DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed on 10/03/2025 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris et al. (US 3543800).
Regarding claim 12, Harris discloses a method of manufacturing a locking mandrel plug for a tubing string, comprising: forming a generally tubular body (body of 100, fig 1) having an outwardly-tapered top (116) (fig 1); forming a mating interface ( threads @122, fig 1) in an inner surface of the outwardly-tapered top (fig 1), configured to operatively connect to a predetermined conveyance (fig 1); forming a cavity (interior of 100, fig 1) within a lower portion of the generally tubular body (fig 1), the cavity comprising the majority of the interior volume of the lower portion (fig 1), and fluidly-connected to the interior of the outwardly-tapered top (fig 1); and forming at least one equalization hole (120) through an exterior wall of the generally tubular body (fig 1), between the cavity and the outwardly- tapered top (fig 1).
Regarding claim 13, Harris further discloses forming an internal shoulder (annotated fig 1) between the outwardly-tapered top and the at least one equalization hole (fig 1).
Regarding claim 14, Harris further discloses forming the internal shoulder further comprises configuring the internal shoulder to correspond to an outer shoulder of a predetermined prong (fig 1).
Regarding claim 15, Harris further discloses forming the cavity includes occupying at least 50% of the volume of the lower portion of the generally tubular body (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. (US 3543800) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Jin-Wei et al. (CN115434652).
Regarding claims 16-19, Harris is silent regarding disposing a sealing stack on an outer circumference of the generally tubular body.
Jin-wei teaches disposing a sealing stack (5) on an outer circumference of the generally tubular body (1).
Jin-wei further teaches retaining the sealing stack by operatively connecting a locking ring (6, 7, 8) to the outer circumference of the generally tubular body (fig 1).
Jin-Wei further teaches the location of the locking ring is adjustable to accommodate differing configurations of the sealing stack (fig 1 teaches the use of screw 7 to lock 7, meaning that the position of 7 is adjustable).
Jin-Wei further teaches retaining the locking ring by operatively connecting a set screw (7) to both the locking ring and the generally tubular body (fig 1).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Harris and Jin-Wei before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Harris to include the sealing stack, locking ring and screw as taught by Jin-Wei in order to achieve an effective sealing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10/03/2025, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-11 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
St.Clair (US 7111677) discloses a blanking plug device, system and method of use, wherein the plug device has an anchoring portion for securing the blanking plug device within a tubing string or other well conduit. In preferred embodiments, the anchoring portion comprises a locking device such as the Extreme SUR-SET.RTM. locking system. However, other anchoring mechanisms may be utilized as well. The blanking plug device has a lower plug portion that incorporates a screening section. The screening section permits flow of fluid through the sidewall of the plug portion while substantially preventing the passage of solid particles.
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
1/15/2026