of vision.
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein visual maps for the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprise graphical representations ([0086]) of a visual field ([0178]) , illustrating areas of normal vision ([0139]), reduced sensitivity ([0071]), and blind spots ([0071]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein visual maps for the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprise interactive visual maps that adapt to user responses, presenting a one or more stimuli ([0122]) at various locations, to thereby map out areas of sensitivity and loss ([0086]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprises displaying one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) in a predetermined manner, thereby ensuring coverage of an entire visual field ([0178]) .
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprises displaying one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) in a randomized way to prevent prediction ([0155]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprises generating interactive visual maps, which comprises: calibrating to a user’s visual field ([0178]) and eye-tracking data ([0008]); presenting one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) in a predetermined manner across the visual field ([0178]) ; recording user responses to the one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) , in real time ([0118]) ; and processing the user responses to generate a visual field ([0178]) map.
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein tracking the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses to one or more stimuli ([0122]) comprises tracking, using one or more eye-tracking sensors ([0008]), gaze direction ([0174]) , fixation stability ([0014]), saccadic movements ([0014]), and pupil reactions ([0015]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the tracking is performed using one or more infrared cameras ([0205]) capable of capturing detailed eye movements ([0205]) and peripheral responses ([0178]) with high accuracy ([0066]) and minimal latency ([0066]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses comprises evaluating an ability to perceive ([0009]) and respond ([0066]) to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) across a field of view ([0178]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses comprises comparing user performance ([0115]) to baseline ([0173]) metrics, identifying delayed, inaccurate ([0004]), or absent responses ([0067]), to map out visual field ([0178]) loss.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising generating a report ([0120]) that provides a detailed visual field ([0178]) map highlighting any areas of loss or impairment ([0081]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising establishing baseline ([0173]) performance metrics by comparing user data ([0115]) with profiles of individuals with normal vision ([0139]) and user data with profiles of individuals with conditions affecting peripheral vision ([0178]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising generating and providing a report comprising a visual representation of a visual field ([0178]) , highlighting the areas of visual field ([0178]) loss or impairment with color-coded sections indicating severity ([0141]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) comprises generating a 360-degree visual field ([0178]) representation that adapts in real-time based on user responses to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented at various locations within the visual field ([0178]) .
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising calibrating the virtual reality user interface ([0113]: visual interface) to the user’s specific visual field ([0178]) characteristics by adjusting eye-tracking sensors ([0008]) and display settings to ensure accurate positioning and sizing of one or more stimuli ([0122]) relative to the user's unique vision.
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses comprises creating a dynamic visual field ([0178]) map that is color-coded to indicate areas of normal vision ([0139]), reduced sensitivity, and complete vision loss ([0081]), with real-time updates based on the user’s ongoing responses to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) .
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, in at least one of (1A, 2A; and [0215]); storing one or more programs ([0214]) for execution by one or more processors ([0006]) of a computer system ([0214]), the one or more programs ([0214]) including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]: visual interface) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) in the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface); and while simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]), in real time ([0118]) : continuously tracking, using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]) and responses in response to one or more stimuli ([0122]) appearing at a plurality of locations within a visual field ([0178]) ; and analyzing the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses to map out areas of visual field ([0178]) loss.
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches an electronic device, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); comprising: an HMD (208) and a camera ([0116]); one or more processors; and memory for storing one or more programs for execution by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]: visual interface) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]) in the VR user interface ([0113]: visual interface); and while simulating the one or more interactive visual map scenarios ([0135]), in real time ([0118]) : continuously tracking, using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]) and responses in response to one or more stimuli ([0122]) appearing at a plurality of locations within a visual field ([0178]) ; and analyzing the gaze direction ([0174]) and responses to map out areas of visual field ([0178]) loss.
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872