DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/30/2024 has been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 11-17 and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 with obvious wording variations. Take an example to compare claim 1 of pending Application with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 as shown below:
Pending Application 18/820,442
U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490
1. A method for operating a memory interface, the method comprising: receiving a signal indicative of a change in operating frequency; and responsive to the signal, updating at least one control and state register (CSR) of at least one respective transceiver of the memory interface through a dedicated bus for transmissions to and receptions from memory.
1. A method for frequency transitioning in a memory interface system, comprising: receiving a signal indicative of a change in operating frequency, to a new frequency, in a processing unit interfacing with memory via the system; switching the system from a normal mode of operation to a transition mode of operation; updating control and state register (CSR) banks of respective transceivers of the system through a dedicated bus for transmissions to and receptions from memory used during the normal mode of operation; and operating the system in the new frequency.
As shown in table above, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 is comprehensive in scope, which covers all the claimed limitations as shown in underlined portion. Although claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 does not explicitly disclose responsive to the signal, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 discloses received signal to change to a new frequency for switching the system from a normal mode of operation to a transition mode of operation, and then updating control and state register (CSR) banks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize that the pending Application and U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 are similar in scope and they are not patentably distinct from each other.
For the same reasons as stated above, claims 3-9, 11-17 and 19-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,079,490 cover the claimed limitations of 2-20 of pending Application, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox et al. (US 2018/0348838 A1 hereinafter Cox) in view of Searles et al. (US 2013/0124806 A1 hereinafter Seales).
Regarding claim 1, Cox discloses a method for operating a memory interface as shown in figure 10, the method comprising: receiving a signal indicative of a change in operating frequency ([0071], an FSP CONFIG command may be received from command logic); and responsive to the signal, updating at least one mode register of at least one respective transceiver of the memory interface through a dedicated bus for transmissions to and receptions from memory ([0075], update bits of the FSP switch status field of the mode register in the example format of FSP configuration register to indicate that the FSP switch is complete). Cox differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the step of updating at least one control and state register (CSR) of at least one respective transceiver of the memory interface through a dedicated bus for transmissions to and receptions from memory. However, Seales teaches a PHY interface including a clock source and a command and status register ([0016]), wherein the PHY interface is programmed by issuing commands in the command and status register via configuration bus to allow read/write access command and status register ([0007] and [0026]-[0027]), such that control and state register (CSR) banks of respective transceivers of the system is updated through a mission bus used during the normal mode of operation in order to rapidly adjust memory performance level ([0004] and [0046]-[0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cox in having the step of updating at least one control and state register (CSR) of at least one respective transceiver of the memory interface through a dedicated bus for transmissions to and receptions from memory, as per teaching of Seales, in order to rapidly adjust memory performance level.
Regarding claim 2, Cox teaches updating the at least one CSR comprises: writing operating parameters to respective CSRs of the at least one CSR ([0022]-[0024], access CSR via uni-directional configuration bus) in order to facility low latency switching between power states.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 10-14 and 17-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record fail to teach “wherein the operating parameters include multiple subsets of operating parameters, each subset associated with respective CSRs across the at least one CSR, each subset being stored in a respective row of static random-access memory (SRAM); and wherein the writing comprises writing in parallel each of the multiple subsets of operating parameters from a respective row in the SRAM to respective CSRs across the at least one CSR” as recited in claims 3, 10 and 17; and “further comprising: entering a training mode of operation, wherein versions of operating parameters are calibrated by a training engine, each version of operating parameters being calibrated at a respective different operating frequency” as recited in claims 6, 13 and 20.
Claims 4-5 and 7, 11-12 and 14, and 18-19 are also objected because of depending on claims 3, 10 and 17, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seales et al. (US 8,356,155 B2) discloses a Phy interface including command and status registers (CSRs) configured to receive a first power context and second power context (abstract).
lwata et al. (US 20210294509) discloses a controller transitioning from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, in which power supply is suspended to a predetermined circuit, when the time since the last command was received from the host device reaches the mode transition time (abstract and [0020]-[0026]).
/ZHUO H LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133