DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
This is a reply to the restriction election filed on 12/03/2025, in which, group I, claims 27-34 are elected; claims 35-49 are cancelled; and claims 50-63 are newly added. Claims 27-34 and 50-63 remain pending in the present application with claims 27, 50, and 58 being independent claims.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 07, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-34 and 50-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhardt et al. (US 20050250211 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Reinhardt”) in view of Mayer (US 20050195684 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Mayer”).
Regarding claim 27, Reinhardt discloses a method of transporting substrates in an automated processing system, comprising:
for each of the individual substrates moved to the substrate-staging device, detecting, using a sensor, a position of the individual substrate relative to the substrate-staging device (see Reinhardt, FIG. 21 and paragraph [0179]: “Y-hook 806 is moved by stepper motor 830 along rail 831 with a first screw drive mechanism (not shown), and X-hook 808 is moved along by stepper motor 832 along rail 833 with a second screw drive mechanism (also not shown). Sensors 810 (for example, Hall-effect sensors and/or optical sensor) are included on X-Y table 802 to detect table position within the system (which can be used to index the table's position for accurate automated movements within the system)”),
moving a transfer head from a non-engaged position above the individual substrate to an engaged position adjacent to the individual substrate (see Reinhardt, FIG. 19 and paragraph [0173]: “head portion 702 comprises tandem units that each can include one or more spring loaded pins 730 (shown on the right unit) that pass through holes in sealing member 732 (shown on the left unit) that is used to grip individual coverslips when a vacuum is applied to the head”),
capturing the individual substrate using a capture feature of the transfer head (see Reinhardt, FIG. 42 and paragraph [0212]: “The suction head 702 then moves laterally away from the transport conveyor by pivoting 90° about a vertical axis to the cell transfer position “P” shown in FIG. 46, to position the filter assembly F over a microscope slide S delivered from a slide cassette at slide presentation station 900”), and
transporting, using the transfer head, the individual substrate from the substrate-staging device to one or more specimen processing stations (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0103]: “two tray sliders 42 and 44 that can engage and move a slide tray onto and off of tray table 40, either from side to side (44) or from front to back (42) within the system, and then release the tray once it is placed in a location off of the slide tray”).
Regarding claim 27, Reinhardt discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of sequentially moving a plurality of individual substrates from a carrier to a substrate-staging device; and contacting sides of the individual substrate to move the individual substrate to an aligned position along the substrate-staging device, wherein the aligned position is based on output from the sensor.
Mayer from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses sequentially moving a plurality of individual substrates from a carrier to a substrate-staging device (see Mayer, paragraph [0015]: “The present LBP device transports multiple specimen vials of the novel type mentioned above sequentially through various processing stations and produces fixed specimens on slides, each slide being bar-coded and linked through a data management system to the vial and the patient from which it came. Fresh slides are automatically removed one at a time from a cassette, and each is returned to the same cassette after a specimen is fixed thereon”); and
contacting sides of the individual substrate to move the individual substrate to an aligned position along the substrate-staging device, wherein the aligned position is based on output from the sensor (see Mayer, paragraph [0244]: “Referring to FIG. 54, rear wall 904 has two rows of apertures 927 that form two integrally molded gear racks 928, which are adapted to engage pinion gears 936 (see below) for moving the cassette longitudinally so that each slide can be accessed by the slide shuttle… integral with the rear wall is a row of 40 cassette position sensing slots 929 extending through the rear wall and coincident with the positions of the slides to allow for optical sensing of each slide”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Mayer with the teachings as in Reinhardt. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the system and method for mixing specimens in vials disclosed in Mayer to transport multiple specimen vials of the novel type sequentially through various processing stations and produces fixed specimens on slides wherein each slide being bar-coded and linked through a data management system to the vial and the patient from which it came; to engage pinion gears for moving the cassette longitudinally so that each slide can be accessed by the slide shuttle; to apply vacuum to draw specimen liquid therethrough a central projection or protrusion extending into the holder from the bottom wall wherein the central protrusion is aligned with the opening and positioned in the chamber and the protrusion is substantially hollow and has a plurality of side openings that distribute vacuum to the chamber and provide a substantially symmetrical flow through the chamber thus sequentially moving a plurality of individual substrates from a carrier to a substrate-staging device; contacting sides of the individual substrate to move the individual substrate to an aligned position along the substrate-staging device, wherein the aligned position is based on output from the sensor and positioning the individual substrate at the substrate-staging device by contacting sides of the individual substrate with pivotable alignment members and using the over travel inhibitor assembly to inhibit movement of the individual substrate past a substrate-holding region in order to engage the slide at a plurality of contact points to move the slide from a misaligned position to an aligned position so that the process of preparing and analyzing biological specimens can be enhanced.
Regarding claim 28, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, wherein the sensor is configured to detect a presence of the individual substrate positioned on the substrate-staging device (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0112]: “taking a slide tray to barcode reader 100 where slides in the tray are detected by optical sensors on a partition between the transporter space and the code reader and any barcodes on detected slides are read by the code reader”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 29, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, further comprising an alignment sensor configured to detect alignment of the transfer head with respect to the substrate-staging device (see Reinhardt, FIG. 19 and paragraph [0173]: “head portion 702 comprises tandem units that each can include one or more spring loaded pins 730 (shown on the right unit) that pass through holes in sealing member 732 (shown on the left unit) that is used to grip individual coverslips when a vacuum is applied to the head”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 30, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, further comprising alternatingly aligning and transporting the individual substrates to sequentially load the one or more specimen processing stations with the individual substrates, and wherein the individual substrates are specimen-bearing microscope slides (see Reinhardt, FIG. 19 and paragraph [0173]: “head portion 702 comprises tandem units that each can include one or more spring loaded pins 730 (shown on the right unit) that pass through holes in sealing member 732 (shown on the left unit) that is used to grip individual coverslips when a vacuum is applied to the head”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 31, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, further comprising contacting opposing sides of the individual substrate with pivotable aligning members of the substrate-staging device, and wherein a sealing member is configured to sealing contact a bottom surface of the individual substrate to hold the individual substrate against the substrate-staging device (see Mayer, paragraph [0018]: “The specimen acquisition station has a suction head that seals to the filter at the top of the processing assembly and first moves the processing assembly slowly to re-suspend particulate matter in the liquid-based specimen. Then the suction head draws a vacuum on the filter to aspirate the liquid-based specimen from the vial and past the filter, leaving a monolayer of cells on the bottom surface of the filter. Thereafter the monolayer specimen is transferred to a fresh slide, and the vial moves to the re-capping station, where a foil seal is applied to the vial”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 32, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, wherein the sensor is a first sensor, the method further comprising a second sensor configured to detect a vacuum within a vacuum port configured to hold the individual substrate being moved to the aligned position (see Mayer, paragraph [0018]: “The specimen acquisition station has a suction head that seals to the filter at the top of the processing assembly and first moves the processing assembly slowly to re-suspend particulate matter in the liquid-based specimen. Then the suction head draws a vacuum on the filter to aspirate the liquid-based specimen from the vial and past the filter, leaving a monolayer of cells on the bottom surface of the filter. Thereafter the monolayer specimen is transferred to a fresh slide, and the vial moves to the re-capping station, where a foil seal is applied to the vial”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 33, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, wherein the sensor is configured to determine when a longitudinal axis of the individual substrate is substantially aligned with a longitudinal axis of the substrate-staging device (see Mayer, paragraph [0244]: “Referring to FIG. 54, rear wall 904 has two rows of apertures 927 that form two integrally molded gear racks 928, which are adapted to engage pinion gears 936 (see below) for moving the cassette longitudinally so that each slide can be accessed by the slide shuttle… integral with the rear wall is a row of 40 cassette position sensing slots 929 extending through the rear wall and coincident with the positions of the slides to allow for optical sensing of each slide”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 34, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 27, wherein in response to output from the sensor (see Mayer, paragraph [0244]: “integral with the rear wall is a row of 40 cassette position sensing slots 929 extending through the rear wall and coincident with the positions of the slides to allow for optical sensing of each slide”), aligning, using an alignment mechanism, the individual substrate with respect to the aligned position (see Reinhardt, FIG. 19 and paragraph [0173]: “head portion 702 comprises tandem units that each can include one or more spring loaded pins 730 (shown on the right unit) that pass through holes in sealing member 732 (shown on the left unit) that is used to grip individual coverslips when a vacuum is applied to the head”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Claim 50 is rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 27 above. In addition, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose a method of transporting substrates in an automated processing system, comprising:
moving an individual substrate from a carrier, which carries substrates, to a substrate staging device (see Mayer, paragraph [0015]: “The present LBP device transports multiple specimen vials of the novel type mentioned above sequentially through various processing stations and produces fixed specimens on slides, each slide being bar-coded and linked through a data management system to the vial and the patient from which it came. Fresh slides are automatically removed one at a time from a cassette, and each is returned to the same cassette after a specimen is fixed thereon”), wherein the substrate-staging device has an over-travel inhibitor assembly controlled by a controller (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0117]: “Optional splash guard 218 can be added to further inhibit transfer of reagent from one slide to another”); and
positioning the individual substrate at the substrate-staging device by contacting sides of the individual substrate with pivotable alignment members and using the over travel inhibitor assembly to inhibit movement of the individual substrate past a substrate-holding region (see Mayer, paragraph [0108]: “Referring back to FIG. 8, the holder's bottom wall 210 has a central opening 204 through which vacuum can be applied to draw specimen liquid therethrough. The holder 200 further includes a central projection or protrusion 216 extending into the holder from the bottom wall 210. The central protrusion 216 is aligned with the opening 204 and positioned in the chamber 207, which is defined by the frit's inner face 218, the inner face 219 of the bottom wall 210 and the inner side 220 of the sidewall 211. The protrusion 216 is substantially hollow and has a plurality of side openings 221 that distribute vacuum to the chamber 207 and provide a substantially symmetrical flow through the chamber”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 51, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, wherein the over-travel inhibitor assembly includes: a vacuum source, and an over-travel inhibitor element fluidically coupled to the vacuum source and positioned to draw a vacuum between the individual substrate and the substrate-staging device (see Mayer, paragraph [0018]: “The specimen acquisition station has a suction head that seals to the filter at the top of the processing assembly and first moves the processing assembly slowly to re-suspend particulate matter in the liquid-based specimen. Then the suction head draws a vacuum on the filter to aspirate the liquid-based specimen from the vial and past the filter, leaving a monolayer of cells on the bottom surface of the filter. Thereafter the monolayer specimen is transferred to a fresh slide, and the vial moves to the re-capping station, where a foil seal is applied to the vial”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 52, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, wherein the controller is programmed to control the over-travel inhibitor assembly to:
position the individual substrate along the substrate-holding region (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0084]: “a slide tray holding a plurality of slides”), and
allow removal of the individual substrate from the substrate-holding region (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0103]: “Tray table 40 includes two tray sliders 42 and 44 that can engage and move a slide tray onto and off of tray table 40, either from side to side (44) or from front to back (42) within the system, and then release the tray once it is placed in a location off of the slide tray”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 53, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, further comprising positioning the individual substrate at the substrate-staging device using an actuator controlled by the controller (see Mayer, paragraph [0024]: “A clamping actuator selectively causes the holder to engage or release the annular wall of the mixer. The holder is mounted above the container for vertical movement relative thereto, and a vertical actuator effects vertical movement of the holder”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 54, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, wherein the sensor is an optical sensor (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0084]: “One or more sensors (such as optical sensors) to detect the presence of individual slides (with or without a code) in particular positions within a slide tray can be included in the system”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 55, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, wherein the controller is programmed to detect a presence of the individual substrate at the substrate-staging device (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0112]: “taking a slide tray to barcode reader 100 where slides in the tray are detected by optical sensors on a partition between the transporter space and the code reader and any barcodes on detected slides are read by the code reader”) based on suction between the over-travel inhibitor assembly and the individual substrate (see Mayer, paragraph [0210]: “Suction applied through port 750 creates a vacuum around central opening 204 and within filter holder 200, which draws liquid into the manifold 46 and through the filter 202”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 56, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, further comprising using the sensor to detect that the pivotable alignment members are contacting sides of the individual substrate and activating the over-travel inhibitor assembly based on output from the sensor (see Mayer, paragraph [0135]: “A downwardly facing optical rotary position sensor 363 located over the aligned tray notches detects when and how far a tray is rotated from its home position and provides control feedback for rotation of stepper motor”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Regarding claim 57, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the method of claim 50, wherein a second sensor is configured to ensure that the pivotable alignment members are applying a sufficient amount of force to move the individual substrate (see Reinhardt, FIG. 42 and paragraph [0212]: “The suction head 702 then moves laterally away from the transport conveyor by pivoting 90° about a vertical axis to the cell transfer position “P” shown in FIG. 46, to position the filter assembly F over a microscope slide S delivered from a slide cassette at slide presentation station 900”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 27 above.
Claims 58-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reinhardt in view of Mayer.
Regarding claim 58, Reinhardt discloses an automated specimen processing system, comprising: a substrate-staging device configured to receive a substrate and including:
a substrate sensor (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0112]: “taking a slide tray to barcode reader 100 where slides in the tray are detected by optical sensors on a partition between the transporter space and the code reader and any barcodes on detected slides are read by the code reader”); and
an over-travel inhibitor assembly (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0092]: “the coverslipper further comprising a vacuum source communicating with the gripper, and a mechanism for moving the coverslipping head between a source of coverslips and a dispense position where a coverslip is applied to a slide”);
a controller in communication with the substrate-staging device and programmed to control the over-travel inhibitor assembly such that the over-travel inhibitor assembly inhibits movements of the substrate relative to the holding region (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0117]: “Optional splash guard 218 can be added to further inhibit transfer of reagent from one slide to another”); and
a transfer head configured to carry the substrate from the substrate-staging device to a specimen processing station (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0103]: “two tray sliders 42 and 44 that can engage and move a slide tray onto and off of tray table 40, either from side to side (44) or from front to back (42) within the system, and then release the tray once it is placed in a location off of the slide tray”), the transfer head having a substrate capture feature configured to:
engage an upper surface of the substrate, which is supported by the holding region and positioned using the over-travel inhibitor assembly, and retain the substrate during transport (see Reinhardt, FIG. 42 and paragraph [0212]: “The suction head 702 then moves laterally away from the transport conveyor by pivoting 90° about a vertical axis to the cell transfer position “P” shown in FIG. 46, to position the filter assembly F over a microscope slide S delivered from a slide cassette at slide presentation station 900”).
Regarding claim 58, Reinhardt discloses all the claimed limitations with the exception of a holding region configured to support the substrate, wherein the holding region includes an alignment feature that contacts at least one side of the substrate.
Mayer from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses a holding region configured to support the substrate, wherein the holding region includes an alignment feature that contacts at least one side of the substrate (see Mayer, paragraph [0108]: “Referring back to FIG. 8, the holder's bottom wall 210 has a central opening 204 through which vacuum can be applied to draw specimen liquid therethrough. The holder 200 further includes a central projection or protrusion 216 extending into the holder from the bottom wall 210. The central protrusion 216 is aligned with the opening 204 and positioned in the chamber 207, which is defined by the frit's inner face 218, the inner face 219 of the bottom wall 210 and the inner side 220 of the sidewall 211. The protrusion 216 is substantially hollow and has a plurality of side openings 221 that distribute vacuum to the chamber 207 and provide a substantially symmetrical flow through the chamber”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Mayer with the teachings as in Reinhardt. The motivation for doing so would ensure the system to have the ability to use the system and method for mixing specimens in vials disclosed in Mayer to apply vacuum to draw specimen liquid therethrough a central projection or protrusion extending into the holder from the bottom wall wherein the central protrusion is aligned with the opening and positioned in the chamber and the protrusion is substantially hollow and has a plurality of side openings that distribute vacuum to the chamber and provide a substantially symmetrical flow through the chamber thus supporting the substrate wherein the holding region includes an alignment feature that contacts at least one side of the substrate in order to engage the slide and transport the slide in the aligned position so that a slide at the standby platform can be moved from a misaligned position to an aligned position.
Regarding claim 59, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the automated specimen processing system of claim 58, wherein the controller is programmed to:
receive output from a sensor of the transfer head (see Mayer, paragraph [0244]: “integral with the rear wall is a row of 40 cassette position sensing slots 929 extending through the rear wall and coincident with the positions of the slides to allow for optical sensing of each slide”); and
align the transfer head with respect to the substrate at the holding region based on the received output (see Reinhardt, FIG. 19 and paragraph [0173]: “head portion 702 comprises tandem units that each can include one or more spring loaded pins 730 (shown on the right unit) that pass through holes in sealing member 732 (shown on the left unit) that is used to grip individual coverslips when a vacuum is applied to the head”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 58 above.
Regarding claim 60, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the automated specimen processing system of claim 58, wherein the transfer head further includes alignment features that correspond to the alignment feature of the substrate-staging device configured to ensure proper alignment of the transfer head with respect to the substrate (see Reinhardt, FIG. 19 and paragraph [0173]: “head portion 702 comprises tandem units that each can include one or more spring loaded pins 730 (shown on the right unit) that pass through holes in sealing member 732 (shown on the left unit) that is used to grip individual coverslips when a vacuum is applied to the head”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 58 above.
Regarding claim 61, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the automated specimen processing system of claim 58, wherein the over- travel inhibitor assembly includes at least one vacuum port and a vacuum surface surrounded by the at least one vacuum port, and wherein the vacuum surface is spaced apart from and positioned below a plane such that the vacuum surface and the substrate at least partially define a vacuum chamber with a first height less than a second height of the at least one vacuum port (see Mayer, paragraphs [0108]-[0109]: “Referring back to FIG. 8, the holder's bottom wall 210 has a central opening 204 through which vacuum can be applied to draw specimen liquid therethrough. . The holder 200 further includes a central projection or protrusion 216 extending into the holder from the bottom wall 210. The central protrusion 216 is aligned with the opening 204 and positioned in the chamber 207, which is defined by the frit's inner face 218, the inner face 219 of the bottom wall 210 and the inner side 220 of the sidewall 211. The protrusion 216 is substantially hollow and has a plurality of side openings 221 that distribute vacuum to the chamber 207 and provide a substantially symmetrical flow through the chamber... The protrusion 216 has an abutting surface 217 that faces and extends toward the holder's open face. The abutting surface 217 is configured to abut against the frit's rear face 218... The resulting slight bow created by the protrusion pushing out the central portion of the frit 202 ensures that the central part of the membrane filter 205 contacts the slide. The pressure applied to the slide during imprinting flattens the frit's front surface 213, ensuring full contact of the membrane filter 205 with the slide to more effectively transfer the collected particulates to the slide and minimizing any deposition artifacts”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 58 above.
Regarding claim 62, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the automated specimen processing system of claim 58, wherein the over- travel inhibitor assembly is positioned to be located under a label of the substrate (see Mayer, paragraph [0140]: “When the trays 330 are bar-coded or otherwise labeled with machine-readable identifying data, they can be used in an automated storage device that can access a particular tray on command. The tray-identifying data can be input into the integrated data management system so that the location of any specimen vial in tray storage can be readily ascertained”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 58 above.
Regarding claim 63, the combination teachings of Reinhardt and Mayer as discussed above also disclose the automated specimen processing system of claim 58, wherein the transfer head further includes a sensor configured to detect a substrate retained by the transfer head (see Reinhardt, paragraph [0112]: “taking a slide tray to barcode reader 100 where slides in the tray are detected by optical sensors on a partition between the transporter space and the code reader and any barcodes on detected slides are read by the code reader”).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 58 above.
Conclusion
NIENRU YANG
Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/NIENRU YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2484
/THAI Q TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2484