DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “image forming unit,” “image scanning unit,” and “image diagnosis unit,” in claim 7.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
image forming unit – Paragraphs 17-19
image scanning unit – paragraph 20
image diagnosis unit – paragraph 9
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2, and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogushi (US 2020/0016907).
Regarding Claim 1, Ogushi teaches an image diagnosis system (Paragraph 5) configured to:
scan paper before an image for image diagnosis is formed by an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 53, wherein the paper is scanned before the image is formed);
scan the paper after the image is formed by the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 53 and 54, wherein after a chart is printed the image is read); and
perform the image diagnosis by classifying at least one of a fault due to the paper, a fault due to the scanning, or a fault due to the image formation from the other fault, based on a scan image of the paper before the image is formed and a scan image of the paper after the image is formed (Paragraph 69, wherein abnormalities can be detected).
Regarding Claim 2, Ogushi further teaches wherein the image diagnosis is performed by classifying the fault due to the paper or the fault due to the scanning from the fault due to the image formation, based on the scan image of the paper before the image is formed and the scan image of the paper after the image is formed (Paragraphs 27, 69, and 75, wherein misalignment along with abnormalities and other issues can be detected and determined how to handle them).
Regarding Claim 5, Ogushi further teaches wherein a plurality of sheets of paper before the image is formed are scanned in order, and the plurality of sheets of paper after the image is formed are scanned in a state in which the order is recognizable (Paragraphs 72-77, wherein there can be multiple formations across multiple sheets. Each sheet has a pattern, paragraph 66), and
the image diagnosis is performed by classifying the fault due to the paper, the fault due to the scanning, and the fault due to the image formation (Paragraph 69, wherein abnormalities can be detected).
Regarding Claim 6, Ogushi further teaches wherein identification information for distinguishing one paper from other paper among the plurality of sheets of paper is added to the plurality of sheets of paper before the image is formed (Paragraph 66, Each sheet has a pattern), and
the plurality of sheets of paper after the image is formed are scanned in a state in which the order is recognizable by using the identification information (Paragraphs 72-77, wherein there can be multiple formations across multiple sheets. Each sheet has a pattern, paragraph 66).
Regarding Claim 7, Ogushi teaches an image diagnosis system (Paragraph 5) comprising:
an image forming unit that forms an image for image diagnosis on paper (Paragraph 24, wherein there is an image forming operator);
an image scanning unit that scans the paper before the image is formed by the image forming unit (Paragraph 53, wherein the paper is scanned before the image is formed) and the paper after the image is formed by the image forming unit (Paragraph 53 and 54, wherein after a chart is printed the image is read); and
an image diagnosis unit that performs the image diagnosis by classifying a fault due to the paper, based on a scan image of the paper before the image is formed and a scan image of the paper after the image is formed, which are scanned by the image scanning unit (Paragraph 69, wherein abnormalities can be detected).
Regarding Claim 8, Ogushi teaches an image diagnosis system (Paragraph 5) comprising:
one or a plurality of processors (Paragraph 32, wherein there is a controller) configured to:
acquire a first scan image obtained by scanning paper before an image is formed by an image forming apparatus (Paragraph 53, wherein the paper is scanned before the image is formed);
acquire a second scan image obtained by scanning the paper after the image is formed by the image forming apparatus (Paragraph 53 and 54, wherein after a chart is printed the image is read); and
perform image diagnosis by classifying a fault due to the paper, based on the first scan image and the second scan image (Paragraph 69, wherein abnormalities can be detected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogushi (US 2020/0016907) in view of Hongo (US 2020/0236225).
Regarding Claim 3, Ogushi does not teach wherein by performing diagnosis using a scan image of the paper obtained by changing a scanning direction of the paper, the image diagnosis is performed by further classifying the fault due to the paper and the fault due to the scanning.
Hongo does teach wherein by performing diagnosis using a scan image of the paper obtained by changing a scanning direction of the paper, the image diagnosis is performed by further classifying the fault due to the paper and the fault due to the scanning (Paragraph 84, wherein the sheet can be rotated to determine the abnormality).
Ogushi and Hongo are combinable because they both deal with detecting abnormalities as it relates to printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ogushi with the teachings of Hongo for the purpose of determining the abnormality on the basis of the direction of the read defect (Hongo: Paragraph 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Hongo further teaches wherein identification information for distinguishing the paper from other paper is added to the paper (Paragraph 54, wherein the test chart can be printed to identify the medium), and
the image diagnosis is performed by recognizing the scanning direction by using the identification information (Paragraph 84, wherein the orientation is used to detect the abnormality).
Ogushi and Hongo are combinable because they both deal with detecting abnormalities as it relates to printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ogushi with the teachings of Hongo for the purpose of determining the abnormality on the basis of the direction of the read defect (Hongo: Paragraph 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of A-C, E, G, and H all relate to detecting abnormalities in printing.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699