DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024 and 03/26/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a direction of detaching” in claim 1 and “wherein the cover further includes the first shaft member and the second shaft member” of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first movement restriction member and second movement restriction member in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
-Regarding claim 1, the phrase “at least one of a first shaft member pivotably connecting the first cutting blade to the first link by being inserted through the first opening and the opening of the first link, and a second shaft member pivotably connecting the first cutting blade to the frame by being inserted through the second opening and the opening of the frame; and
at least one of a first movement restriction member configured to restrict the first shaft member from moving in a direction of detaching from the first opening by being disposed at a rear end of the first shaft member inserted through the first opening and the opening of the first link, and a second movement restriction member configured to restrict the second shaft member from moving in a direction of detaching from the second opening by being disposed at a rear end of the second shaft member inserted through the second opening and the opening of the frame” is unclear. Examiner notes it is unclear as to the intent of the phrase “at least one of”. It is unclear if Applicant is intending the second shaft member and second movement restriction member as alternative structural elements. As currently claimed, there must only be a first shaft member, and a first movement restriction member. For the purposes of examination, the limitation of “at least one of” will be removed from consideration to require both structural elements.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “a cover on which the first movement restriction member and the second movement restriction member are provided” is unclear. It is unclear how the cover works in combination with the structural elements already provided for in claim 1. Is the cover in addition to the frame elements already required, a portion of the frame or a combination? How does the restricting member of claim 1, work in combination with the cover of claim 5? As currently claimed, it appears any structural element of an outside housing portion or frame, reads upon the language, as the outside housing portion would restrict movement of the first and second shafts.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase wherein the cover further includes the first shaft member and the second shaft member is unclear. It is unclear how the cover works in combination with the structural elements already provided for in claim 1, if the cover must also include both the first and second shafts. It is unclear if the cover includes a plurality of different components, or would be a monolithic piece that is removed, thereby allowing removal of the shafts simultaneously (See Paragraph 0081; However, the specification does not appear to detail what “integrated” refers to, nor does it appear to be shown in the Figures). For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as a cover, that works in combination with the shaft elements to prevent movement.
-Regarding claim 12, the phrase “wherein the cutting device includes at least one of a combination of the first shaft member and the first movement restriction member, and a combination of the second shaft member and the second movement restriction member” is unclear. As currently claimed the limitations appear to be required already. It is unclear what structure, or combination of elements are not required to allow for different combinations to be provided. For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be treated as the same structural elements of claim 1.
Claims 2-12 dependent from claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are rejected as being dependent from a rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (US 2021/0339410).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi teaches a cutting device (1A)(Figure 1), comprising:
a first cutting blade (2A) in which a first opening and a second opening (22A) are formed (Figure 2); a first link (54A)(Figure 3; Paragraphs 0057-0059) in which an opening is formed (Figure 3 noting bolt 55A);
a frame (10,4A,4B)(Figure 1; Paragraph 0050) in which an opening (42A) is formed (Figures 1-3);
Hayashi does not specifically provide a first movement restriction member configured to restrict the first shaft member from moving in a direction of detaching from the first opening by being disposed at a rear end of the first shaft member (55A) inserted through the first opening and the opening of the first link.
In light of paragraph 0054 of Hayashi noting that restriction members are used for other shafts (21A, 21B) to prevent lateral movement, modifying Hayashi with any reasonable number of movement restriction members, would be a mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
As such, the modified device of Hayashi provides
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, wherein the first movement restriction member is provided to restrict the first shaft member from moving in the direction of detaching from the first opening by being disposed opposite to an end surface of the first shaft member (Figure 2), and the second movement restriction member is provided to restrict the second shaft member from moving in the direction of detaching from the second opening by being disposed opposite to an end surface of the second shaft member (Figure 2; Noting the restriction members to be nearest frame portion 4A).
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, wherein the first shaft member (55A) includes: a first body portion having a cylindrical surface and formed to be able to pass through the first opening and the opening of the first link and a first flange portion formed by expanding radially from the first body portion (Figure 2), and the second shaft member (21A) includes a second body portion having a cylindrical surface and formed to be able to pass through the second opening and the opening of the frame and a second flange portion formed by expanding radially from the second body portion (Figure 2; Figures 8A and 8B specifically noting the end flange portion).
Regarding claim 4, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, wherein the first movement restriction member (24) is provided on at least one of the first cutting blade and the first link (54A)(Figure 1 and 3), and the second movement restriction member is provided on the frame (Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a cover on which the first movement restriction member and the second movement restriction member are provided (Figure 1 noting the housing element 10 and the frame portions being fixed thereto Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 5, wherein the cover further includes the first shaft member and the second shaft member (Figure 1 noting the housing element 10 and the frame portions being fixed thereto, this allowing the first and second shaft members to work in combination with the cover portion of the housing Paragraph 0050).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of openings formed in the frame; a second cutting blade (2B) in which a third opening and a fourth opening are formed; a second link (54B)in which an opening is formed; a third shaft (55B) member pivotably connecting the second cutting blade to the second link by being inserted through the third opening and the opening of the second link; and a fourth shaft member (21B) pivotably connecting the second cutting blade to the frame by being inserted through the fourth opening and another opening of the frame (Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 7, wherein the third shaft member (55B) includes a third body portion having a cylindrical surface and formed to be able to pass through the third opening and the opening of the second link and a third flange portion formed by expanding radially from the third body portion (Figures 2-3), and the fourth shaft member (21B) includes: a fourth body portion having a cylindrical surface and formed to be able to pass through the fourth opening and the other opening of the frame; and a fourth flange portion formed by expanding radially from the fourth body portion (Figure 2; Figures 8A and 8B specifically noting the end flange portion).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 7, further comprising: a moving member (52, 53) connected to each of the first link and the second link and configured to move in a predetermined direction; and an actuator (50, 51) configured to move the moving member in the predetermined direction, wherein as the first link and the second link respectively rotate by the moving member moving in the predetermined direction, the first cutting blade connected to the first link via the first shaft member rotates about the second shaft member as a fulcrum, and the second cutting blade connected to the second link via the third shaft member rotates about the fourth shaft member as a fulcrum, so that a cutting edge of the first cutting blade and a cutting edge of the second cutting blade move in a direction close to each other (Figure 3; Paragraphs 0055-62).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a second cutting blade (2B) in which a third opening and a fourth opening are formed (Figures 2 and 3) a second link (54B) in which an opening is formed and a third shaft member pivotably connecting the second cutting blade to the second link by being inserted through the third opening and the opening of the second link, wherein the second shaft member further pivotably connects the second cutting blade to the frame by being inserted through the fourth opening (Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 7, wherein the first cutting blade and the second cutting blade are arranged opposite to each other, and a cutting edge of the first cutting blade and a cutting edge of the second cutting blade are configured to move relatively on approximately the same plane (Figures 1-3; Paragraphs 0051, 0062).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi teaches the cutting device according to claim 1, wherein the cutting device includes at least one of a combination of the first shaft member and the first movement restriction member, and a combination of the second shaft member and the second movement restriction member (Figures 1-3).
Related Prior Art
Below is an analysis of the relevance of references cited but not used
- "892 cited references A, C-K on page 1 establish the state of the art with a variety of cutting elements/blades using a variety of driving mechanisms for the cutting elements and blades.
Conclusion
/RICHARD D CROSBY JR/ 05/01/2026 Examiner, Art Unit 3724