DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tran (US 20210290053) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches a method of implementing a virtual eye test for binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]), in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); comprising: at an electronic device (fig. 1A) including a head-mounted display (208) and a camera ([0116]): generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]); visual interface) corresponding to a photorealistic virtual environment (Fig. 5J; and [0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]); visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) in the VR user interface ([0113]); visual interface); and while simulating the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J), in real time ([0118]): continuously tracking ([0008]), using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]), convergence and divergence ([0071]) in response to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more test scenarios ([0135]); and assessing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]) for binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) based on the gaze direction ([0174]), convergence and divergence ([0071]).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the photorealistic virtual environment (Fig. 5J; and [0139]: 3D display) comprises one or more scenes (Fig. 5j) selected from the group consisting of: a virtual living room (Fig. 5j), park (Fig. 5j), and city street (Fig. 5j), which provide a realistic context for visual challenges ([0081]).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) comprise a plurality of interactive tasks ([0081]) selected from the group consisting of: reaching for and manipulating virtual objects ([0087]), judging distances ([0087 and 0088]) between objects ([0087]), and navigating through complex ([0084]) environments that require accurate depth perception ([0071]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) comprise scenarios(Fig. 5J) where users interact with virtual objects ([0087]), judge spatial relationships (Fig. 5J and [0087]), and navigate through virtual environments (Fig. 5J and [0087]) that require precise depth perception ([0071]) and eye coordination ([0069]).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) comprise calibrating ([0103]) using a control group of users with predetermined binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) profiles to establish baseline ([0173] and [0200]) performance metrics ([0115]) and validating accuracy ([0135]) of visual field assessment, prior to assessing the depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) comprises one or more tasks ([0081]) for testing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]), and eye coordination ([0069]).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more tasks ([0081]) for depth perception ([0071]) testing require distinguishing between objects ([0087]) at different distances ([0087 and 0088]).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more tasks ([0081]) for stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) testing require assessing a three-dimensional structure of objects ([0087]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the one or more tasks ([0081]) for eye coordination ([0069]) testing require tracking ([0008]) objects ([0087]) that move independently in the environment (Fig. 5J).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein assessing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]) comprises recording the gaze direction ([0174]) to ensure correct focus ([0100]), and monitoring convergence and divergence ([0071]) to assess an ability of eyes to work together ([0003]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein assessing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]) comprises computing one or more metrics ([0115]) including a distance ([0087 and 0088]) at which the eyes converge ([0071]) or diverge ([0071]), reaction times ([0060]), and stability ([0014]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising providing variable ([0100]) depth ([0071]) cues by adjusting lighting ([0085]) and texture gradients ([0085]) to enhance or diminish depth perception ([0071]) in the virtual environment.
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein simulating the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) includes simulating real-world physics ([0156]) for object interaction ([0156]) to add complexity to depth perception ([0071]) tasks ([0081]).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein assessing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]) includes generating a graph ([0193]) showing convergence and divergence ([0071]) patterns in response to the one or more visual stimuli ([0122]).
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising calculating 3D ([0114]) structure recognition scores based on the user's performance in stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) testing tasks ([0081]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); wherein the predetermined binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) profiles include a normal binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) profile and a convergence insufficiency profile ([0063]).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising calibrating ([0103]) eye-tracking ([0008]) sensors to ensure accurate tracking ([0008]) of convergence and divergence ([0071]) movements specific to the user’s binocular capabilities ([0061]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches methods for testing in a virtual reality environment, in at least one of (Fig. 1A, 2A; and [0113]); further comprising generating an overall assessment of binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) capabilities, including evaluations of depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]), and eye coordination ([0069]), and providing recommendations for further evaluation if needed ([0063]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing one or more programs for execution by one or more processors of a computer system, the one or more programs including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]); visual interface) corresponding to a photorealistic virtual environment (Fig. 5J; and [0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]); visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) in the VR user interface ([0113]); visual interface); and while simulating the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J), in real time ([0118]): continuously tracking ([0008]), using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]), convergence and divergence ([0071]) in response to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more test scenarios ([0135]); and assessing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]) for binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) based on the gaze direction ([0174]), convergence and divergence ([0071]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches an electronic device (fig. 1A), comprising: an HMD (208) and a camera ([0116]); one or more processors; and memory for storing one or more programs for execution by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: generating a virtual reality (VR) user interface ([0113]); visual interface) corresponding to a photorealistic virtual environment (Fig. 5J; and [0139]: 3D display); rendering the VR user interface ([0113]); visual interface) on the HMD (208); simulating one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J) in the VR user interface ([0113]); visual interface); and while simulating the one or more real-world scenarios (Fig. 5J), in real time ([0118]): continuously tracking ([0008]), using the camera ([0116]), gaze direction ([0174]), convergence and divergence ([0071]) in response to one or more visual stimuli ([0122]) presented in the one or more test scenarios ([0135]); and assessing depth perception ([0071]), stereopsis ([0084] and [0186]) and eye coordination ([0069]) for binocular vision ([0071] and [0184]) based on the gaze direction ([0174]), convergence and divergence ([0071]).
Conclusion
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872