DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 14 and 20 are objected to because expression “a preset condition” is not defined in the claims, as to its scope and the source of providing the preset condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 14 and 20 recite limitation “the transmission is performed based on a transmitter” which is not understood, as radio transmission is always performed over a transmitter. It is not clear which characteristic or parameter of the transmitter is the basis. Other claims are subjected to this rejection for being dependent on the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rastegardoost; Nazanin et al US 20240250799 A1, hereinafter Rastegardoost.
Regarding claims 1, 14 and 20, Rastegardoost teaches, a transmission method, comprising:
when a configured resource for a terminal comprises N frequency domain resources, and a preset condition is satisfied by the terminal, performing transmission on a frequency domain resource in the N frequency domain resources (Rastegardoost [0299] “ It is desirable that the UL capabilities of band configuration and concurrent transmission are decoupled, e.g., maximum number of configured bands>maximum number of simultaneously transmitting bands. With this, UEs with 2Tx can be configured with more than 2 UL bands, thus UEs with 2Tx can dynamically perform Tx switching across more than 2 configured UL bands, e.g., 4 UL bands.”, [0302] “flexible spectrum access (FSA) as a flexible spectrum utilization mechanism for 2Tx or 3Tx UE is an important direction to improve the uplink user perceived throughput and network throughput. … a UE can be configured with and activated on more than two bands while utilizing one or two of those bands for concurrent PUSCH transmission with 2 concurrent Tx RF chains. Accordingly, FSA provides a mechanism for dynamically selecting a subset of configured carriers and correspondingly switch Tx for transmission based on the traffic, TDD D/U configuration, bandwidth, and channel condition of each band.”, “Preset condition” is interpreted, under BRI, a condition for transmission in a band or bands, such as traffic, channel condition etc.),
wherein the transmission is performed based on a transmitter which is any of M transmitters, and N is an integer greater than 2 (see above where M is 2Tx i.e., 2 transmitters, and N is more than 2, and transmission is performed based 2 Tx transmitters),
wherein the terminal has M transmitters, or the terminal performs transmission on a maximum of M transmitters simultaneously, wherein M is a positive integer less than or equal to N (see above).
With respect to claim 14, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding terminal. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
With respect to claim 20, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Rastegardoost teaches the method/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 14.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein performing the transmission on the frequency domain resource in the N frequency domain resources comprises: performing Transmitter (Tx) switching on a frequency domain resource in the N frequency domain resources, and performing transmission based on a switched-to frequency domain resource (see Rastegardoost [299]-[300], [302] for Tx switching and transmission).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Rastegardoost teaches the method/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 14.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein the frequency domain resource comprises one of the following: a carrier, a Bandwidth Part (BWP), a band, or a resource pool (see Rastegardoost [302] for band as frequency domain resource).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Rastegardoost teaches the method/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 14.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein the quantity of antenna ports for transmission of the terminal on a first frequency domain resource is less than or equal to the quantity of transmitters of the terminal on the first frequency domain resource, and the first frequency domain resource is any one of the N frequency domain resources; or M is equal to 2 (see Rastegardoost [309]-[310] for M=2. Moreover, teaches 1 or 2 Tx antennas for a carrier.)
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Rastegardoost teaches the method/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 1 and 14.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein that a preset condition is satisfied comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal has a Transmitter (Tx) switching capability on at least a part of the N frequency domain resources (see Rastegardoost [0292] “A UE may indicate a capability for uplink switching (e.g., with BandCombination-UplinkTxSwitch) for a band combination.”. Satisfies “at least one of” criteria);
the terminal receives triggering signaling used to trigger Tx switching; preceding transmission performed by the terminal satisfies a first preset requirement; transmission that is currently performed by the terminal satisfies the first preset requirement; transmission that is to be performed by the terminal satisfies a second preset requirement; or the terminal satisfies a third preset requirement.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Rastegardoost teaches the method/terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claims 5 and 18.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein:
the first preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 1-port transmission in a first frequency domain resource set (see Rastegardoost Fig. 25, Band 1 and Band 3; [0310] “FIG. 25 shows an example of UL Tx switching for a 2Tx UE across more than 2 bands. In this example, carrier 1 and carrier 3 are configured as capable of 1Tx antennas (e.g., supporting single layer transmissions) …”, [0393] “The switching may be in response to receiving a scheduling command for the second uplink carrier. The scheduling command may indicate a one-port uplink transmission.”, teaches terminal performing 1-Tx antenna port transmission for a frequency domain resource band, as a requirement for carrier /band switching. Satisfies “or” criteria).; or
the second preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 1-port transmission in a second frequency domain resource set; or the third preset requirement comprises at least one of the following: the terminal does not support or perform or is not configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on each frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource set and the second frequency domain resource set; or the terminal supports or performs or is configured or scheduled with only 1-port transmission on each frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource set and the second frequency domain resource set.
Regarding claim 7, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein:
the first preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 1-port transmission in a first frequency domain resource set (see Rastegardoost Fig. 25, Band 1 and Band 3; [0310] “FIG. 25 shows an example of UL Tx switching for a 2Tx UE across more than 2 bands. In this example, carrier 1 and carrier 3 are configured as capable of 1Tx antennas (e.g., supporting single layer transmissions) …”, [0393] “The switching may be in response to receiving a scheduling command for the second uplink carrier. The scheduling command may indicate a one-port uplink transmission.”, teaches terminal performing 1-Tx antenna port transmission for a frequency domain resource band, as a requirement for carrier /band switching. Satisfies “or” criteria).; or
the second preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 1-port or 2-port transmission in a second frequency domain resource set; or the third preset requirement comprises at least one of the following: the terminal supports or performs or is configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on at least one frequency domain resource in the second frequency domain resource set; or the terminal does not support or perform or is not configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on a frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource set.
Regarding claim 8, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein:
the first preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 1-port or 2-port transmission in a first frequency domain resource set (see Rastegardoost Fig. 25 teaches, for example, Carrier 4 in Band 4 capable of 2 Tx antenna ports can be required to transmit via 1 Tx antenna or 2 Tx antenna at different times during switching; [0393] “The scheduling command may indicate a one-port uplink transmission.”; [0394] “The second scheduling command may indicate a two-port uplink transmission.”. Satisfies “or” criteria); or
the second preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 1-port transmission in a second frequency domain resource set; or the third preset requirement comprises at least one of the following: the terminal supports or performs or is configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on at least one frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource set; or the terminal does not support or perform or is not configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on a frequency domain resource in the second frequency domain resource set.
Regarding claim 9, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein:
the first preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 2-port transmission in a first frequency domain resource set (see Rastegardoost Fig. 24, Band 2; [0309] “carrier 2 capable of 2Tx antennas. UE may use a first Tx (e.g., Tx-1 in the figure) for uplink transmissions via carrier 2, and use a second Tx (e.g., Tx-2 in the figure) for uplink transmissions via carrier 1 and carrier 2 based on UL Tx switching.”, [0394] “The second scheduling command may indicate a two-port uplink transmission.”, teaches 2-port transmission requirement. Satisfies “or” criteria); or
the second preset requirement comprises: the terminal performs 2-port transmission in a second frequency domain resource set; or the third preset requirement comprises at least one of the following: the terminal supports or performs or is configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on at least one frequency domain resource in the first frequency domain resource set; the terminal supports or performs or is configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on at least one frequency domain resource in the second frequency domain resource set; or the terminal supports or performs or is configured or scheduled with 2-port transmission on a current frequency domain resource.
Regarding claim 10, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 6.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein the first frequency domain resource set and the second frequency domain resource set separately comprise different frequency domain resources in the N frequency domain resources (see Rastegardoost Fig. 24 and fig. 25 showing different frequency domain resource sets of N frequency domain resource sets. Satisfies “or” criteria); or
the first frequency domain resource set comprises a first part of frequency domain resource in the N frequency domain resources, the second frequency domain resource set comprises a second part of frequency domain resource in the N frequency domain resources, and the first part of frequency domain resource and the second part of frequency domain resource are partially overlapped.
Regarding claim 11, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein the terminal supports at least one of the following antenna transmitting modes:
a first mode, wherein the first mode indicates that transmitting on only one transmitter is allowed to be performed on one frequency domain resource, or the first mode indicates that transmitting through only one antenna port is allowed to be performed on one frequency domain resource (Limit#1 see Rastegardoost [309]-[310], [393] teaching, indicating transmission on one Tx or one Tx antenna. Satisfies “at least one of” criteria);
a second mode, wherein the second mode indicates that transmitting on two transmitters is supported on at least one frequency domain resource, and transmitting on only one transmitter is supported on at least one frequency domain resource, or the second mode indicates that transmitting through two antenna ports is supported on at least one frequency domain resource, and transmitting through only one antenna port is supported on at least one frequency domain resource; or a third mode, wherein the third mode indicates that transmitting on two transmitters is supported on at least two frequency domain resources, or the third mode indicates that transmitting through two antenna ports is supported on at least two frequency domain resources.
Regarding claim 12, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 5.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein an antenna transmitting mode supported by the terminal is related to at least one of the following: a capability of the terminal and a network configuration; or at least one of the first preset requirement, the second preset requirement, or the third preset requirement is associated with the antenna transmitting mode supported by the terminal (see Rejection above of claims 5, 6 and 11).
Regarding claim 13, Rastegardoost teaches the method, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Rastegardoost further teaches, wherein after switching, when same antenna ports correspond to different transmitter combinations, the terminal determines, based on first indication information transmitted by a network side, target transmitter combinations corresponding to the same antenna ports (see Rastegardoost [0309] “use a second Tx (e.g., Tx-2 in the figure) for uplink transmissions via carrier 1 and carrier 2 based on UL Tx switching.”; [0394] “The switching may be in response to receiving a second scheduling command for the first uplink carrier. The second scheduling command may indicate a two-port uplink transmission.”, teaches combined transmission of 2 transmitters on an antenna port).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
RICO ALVARINO, US 20240224058 A1 - CARRIER SWITCHING AND ANTENNA SWITCHING FOR LONG TERM EVOLUTION AND NEW RADIO DUAL CONNECTIVITY, teaches carrier and antenna switching.
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475