Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of these informalities:
In claim 6, “a peek value when the tension reduction width is in the range of 1.00N or more, 4.50N or less” should read “a maximum value when the lower winding tension is set in a range of 1.00N to 4.50N”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5, lines 7-8 recite "the tension reduction width of the fiber bundle with respect to the base tension is set in a range of 1.00N or more, 4.50N or less". The term tension reduction width does not have antecedent basis in this claim or the parent claim. Furthermore, it is unclear whether the term width in this context refers to the dimensional width of the fiber bundle, or instead refers to the range of tension reduction recited subsequently. For the purpose of examination, claim 5, lines 7-8 read on "wherein the lower winding tension is set in a range of 1.00N to 4.50N". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizuno (JP 2008304038A), previously made of record and with citations to translation also previously made of record.
Regarding claim 1, Mizuno teaches a method for manufacturing a high pressure tank (abstract) having a reinforcing layer (CFRP layer 14 in para. 0033 and Fig. 1) on an outer surface of a hollow liner (12), the method comprising:
a winding process of winding a fiber bundle containing a curable resin (para. 0042 and as shown in Fig. 4) and having a predetermined tension on the outer surface of the liner (paras. 0018, 0043, 0046, and 0049); and
a reinforcing layer forming process of forming the reinforcing layer by curing the curable resin contained in the fiber bundle wound around the outer surface (para. 0044),
wherein the winding process is performed so that the tension of the fiber bundle is reduced toward an outer circumferential side of the reinforcing layer (“When the FW molding of 1 to 3 layers is completed, FW molding of 4 to 24 layers is performed using carbon fibers having a diameter of 7 μm (S14), and then 25 to 36 layers using carbon fibers having a diameter of 5 μm. FW molding is performed (S16). In this way, at the stage of sequentially forming the outer layer, the inner layer is wound by the tension accompanying the FW molding... in the FW molding of the outer layer, winding may be performed with a relatively weak tension as compared with the FW molding of the inner layer to suppress the oozing phenomenon” per para. 0043 with emphasis added by examiner).
Regarding claim 2, Mizuno teaches the liner includes a round tubular shaped body portion and dome portions at both ends of the body portion (as shown in Figs. 1 and 4), and the winding process is performed only around the body portion of the liner (as shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Mizuno teaches the winding process is performed by a hoop winding of the fiber bundle around the body portion of the liner (as shown in Fig. 4 and per para. 0042).
Regarding claim 4, Mizuno teaches the reinforcing layer is composed of a plurality of unit layers laminated on the outer surface of the liner (paras. 0041-0043), and the unit layer is formed by arranging the band-shaped fiber bundles in parallel in an axial direction of the liner (as shown in Fig. 4), and the winding process is performed to reduce tension of the fiber bundle for each multi-layer formed by overlapping at least two unit layers in a layer thickness direction of the reinforcing layer (para. 0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno.
Regarding claim 5, Mizuno teaches a base tension winding process of winding the fiber bundle around the liner at a base tension at which winding of the fiber bundle is started (paras. 0043, 0046); and a reduced tension winding process of winding the fiber bundle at a tension lower than the base tension around the fiber bundle wound at the base tension (para. 0043).
Mizuno is silent about the specific value or range of tension reduction. However, Mizuno teaches that the value of tension reduction is selected to produce the effect of suppressing resin seepage from between the fibers for the inner reinforcing layers as the outer layers are wound (para. 0043).
Thus, the feature of setting the tension reduction to a range of 1.00-4.50 N is merely optimization of a result-effective variable and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art,” and the presence of such a known result-effective variable would be one … motivation for a person of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process. See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980), KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), and also MPEP § 2144.05.II. In view of the Mizuno’s teachings and the above considerations, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the tension reduction to a value or range where adverse resin seepage from the inner layers is suppressed.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference in view of Mizuno, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Miyoshi (JP 2022030873A), previously made of record and with citation to attached translation made of record herein.
Regarding claim 7, Mizuno teaches the winding process is performed in a layer thickness direction of the reinforcing layer by hoop winding (as shown in Fig. 4 and per para. 0042), but does not teach the hoop winding is combine with helical winding.
However, Miyoshi teaches a method for making a high pressure tank wherein the combination of hoop winding and helical winding is used to ensure reinforcement of both the cylindrical body and dome end portions and/or of both the axial and radial directions of the tank by the windings (para. 0021 and as shown in Fig. 2b).
In view of Miyoshi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mizuno’s method to utilize Miyoshi’s combination of hoop and helical winding to predictably ensure reinforcement of both the cylindrical body and dome end portions and/or of both the axial and radial directions of the tank by the windings by the windings.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection to the claim and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action, and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach or render obvious the feature recited in this claim in combination with the features in parent claims 1 and 5.
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745