DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election
1. Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on June 9, 2026, is acknowledged. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,608,200. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites similar subject matter as claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,608,200. Although U.S. Patent No. 10,608,200 does not disclose the thickness as claimed, thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
All of the remaining instant claims recite similar subject matter as claims 2-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,608,200.
4. Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,785,834. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites similar subject matter as claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,785,834.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,785,834 appears to encompasses the limitations of the instantly claimed invention.
All of the remaining instant claims recite similar subject matter as claims 2-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,608,200.
5. Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,603. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites similar subject matter as claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,603.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 12,137,603 appears to encompasses the limitations of the instantly claimed invention.
All of the remaining instant claims recite similar subject matter as claims 2-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,137,603.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2016/0155967).
Lee discloses a flexible display device (claim 1 of Lee) comprising a display layer 100 (paragraph 76) which implicitly discloses a flexible substrate, which the display layer is disposed on; an outer hard coating layer 402 (paragraph 86, which corresponds to a protective layer) disposed on the display panel layer; an inner hard coating layer 403 (paragraph 87, which corresponds to a reinforcement layer) disposed between the display panel layer and the outer hard coating layer (Figure 4). Lee discloses a polarizing panel (200) (paragraph 76 and Figure 4). Lee discloses a touch panel (300) (paragraph 76 and Figure 4). Lee does not appear to explicitly teach the modulus of the layers, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the flexible display article is carried out using material (display layer, reinforcement layer and protective layer) and process conditions (adhered/glued) which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the flexible display article discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed modulus.
Lee does not disclose the thickness of the protective layer, however thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04, as in claims 1-5.
Concerning claim 8, Lee discloses the protective panel (400) comprises a transparent material (paragraph 85) which has a transmittance of greater than 90%.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781