DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 05/04/2026 has been considered.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claim 1-18 has overcome the Examiner’s interpretation under 35 USC § 112 paragraph (necessitated by amendment).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 are amended.
Claim(s) 3 is cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mita (US 20200118399 A1) in view of Schneider (US 5115888 A).
Regarding claim 1, Mita discloses:
A currency processing device, comprising: Figure 1;
a display; (Figure 1 display 12 and 11)
display buttons; and ([0069] display button)
control circuitry configured to: (figure 1 and Figure 2)
switch between a first mode in which a store clerk is allowed to perform settlement processing, and a second mode in which a customer is allowed to perform the settlement processing; control to accept the operation to the operation interface in the first mode and not to accept the operation to the operation interface in the second mode; and (para. 69 “the POS terminal 1 according to the present embodiment detects the pressing on the switching button, as the switching factor, for instructing switching of the operator mode from the normal POS mode to the self-service POS mode or vice versa. When the POS terminal 1 detects the switching factor such as the pressing on switching button, the POS terminal 1 switches the operator mode from a mode currently set to the other mode. Then, the POS terminal 1 activates the device or devices associated with the set operator mode (normal POS mode or self-service POS mode) in the mode setting table 108. Specifically, the POS terminal 1 activates the device on a side, i.e., store clerk side or customer side, where an operator specified based on the set operator mode is present. Therefore, the POS terminal 1 can switch the device according to the set operator mode” and figure 3 table 108)
control the display to display information in the first mode and not to display information in the second mode (para. 59 - “ in the normal POS mode, based on the mode setting table 108, the commodity registration section 1003 controls the second display section 12 to display a commodity registration screen for store clerk to guide the registration of the commodity to be sold….in the self-service POS mode, the commodity registration section 1003 controls the first display section 11 to display a commodity registration screen for customer to guide the registration of the commodity to be sold based on the mode setting table 108”, para. 37 “In the self-service POS mode, the second display section 12 displays an optional screen. The optional screen is, for example, a screen showing the registered commodity, a screen showing the total amount in the checkout processing, or a screen for receiving an operation for switching from the self-service POS mode to the normal POS mode”, “In the normal POS mode, the second display section 12 displays a screen for the store clerk who operates the POS terminal 1 to execute the commodity registration processing and the checkout processing”)
Mita do not disclose an operation interface including a plurality of operation buttons
Schneider discloses: 18:20-67, 19:1-20 “if the customer presses the NO BAR CODE button 2, the camera "3" input/output circuit 421 will send a pulse on the "3" wire of cable 231 causing the camera 200 within camera unit 18 to rotate to the "3" position. Thus, if the supervisor station is attached to this checkout station, the image on camera display 51 will be a view of the surface of scanner 14 which in this embodiment is considered the produce area. Thus, the supervisory employee will have a clear visual image of the produce which the supervisory employee will be expected to approve…As shown in FIG. 5, after the supervisory employee has approved a visual identification by pressing the ACCEPT button 403, the camera 200 is returned to the "2" position. This is in keeping with the philosophy above of generally resetting the camera 200 vertically overhead the bag 21”; further figure 1 self-checkout have a plurality of buttons;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mita to include the above limitations as taught by Schneider, in order to allows consumers to check out their purchases with a minimal of direct human assistance, see Schneider 3:1-30.
Regarding claim 11, Mita discloses:
wherein the control circuitry switches between the first mode and the second mode based on a preset setting para. 45 - A display condition for displaying the switching button may be set. Para. 59 and 69 and Figure 108 - preset configuration;
Regarding claim 12, Mira discloses:
A currency processing device, comprising: (Figure 1 display 12 and 11)
a display; (Figure 1 display 12 and 11)
a [display button] configured to accept an operation by a user; and ([0069] display button)
control circuitry configured to (Figure 1 and Figure 2)
switch between a first mode in which a store clerk is allowed to perform settlement processing, and a second mode in which a customer is allowed to perform the settlement processing; control to accept the operation to [display button] in the first mode and not to accept the operation to [display button] in the second mode; and ([0069])
control the display to display para. 59 - “ in the normal POS mode, based on the mode setting table 108, the commodity registration section 1003 controls the second display section 12 to display a commodity registration screen for store clerk to guide the registration of the commodity to be sold….in the self-service POS mode, the commodity registration section 1003 controls the first display section 11 to display a commodity registration screen for customer to guide the registration of the commodity to be sold based on the mode setting table 108”, para. 37 “In the self-service POS mode, the second display section 12 displays an optional screen. The optional screen is, for example, a screen showing the registered commodity, a screen showing the total amount in the checkout processing, or a screen for receiving an operation for switching from the self-service POS mode to the normal POS mode”, “In the normal POS mode, the second display section 12 displays a screen for the store clerk who operates the POS terminal 1 to execute the commodity registration processing and the checkout processing”)
Mita do not discloses an operation interface including a plurality of operation buttons
Schneider discloses: 18:20-67, 19:1-20 “if the customer presses the NO BAR CODE button 2, the camera "3" input/output circuit 421 will send a pulse on the "3" wire of cable 231 causing the camera 200 within camera unit 18 to rotate to the "3" position. Thus, if the supervisor station is attached to this checkout station, the image on camera display 51 will be a view of the surface of scanner 14 which in this embodiment is considered the produce area. Thus, the supervisory employee will have a clear visual image of the produce which the supervisory employee will be expected to approve…As shown in FIG. 5, after the supervisory employee has approved a visual identification by pressing the ACCEPT button 403, the camera 200 is returned to the "2" position. This is in keeping with the philosophy above of generally resetting the camera 200 vertically overhead the bag 21”; further figure 1 self-checkout have a plurality of buttons;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mita to include the above limitations as taught by Schneider, in order to allows consumers to check out their purchases with a minimal of direct human assistance, see Schneider 3:1-30.
Regarding claim 13, Mira discloses:
A currency processing devices comprising: (Figure 1 display 12 and 11)
an operation interface including a [display button] configured to accept an operation by a user; and ([0069] display button)
control circuitry configured to: (Figure 1 and Figure 2)
switch between a first mode in which a store clerk is allowed to perform settlement processing, and a second mode in which a customer is allowed to perform the settlement processing; and([0069])
a (Figure 1 - para. 17 “The first reading window 141, the first receipt discharge port 161, the first coin insertion slot 181, the first coin dispensing port 182, the first bill deposit port 183 and the first bill dispensing port 184 are oriented to the customer side”; para. 21-25 “The first coin insertion slot 181 receives coins inserted therethrough. The first coin dispensing port 182 discharges coins stored in the change machine. The first bill deposit port 183 receives bills inserted therethrough. The first bill dispensing port 184 discharges bills stored in the change machine”; figure 2 control section 101; para. 60, Figures 1-2)
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to control, in the second mode, the transport to dispense currency that has further been received after deposit is confirmed. Papa.59 Para. 60 “in the self-service POS mode, the checkout processing section 1004 controls the second cash conveyance section 186 to convey the inserted cash to the storing section based on the mode setting table 108. Furthermore, the checkout processing section 1004 controls the second cash conveyance section 186 to convey cash to be dispensed if a change is needed. On the other hand, in the normal POS mode, the checkout processing section 1004 controls the first cash conveyance section 185 to convey the inserted cash to the storing section based on the mode setting table 108. Furthermore, the checkout processing section 1004 controls the first cash conveyance section 185 to convey cash to be dispensed if a change is needed”)
Mita does not disclose“an operation interface including a plurality of operation buttons”, “when an operation button of the plurality of operation buttons is pressed”
Schneider discloses: 18:20-67, 19:1-20 Schneider discloses: 18:20-67, 19:1-20 “if the customer presses the NO BAR CODE button 2, the camera "3" input/output circuit 421 will send a pulse on the "3" wire of cable 231 causing the camera 200 within camera unit 18 to rotate to the "3" position. Thus, if the supervisor station is attached to this checkout station, the image on camera display 51 will be a view of the surface of scanner 14 which in this embodiment is considered the produce area. Thus, the supervisory employee will have a clear visual image of the produce which the supervisory employee will be expected to approve…As shown in FIG. 5, after the supervisory employee has approved a visual identification by pressing the ACCEPT button 403, the camera 200 is returned to the "2" position. This is in keeping with the philosophy above of generally resetting the camera 200 vertically overhead the bag 21”; further figure 1 self-checkout have a plurality of buttons;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mita to include the above limitations as taught by Schneider, in order to allows consumers to check out their purchases with a minimal of direct human assistance, see Schneider 3:1-30.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mira and Schneider combination as applied to claim 1, and further in view of IKEZAWA et al. (JP2021135675A, hereinafter IKEZAWA).
Regarding claim 2, the combination does not disclose: wherein the control circuitry is further configured to switch to a management mode allowing an administrator to manage, and in a case of the management mode, the control circuitry controls to accept the operation to the operation interface even in a case of the second mode.
IKEZAWA discloses: [0046] FIG. 7 is a flowchart of the mode selection process of the settlement device 5. This process is performed by the control unit 55 shown in FIG. 6 executing a program prepared in advance. First, the management menu is displayed when the settlement device is started or reset (step S11). The transition button to the management menu may be displayed on the display unit 51 during the normal operation of the settlement device 5, that is, during the operation in the registrationless mode or the semi-self mode. In this case, when the clerk presses the transition button to the management menu, the management menu is displayed. When moving to the management menu, the clerk's authentication may be required. For example, when the clerk presses the transition button to the management menu, the checkout device 5 displays a screen requesting the input of the clerk's authentication information, and the management menu is displayed when the authentication is successful based on the input authentication information. You may try to do so. As the authentication information, a password known only to the clerk, a barcode printed on the clerk card possessed by the clerk, a QR (Quick Response) code, or the like can be used.; further see 48-49.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by IKEZAWA, in order to change according to the subsequent change in the situation, see IKEZAWA para. 20.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mira and Schneider combination as applied to claim 1, and further in view of SHIMIZU (JP2013161414A).
Regarding claim 4, the combination specifically Schneider discloses:
wherein when an abnormality occurs, the control circuitry controls the display to display occurrence of the abnormality 1:10-67 If a weight change does not correspond with the product number then the customer will receive an audio and/or visual prompt to this effect from the robot module;
The combination does not disclose in a different manner between the first mode and the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0048] The coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 according to the present embodiment perform display in the first display mode when the mode of the money handling apparatus 100, 200 is the "deposit counting mode", and the "self mode" is displayed. The display is performed in a second display mode different from the first display mode, and the display is performed in a third display mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode in the "changer mode". It is configured to perform, and constitutes the "display unit" in the claims. As the display mode, for example, the background color of the display screen of the coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 may be changed to indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, and an example will be described. Then, the background color of the screen will be blue in the “count counting mode”, the background color of the screen will be red in the “self mode”, and the background color of the screen will be yellow in the “changer mode”. Mode can be considered; [0050] In the present embodiment, the third display mode is described using a mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode, but the present invention is not limited to this. The first display mode at the time of “” and the third display mode at the time of “changer mode” may be the same display mode
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 5, the combination, specifically Mira discloses The cash register 27 stores money (coins and bills) received from the customer separately according to the type of money, and returns money (coins and bills) as change to the customer, see at least par. 22-23; but does not disclose: wherein when performing deposit processing or withdrawal processing, the control circuitry controls the display to display guidance on at least one of deposit and withdrawal in a different manner between the first mode and the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0048] The coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 according to the present embodiment perform display in the first display mode when the mode of the money handling apparatus 100, 200 is the "deposit counting mode", and the "self mode" is displayed. The display is performed in a second display mode different from the first display mode, and the display is performed in a third display mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode in the "changer mode". It is configured to perform, and constitutes the "display unit" in the claims. As the display mode, for example, the background color of the display screen of the coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 may be changed to indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, and an example will be described. Then, the background color of the screen will be blue in the “count counting mode”, the background color of the screen will be red in the “self mode”, and the background color of the screen will be yellow in the “changer mode”. Mode can be considered; [0050] In the present embodiment, the third display mode is described using a mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode, but the present invention is not limited to this. The first display mode at the time of “” and the third display mode at the time of “changer mode” may be the same display mode;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU , in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 6, the combination, specifically Mira discloses The cash register 27 stores money (coins and bills) received from the customer separately according to the type of money, and returns money (coins and bills) as change to the customer., see at least par. 22-23; but does not disclose wherein when performing deposit processing or withdrawal processing, the control circuitry controls the display to display guidance on one of deposit and withdrawal in a different manner between the first mode and the second mode and to display guidance on the other in the same manner in the first mode and in the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0048] The coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 according to the present embodiment perform display in the first display mode when the mode of the money handling apparatus 100, 200 is the "deposit counting mode", and the "self mode" is displayed. The display is performed in a second display mode different from the first display mode, and the display is performed in a third display mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode in the "changer mode". It is configured to perform, and constitutes the "display unit" in the claims. As the display mode, for example, the background color of the display screen of the coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 may be changed to indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, and an example will be described. Then, the background color of the screen will be blue in the “count counting mode”, the background color of the screen will be red in the “self mode”, and the background color of the screen will be yellow in the “changer mode”. Mode can be considered; [0050] In the present embodiment, the third display mode is described using a mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode, but the present invention is not limited to this. The first display mode at the time of “” and the third display mode at the time of “changer mode” may be the same display mode;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 8, the combination does not disclose further comprising: a sensor configured to detect that currency has been inserted; and a transport configured to transport currency; and wherein the control circuitry is configured to control the transport to dispense currency when the sensor detects that the currency has been inserted during standby.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0035] “the bill processing device 200 identifies and counts the bill inserted from the bill depositing unit 201 by the bill identification / counting unit 204 during standby, "bank counting mode", and stores the bill during standby. “[0062] In addition, the control units C1 and C2 of the present embodiment forcibly return the money inserted into the depositing unit 101, 201 when in the standby mode in the “self mode”, and the dispensing unit 109, The money handling apparatus 100, 200 is controlled so as to dispense from 209. [0065] In the present embodiment, while the depositing process is performed in the “self mode”, the coin dispensing unit 111 continuously performs an operation for delivering the coin to the coin transport unit 103. For this reason, it is possible to always break coins that have been inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 and reached to the coin insertion slot 102, and it is possible to prevent the inserted coins from remaining at the coin insertion slot 102; [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 9, the combination, specifically Mira discloses:
further comprising: a receptacle configured to receive currency, and; (The cash register 27 stores money (coins and bills) received from the customer separately according to the type of money, and returns money (coins and bills) as change to the customer., see at least par. 22-23;
The combination does not disclose a transport configured to transport currency; the control circuitry is further configured to control, in the second mode, the transport to dispense currency that has further been received after deposit is confirmed.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0073] A coin is inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 despite being on standby, and when it reaches the coin insertion slot 102 ("S1" in FIG. 7), the coin is forcibly returned by the coin processing device 100 (forced return) Will be; [0087]; [0062] [0065] [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU , in order to the money handling apparatus to be used at a normal cash register, but also can be used without any problem as a self cash register in which the insertion slot is covered by the insertion slot cover, see SHIMIZU para.20.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Mira and Schneider combination as applied to claim1, and futher in view of SHIMIZU (JP2013161414A) and in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 7, the combination does not disclose: wherein the control circuitry is further configured to drive a transportation to accept currency; and intermittently drive the transportation when performing deposit processing in the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0065] In the present embodiment, while the depositing process is performed in the “self mode”, the coin dispensing unit 111 continuously performs an operation for delivering the coin to the coin transport unit 103. For this reason, it is possible to always break coins that have been inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 and reached to the coin insertion slot 102, and it is possible to prevent the inserted coins from remaining at the coin insertion slot 102; [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
The combination does not specifically disclose the coin transport unit 103 of as SHIMIZU feeding belt; however, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well-known to a money handling machines such as coin sorters, bill counters, and ATMs, to use a feeding belt or a conveyor system to move cash through the machine.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include feeding belt as taught by the Official Notice in order to allow for continuous feeding of large amount of money without needing to stop for manual adjustments.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mira and Schneider combination as applied to claim 2, and further in view of NIITSUMA (JP2014178728A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination does not disclose: wherein the control circuitry switching part switches to the management mode in response to a position where a key is inserted and rotated.
NIITSUMA discloses: [0035] the unit key 45 switches the operation mode by being rotated to a predetermined position; [0092] the worker The repayment processing may be made effective by rotating the unit key 45 to set the management mode
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by NIITSUMA, in order to flexibly performing repayment, see NIITSUMA para. 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VANESSA DELIGI/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627