DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 20210290053) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method of implementing a virtual eye test ([0006]) for assessing ocular health ([0060]) by analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with multidimensional shapes ([0085]), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); comprising: at an electronic device (fig. 1) including a head-mounted display (208) and a camera (130): generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0115]) (][0139]); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more test scenarios ([0051]) with multidimensional shapes ([0085]) in the VR user interface ([0113]); and while simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]), in real time ([0103]): continuously tracking ([0104]), using the camera (130), eye movements ([0116]) in response to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more test scenarios ([0051]); and analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with the multidimensional shapes ([0085]) for assessing ocular health ([0060]), based on the eye movements ([0116]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]) comprises generating a plurality of interactive 3D shapes ([0085]) within the virtual environment ([0115]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein generating the interactive 3D shapes ([0085]) comprises selecting one or more shapes ([0085]) from a group consisting of polyhedral ([0085]), tesseracts ([0085]), and custom objects ([0085]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein generating the interactive 3D shapes ([0085]) comprises generating one or more interactive shapes ([0085]) programmed to rotate ([0186]), resize ([0186]) and align in space ([0186]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the plurality of interactive 3D shapes ([0085]) allows users to manipulate the shapes ([0085]) through gaze direction ([0132]) and hand movements ([0105]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the plurality of interactive 3D shapes ([0085]) comprises symmetric shapes ([0085]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]) comprises generating and displaying a plurality of interactive tasks ([0106]), including manipulating 3D shapes ([0085]) to fit into predetermined patterns, matching shapes ([0085]) based on depth cues ([0114]), and performing precision tasks ([0106]) that require fine eye-hand coordination.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]) comprises allowing a user to rotate ([0186]), resize ([0186]) and align shapes ([0085]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]) comprises providing depth cues ([0114]) via overlap ([0167]) and relative size ([0168]) for distance estimation ([0175]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more test scenarios ([0051]) comprise one or more precision tasks ([0106]) requiring fine alignment ([0205]) and exact matching of shapes ([0085]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more test scenarios ([0051]) comprise one or more tasks revealing strabismus ([0145]), amblyopia ([0175]), convergence insufficiency ([0092]), and other similar issues ([0092]), through user performance metrics ([0092]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein tracking ([0104]) eye movements ([0116]) comprises using one or more eye-tracking ([0104]) sensors to monitor gaze direction ([0132]), fixation points ([0014]), and saccadic movements ([0116]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the three-dimensional virtual environment ([0115]) (][0139]) ([0139]) comprises a photorealistic ([0149]) representation of real-world conditions ([0206]), including varied lighting conditions ([0085]) and complex visual elements ([0085]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein tracking ([0104]) eye movements ([0116]) comprises mapping gaze direction ([0132]), fixation points ([0014]) and saccadic movements ([0116]) to visual acuity ([0097]), depth perception ([0071]), and eye coordination ([0006]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with the multidimensional shapes ([0085]) comprises assessing depth perception ([0071]) via accurate perception of shape dimensions ([0084]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with the multidimensional shapes ([0085]) comprises assessing eye coordination ([0006]) via smooth and coordinated eye movements ([0116]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with the multidimensional shapes ([0085]) comprises assessing pattern matching ([0172]) and obstacle navigation ([0146]), for ocular health tracking ([0104]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing the user interaction comprises assessing ocular health ([0060]) parameters including visual acuity ([0097]), depth perception ([0071]), and eye coordination ([0006]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein analyzing the user interaction comprises analyzing accuracy ([0180]), response time ([0006]), and consistency of the user interactions ([0216]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium ([0215]), storing one or more programs ([0215]) for execution by one or more processors ([0215]) of a computer system ([0215]), the one or more programs including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0115]) (][0139]); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more test scenarios ([0051]) with multidimensional shapes ([0085]) in the VR user interface ([0113]); and while simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]), in real time ([0103]): continuously tracking ([0104]), using the camera (130), eye movements ([0116]) in response to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more test scenarios ([0051]); and analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with the multidimensional shapes ([0085]) for assessing ocular health ([0060]), based on the eye movements ([0116]).
With regard to claim 21, D1 teaches an electronic device (fig. 1), comprising: an HMD (208) and a camera (130); one or more processors ([0215]); and memory ([0215]) for storing one or more programs ([0215]) for execution by the one or more processors ([0215]), the one or more programs including instructions ([0215]) for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]) corresponding to a three-dimensional virtual environment ([0115]) (][0139]); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more test scenarios ([0051]) with multidimensional shapes ([0085]) in the VR user interface ([0113]); and while simulating the one or more test scenarios ([0051]), in real time ([0103]): continuously tracking ([0104]), using the camera (130), eye movements ([0116]) in response to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more test scenarios ([0051]); and analyzing user interaction ([0216]) with the multidimensional shapes ([0085]) for assessing ocular health ([0060]), based on the eye movements ([0116]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872