DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0091322 A1) in view of Pinter (US 2004/0062031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. teaches a light source module (see figures 1, 2A and 2B, 6, 8), comprising:
a light guide plate (see abstract of Liu; figures 1, 2A and 2B ), having a first light incident surface (100a) and a bottom surface (100c) connected to the first light incident surface (100a);
a first light source (201), disposed on one side of the first light incident surface (100a) of the light guide plate (100);
a plurality of first optical microstructures (110), disposed on the bottom surface of the light guide plate (100) and located in a first zone (light emitting region R1) of the bottom surface (100c), wherein each of the first optical microstructures (110) has a first light receiving surface (110r) facing the first light source (201), the first light receiving surface (110r) of each of the first optical microstructures (110) has a first edge connecting the bottom surface (100c), and a perpendicular bisector (B11) of the first edge (E11) passes through the first light source (201); and
a plurality of second optical microstructures (120), disposed on the bottom surface of the light guide plate (100) and located in a second zone (light emitting region R2) of the bottom surface (100c), wherein the first zone (light emitting region R1) does not overlap the second zone (light emitting region R2), each of the second optical microstructures (120) has a second light receiving surface (120r), the second light receiving surface (120r) of each of the second optical microstructures (120) has a second edge (E22) connecting the bottom surface (100c), and a perpendicular bisector (B12) of the second edge (E22) does not pass through the first light source (201), wherein the first light source (201) emits a first light toward each of the first optical microstructures (110).
Liu et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first light source further emits a second light toward each of the second optical microstructures.
Pinter teaches wherein the first light source (14) further emits a second light toward each of the second optical microstructures (16; see figure 5 where first light source 14 emits light toward multiple microstructures 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu et al. to have the first light source to emit a second light toward the second optical microstructures as taught by Pinter to provide a substantially continuous lighting area or surface over the panel (see paragraph [0027] of Pinter).
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 1, a plurality of the first lights (plurality of first light beams LB1) have a first main light emitting direction after being reflected by the first optical microstructures (110) respectively, a plurality of the second lights (second light beams LB2) have a second main light emitting direction after being reflected by the second optical microstructures (120) respectively, and the first main light emitting direction (direction of LB1) is different from the second main light emitting direction (direction of LB2).
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 2, wherein the first main light emitting direction (see direction of LB1 in at least figure 8) and the second main light emitting direction (see direction of LB2 in at least figure 8) are parallel to the first light incident surface (100a) of the light guide plate (100).
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 2, wherein the light guide plate (100) further has a light emitting surface (100d) facing away from the bottom surface (100c) and connected to the first light incident surface (100a), and the first main light emitting direction (direction of LB1 in at least figure 8) is perpendicular to the light emitting surface(100d) of the light guide plate (100).
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 2, wherein the perpendicular bisectors of the second edges (B21)of the second light receiving surfaces (120r) pass through a same side of the first light source (201).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 2, wherein there is a first base angle (figure 3; first angle α1) between the first light receiving surface (110r) of each of the first optical microstructures (110) and a virtual extended surface of the bottom surface (100c), there is a second base angle( angle α2; see figure 3) between the second light receiving surface (120r) of each of the second optical microstructures (120) and the virtual extended surface of the bottom surface (100c), and the first base angle (figure 3; first angle α1) is different from the second base angle (angle α2; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 1, further comprising: an auxiliary light source (201A), disposed on one side of the first light incident surface (100a) of the light guide plate (100), wherein the first light source (201) and the auxiliary light source (201A) have different light emitting brightness.
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 7, wherein the first light source (201) and the auxiliary light source (201A; figure 8) are connected in parallel (see figure 8), the first light source (201) and the auxiliary light source (201A) are respectively connected in series with a first resistor and a second resistor, and a resistance value of the first resistor is different from a resistance value of the second resistor.
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 1, further comprising:
an auxiliary light source (201A), disposed on one side of the first light incident surface of the light guide plate (100), wherein the first light incident surface (100a) of the light guide plate (100) has a first sub-surface and a second sub-surface, the first light source (201) is disposed corresponding to the first sub-surface (see figure 8), the auxiliary light source (201A) is disposed corresponding to the second sub-surface (see figure 8), there is a first spacing between the first light source (201) and the first sub-surface (see figure 8), there is a second spacing between the auxiliary light source (201A) and the second sub-surface (see figure 8), and the first spacing is different from the second spacing (see at least figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 1, further comprising: a second light source (202), disposed on one side of a second light incident surface (100b; see figure 8) of the light guide plate (100), wherein the second light incident surface (100b) is connected to the bottom surface (100c) and the first light incident surface (100a); and a plurality of third optical microstructures (130), disposed on the bottom surface (100c) of the light guide plate (100) and located in the first zone (light emitting region R2) of the bottom surface (100c), wherein each of the third optical microstructures (130) has a third light receiving surface (130r) facing the second light source (202), the third light receiving surface (130r) of each of the third optical microstructures (130) has a third edge (E31) connecting the bottom surface (100c), and a perpendicular bisector (B32) of the third edge passes through the second light source (202).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0091322 A1) in view of Pinter (US 2004/0062031 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0224394 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 1, and teaches further comprising:
an auxiliary light source (201A), disposed on one side of the first light incident surface (100a) of the light guide plate (100), but does not explicitly teach wherein the first light source (201) and the auxiliary light source (201A) have different light colors.
Lee et al. teaches a display module comprising a plurality of major light sources having a first color and a plurality of auxiliary light sources having a second color (see abstract of Lee et al. and paragraph 0041).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu et al. to have the first light source and the auxiliary light source have different light colors to reduce spacing and therefore prevent the hot spot effect (see paragraph [0041]).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0091322 A1) in view of Pinter (US 2004/0062031 A1) as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Shao et al. (US 2024/0045130 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 11, but does not disclose further comprising:
a plurality of fourth optical microstructures, disposed on the bottom surface of the light guide plate and located in the second zone of the bottom surface, wherein each of the fourth optical microstructures has a fourth light receiving surface, the fourth light receiving surface of each of the fourth optical microstructures has a fourth edge connecting the bottom surface, and a perpendicular bisector of the fourth edge does not pass through the second light source.
Shao et al. (US 2024/0045130 A1) teaches a display device comprising a first, second, third and fourth plurality of optical microstructures (224-2; see paragraph [0031]) on a bottom surface of a light guide plate (112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu et al. to include a plurality of further optical microstructures as taught by Shao et al. to reduce light loss and improve the brightness of the display utilizing the light source module (see paragraph [0032] of Shao et al.).
Regarding claim 13, Liu et al. teaches the light source module according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second light source (220), disposed on one side of a second light incident surface (100b) of the light guide plate (100), wherein the second light incident surface (100b) is connected to the bottom surface (100c) and the first light incident surface (100a);
a plurality of third optical microstructures (130), disposed on the bottom surface (100c) of the light guide plate (100) and located in the first zone ()of the bottom surface (100c), wherein each of the third optical microstructures (130) has a third light receiving surface (130r) facing the second light source (202), and there is a first base angle (first angle α1) between the third light receiving surface (130r) of each of the third optical microstructures (130) and a virtual extended surface of the bottom surface (100c), wherein the first base angle and the second base angle are the same (see paragraph [0012]).
Liu et al. does not explicitly teach a plurality of fourth optical microstructures, disposed on the bottom surface of the light guide plate and located in the second zone of the bottom surface, wherein each of the fourth optical microstructures has a fourth light receiving surface facing the second light source, and there is a second base angle between the fourth light receiving surface of each of the fourth optical microstructures and the virtual extended surface of the bottom surface.
Shao et al. (US 2024/0045130 A1) teaches a display device comprising a first, second, third and fourth plurality of optical microstructures (224-2; see paragraph [0031]) on a bottom surface of a light guide plate (112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liu et al. to include a plurality of further optical microstructures as taught by Shao et al. to reduce light loss and improve the brightness of the display utilizing the light source module (see paragraph [0032] of Shao et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection after consideration of the amendment of independent claim 1. Claim 1 includes limitations from dependent claim 2 which recite, “wherein the first light source emits a first light toward each of the first optical microstructures; the first light source further emits a second light toward each of the second optical microstructures”.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875