DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claim 1-10,15 and 16 in the reply filed on 6/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes that the P2 and O3 type layered oxide particles of Claim 1 necessarily contain sodium as the ratio of sodium surface content by SEM-EDS measurement indicates non-zero values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6,8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "M" in lines 2 and 4. Applicants are suggested to include a definition for the term.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "x" in line 2. Applicants are suggested to include a definition for the term.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "TTS" in line 2. Applicants are suggested to define the acronym on the first use of the term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,5-10,15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2015/177544 (WO ‘544).
As to Claims 1 and 2, WO ‘544 discloses a mixture of precursor compounds having both O3 and P2 type phases wherein one example discloses 1:1 precursor mixture of said sodium containing mixed oxides (pg. 13, lines 1-4). The components are mixed and then fired at temperatures of 400 to 1500 deg C (pg. 23, lines 10-20) to form an electrode material.
However, WO ‘544 fails to disclose the specific surface sodium content ratio as measured by SEM-EDS as required by claim 1.
As to the difference, the Examiner respectfully submits the prior art electrode material would display similar properties due the similarity of the prior art precursor materials and prior art processing methods as compared to that of the instant claims.
As to Claim 5, the P2 material has a formula of Na0.67Ni0.300Mn0.600Mg0.033Ti0.067O2 and the O3 material has a formula of NaNi0.33Mn0.33Mg0.167Ti0.167O2 (pg. 13, lines 1-4) which corresponds the Chemical Formula 1 and 2 of the instant claim.
As to Claim 6, see discussion of Claim 5 above where the Examiner construes M to be total stoichiometric amount of metals in the compound and the amounts of sodium to other metals would fall within the claimed ranges.
As to Claim 7, see discussion of Claim 1 where the P2 and O3 material are added in 1:1 ratios.
As to Claims 8-10, see discussion of inherency analysis in Claim 1 above where the property claimed would be inherent due to the similarity of the prior art product and process of making to those of the instant claims.
As to Claims 15 and 16, Claims 8-10 in WO ‘544 disclose electrode and battery embodiments of the prior art material of Claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, none of the prior art discloses the specific atomic concentrations of sodium as required by the claim nor is there any teaching, suggestion or motivation to arrive at the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/J.P.T/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/jt/ 7/17/2026
/MARK KOPEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762