FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: wherein the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned at a different pose in claims 3, 10, the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned in parallel to each other in claims 5, 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chikara et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0319010.
With respect to claim 1, Chikara teaches a fixing apparatus (arm fixing device 14) for use with an industrial robot (figure 7), the industrial robot comprising a first arm and a second arm connected to the first arm (first arm 3 connected to a second arm 4, figure 7), the fixing apparatus comprising: a first securing component configured to couple to the first arm (a second bracket part 16 having surface 16a that is fixed to a mounting surface 7 of a first arm 3, paragraph 34, figure 7); and a second securing component configured to couple to the second arm (a third bracket part 17 that is fixed to a mounting surface 12 of a second arm 4), wherein when the first securing component is coupled to the first arm and the second securing component is coupled to the second arm, the first arm is remained at a non-gravity position (paragraphs 34-35, figure 7).
With respect to claim 2, Chikara teaches wherein the first securing component comprises a first ring (interpreted as mounting surface 6 that is fixed to bracket 16) to encircle the first arm (figure 7) and the second securing component (interpreted as mounting surface 12 that is fixed to bracket 17) comprises a second ring to encircle the second arm (figure 7).
With respect to claim 3, Chikara teaches wherein the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned at a different pose.
With respect claim 4, Chikara teaches wherein the first securing component comprises a first plate to couple to the first arm and the second securing component comprises a second plate to couple to the second arm (interpreted as second bracket part 16 and third bracket part 17, figure 7).
With respect to claim 5, Chikara teaches the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned in parallel to each other (the arm fixing device 14 is interpreted as being adapted to fix the first and second arm, figure 7).
With respect to claims 6 and 14-17, Chikara teaches wherein the first arm and the second arm are hinged via a joint, and wherein the centroid of the joint and the centroid of the at least one of the first arm and the second arm form a plumbline parallel to a non-gravity direction.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitamura JP2017077602 (citations from translation).
With respect to claim 7, Kitamura teaches a method of measuring a backlash of a gear, the gear being coupled between an input shaft and an output shaft (input and output connected to gears 14 and 15, figure 4), the input shaft being coupled to a motor and the output shaft being coupled to an actuator, the method comprising: securing the output shaft (movement restriction means 9, page 20); causing the motor to provide a torque for the input shaft to allow the gear to rotate by a degree under the torque (servo motor that drives gears, pages 19-20); obtaining the torque and rotated degree of the gear (angular position and drive torque are monitored, pages 21-24); and determining the backlash of the gear based on the torque and the rotated degree (backlash is determined from torque and angular position, pages 21-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura JP2017077602 (citations from translation) in view of Chikara et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0319010.
With respect to claims 8-13, Kitamura teaches the claimed invention except wherein securing the output shaft is achieved by a fixing apparatus wherein the fixing apparatus comprises: a first securing component configured to couple to a first arm of an industrial robot; and a second securing component configured to couple to a second arm of the industrial robot. wherein when the first securing component is coupled to the first arm and the second securing component is coupled to the second arm, the first arm is remained at a non-gravity position, wherein the first securing component comprises a first ring to encircle the first arm and the second securing component comprises a second ring to encircle the second arm, wherein the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned at a different pose, wherein the first securing component comprises a first plate to couple to the first arm and the second securing component comprises a second plate to couple to the second arm, wherein the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned in parallel to each other, and wherein the first arm and the second arm are hinged via a joint, and wherein the centroid of the joint and the centroid of the at least one of the first arm and the second arm form a plumbline parallel to a non-gravity direction.
Chikara teaches a fixing apparatus (arm fixing device 14) for use with an industrial robot (figure 7), the industrial robot comprising a first arm and a second arm connected to the first arm (first arm 3 connected to a second arm 4, figure 7), the fixing apparatus comprising: a first securing component configured to couple to the first arm (a second bracket part 16 having surface 16a that is fixed to a mounting surface 7 of a first arm 3, paragraph 34, figure 7); and a second securing component configured to couple to the second arm (a third bracket part 17 that is fixed to a mounting surface 12 of a second arm 4), wherein when the first securing component is coupled to the first arm and the second securing component is coupled to the second arm, the first arm is remained at a non-gravity position (paragraphs 34-35, figure 7). Chikara also teaches wherein the first securing component comprises a first ring (interpreted as mounting surface 6 that is fixed to bracket 16) to encircle the first arm (figure 7) and the second securing component (interpreted as mounting surface 12 that is fixed to bracket 17) comprises a second ring to encircle the second arm (figure 7), wherein the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned at a different pose, wherein the first securing component comprises a first plate to couple to the first arm and the second securing component comprises a second plate to couple to the second arm (interpreted as second bracket part 16 and third bracket part 17, figure 7), the fixing apparatus is adapted to fix the first arm and the second arm which are positioned in parallel to each other (the arm fixing device 14 is interpreted as being adapted to fix the first and second arm, figure 7), and wherein the first arm and the second arm are hinged via a joint, and wherein the centroid of the joint and the centroid of the at least one of the first arm and the second arm form a plumbline parallel to a non-gravity direction.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the fixing means of Kitamura with the fixing arm with the included additional structures as taught by Chikara in order to more secure fixing means that is able to fix a first and second arm of a robot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art includes other methods of measuring backlash and robotic arm fixing means.
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 8/20/2026