CTNF 18/820,277 CTNF 84150 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 3, 4, and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US 2022/0283761) in view of Subramaniam (US 2001/0006423) . Regarding Claim 1, Shrestha teaches an information processing device (Paragraph 40) comprising circuitry configured to: store, in a memory, setting data related to setting of a device in association with openness data indicating whether the setting data is allowed to be opened to a plurality of users (Paragraph 44, wherein public or restricted information can be stored. This includes printer setting information); output a list of setting data that are stored in association with the openness data indicating that the setting data is allowed to be opened among the setting data stored in the memory (Paragraphs 44 and 97, wherein a list of settings can be displayed); and the setting data to be used for generating setting data of another device (Paragraphs 38 and 68, wherein the list of settings can be used and transmitted to any printing device). Shrestha does not teach output list of setting data to a terminal device; and output setting data identified from the list to the terminal device. Subramaniam does teach output list of setting data to a terminal device (Paragraph 21, wherein a list of settings can be obtained by the computer for producing a print job at the computer, terminal); and output setting data identified from the list to the terminal device (Paragraph 21, wherein a list of settings can be obtained by the computer for producing a print job at the computer, terminal). Shrestha and Subramaniam are combinable because they both deal with public and private print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shrestha with the teachings of Subramaniam for the purpose of easily being able to utilize common printer settings (Subramaniam: Paragraph 4). Regarding Claim 3, Shrestha further teaches wherein the setting data stored in the memory are generated by multiple different users (Paragraph 96, wherein multiple users can create settings). Regarding Claim 4, Shrestha further teaches wherein the device includes an image forming device (Paragraph 21, wherein there is a printing device). Regarding Claim 6, Shrestha further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: acquire, from the memory, setting data related to the setting data identified from the list (Paragraphs 97 and 98, wherein the list of settings is acquired). Shrestha does not teach cause the terminal device to display the setting data related to the setting data identified from the list. Subramaniam does teach cause the terminal device to display the setting data related to the setting data identified from the list (Paragraph 21, wherein a list of settings can be obtained by the computer for producing a print job at the computer, terminal). Shrestha and Subramaniam are combinable because they both deal with public and private print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shrestha with the teachings of Subramaniam for the purpose of easily being able to utilize common printer settings (Subramaniam: Paragraph 4). Regarding Claim 7, Shrestha further teaches the memory that stores the setting data and the openness data in association (Paragraph 54, wherein the settings are associated with public or private). Regarding Claim 8, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above. Regarding Claim 9, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US 2022/0283761) in view of Subramaniam (US 2001/0006423) further in view of Okada (US 2022/0171588) . Regarding Claim 2, Shrestha in view of Subramaniam does not teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to: search the memory for the setting data that match search parameters in response to reception of the search parameters from the terminal device, the list of setting data being based on a result of the search; determine whether the setting data identified from the list of the setting data is allowed to be opened; and when the setting data identified from the list of the setting data is allowed to be opened, output the setting data identified from the list to the terminal device, the setting data to be used for generating setting data of another device. Okada does teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to: search the memory for the setting data that match search parameters in response to reception of the search parameters from the terminal device, the list of setting data being based on a result of the search (Paragraph 222, wherein there is a list generated based on the search); determine whether the setting data identified from the list of the setting data is allowed to be opened (Paragraph 151, wherein only public settings can be accessed); and when the setting data identified from the list of the setting data is allowed to be opened, output the setting data identified from the list to the terminal device, the setting data to be used for generating setting data of another device (Paragraphs 220-222, wherein the settings can be used accordingly). Shrestha and Okada are combinable because they both deal with utilizing print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shrestha in view of Subramaniam with the teachings of Okada for the purpose of easily sharing settings amongst users (Okada: Paragraph 6) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha (US 2022/0283761) in view of Subramaniam (US 2001/0006423) further in view of Yasuda (US 2011/0317196) . Regarding Claim 5, Shrestha in view of Subramaniam does not teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to: acquire setting data of the other device connected to the terminal device and compare the acquired setting data with the setting data identified from the list; and cause the terminal device to display a result of the comparison. Yasuda does teach wherein the circuitry is further configured to: acquire setting data of the other device connected to the terminal device and compare the acquired setting data with the setting data identified from the list (Paragraph 33, wherein settings can be compared); and cause the terminal device to display a result of the comparison (Paragraph 33, wherein the comparison is displayed). Shrestha and Yasuda are combinable because they both deal with utilizing print settings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Shrestha in view of Subramaniam with the teachings of Yasuda for the purpose of allowing the user to easily discern which print settings to use (Yasuda: Paragraphs 8 and 9). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NICHOLAS PACHOL whose telephone number is (571)270-3433. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th: 8-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, George Eng can be reached at 571-272-7495. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/820,277 Page 2 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/820,277 Page 3 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/820,277 Page 4 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/820,277 Page 5 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/820,277 Page 6 Art Unit: 2699 Application/Control Number: 18/820,277 Page 7 Art Unit: 2699