DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is a first office action non-final rejection on the merits. Claim(s) 1-13, as filed on 08/30/2024, are currently pending and have been fully considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024 and 06/12/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1, 12, and 13: an operation part is interpreted as a push button; see Figure 2;
Claims 1, 12, and 13: an operation mode switching part as an instruction; see Figure 3;
Claims 1, 12, and 13: an operation control part as instructions; see Figure 3;
Claims 2: a management mode switching part as instructions; see Figure 3;
Claims 3 and 12: a display control part as instructions; see Figure 3;
Claims 7: a currency acceptance part as banknotes part; see Figure 2;
Claims 7 and 8 and 9 and 10: a processing control part as instructions; see Figure 3;
Claims 8 and 9 and 13: a transport part as transport for bill or coins; see Figure 2;
Claims 9 and 13: a depositing part as deposit slot for bills of coins, see Figure 2;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A).
Regarding claim(s) 1, KAWAMURA discloses:
A currency processing device comprising: (par. 20-22 – POS terminal 20 with a change machine);
an operation part configured to accept an operation by a user;[0051] bill is insert [0043]; [0074]-[0080] button 211a;)
operation mode switching part configured to switch between a first mode in which a store clerk is allowed to perform settlement processing, and a second mode in which a customer is allowed to perform the settlement processing; and an operation control part configured to control to accept the operation to the operation part in the first mode and not to accept the operation to the operation part in the second mode. [0064] [0067] “the operation mode may be switched from the normal mode to the semi-self mode (accounting-only mode) when, for example, receiving registration information from another terminal or reading a voucher”; [0066] “(Normal mode → Full self mode) As shown in a, when in the normal mode, for example, a mode switching operation, a mode switching command (a mode switching command in which the full self mode is specified as the transition destination operation mode, etc.)”; ([0055] “In the full self mode, as shown in FIG. 5 (A), an operation mode in which the insertion of money is valid “〇”, and the transmission of registration information to another terminal and the issuance of a banknote are invalid “−”; [0050] “in the normal mode (standard mode), the settlement process after the registration process on the clerk side can be executed by the own terminal (own device) or by another terminal”; [0051] “In the normal mode (standard mode), at least one of the reception of the registration information from another terminal (customer side see Figures 2 and 5A)and the reading of the bill may be set to invalid “-””, [0057] “Semi-self mode (accounting-only mode)) In the semi-self mode (accounting-only mode), as shown in FIG. 5A, reception of registration information from another terminal, reading of a bill, and insertion of money are enabled. , And the product registration (clerk side) or the product registration (customer side) is invalid “−”. In other words, the semi-self mode (accounting-only mode) is an operation mode in which the self-terminal does not execute the registration process, and executes the settlement process exclusively based on the registration information generated in the other terminal”; see Figure 5A;
Regarding claim(s) 11, KAWAMURA discloses:
wherein the operation mode switching part switches between the first mode and the second mode based on a preset setting. [0064] changed according with elapsing time;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A) in view of IKEZAWA et al. (JP2021135675A, hereinafter IKEZAWA).
Regarding claim 2, KAWAMURA does not disclose: further comprising: a management mode switching part configured to switch to a management mode allowing an administrator to manage, wherein, in a case of the management mode, the operation control part controls to accept the operation to the operation part even in a case of the second mode.
IKEZAWA discloses: [0046] FIG. 7 is a flowchart of the mode selection process of the settlement device 5. This process is performed by the control unit 55 shown in FIG. 6 executing a program prepared in advance. First, the management menu is displayed when the settlement device is started or reset (step S11). The transition button to the management menu may be displayed on the display unit 51 during the normal operation of the settlement device 5, that is, during the operation in the registrationless mode or the semi-self mode. In this case, when the clerk presses the transition button to the management menu, the management menu is displayed. When moving to the management menu, the clerk's authentication may be required. For example, when the clerk presses the transition button to the management menu, the checkout device 5 displays a screen requesting the input of the clerk's authentication information, and the management menu is displayed when the authentication is successful based on the input authentication information. You may try to do so. As the authentication information, a password known only to the clerk, a barcode printed on the clerk card possessed by the clerk, a QR (Quick Response) code, or the like can be used.; further see 48-49.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by IKEZAWA, in order to change according to the subsequent change in the situation, see IKEZAWA para. 20.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A) in view of SANNOMIYA et al. (JP2021002409A, hereinafter SANNOMIYA).
Regarding claim 3, KAWAMURA discloses:
further comprising: a display part configured to display information; and [0068] display unit 206 and 210;
KAWAMURA does not disclose: a display control part configured to control to cause the display part to display information in the first mode and not to display information in the second mode.
SANNOMIYA discloses:“[0293] Further, in the above embodiment, the POS terminal 20-1 has buttons (20-2 cash register buttons BT12, 20-3) used when making a payment at another terminal when cash is inserted (detection of payment). The cashier button BT13 and checkout button BT15) are hidden (see FIG. 11 (A), etc.), and when the checkout reservation button on another terminal is operated, the subtotal button BT10 used for checkout on the own terminal is used. It is hidden (see FIG. 24 (B, etc.)). That is, processing by the button is prohibited by erasing the unnecessary button. However, the mode of prohibiting the processing is not limited to the method of erasing the button. For example, the button may be displayed (displayed in a manner that can be understood as prohibited) but not reacted even if it is operated, or it may be reacted by operating the button but an error may occur.”
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SANNOMIYA, in order to solve the risk that processing that is not suitable for the situation may be executed by mistake, see SANNOMIYA para. 4.
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A) in view of SHIMIZU (JP2013161414A).
Regarding claim 4, KAWAMURA discloses:
wherein, when an abnormality occurs, the display control part causes the display part to display occurrence of the abnormality [0150][0189][0191] failure display;
KAWAMURA does not disclose in a different manner between the first mode and the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0048] The coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 according to the present embodiment perform display in the first display mode when the mode of the money handling apparatus 100, 200 is the "deposit counting mode", and the "self mode" is displayed. The display is performed in a second display mode different from the first display mode, and the display is performed in a third display mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode in the "changer mode". It is configured to perform, and constitutes the "display unit" in the claims. As the display mode, for example, the background color of the display screen of the coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 may be changed to indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, and an example will be described. Then, the background color of the screen will be blue in the “count counting mode”, the background color of the screen will be red in the “self mode”, and the background color of the screen will be yellow in the “changer mode”. Mode can be considered; [0050] In the present embodiment, the third display mode is described using a mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode, but the present invention is not limited to this. The first display mode at the time of “” and the third display mode at the time of “changer mode” may be the same display mode
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU , in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 5, KAWAMURA discloses the change machine 209 and the insertion of the bills, see at least par. 50; but does not disclose: wherein, when performing deposit processing or withdrawal processing, the display control part causes the display part to display guidance on at least one of deposit and withdrawal in a different manner between the first mode and the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0048] The coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 according to the present embodiment perform display in the first display mode when the mode of the money handling apparatus 100, 200 is the "deposit counting mode", and the "self mode" is displayed. The display is performed in a second display mode different from the first display mode, and the display is performed in a third display mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode in the "changer mode". It is configured to perform, and constitutes the "display unit" in the claims. As the display mode, for example, the background color of the display screen of the coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 may be changed to indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, and an example will be described. Then, the background color of the screen will be blue in the “count counting mode”, the background color of the screen will be red in the “self mode”, and the background color of the screen will be yellow in the “changer mode”. Mode can be considered; [0050] In the present embodiment, the third display mode is described using a mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode, but the present invention is not limited to this. The first display mode at the time of “” and the third display mode at the time of “changer mode” may be the same display mode;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU , in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 6, KAWAMURA discloses the change machine 209 and the insertion of the bills, see at least par. 50; but does not disclose wherein, when performing deposit processing or withdrawal processing, the display control part causes the display part to display guidance on one of deposit and withdrawal in a different manner between the first mode and the second mode and to display guidance on the other in the same manner in the first mode and in the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0048] The coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 according to the present embodiment perform display in the first display mode when the mode of the money handling apparatus 100, 200 is the "deposit counting mode", and the "self mode" is displayed. The display is performed in a second display mode different from the first display mode, and the display is performed in a third display mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode in the "changer mode". It is configured to perform, and constitutes the "display unit" in the claims. As the display mode, for example, the background color of the display screen of the coin display unit 160 and the bill display unit 260 may be changed to indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, and an example will be described. Then, the background color of the screen will be blue in the “count counting mode”, the background color of the screen will be red in the “self mode”, and the background color of the screen will be yellow in the “changer mode”. Mode can be considered; [0050] In the present embodiment, the third display mode is described using a mode different from each of the first display mode and the second display mode, but the present invention is not limited to this. The first display mode at the time of “” and the third display mode at the time of “changer mode” may be the same display mode;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 8, KAWAMURA discloses:
further comprising: a sensor configured to detect that currency has been inserted; [0031] the change machine 209 has a sensor to detect an insertion in the insertion slot;
KAWAMURA does not disclose a transport part configured to transport currency; and a processing control part configured to control the transport part to dispense currency when the sensor detects that the currency has been inserted during standby.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0062] In addition, the control units C1 and C2 of the present embodiment forcibly return the money inserted into the depositing unit 101, 201 when in the standby mode in the “self mode”, and the dispensing unit 109, The money handling apparatus 100, 200 is controlled so as to dispense from 209. [0065] In the present embodiment, while the depositing process is performed in the “self mode”, the coin dispensing unit 111 continuously performs an operation for delivering the coin to the coin transport unit 103. For this reason, it is possible to always break coins that have been inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 and reached to the coin insertion slot 102, and it is possible to prevent the inserted coins from remaining at the coin insertion slot 102; [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
Regarding claim 9, KAWAMURA discloses:
further comprising: a depositing part configured to receive currency; ([0031] and Figure The change machine 209 (cash settlement unit) is a cash settlement mechanism, has a bill and coin insertion slot, and has a bill and coin ejection slot. The change amount as the difference is calculated, and the change is discharged from the discharge port. The change machine 209 is directed to the customer side and is operated by the customer; [0043])
KAWAMURA does not disclose a transport part configured to transport currency; and a processing control part configured to control, in the second mode, the transport part to dispense currency that has further been received after deposit is confirmed.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0073] A coin is inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 despite being on standby, and when it reaches the coin insertion slot 102 ("S1" in FIG. 7), the coin is forcibly returned by the coin processing device 100 (forced return) Will be; [0087]; [0062] [0065] [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU , in order to the money handling apparatus to be used at a normal cash register, but also can be used without any problem as a self cash register in which the insertion slot is covered by the insertion slot cover, see SHIMIZU para.20.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A) in view of SHIMIZU (JP2013161414A) and in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 7, KAWAMURA does not disclose: further comprising: a currency acceptance part configured to drive a transportation to accept currency; and, a processing control part configured to intermittently drive the transportation when performing deposit processing in the second mode.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0065] In the present embodiment, while the depositing process is performed in the “self mode”, the coin dispensing unit 111 continuously performs an operation for delivering the coin to the coin transport unit 103. For this reason, it is possible to always break coins that have been inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 and reached to the coin insertion slot 102, and it is possible to prevent the inserted coins from remaining at the coin insertion slot 102; [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU, in order indicate which mode the money handling apparatus 100 or 200 is in, see SHIMIZU para.48.
The combination does not specifically disclose the coin transport unit 103 of as SHIMIZU feeding belt; however, the examiner takes Official Notice that it is old and well-known to a money handling machines such as coin sorters, bill counters, and ATMs, to use a feeding belt or a conveyor system to move cash through the machine.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include feeding belt as taught by the Official Notice in order to allow for continuous feeding of large amount of money without needing to stop for manual adjustments.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA and IKEZAWA combination as applied to claim 2, and further in view of NIITSUMA (JP2014178728A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination does not disclose: wherein the management mode switching part switches to the management mode in response to a position where a key is inserted and rotated.
NIITSUMA discloses: [0035] the unit key 45 switches the operation mode by being rotated to a predetermined position; [0092] the worker The repayment processing may be made effective by rotating the unit key 45 to set the management mode
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the combination to include the above limitations as taught by NIITSUMA, in order to flexibly performing repayment, see NIITSUMA para. 10.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A) in view of SANNOMIYA et al. (JP2021002409A, hereinafter SANNOMIYA).
Regarding claim(s) 12, KAWAMURA discloses:
A currency processing device comprising: (par. 20-22 – POS terminal 20 with a change machine);
an operation part configured to accept an operation by a user; [0051] [0043]
an operation mode switching part configured to switch between a first mode (normal mode) in which a store clerk is allowed to perform settlement processing, and a second mode (full self-service mode or semi-self-service mode (accounting-dedicated mode)) in which a customer is allowed to perform the settlement processing; an operation control part configured to control to accept the operation to the operation part in the first mode and not to accept the operation to the operation part in the second mode; [0064] [0067] “the operation mode may be switched from the normal mode to the semi-self mode (accounting-only mode) when, for example, receiving registration information from another terminal or reading a voucher”; [0066] “(Normal mode → Full self mode) As shown in a, when in the normal mode, for example, a mode switching operation, a mode switching command (a mode switching command in which the full self mode is specified as the transition destination operation mode, etc.)”; ([0055] “In the full self mode, as shown in FIG. 5 (A), an operation mode in which the insertion of money is valid “〇”, and the transmission of registration information to another terminal and the issuance of a banknote are invalid “−”; [0050] “in the normal mode (standard mode), the settlement process after the registration process on the clerk side can be executed by the own terminal (own device) or by another terminal”; [0051] “In the normal mode (standard mode), at least one of the reception of the registration information from another terminal (customer side see Figures 2 and 5A)and the reading of the bill may be set to invalid “-””, [0057] “Semi-self mode (accounting-only mode)) In the semi-self mode (accounting-only mode), as shown in FIG. 5A, reception of registration information from another terminal, reading of a bill, and insertion of money are enabled. , And the product registration (clerk side) or the product registration (customer side) is invalid “−”. In other words, the semi-self mode (accounting-only mode) is an operation mode in which the self-terminal does not execute the registration process, and executes the settlement process exclusively based on the registration information generated in the other terminal”; see Figure 5A;
a display part configured to display information; and (Figure 2; [0068] display unit 206 and 210)
a display control part configured to control to cause the display part to display information in the first mode [0068] display information in the full self-mode and Normal mode;
KAWAMURA does not disclose: and not to display information in the second mode.
SANNOMIYA discloses:“[0293] Further, in the above embodiment, the POS terminal 20-1 has buttons (20-2 cash register buttons BT12, 20-3) used when making a payment at another terminal when cash is inserted (detection of payment). The cashier button BT13 and checkout button BT15) are hidden (see FIG. 11 (A), etc.), and when the checkout reservation button on another terminal is operated, the subtotal button BT10 used for checkout on the own terminal is used. It is hidden (see FIG. 24 (B, etc.)). That is, processing by the button is prohibited by erasing the unnecessary button. However, the mode of prohibiting the processing is not limited to the method of erasing the button. For example, the button may be displayed (displayed in a manner that can be understood as prohibited) but not reacted even if it is operated, or it may be reacted by operating the button but an error may occur.”
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SANNOMIYA, in order to solve the risk that processing that is not suitable for the situation may be executed by mistake, see SANNOMIYA para. 4.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAWAMURA (JP2020027566A) in view of SHIMIZU (JP2013161414A).
Regarding claim(s) 13, KAWAMURA discloses:
A currency processing device comprising: (par. 20-22 – POS terminal 20 with a change machine);
an operation part configured to accept an operation by a user; [0051][0043], see Figure 2;
an operation mode switching part configured to switch between a first mode in which a store clerk is allowed to perform settlement processing, and a second mode in which a customer is allowed to perform the settlement processing; an operation control part configured to control to accept the operation to the operation part in the first mode and not to accept the operation to the operation part in the second mode; [0064] [0067] [0066] [0055] [0050] [0051] [0057], see Figure 5A;
a depositing part configured to receive currency; (Figure 2 and [0031] and Figure The change machine 209 (cash settlement unit) is a cash settlement mechanism, has a bill and coin insertion slot, and has a bill and coin ejection slot. The change amount as the difference is calculated, and the change is discharged from the discharge port. The change machine 209 is directed to the customer side and is operated by the customer; [0043])
KAWAMURA does not disclose a transport part configured to transport currency; and a processing control part configured to control, in the second mode, the transport part to dispense currency that has further been received after deposit is confirmed.
SHIMIZU discloses: [0073] A coin is inserted from the cover insertion slot 51 despite being on standby, and when it reaches the coin insertion slot 102 ("S1" in FIG. 7), the coin is forcibly returned by the coin processing device 100 (forced return) Will be; [0087]; [0062] [0065] [0027]; see Figure 1;
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify KAWAMURA to include the above limitations as taught by SHIMIZU , in order to the money handling apparatus to be used at a normal cash register, but also can be used without any problem as a self cash register in which the insertion slot is covered by the insertion slot cover, see SHIMIZU para.20.
Conclusion
/VANESSA DELIGI/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627