Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION of JP H11 133307 A from IP.COM
[0001]
BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION 1. Field of the Invention The present invention relates to a microscope, and more particularly, to a microscope for observing a microscope with a mask covering a nose and a mouth in a semiconductor device manufacturing factory, a chemical factory, or a laboratory. In addition, the present invention relates to a microscope in which an eyepiece of the microscope is prevented from becoming cloudy due to exhalation from a mask and becoming difficult to observe.
[0002]
2. Description of the Related Art When observing a sample using a microscope, the observer must observe the sample so as not to be contaminated by breath or saliva discharged from the nose or mouth of the observer. As shown in FIG. 3, a mask for covering the nose and mouth is often attached to the face to look into the microscope. In particular, when a sample is minutely observed with a microscope in a semiconductor device manufacturing factory, a chemical factory, a laboratory, or the like, it is customary.
[0003]
However, when the observer wears the mask and looks into the microscope, the breath exhaled from the nose and mouth by breathing is, as shown in FIG. Is discharged from the gap, reaches the eyepiece of the microscope, and is condensed on the eyepiece surface by the eyepiece having a low temperature, and it is clouded, which hinders the observation operation. Therefore, an object of the present invention is to provide a microscope that prevents the eyepiece from fogging due to exhalation so that observation can be continued without hindrance.
[0004]
In order to achieve the above object, a microscope according to the present invention (hereinafter referred to as a first invention).Is a microscope provided with an eyepiece lens fogging prevention mechanism in the eyepiece section, wherein the eyepiece fogging prevention mechanism is slightly concentric with the eyepiece on the eye side of the microscope observer of the eyepiece section and slightly more than the eyepiece. A ring-shaped tube having a diameter larger than that of the eyepiece, and a dry-air supply tube configured to supply dry air from a dry-air source to the tube, which are attached separately.A nozzle is provided in the tube with the nozzle opening facing the eyepiece surface, and a nozzle for blowing dry air supplied to the tube to the eyepiece surface is provided.
Another microscope according to the present invention (hereinafter referred to as a second invention) is a microscope provided with an eyepiece lens fogging prevention mechanism in the eyepiece section. A ring-shaped tubular body larger in diameter than the eyepiece, which is attached to the eye side of the microscope observer of the eyepiece and concentrically with the eyepiece and slightly attached to the eyepiece;A suction pipe connected to the air suction device and sucking air from the tube body, and a nozzle provided on the tube body with the nozzle port facing the eyepiece surface and sucking air from near the eyepiece surface are provided. It is characterized by:
[0006] Preferably, a plurality of nozzles are provided in the ring-shaped tube at equal intervals. In addition, for the convenience of inspection of the microscope, adjustment of the eyepiece, and the like, the ring-shaped tube is detachably attached to the eyepiece of the microscope. The number of nozzles, the flow rate of dry air blown out from the nozzles, or the amount of suction air sucked from the nozzles is not limited and free as long as the eyepiece lens surface can be prevented from fogging.
[0007]
Embodiments of the present invention will be described below in detail with reference to the accompanying drawings. Embodiment 1 This embodiment is an example showing the embodiment of the first invention. FIG. 1A is a partial cross-sectional side view showing a main part of a microscope of this embodiment, and FIG. FIG. 2B is a perspective view of a main part of the microscope according to the embodiment. The microscope 10 according to the present embodiment has an objective lens and an eyepiece, and has a known configuration of a microscope main body 11 (one of which has a known configuration in which a real image of a minute object enlarged by the objective is further enlarged and observed by the eyepiece. 1), and a fogging prevention mechanism 14 for the eyepiece L attached to the eyepiece 12 of the microscope body as shown in FIG. 1A.
The fogging prevention mechanism 14 of the eyepiece L is a ring-shaped tube having a passage having a rectangular cross section. The ring-shaped tube 16 has a diameter larger than that of the eyepiece L, and a dry air source (not shown). And dry air supply pipe 18 for supplying dry air to tube 16 and nozzle 16 provided in tube 16 with the nozzle opening facing the eyepiece surface. And a plurality of nozzles 20 for spraying on the eyepiece surface S. As shown in FIG. 1A, the tube 16 is attached to the eyepiece of the microscope observer of the eyepiece 12 via a ring-shaped mounting portion 22 provided at the end of the eyepiece of the tube 16. The eyepiece L is mounted concentrically with the eyepiece L and slightly away from the eyepiece L. Mounting part 22Is fastened to the eyepiece section 14 by a fastening screw 24, whereby the tube 16 is attached to the eyepiece section 12 in a detachable manner. The nozzles 20 are formed as through-holes penetrating the inner wall of the tube 16, and are provided at substantially equal intervals inside the tube 16.
With the above configuration, while the observer is looking into the microscope 10, dry air is directed toward the eyepiece surface S in FIG.By blowing in the directions of the arrows shown in (a) and (b), the moisture fine particles of the breath attached to the eyepiece surface S can be blown off, so that the eyepiece surface S does not fog.
Embodiment 2 This embodiment is an example showing the second embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 2A is a partial cross-sectional side view showing a main part of a microscope according to this embodiment. FIG. 2B is a perspective view of a main part of the microscope according to the present embodiment. The microscope 30 according to the present embodiment includes a microscope main body 31 (only part of which is shown) having a known configuration,As shown in FIG. 3A, a fogging prevention mechanism 34 for the eyepiece L attached to the eyepiece 32 of the microscope body is provided.
The fogging prevention mechanism 34 of the eyepiece L has a function of sucking air, which is different from the dry air blowing of the first embodiment, but has substantially the same configuration as the microscope 10 of the first embodiment. I have. That is, the fogging prevention mechanism 34 of the eyepiece L is a ring-shaped tube having a passage having a rectangular cross section, a ring-shaped tube 36 having a diameter larger than that of the eyepiece, and an air suction device (not shown). And a plurality of nozzles 40 provided on the tube 36 so that the nozzle openings face the eyepiece surface and suck air from near the eyepiece surface S. And As shown in FIG. 2A, the tube 36 is attached to the eyepiece of the microscope observer of the eyepiece 32 via a ring-shaped mounting portion 42 provided at the end of the eyepiece of the tube 36. The eyepiece L is mounted concentrically with the eyepiece L and slightly away from the eyepiece L. The mounting section 42 is fastened to the eyepiece section 32 by a tightening screw 44, whereby the tube 36 is attached to the eyepiece section 32 in a detachable manner. The nozzles 40 are formed as through holes penetrating the inner wall of the tube 36 and are provided at substantially equal intervals inside the tube 36.
With the above arrangement, while the observer is looking into the microscope 30, air is blown from the vicinity of the eyepiece surface S in FIG.By sucking in the directions of the arrows shown in (a) and (b), the exhaled moisture fine particles can be sucked before the exhaled moisture fine particles adhere to the eyepiece lens surface S and condense and become cloudy. There is no fogging of the lens surface S.
[0013]
According to the first aspect of the present invention, the eyepiece is prevented from fogging by providing a mechanism for blowing dry air onto the eyepiece surface. Further, according to the configuration of the second aspect, the mechanism for sucking air near the eyepiece lens surface is provided to prevent the eyepiece lens from fogging. Accordingly, when the microscopes of the first and second inventions are used, when the observer wears a mask covering the nose and mouth and observes the microscope in a semiconductor device manufacturing factory, a chemical factory, a laboratory, or the like, the microscope can be used. This makes it possible to perform clear observation without obstructing the eyepiece by clouding due to exhalation from the mask.
[Brief description of the drawings]
FIG. 1A is a partial cross-sectional side view showing a main part of a microscope according to an embodiment of the present invention, and FIG. 1B is a perspective view of a main part of the microscope according to the embodiment of the present invention.
FIG. 2A is a partial cross-sectional side view showing a main part of the microscope according to the embodiment, and FIG. 2B is a perspective view of a main part of the microscope according to the embodiment.
FIG. 3 is a diagram illustrating the reason why the eyepiece of the microscope is fogged.
[Explanation of symbols]
10 microscope of Embodiment 1, 11 microscope main body,12 eyepiece lens unit, 14 fogging prevention mechanism of eyepiece lens, 16 ring-shaped tube, 18 dry air supply tube, 20 nozzle, 22 ring-shaped mounting unit,Reference numeral 24: fastening screw, 30: microscope of Embodiment 2, 31: microscope body, 32: eyepiece section, 34... A fogging prevention mechanism of the eyepiece, 36... A ring-shaped tube, 38... A suction pipe, 40... A nozzle 42, a ring-shaped mounting part, 44.
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H11 133307 A (Sony Corp, from IDS) in view of US 2017/0319062 A1 (Charles, from IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Sony discloses a lens drying system (Figs. 1a-3, see the description provided as set forth above), comprising:
a gas supply (“a dry air source (not shown)”);
a supply line (“dry air supply pipe 18”); and
annular body (“ring-shaped tube 16 “) connected to the supply line (see 16 and 18 are connected) and defining an internal channel (“nozzles 20 are formed as through-holes penetrating the inner wall of the tube 16, and are provided at substantially equal intervals inside the tube 16”), wherein the internal channel is in fluid communication with the gas supply via the supply line, and wherein the internal channel defines a plurality of openings collectively configured to direct a flow of a gas from the gas supply onto a lens surface of an ophthalmic front lens during a non-contact wide-angle visualization process to thereby mitigate fogging of the lens surface (”With the above configuration, while the observer is looking into the microscope 10, dry air is directed toward the eyepiece surface S in FIG. By blowing in the directions of the arrows shown in (a) and (b), the moisture fine particles of the breath attached to the eyepiece surface S can be blown off, so that the eyepiece surface S does not fog”).
Sony’s gas is not sterile gas.
Charles discloses a gas that is sterile gas (para 32 “Air nozzle 110 or air duct 108 or both may be single-use items to maintain sterility and may be disposable. Because the dew point may be relatively low, a relatively small increase in temperature relative to the ambient temperature in the operating room of ophthalmic surgery 100 may suffice for the pressurized air to be anti-fogging at the surface of contact lens 120”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the gas to be sterile gas for the purpose of completely sterilize the lens surface from all living microorganisms including bacteria, viruses, fungi and spores, as being motivated to not get eye infection while using the eyepiece.
Regarding claim 5, the lens drying system of claim 1, wherein the annular body (Sony, 16) is configured to connect to or engage with a perimeter surface of the ophthalmic front lens (see S and 16 of Fig. 1(a), 16 is configured to connect with a perimeter surface of S).
Regarding claim 6, the lens drying system of claim 1, further comprising:
the ophthalmic front lens (Sony, see lens S in Fig. 1(a)).
Regarding claim 7, Sony in view of Charles discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the annular body is integrally formed within the ophthalmic front lens.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the annular body that is integrally formed within the ophthalmic front lens, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art, as being motivated to avoid misalignment between the two pieces.
Regarding claim 9, the lens drying system of claim 1, further comprising:
a surgical console (Charles, Fig. 1) having a gas port (Fig. 3 and para 40 “manifold 308”), wherein the sterile gas supply includes a tank containing the sterile gas, and wherein the gas port is configured to connect to the tank (para 40 “a heat transfer fluid may enter fluid duct 302 from a manifold 308 in direction 304 and may exit fluid duct 302 in direction 306 to manifold 308. Manifold 308 may further include a reservoir, a heating system, and a pump system (not shown) to enable circulation of the heat transfer fluid at a desired temperature through fluid duct 302 in order to warm contact lens 120 for anti-fogging purposes. In given embodiments, the heat transfer fluid may be an aqueous solution, such as an aqueous saline solution or a sterile water solution”).
Regarding claim 10, the lens drying system of claim 9,
wherein the surgical console is operable for receiving user preference settings from a user of the surgical console (Charles, patient in Fig. 1), the user preference settings including a desired steady-state flow rate and/or a desired pulse rate of the sterile gas (para 40 “the temperature of the heat transfer fluid entering and exiting fluid duct 302 may be monitored and used for regulation purposes. In various embodiments, a fixed amount of thermal energy is continuously provided via the heat transfer fluid to fluid duct 302 to provide enough thermal energy to maintain contact lens 120 above the ambient dew point”).
Regarding claim 14, Sony discloses a method (Figs. 1a-3) for use with an ophthalmic front lens (“eyepiece surface S”), comprising:
providing an annular body (“ring-shaped tube 16 “) defining an internal channel therein, wherein the internal channel defines a plurality of openings through a diameter surface of the annular
body (“nozzles 20 are formed as through-holes penetrating the inner wall of the tube 16, and are provided at substantially equal intervals inside the tube 16”);
directing a flow of gas from a gas supply (“a dry air source (not shown)”) to the internal channel of the annular body (16) via a supply line (“dry air supply pipe 18”); and
directing the flow of the gas through the openings (see arrows flow from nozzle 20 in Fig. 1b) and onto a lens surface (eyepiece surface S) of the ophthalmic front lens to thereby mitigate fogging of the lens surface (”With the above configuration, while the observer is looking into the microscope 10, dry air is directed toward the eyepiece surface S in FIG. By blowing in the directions of the arrows shown in (a) and (b), the moisture fine particles of the breath attached to the eyepiece surface S can be blown off, so that the eyepiece surface S does not fog”).
Sony’s gas is not sterile gas.
Charles discloses a gas that is sterile gas (para 32 “Air nozzle 110 or air duct 108 or both may be single-use items to maintain sterility and may be disposable. Because the dew point may be relatively low, a relatively small increase in temperature relative to the ambient temperature in the operating room of ophthalmic surgery 100 may suffice for the pressurized air to be anti-fogging at the surface of contact lens 120”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the gas to be sterile gas for the purpose of completely sterilize the lens surface from all living microorganisms including bacteria, viruses, fungi and spores, as being motivated to not get eye infection while using the eyepiece.
Regarding claim 15, the method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving user preference settings via a processor of a surgical console (Charles, patient in Fig. 1), the user preference settings including a desired steady-state flow rate and/or a desired pulse rate of the sterile gas; and
outputting the desired steady-state flow rate and/or a desired pulse rate from the surgical console in accordance with the user preference settings (para 40 “the temperature of the heat transfer fluid entering and exiting fluid duct 302 may be monitored and used for regulation purposes. In various embodiments, a fixed amount of thermal energy is continuously provided via the heat transfer fluid to fluid duct 302 to provide enough thermal energy to maintain contact lens 120 above the ambient dew point”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H11 133307 A (Sony Corp, from IDS) in view of US 2008/0236018 A1 (Halverson).
Sony discloses a lens drying system (Figs. 1a-3, see the description provided as set forth above), comprising:
a supply line (“dry air supply pipe 18”) connectable to a gas supply (“a dry air source (not shown)”);
an ophthalmic front lens (“eyepiece surface S”); and
an annular body (“ring-shaped tube 16 “) defining an internal channel therein in fluid communication with a gas supply (“a dry air source (not shown)”) via the supply line (18), wherein:
the internal channel defines openings arranged on a perimeter surface of the annular body (“nozzles 20 are formed as through-holes penetrating the inner wall of the tube 16, and are provided at substantially equal intervals inside the tube 16”), the openings being collectively configured to direct a flow of a gas from the internal channel and onto a lens surface of the ophthalmic front lens to mitigate fogging of the lens surface (”With the above configuration, while the observer is looking into the microscope 10, dry air is directed toward the eyepiece surface S in FIG. By blowing in the directions of the arrows shown in (a) and (b), the moisture fine particles of the breath attached to the eyepiece surface S can be blown off, so that the eyepiece surface S does not fog”); and
the annular body (16) is connectable to or formed integrally with the ophthalmic front lens (16 is connected to eyepiece surface S as shown in Fig. 3).
Sony’s gas is not a desiccated inert gas.
Halverson discloses a desiccated inert gas to prevent lens from fogging and condensation (para 4 “In these various external adjustment mechanisms, the adjustment knobs may be sealed to the housing to maintain a dry or inert gas charge within the interior of the housing to prevent fogging and condensation on internal lens surfaces”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to use the desiccated inert gas to dry the eyepiece for the purpose of completely drying the lens surface, as being motivated to prevent moisture condensation and evaporative residue while using the eyepiece.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H11 133307 A (Sony Corp, from IDS) in view of US 2017/0319062 A1 (Charles, from IDS), and further in view of US 2021/0244569 A1 (Hollis et al).
Sony in view of Charles discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the annular body is constructed from an elastomeric material (claim 2) or molded plastic (claim 8).
Hollis discloses a lens system that is constructed from an elastomeric material or molded plastic (para 27 “The goggle lens 21 is preferably of the type disclosed in Smith U.S. Pat. No. 3,377,626 incorporated herein by reference; such lens structure may include colored or clear lens of plastic or other suitable transparent materials and a lens gasket 22 and a frame 23 that are in the periphery of the lens are molded or secured in known fashion”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the annular body to be constructed from an elastomeric material or molded plastic as taught by Hollis for the purpose of obtaining rust proof annular body.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H11 133307 A (Sony Corp, from IDS) in view of US 2008/0236018 A1 (Halverson), and further in view of US 2021/0244569 A1 (Hollis et al).
Regarding claim 12, Sony in view of Halverson discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the annular body is constructed of a molded plastic.
Hollis discloses a lens system that is constructed from a molded plastic (para 27 “The goggle lens 21 is preferably of the type disclosed in Smith U.S. Pat. No. 3,377,626 incorporated herein by reference; such lens structure may include colored or clear lens of plastic or other suitable transparent materials and a lens gasket 22 and a frame 23 that are in the periphery of the lens are molded or secured in known fashion”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the annular body to be constructed from an elastomeric material or molded plastic as taught by Hollis for the purpose of obtaining rust proof annular body.
Regarding claim 13, Sony in view of Halverson, and further in view of Hollis discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the annular body is integrally formed with the ophthalmic front lens from the molded plastic.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the annular body that is integrally formed within the ophthalmic front lens, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art, as being motivated to avoid misalignment between the two pieces.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP H11 133307 A (Sony Corp, from IDS) in view of US 2017/0319062 A1 (Charles, from IDS), and further in view of US 2016/0166432 A1 (Kahook et al).
Sony in view of Charles discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for the annular body is constructed from a metal alloy including nitinol.
Kahook discloses an ophthalmic element that is constructed from a metal alloy including nitinol (para 19 “an ophthalmic device … circular guide wire comprises a ring shape when extended and said ring shape comprises an outer surface and an inner surface wherein said inner surface defines an area (that is substantially circular, oval or elliptical) configured in size to be smaller than the surface area of an ocular anterior lens capsule. In one embodiment, said circular guide wire is compressible and retractable. In one embodiment, said guide wire is made from nitinol”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to make the annular body that is constructed with a metal alloy including nitinol for the purpose of preventing the annular body from rusting.
Conclusion
10/11/2026
/EUNCHA P CHERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872