DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0129945, filed on 09/27/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, “the sensible heat of the recovered exhaust gas” should read “the sensible heat recovered from the exhaust gas”
In claim 4, lines 6-7, “recovers the sensible heat of the exhaust gas recovered by the first refrigerant as the electric energy” should read “converts the sensible heat transferred from the exhaust gas to the first refrigerant into electric energy”
In claim 5, lines 3-4, “recovers the sensible heat of the exhaust gas recovered by the first refrigerant as the electric energy” should read “converts the sensible heat transferred from the exhaust gas to the first refrigerant into electric energy”
In claim 5, line 7, “removes heat of the first refrigerant” should read “removes heat from the first refrigerant”
In claim 6, lines 2-4, “recovers the heat of the second refrigerant heat-exchanged with the sensible heat recovery exhaust gas to the first refrigerant” should read “transfers heat from the second refrigerant, after heat exchange with the exhaust gas, to the first refrigerant”
In claim 9, line 9, “by cooling heat of the second refrigerant” should read “by cooling heat with the second refrigerant”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamad U.S. Pub. No. 20130327024 A1, December 12, 2012 (hereinafter “Hamad”) in view of Pierson et al U.S. Pub. No. 6964168 B1, November 15, 2005 (hereinafter “Pierson”), in further view of Radisch U.S. Pub. No. 20060107669 A1, May 25, 2006 (hereinafter “Radisch”).
Regarding claim 1, Hamad discloses an exhaust gas sensible heat recovery part that recovers sensible heat from exhaust gas and uses the recovered energy within the capture process (Figure 3, heat recovery unit 30; paragraph 0046). Hamad further discloses a moisture removal part connected downstream of the sensible heat recovery part, which receives the heat-recovered exhaust gas and removes condensed water as liquid stream (25) (Figure 3, unit 32; paragraph 0047). Hamad also discloses a separation part connected downstream of the moisture removal part that receives the dried exhaust gas and separates solid carbon dioxide. Specifically, the gas passes through compressor (110), heat recovery unit (34), and throttling valve (62), where carbon dioxide forms a liquid or solid phase, and separation vessel (80) separates that carbon dioxide from the remaining gases (Figure 3; paragraph 0047). Hamad’s disclosure of the solid-phase alternative meets the claimed solid carbon dioxide.
Hamad fails to disclose converting the recovered heat into electrical energy or using that electrical energy in the moisture removal part. Pierson discloses a recovered-heat power cycle in which turbine (19) drives generator (28) to produce electrical energy (Figure 1A; column 5). Pierson further teaches using the generated electrical power to operate electrically powered refrigeration equipment (claim 12, column 15; claims 25–26, columns 16–17). Radisch discloses a refrigerated moisture removal arrangement having refrigerant compressor (12), heat exchanger (24) in which the refrigerant cools the gas and condenses its moisture, and separator (48) that removes the condensed water (Figure 1; paragraphs 0030–0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to convert Hamad’s recovered exhaust heat into electricity using Pierson’s turbine-generator. It also would have been obvious to employ Radisch’s refrigerated drying arrangement in Hamad’s moisture removal stage and to power that arrangement with the generated electricity, as Pierson teaches for refrigeration equipment. The motivation would have been to provide controlled moisture removal before carbon dioxide solidification while reducing external electrical power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, Pierson discloses a first flow path carrying a first refrigerant through heat recovery exchanger (17), where the refrigerant absorbs sensible heat from a hot fluid, including internal combustion engine exhaust (Figure 1A; column 4, lines 25–54). Radisch discloses a second flow path carrying a second refrigerant through compressor (12), water-cooled heat exchanger (20), and refrigerant/gas heat exchanger (24). There, the refrigerant cools the gas and condenses moisture for removal by separator (48) (Figure 1; paragraphs 0030–0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hamad’s heat recovery and moisture removal stages using Pierson’s first refrigerant flow path and Radisch’s second refrigerant flow path, respectively. Doing so would recover exhaust heat for power generation and provide controlled refrigerated moisture removal before carbon dioxide separation.
Regarding claim 3, Radisch discloses a moisture removal part comprising a compressor disposed on the second refrigerant flow path (compressor 12), a heat exchanger disposed on that path that cools the refrigerant discharged from the compressor (water-cooled refrigeration heat exchanger 20), and a condenser that condenses moisture in the gas through heat exchange with the cooled second refrigerant (heat exchanger 24). Specifically, the compressed refrigerant is cooled and liquefied in exchanger (20), reduced in pressure, and supplied to exchanger (24), where its evaporation cools the gas and condenses moisture for removal by separator (48) (Figure 1; paragraphs 0030–0035). Exchanger (24) performs the claimed moisture-condensing function, although the refrigerant evaporates within it.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the moisture removal stage of Hamad, as modified by Pierson, using Radisch’s compressor, discharge-cooling heat exchanger, and moisture-condensing heat exchanger to provide controlled refrigerant cooling and remove moisture before downstream carbon dioxide solidification.
Regarding claim 4, Pierson discloses a sensible heat recovery heat exchanger disposed on the first refrigerant flow path that transfers exhaust heat to the first refrigerant (heat exchanger 17; Figure 1A; column 4, lines 25–54). Pierson further discloses a turbine-generator assembly that receives the heated first refrigerant downstream of exchanger (17) and converts its recovered heat into electrical energy (turbine 19, shaft 27, and generator 28; Figure 1A; columns 4–5). Pierson teaches supplying the generated electrical energy to electrically powered refrigeration equipment (claims 12 and 25–26). Radisch supplies the moisture-removal refrigeration compressor (12) (Figure 1; paragraphs 0030 and 0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hamad’s sensible heat recovery part using Pierson’s heat exchanger and turbine-generator assembly and supply its generated electricity to Radisch’s moisture-removal compressor, thereby using recovered exhaust heat to reduce the external electrical power required for refrigerated moisture removal.
Regarding claim 5, Pierson discloses a generator assembly that converts heat recovered by the first refrigerant into electrical energy (turbine 19, shaft 27, and generator 28), a recuperator disposed on the first flow path that cools the first refrigerant discharged from the turbine by transferring its heat to returning refrigerant (economizer heat exchanger 20), and a downstream heatsink that removes heat from the refrigerant discharged from the recuperator (condenser heat exchanger 22) (Figure 1A; columns 5–6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hamad’s sensible heat recovery part using Pierson’s turbine-generator assembly, recuperator, and condenser to generate electricity while recovering turbine-discharge heat to preheat the returning refrigerant, thereby improving heat utilization and reducing the heat input required for power generation.
Regarding claim 11, Radisch discloses supplying heat-transfer fluid to the moisture-removal-side heat exchanger to cool the second refrigerant. Specifically, cooling water is supplied to water-cooled refrigeration heat exchanger (20), where it removes heat from the compressed refrigerant and liquefies that refrigerant before its subsequent expansion and use in moisture-condensing heat exchanger (24) (Figure 1; paragraphs 0030 and 0035). The cooling-water supply connection constitutes the claimed supply part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Radisch’s cooling-water supply arrangement in the combined system to remove heat from the compressed second refrigerant and enable continued refrigerated moisture removal.
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamad, Pierson and Radisch, as applied to claim 5, in further view of Zhang et al. CN 114922705 A August 19, 2022 (hereinafter “Zhang”), in further view of Bandhauer et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20210156597 A1, May 27, 2021 (hereinafter “Bandhauer”).
Regarding claim 6, Pierson discloses a refrigerant heat recovery part that transfers heat from refrigeration-compressor discharge to the first refrigerant. Refrigerant condenser or economizer (51) receives hot refrigerant discharged from compressor R10 and transfers its heat to the power-cycle working fluid before that fluid enters heat recovery exchanger (17) (Figure 6; column 10). In the combined system, Radisch’s refrigeration circuit supplies the second refrigerant, which absorbs heat from the exhaust gas during moisture removal (Figure 1; paragraphs 0033–0035). The heatsink of the combined system is Pierson’s condenser heat exchanger (22), as applied to claim 5. Pierson, however, returns the first refrigerant from condenser (22) using a liquid pump rather than a compressor.
Zhang discloses a compressor that receives and compresses working fluid passed through a heatsink. Working fluid leaving cooler (9) passes through constant-pressure pump (10) and surge tank (11) before entering centrifugal compressor (5) (Figure 1; paragraphs 0040, 0042, and 0050). Zhang further teaches that maintaining a low compressor-inlet temperature improves compression efficiency (paragraph 0029). Bandhauer discloses transferring heat from cooling-cycle refrigerant discharged from compressor (624) to power-cycle working fluid through economizer (604), before that fluid enters waste heat boiler (614). Bandhauer states that the cooling-cycle refrigerant is hotter than the power-cycle fluid at that location, so heat flows into the power-cycle fluid (Fig. 23; paragraph 0157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide, in the combined system, a compressor that receives the first refrigerant discharged from condenser (22), as taught by Zhang. It also would have been obvious to supply the compressed first refrigerant to Pierson’s refrigerant condenser/economizer (51), as Bandhauer’s economizer (604) also teaches. The motivation would have been to compress the cooled working fluid efficiently and to recover the second refrigerant’s discharge heat to preheat the first refrigerant before exhaust-heat recovery. That reduces the additional exhaust heat required for power generation.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses an additional compressor that receives and compresses working fluid passed through the heatsink and supplies it to the recuperator. Fluid discharged from cooler (9) passes through constant-pressure pump (10) and surge tank (11) to both compressors 1 and 5. Compressor 1 supplies its compressed fluid to the cold side of recuperator 2a and then recuperator 2b (fig. 1; paragraphs 0036, 0040, 0042, and 0050). Compressor 1 is distinct from compressor 5, which is relied upon for the refrigerant heat recovery branch of claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Zhang’s parallel compressors in the combined system, each receiving first refrigerant from condenser (22). One compressor would supply the refrigerant heat recovery branch (exchanger 51), and the additional compressor would supply Pierson’s recuperator (20). Zhang teaches that the parallel arrangement permits independent adjustment of branch flow and reduces disturbance between branches (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses that the heating exchanger receives working fluid discharged from the recuperator: compressor (1) supplies fluid successively through recuperators (2a and 2b) to superheater (3a) (fig. 1; paragraph 0036). This meets the recuperator-discharge alternative of the claimed “at least one of” limitation. Bandhauer additionally shows economizer (604) discharging to waste heat boiler (614) (fig 23), meeting the other alternative. Hamad supplies exhaust gas as the heat source (fig. 3; paragraph 0046). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to route recuperator discharge to the exhaust heat recovery exchanger in the combined system, following Zhang’s recuperator-to-heater arrangement. Doing so would preheat the first refrigerant using recovered turbine-discharge heat before it absorbs additional exhaust heat, improving heat utilization.
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamad, Pierson and Radisch, as applied to claim 3, in further view of Warner EP 0155498 B1, January 10, 1990 (hereinafter “Warner”).
Regarding claim 9, Warner discloses a condensing heat exchanger comprising a main body receiving exhaust gas (housing formed by side members 40, 41 and end plates 43, 44), tubes disposed inside the body through which cooling fluid flows (tubes 48) (col. 6, lines 1-15), and a hydrophobic surface treatment on the tubes’ outer surfaces (FEP Teflon coverings). Exhaust gas flows outside the tubes and is cooled to condense and remove water vapor (figs. 1-2a; col. 2, lines 28-35). Warner expressly teaches that the hydrophobic coverings promote dropwise condensation, resist corrosion, and facilitate removal of deposits from the tube surfaces.
Radisch supplies the second-refrigerant cooling circuit that removes moisture by refrigerant evaporation (fig.e 1; paragraphs 0033–0035). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the moisture-condensing exchanger of the combined system using Warner’s housing and hydrophobic-coated tubes, with Radisch’s second refrigerant flowing inside the tubes and the heat-recovered exhaust gas flowing outside, to promote dropwise condensation while protecting the gas-contacting surfaces against corrosion and fouling. It further would have been obvious to operate the exchanger to cool the exhaust gas at substantially maintained pressure, thereby increasing its density and reducing its volumetric flow before downstream compression. This density increase follows from lowering the gas’s absolute temperature at substantially maintained pressure; it is the expected physical consequence of the proposed cooling operation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamad, Pierson, Radisch, and Warner as applied to claim 9, in further view of Baxter U.S. Pub. No. 20110226010 A1, September 22, 2011 (hereinafter “Baxter”).
Regarding claim 10, Baxter discloses a separation-side compressor connected downstream of a moisture-condensing heat exchanger that receives and compresses the cooled, dried gas (Fig. 2, exchanger 215 and compression system 230; paragraph 0046). Baxter further discloses a pre-cooler downstream of the compressor (Figs. 3–4, heat exchangers 236 and 242; paragraphs 0050–0053), followed by a separation arrangement that forms and separates solid carbon dioxide from the compressed gas (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0054–0056). The remaining nitrogen-enriched gas returns counter currently through the heat exchangers to cool the incoming compressed gas, including an embodiment in which solid carbon dioxide separation occurs above ambient pressure (Fig. 3; paragraphs 0051–0053 and 0056). The cooled, increased-density gas supplied to the compressor is provided by the moisture removal arrangement addressed in claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the separation part of the combined system using Baxter’s dried-gas compression, precooling, solid carbon dioxide separation, and return-gas heat recovery arrangement to recover refrigeration from the separated nitrogen-enriched gas and reduce the energy required to cool the incoming compressed gas, as described in paragraph 0056.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776