DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In this case, wherein the air outlet chamber and the air return chamber are spaced apart in the first direction of the claim 8 invokes wherein the air outlet chamber and the air return chamber are ... spaced apart in a first direction as defined in the independent claim 1 without further limiting wherein the air outlet chamber and the air return chamber are spaced apart in a first direction. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogne et al. (US 5,867,920; hereinafter Rogne) in view of Severinsen (US 5,005,272).
Regarding claim 1, Rogne discloses an air nozzle (air nozzle assembly inside item 11 of item 10, figs. 1, 6), comprising an air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6), an air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) and an infrared light assembly (16, 16a, figs. 1, 6), wherein
the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6) comprises an air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6), the air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6) facing a substrate (“W”, figs. 1, 6) to be treated;
the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) is provided with an air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) on a surface facing the substrate (“W”, figs. 1, 6);
the air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6) is configured to convey a medium (impingement air from item 15a, impingement air from15c, col. 2, lines 26-43) in the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6) to outside the air nozzle (air nozzle assembly inside item 11 of item 10, figs. 1, 6), and the medium (impingement air from item 15a, impingement air from15c, col. 2, lines 26-43) enters the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) through the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) after contacting the substrate (“W”, figs. 1, 6); and the infrared light assembly (16, 16a, figs. 1, 6) is provided on a path of the medium (impingement air from item 15a, impingement air from15c, col. 2, lines 26-43) entering the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) (Rogne recites “Return air is pulled from the return ducts 42, 43 in the oven by the supply/ exhaust fan 28. Since the return ducts are centrally located in the oven 10, the return air is directed over the entire face of the infrared heating element, thereby heating the recirculated supply air to improve efficiency.”, col. 3, lines 46-51, UNDERLINE emphasis added; thus, the items 16, 16a are provided on a path of the impingement air or return air entering the items 42, 43, see ANNOTATED fig. 1); and, wherein the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6) and the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) is integrally connected and spaced apart in a first direction (horizontal direction, figs. 1, 6) (as shown in fig. 1 of Rogne, the items 15a, 15c and items 42, 43 are integrally connected and spaced apart in a horizontal direction or first direction).
Rogne does not explicitly disclose the medium enters the air return chamber through the air return panel after passing through the substrate.
Severinsen teaches medium (Severinsen, air from items 17 as indicated by arrows as shown in fig. 5) enters the air return chamber (Severinsen, 41, fig. 5) through the air return panel (Severinsen, 32, 33, 34, 35, fig. 5) after passing through the substrate (Severinsen, 2, fig. 5) (Severinsen, as shown fig. 5, the air from items 17 flowing or passing through item 2 and then being sucked in or entering the item 41 via or through the items 32, 33, 34, 35 of items 36, 37).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the air nozzle of Rogne with the medium enters the air return chamber through the air return panel after passing through the substrate, as taught by Severinsen, for promoting a greater use of the air nozzle to dry different types of materials of substrates or webs which would result in effectively utilizing the air nozzle. Thus, the air nozzle is a more user-friendly and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 2, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6) and the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) are spaced apart in a first direction (horizontal direction, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 3, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6) is formed by two opposite air outlet side panels (left wall or panel of item 15a, right wall or panel of item 15c, figs. 1, 6) that are bent to respective opposite sides (as shown in figs. 1, 6, left wall or panel of item 15a is bent to the right toward item 15c and right wall or panel of item 15c is bent to the left toward item 15a), a gap (gap between left wall or panel of item 15a and right wall or panel of item 15c, figs. 1, 6) is present between the two air outlet side panels (left wall or panel of item 15a, right wall or panel of item 15c, figs. 1, 6), and the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) is provided within the gap (gap between left wall or panel of item 15a and right wall or panel of item 15c, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) is provided with a sink groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6) sunk in a second direction (vertical direction, figs. 1, 6), and the infrared light assembly (16, 16a, figs. 1, 6) is provided on a bottom wall (upper wall or panel or bottom wall of recessed space or sink groove, ANNOTATED fig. 1) of the sink groove (sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 5, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the bottom wall (upper wall or panel or bottom wall of recessed space or sink groove, ANNOTATED fig. 1) of the sink groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6) faces the substrate (“W”, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 6, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6) is provided at one end of the air nozzle (air nozzle assembly inside item 11 of item 10, figs. 1, 6), the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) is provided around (as shown in fig. 1, items 7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to are provide around or on a side of walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c which is the same as the air return panel 21 of the instant application, see Fig. 4 of the instant application, being provided around or on a side of the air outlet panel 11) the air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6), and the infrared light assembly (16, 16a, figs. 1, 6) is provided on the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 7, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) is provided with a side groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6) sunk in the first direction (horizontal direction, figs. 1, 6), and the infrared light assembly (16, 16a, figs. 1, 6) is provided on an opening of the side groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6), close to one side of the air outlet panel (walls or panels of item 15a, walls or panels of item 15c, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 8, Rogne as modified discloses wherein the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6) and the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) are spaced apart in the first direction (horizontal direction, figs. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 9, Rogne as modified discloses wherein a mounting groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6) sunk in the second direction (vertical direction, figs. 1, 6) is formed on a side of the air return chamber (42, 43, figs. 1, 6) close to the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6), a bottom wall (upper wall or panel or bottom wall of recessed space or sink groove, ANNOTATED fig. 1) of the mounting groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6) facing the substrate (“W” figs. 1, 6); the infrared light assembly (16, 16a, figs. 1, 6) is provided on the bottom wall (upper wall or panel or bottom wall of recessed space or sink groove, ANNOTATED fig. 1) of the mounting groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6); and the air return panel (7, 7a, walls or panels where items 16, 42, 43, 16a attached to, figs. 1, 6) is provided in the mounting groove (recessed space or sink groove between item 7 and item 7a where items 16, 42, 15b, 43, 16a disposed inside, figs. 1, 6), on a side away from the air outlet chamber (15a, 15c, figs. 1, 6).
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762