DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024, 08/30/2024, 09/19/2025, 10/17/2025, and 12/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/139014. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for at least the following reasons. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 of the Subject Application
Claim 1 of Application No. 18/139014
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
a body;
a body;
a drive wheel connected to the body and operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment;
a drive wheel connected to the body and operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment;
a wheel stop movable with respect to the body and the drive wheel between a stop position and a release position, the wheel stop engageable with the drive wheel in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the drive wheel with respect to the body;
a wheel stop movable with respect to the body;
a drive system operable to move the wheel stop to change a mode of the mobile cleaning robot between a vacuuming mode and a mopping mode.
an actuator system operable to rotate the wheel stop to engage the fender to extend the drive wheel from the body.
As shown in the table above, claim 1 of the subject application claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter of Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/139014. Thus, claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of Application No. 18/139014 and a patent to claim 1 would, necessarily, extend the right to exclude granted by claim 1 of Application No. 18/139014.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,764. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for at least the following reasons.
Claim 12 of the Subject Application
Claim 7 of US Patent No. 12,082,764
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
a body;
a body;
a pair of drive wheels operable to move the mobile cleaning robot in an environment;
a first drive wheel and a second drive wheel together operable to move the mobile cleaning robot in an environment;
a pair of wheel stops movable with respect to the body and the pair of drive wheels between a stop position and a release position, the pair of wheel stops respectively engageable with the pair of drive wheels in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the pair of drive wheels with respect to the body;
a first wheel stop and a second wheel stop each movable with respect to the body and a corresponding one of the first drive wheel and the second drive wheel between a stop position and a release position, the first wheel stop engageable with the first drive wheel and the second wheel stop engageable with the second drive wheel in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the first drive wheel and the second drive wheel with respect to the body;
a drive system operable to move the pair of wheel stops to the stop position in a vacuuming mode and to move the pair of wheel stops to the release position in a mopping mode.
an actuator connected to the first wheel stop and the second wheel stop, the actuator operable to move both the first wheel stop and the second wheel stop together between the stop position and the release position;
Claim 13 of the Subject Application
The mobile cleaning robot further comprising: a pad assembly connected to the body and the drive system, the drive system operable to move the pad assembly relative to the body between a stored position and a mopping position.
a pad assembly connected to the body and movable relative to the body between a stored position and a mopping position;
As shown in the table above, claims 12 and 13 of the subject application claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter of Claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,764. Thus, claims 12 and 13 are anticipated by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,764 and a patent to claims 12 and 13 would, necessarily, extend the right to exclude granted by claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,082,764. See In re Goodman.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,139. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for at least the following reasons.
Claim 12 of the Subject Application
Claim 12 of US Patent No. 11,857,139
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
A mobile cleaning robot comprising:
a body;
a body;
a pair of drive wheels operable to move the mobile cleaning robot in an environment;
a pair of drive wheels operable to move the mobile cleaning robot in an environment;
a pair of wheel stops movable with respect to the body and the pair of drive wheels between a stop position and a release position, the pair of wheel stops respectively engageable with the pair of drive wheels in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the pair of drive wheels with respect to the body;
a pair of wheel stops movable with respect to the body and the drive wheels between a stop position and a release position, the wheel stops engageable with respective drive wheels in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the drive wheel with respect to the body;
a drive system operable to move the pair of wheel stops to the stop position in a vacuuming mode and to move the pair of wheel stops to the release position in a mopping mode.
a gear assembly connected to the wheel stop, the gear assembly operable to translate the wheel stop with respect to the wheel in response to rotational input, and the gear assembly includes a timing mechanism to move the wheel stop at a desired position of the pad assembly; and a drive system operable to operate the gear assembly, the drive system connected to the pad assembly and operable to move the pad assembly between the stored position and the mopping position.
Claim 13 of the Subject Application
The mobile cleaning robot further comprising: a pad assembly connected to the body and the drive system, the drive system operable to move the pad assembly relative to the body between a stored position and a mopping position.
a pad assembly connected to the body and movable relative to the body between a stored position and a mopping position;
As shown in the table above, claims 12 and 13 of the subject application claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter of claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,139. Thus, claims 12 and 13 are anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,139 and a patent to claims 12 and 13 would, necessarily, extend the right to exclude granted by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,857,139. See In re Goodman.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 08/30/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, lines 3-4, the phrase may be amended as “in an environment; [[and]]”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, the phrase “the gear assembly includes a timing gear to move the wheel stop at a desired position of the pad assembly” renders claim vague and indefinite. In claim 17, the phrase “the one or more gear assemblies includes a timing mechanism to move the pair of wheel stops at a desired position of the pad assembly” renders claim vague and indefinite. The wheel stop and the pad assembly are not directly coupled to each other so that the wheel stop does not move to a position of the pad assembly. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the gear assembly (one or more gear assemblies) includes a timing gear to move the wheel stop (pair of wheel stops) such that the pad assembly can be at a desired position.
Claims 5 and 6 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 4, and claims 18 and 19 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR 20080028220A, cited on 08/30/2024 IDS, hereinafter Jung), in view of Morin et al. (US 2020/0000302, cite on 08/30/2024 IDS, hereinafter Morin).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses, in fig. 1, a mobile cleaning robot (robot cleaner 100) comprising:
a body (main body 110);
a drive wheel (driving wheel 180) connected to the body and operable to move the mobile cleaning robot about an environment (see fig. 1, the driving wheel 180 is connected to the main body 110 and the driving wheel makes the robot cleaner to move);
a wheel stop (fig. 3, hinge 191) movable with respect to the body and the drive wheel between a stop position and a release position, the wheel stop engageable with the drive wheel in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the drive wheel with respect to the body (motion of hinge 191 locks a vertical motion of the driving wheel 180 (fig. 4), and releases a vertical motion of the driving wheel (fig. 3));
a drive system operable to move the wheel stop to change a mode of the mobile cleaning robot (fig. 3 and Jung English translation, p. 7:15-28, a button 194 and a button spring 195 work as a drive system to move the hinge 191 [corresponds to the recited wheel stop]. The motion of the hinge 191 changes a mode of the robot cleaner), but does not disclose the mode changes between a vacuuming mode and a mopping mode.
Morin teaches, in an analogous cleaning robot field of endeavor, the mode changes between a vacuuming mode and a mopping mode (¶ 0093, Morin discloses a vacuum/mopping robot 300. A mop media supply system 361 raises a web support 362 in a vacuuming mode and lowers it in a mopping mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Jung to provide the mode changing drive system as taught by Morin so that one robot can vacuum and mop a floor. It may add convenience to a user because one cleaner performs multiple cleaning functions.
Regarding claim 2, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising: a pad assembly connected to the body and the drive system, the drive system operable to move the pad assembly relative to the body between a stored position and a mopping position (Morin, fig. 14 and ¶ 0093, the mop media supply system 361 is connected to the web support 362 on a body of a mobile cleaning robot 300 where the clean web 364 is disposed for mopping. The system 361 [corresponds to the recited drive system] raises and lowers the web 362 during the stored position and the mopping position, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the pad assembly to have the stored/mopping positions as taught by Morin so that the mop does not touch a floor surface during vacuuming. It helps not to block air suction flow during the vacuuming.
Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses, in fig. 1, a mobile cleaning robot comprising:
a body (main body 110);
a pair of drive wheels operable to move the mobile cleaning robot in an environment (see fig. 1, a pair of drive wheels 180 are connected to the main body 110 and the drive wheels make the robot cleaner to move); and
a pair of wheel stops movable with respect to the body and the pair of drive wheels between a stop position and a release position, the pair of wheel stops respectively engageable with the pair of drive wheels in the stop position to limit vertical travel of the pair of drive wheels with respect to the body (there are two hinges 191 [correspond to the recited pair of wheel stops]. The motion of hinges 191 locks a vertical motion of the drive wheels 180 (fig. 4), and releases a vertical motion of the drive wheels (fig. 3)); and
a drive system operable to move the pair of wheel stops to change a mode of the mobile cleaning robot (fig. 3 and Jung English translation, p. 7:15-28, a button 194 and a button spring 195 work as a drive system to move the hinge 191 [corresponds to the recited wheel stop]. The motion of the hinge 191 changes a mode of the robot cleaner), but does not disclose the mode changes between the stop position in a vacuuming mode and the release position in a mopping mode.
Morin teaches, in an analogous cleaning robot field of endeavor, the mode changes between a vacuuming mode and a mopping mode (¶ 0093, Morin discloses a vacuum/mopping robot 300. A mop media supply system 361 raises a web support 362 to a stored position in a vacuuming mode and lowers it to a release position in a mopping mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Jung to provide the mode changing drive system as taught by Morin so that one robot can vacuum and mop a floor. It may add convenience to a user because one cleaner performs multiple cleaning functions.
Regarding claim 13, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 12, further comprising: a pad assembly connected to the body and the drive system, the drive system operable to move the pad assembly relative to the body between a stored position and a mopping position (Morin, fig. 14 and ¶ 0093, the mop media supply system 361 is connected to the web support 362 on a body of a mobile cleaning robot 300 where the clean web 364 is disposed for mopping. The system 361 [corresponds to the recited drive system] raises and lowers the web 362 during the stored position and the mopping position, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the pad assembly to have the stored/mopping positions as taught by Morin so that the mop does not touch a floor surface during vacuuming. It helps not to block air suction flow during the vacuuming.
Claims 3 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Morin, as applied to claims 2 and 13 above respectively, and in further view of Hendrix et al. (US 2008/0265490, cited on 08/30/2024 IDS, hereinafter Hendrix).
Regarding claim 3, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 2, but does not disclose a gear assembly connected to the wheel stop and the drive system, the gear assembly operable to translate the wheel stop with respect to the drive wheel in response to rotational input from the drive system.
Hendrix teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a gear assembly connected to the wheel stop and the drive system, the gear assembly operable to translate the wheel stop with respect to the drive wheel in response to rotational input from the drive system (fig. 11 and ¶ 0091, a rotational operation of gear allows swing arm 284 to pivot in order to allow the end portion 290 of the swing arm to engage a lock 286 between a locked state and an unlocked state. Hendrix teaches a pivotal motion of a hinge can be operated by a gear assembly. Therefore, the gear assembly can be adapted to activate the hinge of Jung for stopping and releasing an apparatus; ¶ 0079 and fig. 7, motor 50 applies torque to a driveshaft 270, and the driveshaft operates gears 272, 274, 276. Thus, the gear assembly is connected to the drive system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot cleaner of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the gear assembly as taught by Hendrix in order to operate the apparatus effectively. Because the gear assembly is an effective force transmission system for machinery, a connection of gears of various teeth ratios allows exerting a large force despite a small force input in operating the apparatus.
Regarding claim 14, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the drive system is configured to move the pair of wheel stops to the stop position when the drive system moves the pad assembly to the stored position (Morin, fig. 14 and ¶ 0093, the mop media supply system 361 [corresponds to the recited drive system] is connected to the web support 362 where the clean web 364 is disposed for mopping. The system 361 raises and lowers the web 362 during the vacuuming mode and the mopping mode, respectively; fig. 11 and ¶ 0094 and 0100, a controller 172 is disposed in a mop module of the main body, and it can operate the actuator where the mop media supply system 361 is arranged with any suitable mechanism including the gear mechanism. Morin teaches the system can operate a gear mechanism of a mobile cleaning robot according to a vacuum mode and a mopping mode), but does not disclose explicitly the wheel stop moves the stop position based on the position of the pas assembly.
Hendrix teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a gear assembly connected to the wheel stop, the gear assembly operable to translate the wheel stop (fig. 11 and ¶ 0091, a rotational operation of gear allows swing arm 284 to pivot in order to allow the end portion 290 of the swing arm to engage a lock 286 between a locked state and an unlocked state. Hendrix teaches a pivotal motion of a hinge can be operated by a gear assembly. Therefore, the gear assembly can be adapted to activate the hinge of Jung for stopping and releasing an apparatus, and the Morin’s controller can be configured to move the wheel stop as it operates the gear assembly coupled with the mop media supply system 361 between the release position and the stop position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the movable wheel stop as taught by Hendrix in order to operate the cleaning robot seamlessly between the vacuuming mode and the mopping mode with the minimum user interface.
Regarding claim 15, Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 14, wherein the drive system is configured to move the pair of wheel stops to the release position when the drive system moves the pad assembly to the mopping position (Morin, fig. 14 and ¶ 0093, as discussed similarly in claim 14, the mop media supply system 361 [corresponds to the recited drive system] is connected to the web support 362 where the clean web 364 is disposed for mopping. The system 361 raises and lowers the web 362 during the vacuuming mode and the mopping mode, respectively; fig. 11 and ¶ 0094 and 0100, a controller 172 is disposed in a mop module of the main body, and it can operate the actuator where the mop media supply system 361 is arranged with any suitable mechanism including the gear mechanism. Morin teaches the system can operate a gear mechanism of a mobile cleaning robot according to a vacuum mode and a mopping mode; Hendrix, fig. 11 and ¶ 0091, a rotational operation of gear allows swing arm 284 to pivot in order to allow the end portion 290 of the swing arm to engage a lock 286 between a locked state and an unlocked state. Hendrix teaches a pivotal motion of a hinge can be operated by a gear assembly. Therefore, the gear assembly can be adapted to activate the hinge of Jung for stopping and releasing an apparatus, and the Morin’s controller can be configured to move the wheel stop as it operates the gear assembly coupled with the mop media supply system 361 between the release position and the stop position).
Regarding claim 16, Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 15, further comprising: a one or more gear assemblies connected to the pair of wheel stops and the drive system, the one or more gear assemblies operable to translate the pair of wheel stops with respect to the pair of drive wheels in response to rotational input from the drive system (Hendrix, fig. 11 and ¶ 0091, as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, a rotational operation of gear allows swing arm 284 to pivot in order to allow the end portion 290 of the swing arm to engage a lock 286 between a locked state and an unlocked state. Hendrix teaches a pivotal motion of a hinge can be operated by a gear assembly. Therefore, the gear assembly can be adapted to activate the hinges of Jung for stopping and releasing an apparatus; ¶ 0079 and fig. 7, motor 50 applies torque to a driveshaft 270, and the driveshaft operates gears 272, 274, 276. Thus, the gear assembly is connected to the drive system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot cleaner of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the gear assembly as taught by Hendrix in order to operate the apparatus effectively. Because the gear assembly is an effective force transmission system for machinery, a connection of gears of various teeth ratios allows exerting a large force despite a small force input in operating the apparatus.
Claims 4, 5, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Morin and Hendrix, as applied to claims 3 and 16 above respectively, and in further view of Murata (JP 2014176509A).
Regarding claim 4, Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 3, but does not disclose the gear assembly includes a timing gear to move the wheel stop at a desired position of the pad assembly.
Murata teaches, in an analogous mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, the gear assembly includes a timing gear to move the wheel stop at a desired position of the pad assembly (figs. 1-2 and Murata English translation, p. 8:3-31, during operation of a mobile cleaning robot when a drive wheel 15 idles for a predetermined time, a control means 22 rotates a cam 38 [corresponds to the recited wheel stop] which works with gears 27 of the wheel 15 to move the wheel downward to a fixed position. Examiner notes claim does not define how the timing gear is different from another type of gear to move the wheel stop. The instant application discloses the motion of the wheel stop in response to the cleaning robot operates in the vacuuming mode or the mopping mode wherein the position of the pad assembly changes based on the robot being in the vacuuming mode or the mopping mode. Additionally, specification of the instant application interchangeably uses the timing gear with a timing mechanism. Thus, the control means and gears [equivalent to the recited timing gear] of Murata can be combined with the system of Jung as modified by Morin to teach moving/activating the cam in response to an operational condition of the mobile cleaning robot. In Murata, the activation of the cam is induced by the idling of the wheel as an operational condition of the robot. The hinge 191 of Jung can be moved by the gears of Hendrix based on the cleaning modes by combining the control mean and gears of Murata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix to provide the timing gear as taught by Murata in order to activate a remedying action of the cleaning robot in response to an operational condition of the robot so that the robot can continue cleaning without interruption.
Regarding claim 5, Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Murata teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the timing gear is configured to begin moving the wheel stop when or after the pad assembly engages a floor surface.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 4 above, Murata teaches the rotation of the cam 38 when the wheel 15 of the cleaning robot idles for a predetermined time (Murata English translation, p. 8:3-31). While Jung and Morin teach the pad assembly engages a floor surface during the mopping mode of the cleaning robot, combination of Jung and Morin with Murata teaches activation of the gears to move the wheel stop in response to an occurrence of an operational state of the cleaning robot, which is the wheel idling in Murata or the mopping mode in Morin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Murata to begin moving the wheel stop when the pad assembly engages a floor surface so that the cleaning robot operates cleaning and associated operations automatically.
Regarding claim 17, Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 16, but does not disclose the one or more gear assemblies includes a timing mechanism to move the pair of wheel stops at a desired position of the pad assembly.
Murata teaches, in an analogous mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, the one or more gear assemblies includes a timing mechanism to move the pair of wheel stops at a desired position of the pad assembly (figs. 1-2 and Murata English translation, p. 8:3-31, during operation of a mobile cleaning robot when a drive wheel 15 idles for a predetermined time, a control means 22 rotates a cam 38 [corresponds to the recited wheel stop] which works with gears 27 of the wheel 15 to move the wheel downward to a fixed position. Examiner notes claim does not define how the timing gear is different from another type of gear to move the wheel stop. The instant application discloses the motion of the wheel stop in response to the cleaning robot operates in the vacuuming mode or the mopping mode wherein the position of the pad assembly changes based on the robot being in the vacuuming mode or the mopping mode. Additionally, specification of the instant application interchangeably uses the timing gear with a timing mechanism. Thus, the control means and gears [equivalent to the recited timing gear] of Murata can be combined with the system of Jung as modified by Morin to teach moving/activating the cam in response to an operational condition of the mobile cleaning robot. In Murata, the activation of the cam is induced by the idling of the wheel as an operational condition of the robot. The hinge 191 of Jung can be moved by the gears of Hendrix based on the cleaning modes by combining the control mean and gears of Murata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix to provide the timing gear as taught by Murata in order to activate a remedying action of the cleaning robot in response to an operational condition of the robot so that the robot can continue cleaning without interruption.
Regarding claim 18, Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Murata teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 17, wherein the timing mechanism is configured to begin moving the pair of wheel stops when or after the pad assembly engages a floor surface.
As discussed in the rejection of claim 17 above, Murata teaches the rotation of the cam 38 when the wheel 15 of the cleaning robot idles for a predetermined time (Murata English translation, p. 8:3-31). While Jung and Morin teach the pad assembly engages a floor surface during the mopping mode of the cleaning robot, combination of Jung and Morin with Murata teaches activation of the gears to move the wheel stops in response to an occurrence of an operational state of the cleaning robot, which is the wheel idling in Murata or the mopping mode in Morin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Murata to begin moving the pair of wheel stops when the pad assembly engages a floor surface so that the cleaning robot operates cleaning and associated operations automatically.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Morin, Hendrix, and Murata, as applied to claims 4 and 17 above respectively, and in further view of Faber et al. (DE 102014213121A1, hereinafter Faber).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Murata teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejections of claims 4 and 17 respectively, but does not disclose the timing gear is a Geneva mechanism.
Faber teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the timing gear is a Geneva mechanism (Faber English translation, p. 4:3-9, in a landing gear assembly of a motor vehicle, a Geneva drive is coupled to a gear mechanism. The Geneva drive of Faber can be combined with gear system of Hendrix and Murata to teach timing mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear of Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix to provide the Geneva mechanism as taught by Faber. The Geneva gear provides effective torque transmission adjustment (Faber English translation, p. 4:7-9).
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Morin, as applied to claims 2 and 12 above respectively, and in further view of Hendrix and Faber.
Regarding claim 7, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the wheel stop moves between the stop position and the release position (Jung, motion of hinge 191 [corresponds to the recited wheel stop] locks a vertical motion of the driving wheel 180 (fig. 4), and releases a vertical motion of the driving wheel (fig. 3)), but does not disclose a gear connected to the drive system and selectively engageable with the wheel stop.
Hendrix teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a gear connected to the drive system and selectively engageable with the wheel stop (fig. 11 and ¶ 0091, a rotational operation of gear allows swing arm 284 to pivot in order to allow the end portion 290 of the swing arm to engage a lock 286 between a locked state and an unlocked state. Hendrix teaches a pivotal motion of a hinge can be operated by a gear assembly. Therefore, the gear assembly can be adapted to activate the hinge of Jung for stopping and releasing an apparatus; ¶ 0079 and fig. 7, motor 50 applies torque to a driveshaft 270, and the driveshaft operates gears 272, 274, 276. Thus, the gear assembly is connected to the drive system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot cleaner of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the gear assembly as taught by Hendrix in order to operate the apparatus effectively. Because the gear assembly is an effective force transmission system for machinery, a connection of gears of various teeth ratios allows exerting a large force despite a small force input in operating the apparatus.
Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix does not disclose the gear is a Geneva gear.
Faber teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the gear is a Geneva gear (Faber English translation, p. 4:3-9, in a landing gear assembly of a motor vehicle, a Geneva drive is coupled to a gear mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear of Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix to provide the Geneva gear as taught by Faber. The Geneva gear is used for effective torque transmission adjustment (Faber English translation, p. 4:7-9).
Regarding claim 20, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the wheel stops move between the stop position and the release position (Jung, motion of hinges 191 [corresponds to the recited wheel stops] locks a vertical motion of the driving wheels 180 (fig. 4), and releases a vertical motion of the driving wheels (fig. 3)), but does not disclose a pair of gears connected to the drive system and selectively engageable with the wheel stops.
Hendrix teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a pair of gears connected to the drive system and selectively engageable with the wheel stops (fig. 11 and ¶ 0091, a rotational operation of gears allows swing arm 284 to pivot in order to allow the end portion 290 of the swing arm to engage a lock 286 between a locked state and an unlocked state. Hendrix teaches a pivotal motion of a hinge can be operated by a gear assembly. Therefore, the gear assembly can be adapted to activate the hinges of Jung for stopping and releasing an apparatus; ¶ 0079 and fig. 7, motor 50 applies torque to a driveshaft 270, and the driveshaft operates gears 272, 274, 276. Thus, the gear assembly is connected to the drive system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the robot cleaner of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the gear assembly as taught by Hendrix in order to operate the apparatus effectively. Because the gear assembly is an effective force transmission system for machinery, a connection of gears of various teeth ratios allows exerting a large force despite a small force input in operating the apparatus.
Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix does not disclose the gear is a Geneva gear.
Faber teaches, in a gear assembly apparatus field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the gear is a Geneva gear (Faber English translation, p. 4:3-9, in a landing gear assembly of a motor vehicle, a Geneva drive is coupled to a gear mechanism).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gear of Jung as modified by Morin and Hendrix to provide the Geneva gear as taught by Faber. The Geneva gear is used for effective torque transmission adjustment (Faber English translation, p. 4:7-9).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Morin, Hendrix, and Faber, as applied to claim 7 above, and in further view of Li et al. (CN 112140025A, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 8, Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Faber teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 7, comprising the Geneva gear (Faber English translation, p. 4:3-9, a gear assembly includes the Geneva gear), but does not disclose the gear includes a boss and wherein the wheel stop includes a slot configured to receive the boss at least partially therein.
Li teaches, in an analogous robot field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the gear includes a boss and wherein the wheel stop includes a slot configured to receive the boss at least partially therein (Li English translation, p. 10:10-40 and figs. 3-4, an industrial robot comprises gears. A sliding block 609 [corresponds to the recited boss] coupled to a gear 606 can enter and exit a lot 614 of a cam 603. Rotation of the cam 603 drives a clamping rod 702 to clamp a workpiece. Li teaches the gear system comprising the boss to engage the slot. The entrance and exit of the boss to the slot enables a motion of the cam, which is equivalent to the motion of the wheel stop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, and Faber to provide the boss and the slot as taught by Li so that the rotation of the gear can be converted to a motion to drive mechanical components of a robot device.
Regarding claim 9, Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, Faber, and Li teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 8, comprising the Geneva gear (Faber English translation, p. 4:3-9, a gear assembly includes the Geneva gear) wherein the boss is configured to rotate around the gear and enters the slot to move the wheel stop between the stop position and the release position (Li English translation, p. 10:10-40 and figs. 3-4, the cam 603 rotates along with the sliding block 609 [corresponds to the recited boss], then the sliding block 609 rotates around the gear 606 while enters the slot 614. As discussed in claim 8 above, rotation of the cam 603 drives a clamping rod 702 to clamp a workpiece. Thus, Li teaches the gear system comprising the boss to engage the slot. The entrance and exit of the boss to the slot enables a motion of the cam, which is equivalent to the motion of the wheel stop between two positions).
Regarding claim 10, Jung as modified by Morin, Hendrix, Faber, and Li teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 9, wherein the boss is configured to enter the slot to move the wheel stop to the stop position when the drive system moves the pad assembly to the stored position and is configured to enter the slot to move the wheel stop to the release position when the drive system moves the pad assembly to the release position (Li English translation, p. 10:10-40 and figs. 3-4, the sliding block 609 [corresponds to the recited boss] coupled to a gear 606 can enter and exit a lot 614 of a cam 603. Rotation of the cam 603 drives a clamping rod 702 to clamp a workpiece. Li teaches the gear system comprising the boss to engage the slot. The entrance and exit of the boss to the slot enables a motion of the cam, which is equivalent to the motion of the wheel stop between two positions; Morin, fig. 14 and ¶ 0093, the mop media supply system 361 [corresponds to the recited drive system] is connected to the web support 362 on a body of a mobile cleaning robot 300 where the clean web 364 is disposed for mopping. The system 361 [corresponds to the recited drive system] raises and lowers the web 362 during the stored position and the mopping position, respectively. Combination of Li and Morin teaches the boss and the slot of the gear system activates motion of a mechanical device between two positions by entering and exiting the slot by the boss as taught by Li. Morin teaches the drive system moves the pad assembly between the stored position and the release position. Thus, the motion system of Li can drive the pad assembly of Morin to move between the two positions).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Morin, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Jang et al. (US 2013/0340201).
Regarding claim 11, Jung as modified by Morin teaches the mobile cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a bottom portion of the wheel stop is engageable with a fender surrounding at least a portion of the drive wheel of the mobile cleaning robot when the wheel stop is in the stop position, and wherein a top portion of the wheel stop is engageable with the body when the wheel stop is in the stop position.
Jang teaches, in an analogous mobile cleaning robot field of endeavor, a bottom portion of the wheel stop is engageable with a fender surrounding at least a portion of the drive wheel of the mobile cleaning robot when the wheel stop is in the stop position, and wherein a top portion of the wheel stop is engageable with the body when the wheel stop is in the stop position (figs. 2-4 and ¶ 0075-78, wheels 40 of a robot cleaner can be raised or lowered. The wheel is covered by a fender as shown in fig. 2. When the wheel is raised, a housing 52 is positioned close to the wheel [equivalent to the recited stop position]. During the recited stop position, a bottom portion of the housing 52 [corresponds to the recited wheel stop] is engageable with the fender and a top portion of the housing 52 is engageable with a body of the cleaning robot. Jang teaches a component of a cleaning robot such as the housing 52 which corresponds to the recited wheel stop can move close to or away from the fender of the wheel based on a mode of the cleaning robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mobile cleaning robot of Jung as modified by Morin to provide the wheel stop to be positioned relative to the fender as taught by Jang in order to position components of the cleaning robot according to its cleaning modes.
Conclusion
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723