DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 5/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 and 26-27 remain pending in the application. Claims 19-25 were cancelled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group IV-V, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/2026.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges claims to priority under 35 U.S.C. 120 or 121 for U.S. application 18820502 is a CON of 17/443,646 filed on 07/27/2021, which has PRO 63/209,540 filed on 06/11/2021, PRO 63/154,379 filed on 02/26/2021, PRO 63/147,033 filed on 02/08/2021, PRO 63/085,290 filed on 09/30/2020, and PRO 63/058,216 filed on 07/29/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/06/2024, 1/14/2025, 8/22/20225 and 5/27/2026 filed on/after the filing date of the application on 8/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolf (Us 2589914).
Regarding claim 27, Wolf teaches a chain saw comprising:
a saw bar having a first longitudinal side, a second longitudinal side, and a distal end, wherein the first longitudinal side (see Figure 1), the second longitudinal side, and the distal end define at least part of a chain path that extends in a chain path direction around the saw bar; and a plurality of links arranged in a chain along the chain path around the saw bar (see Figure 1); wherein the saw bar comprises a main body and a rail extending from the main body (see Figure 1), wherein the main body of the saw bar comprises a first ledge extending beyond a first side of the rail and a second ledge extending beyond a second side of the rail, wherein a width of the rail in a direction perpendicular to the chain path direction is narrower than a width of the main body of the saw bar in the direction perpendicular to the chain path direction at an area of the ledges (see Figure 1);
wherein each of the links in the plurality of links comprises a groove such that the links straddle the rail of the saw bar (see Figure 1); wherein each of the links in the plurality of links comprises a bottom surface, with a first part of the bottom surface on one side of the groove and with a second part of the bottom surface on an opposite side of the groove (see Figure 1);
wherein the links are positionable on the saw bar such that the first part of the bottom surface of each link contacts the first ledge of the main body of the saw bar on the first side of the rail and the second part of the bottom surface of each link contacts the second ledge of the main body of the saw bar on the second side of the rail; (see Figure 1) and wherein the rail and the first and second ledges extend at least around the distal end of the saw bar (see Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (Us 2589914) in view of Blevens (US 20190223393 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wolf teaches a chain saw comprising:
a saw bar (9) having a first longitudinal side (front side), a second longitudinal side (back side), and a distal end (left end, see Figure 1), wherein the first longitudinal side, the second longitudinal side, and the distal end define at least part of a chain path that extends in a chain path direction around the saw bar (see Figure 1); and a plurality of links (see Figure 4) arranged in a chain along the chain path around the saw bar (see Figure 1); wherein the saw bar comprises a main body (mail body of 9) and a rail (10) extending from the main body (see Figure 1), wherein the main body of the saw bar comprises a first ledge (11) extending beyond a first side of the rail and a second ledge (12) extending beyond a second side of the rail (see Figure 1), wherein a width of the rail in a direction perpendicular to the chain path direction is narrower than a width of the main body of the saw bar in the direction perpendicular to the chain path direction at an area of the ledges (see Figure 1);
wherein each of the links in the plurality of links comprises a groove (between 24) such that the links straddle the rail of the saw bar (see Figure 1);
wherein each of the links in the plurality of links comprises a bottom surface, with a first part of the bottom surface on one side of the groove and with a second part of the bottom surface on an opposite side of the groove (see Figures 1-5);
wherein the links are positionable on the saw bar such that the first part of the bottom surface of each link contacts the first ledge of the main body of the saw bar on the first side of the rail and the second part of the bottom surface of each link contacts the second ledge of the main body of the saw bar on the second side of the rail (col. 2 lines 28-33, see Figures 1-5); and wherein the rail and the first and second ledges extend continuously along the first longitudinal side of the saw bar (col. 2 lines 28-33, see Figures 1-5), and along the second longitudinal side of the saw bar (see Figures 1-5)
If there is any doubt that Wolf teaches extend continuously around the distal end of the saw bar.
Blevens teach a chain saw bar with the track for the chain extends continuously around the distal end of the saw bar (see Figure 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Wolf to have the rail extends continuously around the distal end of the saw bar, as taught by Blevens, in order to facilitate the movement of the chain.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wolf teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Wolf fails to teach the rail of the saw bar comprises a projection and the grooves of the links comprise notches accommodating the projection, and wherein the projection restrains the links from dislocation in a direction away from the saw bar.
Blevens teaches a chain saw including the rail of the saw bar (46) comprises a projection (100a and 100b) and the grooves of the links (60) comprise notches (space in 102 a and 102b, see Figure 10) accommodating the projection, and wherein the projection restrains the links from dislocation in a direction away from the saw bar (abstract and paragraph 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Wolf to add the projections and notches arrangement, as taught by Blevens, in order to better restrict the movement of the chain (abstract and paragraph 0086 of Blevens).
Regarding claim 26, Wolf teaches a chain saw comprising:
a saw bar (9) having a first longitudinal side (front side of 9), a second longitudinal side (back side of 9), and a distal end (left end of 9),
wherein the first longitudinal side, the second longitudinal side, and the distal end define at least part of a chain path that extends in a chain path direction around the saw bar; and a plurality of links arranged in a chain along the chain path around the saw bar (see Figure 1); wherein the saw bar comprises a main body (9) and a rail (10) extending from the main body, wherein the main body of the saw bar comprises a first ledge extending beyond a first side of the rail and a second ledge extending beyond a second side of the rail (11 and 12, see Figure 2), wherein a width of the rail in a direction perpendicular to the chain path direction is narrower than a width of the main body of the saw bar in the direction perpendicular to the chain path direction at an area of the ledges (see Figure 1); wherein each of the links in the plurality of links comprises a groove such that the links straddle the rail of the saw bar (groove between 24, see Figure 1);
wherein each of the links in the plurality of links comprises a bottom surface, with a first part of the bottom surface on one side of the groove and with a second part of the bottom surface on an opposite side of the groove (see Figure 2);
wherein the links are positionable on the saw bar such that the first part of the bottom surface of each link contacts the first ledge of the main body of the saw bar on the first side of the rail and the second part of the bottom surface of each link contacts the second ledge of the main body of the saw bar on the second side of the rail; and wherein the rail and the first and second ledges extend along the first longitudinal side of the saw bar and along the second longitudinal side of the saw bar (see Figure 1).
If there is any doubt that Wolf teaches extend continuously around the distal end of the saw bar.
Blevens teach a chain saw bar with the track for the chain extends continuously around the distal end of the saw bar (see Figure 7A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Wolf to have the rail extends continuously around the distal end of the saw bar, as taught by Blevens, in order to facilitate the movement of the chain.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (Us 2589914) in view of Blevens (US 20190223393 A1) and in further view of Hard (US 2380753).
Regarding claim 3, modified Wolf teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 above.
Modified Wolf fails to teach the links are arranged on the rail, a clearance is present between the links and the rail.
Hard teaches a chain saw chain with the links are arranged on the rail, a clearance is present between the links and the rail (clearance for 20, see Figure 3).
Modified Wolf differs from the claimed device due to Modified Wolf’s links do not have a clearance, whereas Hard teaches a clearance on the link. Both Wolf and Hard teaches a link for a chain saw. Such modification will achieve the predictable result of providing securing the like with a type of sprocket, since both arrangement of Wolf and Hard are known for the same purpose in the art. See MPEP § 2143 I. (B). Therefore, it would have been an obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to change the socket arrangement, for the purpose of providing a sprocket.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wolf further teaches when the links are arranged on the rail, the first and second parts of the bottom surface of each lateral side of each link abuts the first and second ledge respectively of the saw bar on either side of the rail such that forces on the links are transferred to the ledges of the saw bar on either side of the rail (see Figure 2 of Wolf).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (Us 2589914) in view of Blevens (US 20190223393 A1) and in further view of Wall (1178362).
Regarding claim 5, modified Wolf teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 stated above.
Modified Wolf fails to teach a first link comprises a hook that engages a recess of a second link, thereby coupling the first link and the second link and allowing the first link and the second link to articulate with respect to each other without decoupling as the chain is driven around the saw bar; and wherein at least one link comprises one or more cutting teeth oriented such that a cutting action by the link results in forces directed into the saw bar normal to the chain path.
Wall teaches a plurality of links (1) arranged in a chain along the chain path (see Figure 4); a first link of the plurality of links(one of 1, see Figure 4) comprises a hook (6) that engages a recess (8) of a second link (another one of 1, see Figure 4), thereby coupling the first link and the second link and allowing the first link and the second link to articulate with respect to each other without decoupling as the chain is driven around the saw bar (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Wolf to change the link connection of the links, as taught by Wall, in order to make a light, strong and portable saw chain (page 1, lines 9-20 of Wall).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US 2589914) in view of Blevens (US 20190223393 A1) and in further view of Wall (US 1178362) and Willson (US 2117586).
Regarding claim 6, modified Wolf teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 1 stated above.
Modified Wolf fails to teach a first link comprises a hook that engages a recess of a second link, thereby coupling the first link and the second link and allowing the first link and the second link to articulate with respect to each other without decoupling as the chain is driven around the saw bar; and wherein at least one link comprises a cutting tooth in the shape of a cone or pyramid.
Wall teaches a plurality of links (1) arranged in a chain along the chain path (see Figure 4); a first link of the plurality of links(one of 1, see Figure 4) comprises a hook (6) that engages a recess (8) of a second link (another one of 1, see Figure 4), thereby coupling the first link and the second link and allowing the first link and the second link to articulate with respect to each other without decoupling as the chain is driven around the saw bar (see Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Wolf to change the link connection of the links, as taught by Wall, in order to make a light, strong and portable saw chain (page 1, lines 9-20 of Wall).
Willson teaches a saw blade including a cutting tooth in the shape of a pyramid (see Figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Wolf to change the shape of the teeth into pyramid shape and teeth arrangement, as taught by Willson, in order to have a strong base and sharp point, while minimum heating effect (page 2, col. 2 lines 42-49 of Willson).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wolf further teaches the cutting tooth is in the shape of an oblique pyramid (see Figures 2 and 4 of Willson).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wolf further teaches a peak of the cutting tooth is aligned with a lateral side of the at least one link (as modified in claim 6, aligned with a lateral side the same as in Figures 2 and 4 of Willson).
Regarding claim 9, modified Wolf further teaches the at least one link of the first link and the second link comprises a plurality of pyramidal cutting teeth (three teeth of Wall, and see Figure 4 of Willson).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf (US 2589914) in view of Blevens (US 20190223393 A1) and in further view of Wall (US 1178362) and Willson (US 2117586) and in further view of Johnson (US 614003).
Regarding claim 10, modified Wolf further teaches the at least one link comprises a first row of pyramidal cutting teeth along a first lateral side of the at least one link (as modified in claim 6, see Figure 1 of Wall) or a second row of pyramidal cutting teeth along a second lateral side of the at least one link (as modified in claim 6, see Figure 1 of Wall).
Modified Wolf fails to teach at least one link comprises a first row of pyramidal cutting teeth and a second row of pyramidal cutting teeth along a second lateral side of the at least one link.
Johnson teaches a chain link (a) including number of teeth (a’), while the end of each link is half tooth (see Figure 3) that forms into a tooth the ends of the next link (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Hard to add additional teeth on each link, as taught by Johnson. Since the courts have held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wolf further teaches the cutting teeth along the first lateral side of the at least one link are staggered with respect to the cutting teeth along the second lateral side of the at least one link, such that a peak along the first lateral side is aligned with a valley along the second lateral side (see Figure 1 of Johnson).
Regarding claim 12, modified Wolf teaches all elements of the current invention as set forth in claim 10 above.
Modified Wolf fails to teach a first link has a first pyramidal cutting tooth having a first profile and a second pyramidal cutting tooth at an edge of the first link having a second profile that is half the size of the first profile, and wherein a second link adjacent to the first link has a third pyramidal cutting tooth having a profile that is half the size of the first profile, wherein when the chain is assembled on the saw bar, the third pyramidal cutting tooth of the second link abuts the second pyramidal cutting tooth of the first link.
Furthermore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Wolf to change the end half tooth of each link correspond to the end tooth half tooth of the next link, as taught by Johnson, in order to allow better alignment of the chain links (page 1 line 87- page 2 line 4). The resulting device of modified Hard teaches a first link has a first pyramidal cutting tooth having a first profile (as modified in claim 10, full tooth, see Figure 3 of Johnson) and a second pyramidal cutting tooth (half tooth, see Figure 3 of Johnson) at an edge of the first link having a second profile that is half the size of the first profile, and wherein a second link adjacent to the first link has a third pyramidal cutting tooth having a profile that is half the size of the first profile (half tooth, see Figure 3 of Johnson, wherein when the chain is assembled on the saw bar, the third pyramidal cutting tooth of the second link abuts the second pyramidal cutting tooth of the first link (see Figure 3 of Johnson).
Conclusion
/LIANG DONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 6/19/2026