DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jean-Marc Coursimault et al (US 20110270771 A1) in view of Takaaki Yano et al (US 20190095147 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Coursimault et al discloses an information processing system (¶ [26]) comprising:
a first system to perform adjustment on an image forming apparatus (¶ [28] device controller perform adjustment on image forming apparatus; ¶ [31] local support); and
a second system to provide a service related to the adjustment (¶ [29] second level support),
the first system including first circuitry configured to transmit to the second system a request for assistance with an issue related to the adjustment in accordance with an operation performed by a user of the image forming apparatus (¶ [36-38] and ¶ [50]),
the second system including
second circuitry configured to acquire first information related to an operation of the image forming apparatus and second information related to the color adjustment (¶ [38]), and
a memory that stores the first information and the second information (¶ [41] knowledge base/memory), and in response to receipt of the request, the second circuitry
causing a first display device used by a service provider of the service to display an assistance screen that displays information for supporting resolution of the issue related to the adjustment based on information included in the first information and the second information and corresponding to the request (¶ [41] display 86 at support site; ¶ [59]), and
notifying the first system of a response input by the service provider as a response to the request (¶ [59]).
Coursimault et al fails to explicitly disclose the adjustment on the image forming apparatus being a color adjustment.
Yano et al, in the same field of endeavor of requesting external assistance from a service person if image forming apparatus is not corrected utilizing self-repair (¶ [236]), teaches the adjustment on the image forming apparatus being a color adjustment (¶ [236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing system as disclosed Coursimault et al comprising a first system including first circuitry configured to transmit to a second system a request for assistance with an issue related to an adjustment in accordance with an operation performed by a user of an image forming apparatus to utilize the teachings of Yano et al which teaches the adjustment on the image forming apparatus being a color adjustment to improve quality of the output image in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 2, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the first circuitry detects occurrence of the issue related to the color adjustment (see rejection of claim 1) when a particular condition is met (¶ [51-52]), and in response to detection of the occurrence of the issue related to the color adjustment, transmits the request for assistance to the second system (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2).
Coursimault et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first circuitry performs, as the color adjustment, first color adjustment to generate an output profile for the image forming apparatus, and detects occurrence of an issue related to the first color adjustment.
Yano et al teaches wherein the first circuitry performs, as the color adjustment, first color adjustment to generate an output profile for the image forming apparatus, and detects occurrence of an issue related to the first color adjustment (¶ [97-99]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing system as disclosed Coursimault et al comprising a first system including first circuitry configured to transmit to a second system a request for assistance with an issue related to an adjustment in accordance with an operation performed by a user of an image forming apparatus to utilize the teachings of Yano et al which teaches the first circuitry performs, as the color adjustment, first color adjustment to generate an output profile for the image forming apparatus, and detects occurrence of an issue related to the first color adjustment to enhance quality and improve accuracy of color reproduction.
Regarding claim 4, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2).
Coursimault et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first circuitry performs, as the color adjustment, second color adjustment to generate an input profile for each document data to be printed by the image forming apparatus, and detects occurrence of an issue related to the second color adjustment.
Yano et al teaches the first circuitry performs, as the color adjustment, second color adjustment to generate an input profile for each document data to be printed by the image forming apparatus, and detects occurrence of an issue related to the second color adjustment (¶ [116] color check profile information to be set in performing color management operation).
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing system as disclosed Coursimault et al comprising a first system including first circuitry configured to transmit to a second system a request for assistance with an issue related to an adjustment in accordance with an operation performed by a user of an image forming apparatus to utilize the teachings of Yano et al which teaches the first circuitry performs, as the color adjustment, second color adjustment to generate an input profile for each document data to be printed by the image forming apparatus, and detects occurrence of an issue related to the second color adjustment to enhance quality and improve accuracy of color reproduction.
Regarding claim 5, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the second circuity analyzes the issue related to the color adjustment based on the first information and the second information, and causes the first display device to display a result of the analysis on the assistance screen (¶ [41] and ¶ [58]).
Regarding claim 6, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5), wherein the second circuity automatically generates a comment as a draft of the response based on the result of the analysis (¶ [41] resolve service issue by creating electronic mail or messaging).
Regarding claim 9, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the first information includes at least one of an operating status of the image forming apparatus, a history of errors occurred in the image forming apparatus, or print settings information of document data and a color chart printed by the image forming apparatus (¶ [31] and ¶ [35]).
Regarding claim 10, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the second information includes at least one of a profile generated by the first system, read data read by an image reading apparatus used in the color adjustment, document data printed by the image forming apparatus, a history of operations performed on the image forming apparatus and the first system, a history of the color adjustment performed by the first system, or information of the image forming apparatus on which the color adjustment is performed (¶ [35] and ¶ [38] history information).
Regarding claim 11, Coursimault et al discloses an information processing method (see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
acquiring first information related to an operation of an image forming apparatus and second information related to color adjustment performed on the image forming apparatus (see rejection of claim 1); and
storing the first information and the second information in a memory (see rejection of claim 1);
in response to receipt of a request for assistance with an issue related to the color adjustment, the request being transmitted in accordance with an operation performed by a user of the image forming apparatus (see rejection of claim 1), the method further comprising:
causing a display device used by a service provider of a service related to the color adjustment to display an assistance screen that displays information for supporting resolution of the issue related to the color adjustment based on information included in the first information and the second information and corresponding to the request (see rejection of claim 1); and
notifying a response input by the service provider as a response to the request (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Coursimault et al discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of instructions which, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform an information processing method (¶ [45-46]; see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
acquiring first information related to an operation of an image forming apparatus and second information related to color adjustment performed on the image forming apparatus (see rejection of claim 1); and
storing the first information and the second information in a memory (see rejection of claim 1);
in response to receipt of a request for assistance with an issue related to the color adjustment, the request being transmitted in accordance with an operation performed by a user of the image forming apparatus (see rejection of claim 1), the method further comprising:
causing a display device used by a service provider of a service related to the color adjustment to display an assistance screen that displays information for supporting resolution of the issue related to the color adjustment based on information included in the first information and the second information and corresponding to the request (see rejection of claim 1); and
notifying a response input by the service provider as a response to the request (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coursimault et al in view of Yano et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Masao Saeda et al (US 20220124199 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), wherein the first circuitry causes a second display device used by the user to display an assistance request screen that displays a result of the color adjustment based on the first information and the second information (see rejection of claim 1; ¶ [31] displaying status of printer to indicate problem still exists) and in accordance with an operation performed by the user, transmits a comment input on the assistance request screen to the second system together with the request (¶ [37] and ¶ [40-41]).
Coursimault et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second circuitry causes the first display device to display the comment input by the user and the response input by the service provider on the assistance screen as a history of interactive communication between the user and the service provider, and wherein the first circuitry causes the second display device to display the comment input by the user and the response input by the service provider on the assistance request screen as the history of interactive communication between the user and the service provider.
Saeda et al, in the same field of endeavor of a user communicating with a service center for assistance and support (Abstract), teaches wherein the second circuitry causes the first display device to display the comment input by the user and the response input by the service provider on the assistance screen as a history of interactive communication between the user and the service provider, and wherein the first circuitry causes the second display device to display the comment input by the user and the response input by the service provider on the assistance request screen as the history of interactive communication between the user and the service provider (¶ [108-109} and ¶ [120] chat summary between user and help service displayed on user and operator terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing system as disclosed Coursimault et al comprising a first system including first circuitry configured to transmit to a second system a request for assistance with an issue related to an adjustment in accordance with an operation performed by a user of an image forming apparatus to utilize the teachings of Saeda et al which teaches wherein the second circuitry causes the first display device to display the comment input by the user and the response input by the service provider on the assistance screen as a history of interactive communication between the user and the service provider, and wherein the first circuitry causes the second display device to display the comment input by the user and the response input by the service provider on the assistance request screen as the history of interactive communication between the user and the service provider to provide necessary information and properly respond to a user’s inquiry in resolving an issue more efficiently.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coursimault et al in view of Yano et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Kurumaya Haruka (JP 2021131603 A).
Regarding claim 8, Coursimault et al discloses the information processing system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Coursimault et al wherein the second circuitry causes the first display device to display, on the assistance screen, a graph that chronologically represents a result of the color adjustment based on the second information, generates, as a file, an image of an area of the graph specified by the service provider, and transmits the file to the first system as a part of the response.
Haruka, in the same field of endeavor of printer maintenance corresponding to color correction (¶ [3]), teaches the second circuitry causes the first display device to display, on the assistance screen, a graph that chronologically represents a result of the color adjustment based on the second information, generates, as a file, an image of an area of the graph specified by the service provider, and transmits the file to the first system as a part of the response (¶ [13] chronological color correction maintenance, ¶ [120] and ¶ [122] display graph of color correction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing system as disclosed Coursimault et al comprising a first system including first circuitry configured to transmit to a second system a request for assistance with an issue related to an adjustment in accordance with an operation performed by a user of an image forming apparatus to utilize the teachings of Haruka which teaches the second circuitry causes the first display device to display, on the assistance screen, a graph that chronologically represents a result of the color adjustment based on the second information, generates, as a file, an image of an area of the graph specified by the service provider, and transmits the file to the first system as a part of the response to efficiently manage maintenance requirements of an image forming apparatus in association with the schedule of job execution.
Conclusion
/JAMARES Q WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
July 10, 2026