DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1 This action is in response to the amendment filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11, 13-17 have been amended, claims 19-20 have been cancelled, and claims 21-22 are new additions. Claims 1-18 remain rejected, and claims 19-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
2 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 filed on 06/25/2026, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 regarding that the prior art does not teach the following but not limited to “…determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes…”. This argument has been considered, but are moot due to new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, with various clarifications. More specifically, although it may be true that the prior art from Sugio not explicitly teaching a type of subcombination, prior art from Müller can further teach the limitation as it was previously first defined in claim 5, where the amendments are mostly similar to some of the content from claim 5 (Müller; [Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”).
3 Regarding claims 2-9 and 11-18, they directly/indirectly depend on independent claims 1 and 10 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent claims 1 and 10. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was mostly previously established as explained, with some changes based on the amendments.
4 Regarding claims 19-20, they have been cancelled as mentioned previously. Therefore, they are not reviewed further.
5 Regarding claim 21-22, they are new additions to the claims. The claims have been considered, but are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
7 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
8 Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 13-14, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugio et al. (US 20230230286 A1) in view of Müller, K., Smolic, A., Kautzner, M., Eisert, P., & Wiegand, T. (2006). Rate-distortion-optimized predictive compression of dynamic 3D mesh sequences. Signal Processing: Image Communication, 21(9), 812-828. (hereinafter Müller).
9 Regarding claim 1, Sugio teaches a method of mesh decoding ([0008] reciting “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a three-dimensional data encoding method, a three-dimensional data decoding method, a three-dimensional data encoding device, or a three-dimensional data decoding device that is capable of increasing the encoding efficiency.”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”), comprising:
receiving a bitstream that includes attribute information of a plurality of attributes in a mesh ([Abstract] reciting “…using one or more items of attribute information of one or more second three-dimensional points in the vicinity of the first three-dimensional point; calculating a prediction residual that is a difference between the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point and the predicted value; and generating a bitstream including the prediction residual and prediction mode information indicating the prediction mode.”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”);
determining one or more prediction modes of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0239] reciting “The process of decoding attribute information may include at least one of an inverse quantization process, a prediction process, and an arithmetic decoding process. In this case, “refer to” means using a reference node for calculating a predicted value of attribute information or using a state of a reference node (occupancy information that indicates whether a reference node includes a point cloud or not, for example) for determining a parameter of decoding.”; [0483] reciting “In the generating of the predicted value, prediction mode information (PredMode) may be appended for each three-dimensional point, and one predicted value may be selected from a plurality of predicted values to allow generation of a predicted value.”; [0516] reciting “For example, at a small quantization scale (at a high bit rate), value λ may be set smaller to select a prediction mode with smaller prediction residual residual(P) to increase prediction accuracy as much as possible.”; [0957] reciting “Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”);
determining a prediction value of the current attribute in the mesh based on the attribute information of the current attribute and the one or more prediction modes ([0010] reciting “…one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes when a type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is first attribute information including elements a total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value…”); and
reconstructing the current attribute based on the prediction value of the current attribute ([0424] reciting “In addition, the three-dimensional data encoding device decodes a quantized prediction residual by inverse quantization and reconstruction, and uses a decoded value which is the decoded prediction residual for prediction of a current three-dimensional point to be encoded and the following three-dimensional point(s).”).
Sugio does not explicitly teach determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes…
10 Müller teaches determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
11 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio) to incorporate the teachings of Müller to provide a method that involves a type of “subcombinations” to go along with the prediction modes that are taught by Sugio. Doing so would improve the overall compression performance significantly as stated by Müller ([Section 2.2] recited).
12 Regarding claim 2, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 1 rejection above):
determining the one or more prediction modes from the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on the prediction mode priorities of the one or more prediction modes being higher than the prediction mode priorities of other candidate prediction modes in of the plurality of candidate prediction modes (Sugio; [0009] reciting “one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes when a type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is first attribute information including elements a total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value; and one fixed prediction mode when the type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is second attribute information including elements a total number of which is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.”).
13 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically …from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
14 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
15 Regarding claim 3, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 2 (see claims 1 and 2 rejections above), wherein:
the one or more prediction modes includes a plurality of prediction modes; and the determining the prediction value of the current attribute (Sugio; [Abstract] reciting “…calculating a predicted value of attribute information of a first three-dimensional point in a prediction mode…”; [0166] reciting “By the above-described three-dimensional data decoding method, it is possible to appropriately decode attribute information that has been encoded using the predicted value in the prediction mode indicated by the bitstream.”) further comprises:
determining a plurality of candidate prediction values of the current attribute based on the plurality of prediction modes ([0166] reciting “By the above-described three-dimensional data decoding method, it is possible to appropriately decode attribute information that has been encoded using the predicted value in the prediction mode indicated by the bitstream.”; [0893] reciting “In the case where one prediction mode is used to calculate a predicted value for calculating the prediction residual of each element in the attribute information including three elements, a prediction mode in which three predicted residuals residual(P) are small may be selected from a plurality of prediction candidates, whereby the encoding efficiency may be improved.”), and
determining the prediction value of the current attribute as an average of the plurality of candidate prediction values ([0163] reciting “For example, it is possible that the predicted value is an average value of the one or more items of attribute information of the one or more second three-dimensional points, when a value indicated by the prediction mode information is 0.”).
16 Regarding claim 4, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 1 rejection above), determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream (Sugio; [0179] reciting “…three-dimensional data decoding method and a three-dimensional data decoding device for decoding the encoded data, a three-dimensional data multiplexing method for multiplexing the encoded data, and a three-dimensional data transmission method for transmitting the encoded data.”; [1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632).”), the prediction mode information indicating the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest prediction residual of a plurality of prediction residuals corresponding to the plurality of candidate prediction modes (Sugio; [0874] reciting “A prediction mode at the time of encoding may be selected by RD optimization. Note that the prediction mode is information indicating a method of calculating (how to calculate) a predicted value. For example, it is conceivable to: calculate cost cost(P) in the case of selecting given prediction mode P; and select prediction mode P in which cost(P) is the smallest. Cost cost(P) may be calculated according to Equation Y1 using, for example: predicted residual residual(P) in the case of using a predicted value in prediction mode P; and bit count bit(P), an adjustment parameter λ value, or offset value offset(P) necessary to encode prediction mode P.”).
17 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … is determined from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
18 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
19 Regarding claim 5, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 1 rejection above):
determining the one or more prediction modes of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream ([0179] reciting “…three-dimensional data decoding method and a three-dimensional data decoding device for decoding the encoded data, a three-dimensional data multiplexing method for multiplexing the encoded data, and a three-dimensional data transmission method for transmitting the encoded data.”; [1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632).”), the prediction mode information indicating the of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest average prediction residual of a plurality of average prediction residuals that corresponds to the of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0449] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data encoding device calculates the weighted average of the values of attribute information of the plurality of neighbor points, and sets the resulting value to predicted value P (S3015). Next, the three-dimensional data encoding device calculates a prediction residual which is the difference between the attribute information of the current three-dimensional point and the predicted value (S3016).”; [0874] reciting “A prediction mode at the time of encoding may be selected by RD optimization. Note that the prediction mode is information indicating a method of calculating (how to calculate) a predicted value. For example, it is conceivable to: calculate cost cost(P) in the case of selecting given prediction mode P; and select prediction mode P in which cost(P) is the smallest. Cost cost(P) may be calculated according to Equation Y1 using, for example: predicted residual residual(P) in the case of using a predicted value in prediction mode P; and bit count bit(P), an adjustment parameter λ value, or offset value offset(P) necessary to encode prediction mode P.”).
20 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … as the one of plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream, the prediction mode information indicating the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest average prediction residual of a plurality of average prediction residuals that corresponds to the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
21 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
22 Regarding claim 10, Sugio teaches a method of mesh encoding ([0008] reciting “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a three-dimensional data encoding method, a three-dimensional data decoding method, a three-dimensional data encoding device, or a three-dimensional data decoding device that is capable of increasing the encoding efficiency.”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”), comprising:
determining a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a plurality of attributes in a mesh ([0893] reciting “Specifically, the three-dimensional data encoding device may calculate a predicted value using one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes, when the type of attribute information is attribute information (first attribute information) including elements the total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value…In the case where one prediction mode is used to calculate a predicted value for calculating the prediction residual of each element in the attribute information including three elements, a prediction mode in which three predicted residuals residual(P) are small may be selected from a plurality of prediction candidates, whereby the encoding efficiency may be improved.”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”);
determining one or more prediction modes from the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0239] reciting “The process of decoding attribute information may include at least one of an inverse quantization process, a prediction process, and an arithmetic decoding process. In this case, “refer to” means using a reference node for calculating a predicted value of attribute information or using a state of a reference node (occupancy information that indicates whether a reference node includes a point cloud or not, for example) for determining a parameter of decoding.”; [0884] reciting “Predicted residual residual(P) is calculated by subtracting the predicted value in prediction mode P from an attribute value of the current three-dimensional point to be encoded.”);
encoding a prediction value of the current attribute in the mesh based on the one or more prediction modes ([Abstract] reciting “A three-dimensional data encoding method of encoding three-dimensional points includes: calculating a predicted value of attribute information of a first three-dimensional point in a prediction mode…”; [0010] reciting “…one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes when a type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is first attribute information including elements a total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value…”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”); and
encoding signal information into a bitstream, the signal information indicating that the one or more prediction modes is determined for the current attribute in the mesh from the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632). Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device extracts, from the multiplexed signal, the encoded data including the specified and desired data ID”).
23 Sugio does not explicitly teach determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes…
24 Müller teaches determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
25 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio) to incorporate the teachings of Müller to provide a method that involves a type of “subcombinations” to go along with the prediction modes that are taught by Sugio. Doing so would improve the overall compression performance significantly as stated by Müller ([Section 2.2] recited).
26 Regarding claim 13, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 10 (see claim 10 rejection above), wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises: determining a prediction residual for each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0893] reciting “In the case where one prediction mode is used to calculate a predicted value for calculating the prediction residual of each element in the attribute information including three elements, a prediction mode in which three predicted residuals residual(P) are small may be selected from a plurality of prediction candidates, whereby the encoding efficiency may be improved.”); and
determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest prediction residual of the prediction residuals corresponding to the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0874] reciting “A prediction mode at the time of encoding may be selected by RD optimization. Note that the prediction mode is information indicating a method of calculating (how to calculate) a predicted value. For example, it is conceivable to: calculate cost cost(P) in the case of selecting given prediction mode P; and select prediction mode P in which cost(P) is the smallest. Cost cost(P) may be calculated according to Equation Y1 using, for example: predicted residual residual(P) in the case of using a predicted value in prediction mode P; and bit count bit(P), an adjustment parameter λ value, or offset value offset(P) necessary to encode prediction mode P.”).
27 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … is determined from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
28 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
29 Regarding claim 14, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 10 rejection above):
determining an average prediction residual of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0449] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data encoding device calculates the weighted average of the values of attribute information of the plurality of neighbor points, and sets the resulting value to predicted value P (S3015). Next, the three-dimensional data encoding device calculates a prediction residual which is the difference between the attribute information of the current three-dimensional point and the predicted value (S3016).”); and
determining the one or more prediction modes as of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest average prediction residual of the average prediction residuals that correspond to of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0449] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data encoding device calculates the weighted average of the values of attribute information of the plurality of neighbor points, and sets the resulting value to predicted value P (S3015). Next, the three-dimensional data encoding device calculates a prediction residual which is the difference between the attribute information of the current three-dimensional point and the predicted value (S3016).”; [0874] reciting “A prediction mode at the time of encoding may be selected by RD optimization. Note that the prediction mode is information indicating a method of calculating (how to calculate) a predicted value. For example, it is conceivable to: calculate cost cost(P) in the case of selecting given prediction mode P; and select prediction mode P in which cost(P) is the smallest. Cost cost(P) may be calculated according to Equation Y1 using, for example: predicted residual residual(P) in the case of using a predicted value in prediction mode P; and bit count bit(P), an adjustment parameter λ value, or offset value offset(P) necessary to encode prediction mode P.”).
30 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … for each of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes; and determining the one or more prediction modes as the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest average prediction residual of the average prediction residuals that correspond to the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
31 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
32 Regarding claim 21, Sugio teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method of encoding a bitstream comprising ([0008] reciting “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a three-dimensional data encoding method, a three-dimensional data decoding method, a three-dimensional data encoding device, or a three-dimensional data decoding device that is capable of increasing the encoding efficiency.”; [0166] reciting “By the above-described three-dimensional data decoding method, it is possible to appropriately decode attribute information that has been encoded using the predicted value in the prediction mode indicated by the bitstream.”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”; [0969] reciting “Client device 902 includes data receiver 1011, communication unit 1012, reception controller 1013, format converter 1014, sensors 1015, three-dimensional data creator 1016, three-dimensional image processor 1017, three-dimensional data storage 1018, format converter 1019, communication unit 1020, transmission controller 1021, and data transmitter 1022.”):
determining a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a plurality of attributes in a mesh ([0893] reciting “Specifically, the three-dimensional data encoding device may calculate a predicted value using one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes, when the type of attribute information is attribute information (first attribute information) including elements the total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value…In the case where one prediction mode is used to calculate a predicted value for calculating the prediction residual of each element in the attribute information including three elements, a prediction mode in which three predicted residuals residual(P) are small may be selected from a plurality of prediction candidates, whereby the encoding efficiency may be improved.”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”);
determining one or more prediction modes from of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0239] reciting “The process of decoding attribute information may include at least one of an inverse quantization process, a prediction process, and an arithmetic decoding process. In this case, “refer to” means using a reference node for calculating a predicted value of attribute information or using a state of a reference node (occupancy information that indicates whether a reference node includes a point cloud or not, for example) for determining a parameter of decoding.”; [0884] reciting “Predicted residual residual(P) is calculated by subtracting the predicted value in prediction mode P from an attribute value of the current three-dimensional point to be encoded.”);
encoding a prediction value of the current attribute in the mesh based on the one or more prediction modes ([Abstract] reciting “A three-dimensional data encoding method of encoding three-dimensional points includes: calculating a predicted value of attribute information of a first three-dimensional point in a prediction mode…”; [0010] reciting “…one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes when a type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is first attribute information including elements a total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value…”; [0957] reciting “Server 901 transmits the three-dimensional map formed by a point cloud to client device 902. Note that a structure of the three-dimensional map is not limited to a point cloud, and may also be another structure expressing three-dimensional data such as a mesh structure.”);
encoding signal information into the bitstream, the signal information indicating that the one or more prediction modes is determined for the current attribute in the mesh from the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632). Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device extracts, from the multiplexed signal, the encoded data including the specified and desired data ID”); and
transmitting the encoded bitstream ([0704] reciting “The three-dimensional data encoding device transmits a bitstream including, for example, encoded NumPredMode to the three-dimensional data decoding device.”).
33 Sugio does not explicitly teach determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes…
34 Müller teaches determining a plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of a plurality of candidate prediction modes for a current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh; determining one or more prediction modes from one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes for the current attribute of the plurality of attributes in the mesh based on one of prediction mode priorities and prediction mode accuracies of the one or more prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
35 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio) to incorporate the teachings of Müller to provide a method that involves a type of “subcombinations” to go along with the prediction modes that are taught by Sugio. Doing so would improve the overall compression performance significantly as stated by Müller ([Section 2.2] recited).
36 Claim(s) 6-7, 8-9, 15-16, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugio et al. (US 20230230286 A1) in view of Müller, K., Smolic, A., Kautzner, M., Eisert, P., & Wiegand, T. (2006). Rate-distortion-optimized predictive compression of dynamic 3D mesh sequences. Signal Processing: Image Communication, 21(9), 812-828. (hereinafter Müller) as of claim 1, further in view of Solovyev et al. (US 20210281870 A1).
37 Regarding claim 6, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 1 rejection above):
determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream, the prediction mode information indicating that a prediction residual of the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes corresponds to a of prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes (Sugio; [0158] reciting “…by obtaining a bitstream; calculating a predicted value in the prediction mode indicated by the prediction mode information; and calculating attribute information of the first three-dimensional point by adding the predicted value to the prediction residual, wherein the prediction mode is: … and one fixed prediction mode when the type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is second attribute information including elements a total number of which is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.”).
38 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … that is determined from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream … ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
39 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
40 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach … the prediction mode information indicating that a prediction residual of the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes corresponds to a smallest bitstream size of bitstream sizes of prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
41 Solovyev teaches … the prediction mode information indicating that a prediction residual of the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes corresponds to a smallest bitstream size of bitstream sizes of prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0148] reciting “Additional scaling factors may be introduced for quantization and dequantization to restore the norm of the residual block, which might get modified because of the scaling used in the fixed point approximation of the equation for quantization step size and quantization parameter. In one example implementation, the scaling of the inverse transform and dequantization might be combined. Alternatively, customized quantization tables may be used and signaled from an encoder to a decoder, e.g. in a bitstream. The quantization is a lossy operation, wherein the loss increases with increasing quantization step sizes.”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”).
42 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Solovyev to provide various bitstream sizes as well as the smallest size available with the bitstream and prediction methods taught by Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
43 Regarding claim 7, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises:
determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction information signaled in the bitstream ([0158] reciting “…by obtaining a bitstream; calculating a predicted value in the prediction mode indicated by the prediction mode information; and calculating attribute information of the first three-dimensional point by adding the predicted value to the prediction residual, wherein the prediction mode is: … and one fixed prediction mode when the type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is second attribute information including elements a total number of which is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.”; [0179] reciting “…three-dimensional data decoding method and a three-dimensional data decoding device for decoding the encoded data, a three-dimensional data multiplexing method for multiplexing the encoded data, and a three-dimensional data transmission method for transmitting the encoded data.”; [1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632).”),
44 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … that is determined from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream … ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
45 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
46 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach the prediction information indicating the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest total bitstream size of total bitstream sizes of (i) prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes and (ii) prediction information of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
47 Solovyev teaches the prediction information indicating the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest total bitstream size of total bitstream sizes ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”) of (i) prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0131] reciting “The residual calculation unit 204, the transform processing unit 206, the quantization unit 208, the mode selection unit 260 may be referred to as forming a forward signal path of the encoder 20, whereas the inverse quantization unit 210, the inverse transform processing unit 212, the reconstruction unit 214, the buffer 216, the loop filter 220, the decoded picture buffer (DPB) 230, the inter prediction unit 244 and the intra-prediction unit 254 may be referred to as forming a backward signal path of the video encoder 20, wherein the backward signal path of the video encoder 20 corresponds to the signal path of the decoder (see video decoder 30 in FIG. 3).”) and (ii) prediction information of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0075] reciting “And the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is derived based on the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for Merge Mode. The coding bits are also saved, comparing with the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is signaled independently.”).
48 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Solovyev to provide various bitstream sizes including the smallest size available, as well as its connection with prediction residuals and the prediction information while utilizing the bitstream methods and the specific prediction residuals and information provided by the teachings of Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
49 Regarding claim 8, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 1 rejection above), determining the one or more prediction modes of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream, the prediction mode information indicating of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to ([0179] reciting “…three-dimensional data decoding method and a three-dimensional data decoding device for decoding the encoded data, a three-dimensional data multiplexing method for multiplexing the encoded data, and a three-dimensional data transmission method for transmitting the encoded data.”; [1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632).”)
50 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … as the one of plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream, the prediction mode information indicating the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest average prediction residual of a plurality of average prediction residuals that corresponds to the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
51 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
52 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach a smallest total bitstream size of total bitstream sizes corresponding to (i) prediction residuals of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes and (ii) prediction information of the plurality of subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
53 Solovyev teaches a smallest total bitstream size of total bitstream sizes corresponding to ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”) (i) prediction residuals of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0131] reciting “The residual calculation unit 204, the transform processing unit 206, the quantization unit 208, the mode selection unit 260 may be referred to as forming a forward signal path of the encoder 20, whereas the inverse quantization unit 210, the inverse transform processing unit 212, the reconstruction unit 214, the buffer 216, the loop filter 220, the decoded picture buffer (DPB) 230, the inter prediction unit 244 and the intra-prediction unit 254 may be referred to as forming a backward signal path of the video encoder 20, wherein the backward signal path of the video encoder 20 corresponds to the signal path of the decoder (see video decoder 30 in FIG. 3).”) and (ii) prediction information of the plurality of subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0075] reciting “And the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is derived based on the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for Merge Mode. The coding bits are also saved, comparing with the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is signaled independently.”; See “subcombinations” reasoning above).
54 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Solovyev to provide various bitstream sizes including the smallest size available, as well as its connection with prediction residuals and the prediction information while utilizing the bitstream methods and the specific prediction residuals and information provided by the teachings of Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
55 Regarding claim 9, Sugio in view of Müller and Solovyev teaches the method of claim 6 (see claims 1 and 6 rejections above),
56 Solovyev from claim 6 can further teach the limitations, specifically wherein the bitstream sizes of the prediction residuals (Solovyev; [Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”) of the plurality of candidate prediction modes are estimated by an entropy coding (Solovyev; [0178] reciting “The intra prediction unit 254 (or in general the mode selection unit 260) is further configured to output intra-prediction parameters (or in general information indicative of the selected intra prediction mode for the block) to the entropy encoding unit 270 in form of syntax elements 266 for inclusion into the encoded picture data 21, so that, e.g., the video decoder 30 may receive and use the prediction parameters for decoding.”).
57 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller and Solovyev) to incorporate additional teachings of Solovyev to provide a method to include entropy coding for the candidate prediction modes and the bitstream sizes provided by Sugio in view of Müller and Solovyev. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
58 Regarding claim 15, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 10 rejection above):
; and
determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes such that a prediction residual of the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes corresponds to a of the prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes (Sugio; [0158] reciting “…by obtaining a bitstream; calculating a predicted value in the prediction mode indicated by the prediction mode information; and calculating attribute information of the first three-dimensional point by adding the predicted value to the prediction residual, wherein the prediction mode is: … and one fixed prediction mode when the type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is second attribute information including elements a total number of which is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.”).
59 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … is determined from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
60 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
61 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach determining a bitstream size for a prediction residual of each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes; and determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes such that a prediction residual of the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes corresponds to a smallest bitstream size of the bitstream sizes of the prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
62 Solovyev teaches determining a bitstream size for a prediction residual of each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0148] reciting “Additional scaling factors may be introduced for quantization and dequantization to restore the norm of the residual block, which might get modified because of the scaling used in the fixed point approximation of the equation for quantization step size and quantization parameter. In one example implementation, the scaling of the inverse transform and dequantization might be combined. Alternatively, customized quantization tables may be used and signaled from an encoder to a decoder, e.g. in a bitstream. The quantization is a lossy operation, wherein the loss increases with increasing quantization step sizes.”); and
determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes such that a prediction residual of the one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes corresponds to a smallest bitstream size of the bitstream sizes of the prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”).
63 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Solovyev to provide various bitstream sizes as well as the smallest size available with the bitstream and prediction methods taught by Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
64 Regarding claim 16, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 10 rejection above):
determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes
65 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … is determined from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
66 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
67 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach determining a total bitstream size for (i) a prediction residual of each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes and (ii) prediction information of the respective candidate prediction mode; and determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest total bitstream size of the total bitstream sizes of (i) the prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes and (ii) the prediction information of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
68 Solovyev teaches determining a total bitstream size ([0371] reciting “In HEVC, the size of the motion information candidate list is N and N might be modified based on a syntax element that is included in the bitstream. The value of N might be a positive integer number (typically between 2 to 5) and it is signaled in the SPS. The size of the merge list is fixed for the whole video sequence.”) for (i) a prediction residual of each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0131] reciting “The residual calculation unit 204, the transform processing unit 206, the quantization unit 208, the mode selection unit 260 may be referred to as forming a forward signal path of the encoder 20, whereas the inverse quantization unit 210, the inverse transform processing unit 212, the reconstruction unit 214, the buffer 216, the loop filter 220, the decoded picture buffer (DPB) 230, the inter prediction unit 244 and the intra-prediction unit 254 may be referred to as forming a backward signal path of the video encoder 20, wherein the backward signal path of the video encoder 20 corresponds to the signal path of the decoder (see video decoder 30 in FIG. 3).”) and (ii) prediction information of the respective candidate prediction mode ([0075] reciting “And the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is derived based on the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for Merge Mode. The coding bits are also saved, comparing with the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is signaled independently.”); and determining the one or more prediction modes as one of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest total bitstream size of the total bitstream sizes ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”) of (i) the prediction residuals of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0131] reciting “The residual calculation unit 204, the transform processing unit 206, the quantization unit 208, the mode selection unit 260 may be referred to as forming a forward signal path of the encoder 20, whereas the inverse quantization unit 210, the inverse transform processing unit 212, the reconstruction unit 214, the buffer 216, the loop filter 220, the decoded picture buffer (DPB) 230, the inter prediction unit 244 and the intra-prediction unit 254 may be referred to as forming a backward signal path of the video encoder 20, wherein the backward signal path of the video encoder 20 corresponds to the signal path of the decoder (see video decoder 30 in FIG. 3).”) and (ii) the prediction information of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0075] reciting “And the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is derived based on the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for Merge Mode. The coding bits are also saved, comparing with the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is signaled independently.”).
69 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Solovyev to provide various bitstream sizes including the smallest size available, as well as its connection with prediction residuals and the prediction information while utilizing the bitstream methods and the specific prediction residuals and information provided by the teachings of Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
70 Regarding claim 17, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 1 rejection above),
determining the one or more prediction modes of the plurality of candidate prediction modes such that of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0179] reciting “…three-dimensional data decoding method and a three-dimensional data decoding device for decoding the encoded data, a three-dimensional data multiplexing method for multiplexing the encoded data, and a three-dimensional data transmission method for transmitting the encoded data.”; [1170] reciting “Next, the three-dimensional data decoding device analyzes the general information of divided data included in the multiplexed signal (bitstream) or encoded data, and specifies the data ID (data_id) of the divided data constituting the selected point cloud from the sensor ID (sensor_id) of the selected sensor (S8632).”)
71 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically … as the one of plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on prediction mode information signaled in the bitstream, the prediction mode information indicating the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes that corresponds to a smallest average prediction residual of a plurality of average prediction residuals that corresponds to the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors… Here, the arithmetic coder was included in this block to be able to calculate the final rate of the coded bit-stream for RD optimization.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
72 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
73 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach determining a total bitstream size for (i) a prediction residual of each of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes and (ii) prediction information of the respective prediction mode subcombination of the plurality of candidate prediction modes; … corresponds to a smallest total bitstream size of the total bitstream sizes corresponding to (i) the prediction residuals of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes and (ii) the prediction information of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
74 Solovyev teaches determining a total bitstream size ([0371] reciting “In HEVC, the size of the motion information candidate list is N and N might be modified based on a syntax element that is included in the bitstream. The value of N might be a positive integer number (typically between 2 to 5) and it is signaled in the SPS. The size of the merge list is fixed for the whole video sequence.”) for (i) a prediction residual of each of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0131] reciting “The residual calculation unit 204, the transform processing unit 206, the quantization unit 208, the mode selection unit 260 may be referred to as forming a forward signal path of the encoder 20, whereas the inverse quantization unit 210, the inverse transform processing unit 212, the reconstruction unit 214, the buffer 216, the loop filter 220, the decoded picture buffer (DPB) 230, the inter prediction unit 244 and the intra-prediction unit 254 may be referred to as forming a backward signal path of the video encoder 20, wherein the backward signal path of the video encoder 20 corresponds to the signal path of the decoder (see video decoder 30 in FIG. 3).”) and (ii) prediction information of the respective prediction mode subcombination of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0075] reciting “And the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is derived based on the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for Merge Mode. The coding bits are also saved, comparing with the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is signaled independently.”); … corresponds to a smallest total bitstream size of the total bitstream sizes corresponding to ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”) (i) the prediction residuals of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0131] reciting “The residual calculation unit 204, the transform processing unit 206, the quantization unit 208, the mode selection unit 260 may be referred to as forming a forward signal path of the encoder 20, whereas the inverse quantization unit 210, the inverse transform processing unit 212, the reconstruction unit 214, the buffer 216, the loop filter 220, the decoded picture buffer (DPB) 230, the inter prediction unit 244 and the intra-prediction unit 254 may be referred to as forming a backward signal path of the video encoder 20, wherein the backward signal path of the video encoder 20 corresponds to the signal path of the decoder (see video decoder 30 in FIG. 3).”) and (ii) the prediction information of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0075] reciting “And the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is derived based on the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for Merge Mode. The coding bits are also saved, comparing with the maximum quantity of candidate prediction information for the triangle prediction mode is signaled independently.”; See “subcombinations” reasoning above).
75 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Solovyev to provide various bitstream sizes including the smallest size available, as well as its connection with prediction residuals and the prediction information while utilizing the bitstream methods and the specific prediction residuals and information provided by the teachings of Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
76 Regarding claim 18, Sugio in view of Müller and Solovyev teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the determining the bitstream size for the prediction residual of each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes further comprises (see claims 10 and 15 rejections above):
77 Solovyev from claim 15 can further teach the limitations, specifically estimating the bitstream size for the prediction residual of the respective candidate prediction mode ([Abstract] reciting “A prediction method for an image block comprising a first prediction sub-block and a second prediction sub-block, the prediction method comprising: parsing a first index from a bitstream, wherein the first index is used to obtain prediction information of the first prediction sub-block; parsing a second index from the bitstream…”; [0148] reciting “Alternatively, customized quantization tables may be used and signaled from an encoder to a decoder, e.g. in a bitstream.”; [0354] reciting “In an embodiment, the first and the second indices have the smallest possible values according to the disclosure, which would require least number of total bits to represent the first index and the second index in the bitstream.”; [0379] reciting “The probability estimation model is updated after coding the first index and after coding the second index. In this case the first index is included in the bitstream…”) of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on an entropy coding ([0178] reciting “The intra prediction unit 254 (or in general the mode selection unit 260) is further configured to output intra-prediction parameters (or in general information indicative of the selected intra prediction mode for the block) to the entropy encoding unit 270 in form of syntax elements 266 for inclusion into the encoded picture data 21, so that, e.g., the video decoder 30 may receive and use the prediction parameters for decoding.”).
78 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller and Solovyev) to incorporate additional teachings of Solovyev to provide a method to include entropy coding for the candidate prediction modes and the bitstream sizes with the prediction residuals provided by Sugio in view of Müller and Solovyev. Doing so would allow a first index and the second index to not need to follow a particular order in the bitstream structure as stated by Solovyev ([0355] recited).
79 Claim(s) 11-12 and 22is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugio et al. (US 20230230286 A1) in view of Müller, K., Smolic, A., Kautzner, M., Eisert, P., & Wiegand, T. (2006). Rate-distortion-optimized predictive compression of dynamic 3D mesh sequences. Signal Processing: Image Communication, 21(9), 812-828. (hereinafter Müller) as of claim 10 and 21, further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180324460 A1).
80 Regarding claim 11, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 10 rejection above):
; and
determining the one or more prediction modes from the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on the prediction mode priorities of the one or more prediction modes being higher than the prediction mode priorities of other candidate prediction modes in the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([0009] reciting “one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes when a type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is first attribute information including elements a total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value; and one fixed prediction mode when the type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is second attribute information including elements a total number of which is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.”).
81 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically …from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
82 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
83 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach determining a prediction mode priority for each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes.
84 Chen teaches determining a prediction mode priority for each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Abstract] reciting “…determining an intra-prediction method of at least one neighboring block adjacent to a current block that uses an intra-skip mode; determining priority levels of candidate intra-prediction methods of the intra-skip mode for the current block according to the intra-prediction method of the at least one neighboring block and aligning the candidate intra-prediction methods according to the priority levels;”).
85 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Chen to provide a method that can include a priority for the prediction modes and the set of candidate prediction nodes from the teachings of Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow the candidate intra-prediction methods to be aligned according to the priority levels as stated by Chen ([0038] recited).
86 Regarding claim 12, Sugio in view of Müller and Chen teaches the method of claim 11 (see claims 10 and 11 above), wherein:
the one or more prediction modes includes a plurality of prediction modes; and the encoding the prediction value of the current attribute further comprises (Sugio; [Abstract] reciting “A three-dimensional data encoding method of encoding three-dimensional points includes: calculating a predicted value of attribute information of a first three-dimensional point in a prediction mode…”):
determining a plurality of candidate prediction values of the current attribute based on the plurality of prediction modes (Sugio; [0893] reciting “In the case where one prediction mode is used to calculate a predicted value for calculating the prediction residual of each element in the attribute information including three elements, a prediction mode in which three predicted residuals residual(P) are small may be selected from a plurality of prediction candidates, whereby the encoding efficiency may be improved.”), and
determining the prediction value of the current attribute as an average of the plurality of candidate prediction values (Sugio; [0163] reciting “For example, it is possible that the predicted value is an average value of the one or more items of attribute information of the one or more second three-dimensional points, when a value indicated by the prediction mode information is 0.”).
87 Regarding claim 22, Sugio in view of Müller teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein the determining the one or more prediction modes further comprises (see claim 21 rejection above):
; and
determining the one or more prediction modes from of the plurality of candidate prediction modes based on the prediction mode priorities of the one or more prediction modes being higher than the prediction mode priorities of other candidate prediction modes in the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes (Sugio; [0009] reciting “one prediction mode among two or more prediction modes when a type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is first attribute information including elements a total number of which is greater than a predetermined threshold value; and one fixed prediction mode when the type of the attribute information of the first three-dimensional point is second attribute information including elements a total number of which is smaller than or equal to the predetermined threshold value.”).
88 Müller as previously mentioned in claim 1 can further teach the limitations, specifically …from the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Section 2.2] reciting “Further, we have found that additional prediction modes can improve the overall compression performance significantly… Direct Coding of differential vectors. This prediction mode is applied, if the motion vectors within the currently analyzed spatial volume are very different…However, they switch between direct mode and trilinear interpolation on a global basis mesh by mesh. In our approach we allow individual modes for each individual cell…Having different modes available implies the need for a mechanism to select the best one for each single subdivision. Here, the RD cost function is analyzed for each single volume, starting from the fully subdivided volume, where each spatial cell only contains eight vectors.”; [Section 3.2] reciting “As already described, the coder performs RD optimization for all possible spatial subdivisions, starting from the finest spatial subdivision up to the entire bounding cube. This way the combination of subdivisions together with the appropriate prediction mode is determined.”)…
89 As explained in the rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of the one of the plurality of prediction mode subcombinations of Müller into Sugio is provided above.
90 Sugio in view of Müller does not explicitly teach determining a prediction mode priority for each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes…
91 Chen teaches determining a prediction mode priority for each of the plurality of candidate prediction modes ([Abstract] reciting “…determining an intra-prediction method of at least one neighboring block adjacent to a current block that uses an intra-skip mode; determining priority levels of candidate intra-prediction methods of the intra-skip mode for the current block according to the intra-prediction method of the at least one neighboring block and aligning the candidate intra-prediction methods according to the priority levels;”).
92 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Sugio in view of Müller) to incorporate the teachings of Chen to provide a method that can include a priority for the prediction modes and the set of candidate prediction nodes from the teachings of Sugio in view of Müller. Doing so would allow the candidate intra-prediction methods to be aligned according to the priority levels as stated by Chen ([0038] recited).
Conclusion
93 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao et al. (US 20160373742 A1) teaches an intra prediction mode used for video data, has pluralities, and contains methods for decoding/encoding.
94 Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
95 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHNNY TRAN LE whose telephone number is (571)272-5680. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thu: 7:30am-5pm; First Fridays Off; Second Fridays: 7:30am-4pm.
/JOHNNY T LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614