CTNF 18/820,644 CTNF 84771 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 2. Claims 1-11 are pending in this instant application. Priority 3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application JP 2023-142380 filed on 09/01/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d). Drawings 4. The drawing has been filed on 08/30/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose. Information Disclosure Statement 5. The information disclosure statement filed on 08/30/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 6. 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. 7. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-11 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “ an image forming apparatus comprising: one or more memory devices that store a set of instructions; and one or more processors that execute the set of instructions to: detect a characteristic of a sheet fed from a sheet feeding unit, print a chart for detecting a parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on the sheet and register the parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on a basis of the chart together with the characteristic of the sheet, and perform control to continue the registering in a case where an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit in the registering ”. The claim limitation of “ detect a characteristic of a sheet fed from a sheet feeding unit, print a chart for detecting a parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on the sheet and register the parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on a basis of the chart together with the characteristic of the sheet, and perform control to continue the registering in a case where an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit in the registering ”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “by a one or more processors” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by one or more processors” and “by a printing” language, “printing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually printing a chart for detecting a parameter of the sheet and register the detected parameters. Similarly, the limitations of “registering” to register in a case where an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit in the registering as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “by a one or more processors” language, “printing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that the image forming apparatus should be printing a chart to detect parameter of the sheet for registration. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a one or more processors, printing & registering to perform both the printing & registering steps. The one or more processors in last step is recited at a high-level of generality ( i.e. , as a generic one or more processors performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claimed steps of using a one or more processors, printing & registering to perform both the printing & registering steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. The other claims 2-9 are obviously claimed the same subject matter as found in the claim 1 and therefore would be rejected based on same rationale applied on claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 8. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 9. Claim s 1-5, 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nakama, US Pub 2022/0337713 . As to claim 1 [independent], Nakama teaches an image forming apparatus comprising [ fig. 1, element 100; 0030 ]: one or more memory devices [ fig. 2, element 11 or 12; 0030 ] that store a set of instructions [ 0030 ]; and one or more processors [ fig. 2, element 10; 0030 ] that execute the set of instructions to [ 0030 Nakama teaches that the processor ( CPU 10 ) executes a computer program stored in the memory 11 so as to control the operation of the printer 100 ]: detect a characteristic of a sheet fed from a sheet feeding unit [ 0006, 0035, 0038 Nakama teaches that the processor ( CPU 10 ) the type of sheet based on the output value (detection result) obtained by the media sensor 14, and performs image formation in an image forming condition which is based on the detected type of sheet ], print a chart for detecting a parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on the sheet [ 0056-0057 Nakama teaches that the adjustment chart is printed by the printer 100, the scanner 300 read the adjustment chart and is measured having the sheet characteristic (type) selected when the tone correction is executed. The CPU 10 derives a correction parameter (correction value) for eliminating a difference between a color measurement result obtained by the scanner 300 and a target value stored in advance in the memory 11, and stores or registers the correction parameter (correction value) into RAM storage 12. The correction parameter is read out at the time of the subsequent print job in accordance with the media characteristic of the media to be used, and is applied to the adjustment of the image forming condition ] and register the parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on a basis of the chart together with the characteristic of the sheet [ 0056-0057 Nakama teaches that the adjustment chart is printed by the printer 100, the scanner 300 read the adjustment chart and is measured having the sheet characteristic (type) selected when the tone correction is executed. The CPU 10 derives a correction parameter (correction value) for eliminating a difference between a color measurement result obtained by the scanner 300 and a target value stored in advance in the memory 11, and stores or registers the correction parameter (correction value) into RAM storage 12. The correction parameter is read out at the time of the subsequent print job in accordance with the media characteristic of the media to be used, and is applied to the adjustment of the image forming condition ], and perform control to continue the registering in a case where an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit in the registering [ figs. 13-14, 20; 0068-0069, 0086, 0010-0112 Nakama teaches that the CPU 10 acquires and registering the presence or absence of the usable sheet feeding cassette, when the usable sheet feeding cassette is absent of the sheets, the CPU 10 displays the sheet feeding cassette instruction screen as shown in Fig. 20 that no sheets is present in the sheet feeding cassette ] . As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Nakama teaches wherein the memory stores whether or not the registering is being performed, and the controlling includes performing control to continue the registering in a case where the memory stores that the registering is being performed when an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit [ figs. 13-14, 20; 0066-0069 , 0086, 0010-0112 Nakama teaches that the CPU 10 acquires and registering the presence or absence of the usable sheet feeding cassette, when the usable sheet feeding cassette is absent of the sheets, the CPU 10 displays the sheet feeding cassette instruction screen as exemplified in Fig. 20 that no sheets is present in the sheet feeding cassette and the property or characteristics of the sheet isn’t stored or registered in the memory 11 ]. As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 2], Nakama teaches wherein the controlling includes performing control to end the registering in a case where the memory does not store that the registering is being performed when an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit [ figs. 13-14, 20; 0066-0068 , 0086, 0010-0112 Nakama teaches that the CPU 10 acquires and registering the presence or absence of the usable sheet feeding cassette, when the usable sheet feeding cassette is absent of the sheets, the CPU 10 displays the sheet feeding cassette instruction screen as exemplified in Fig. 20 that no sheets is present in the sheet feeding cassette and the property or characteristics of the sheet isn’t stored or registered in the memory 11 ]. As to claim 4 [dependent from claim 1], Nakama teaches a display, wherein the registering includes displaying a sheet settings screen on the display when a sheet is detected being set in the sheet feeding unit and starting the registering when an instruction to register a new sheet type is issued on the sheet settings screen [ figs. 7-10; 0066-0068, 0070-0072 Nakama teaches that the user set the detected sheet were set in the sheet feeding unit is now registered in the memory 11 based on the user’s command on the display 13 ]. As to claim 5 [dependent from claim 1], Nakama teaches a display, wherein the registering includes displaying a screen indicating that printing is being performed on the display when the chart is printed [ 0056-0057 Nakama teaches that the adjustment chart is printed by the printer 100, the scanner 300 read the adjustment chart and is measured having the sheet characteristic (type) selected when the tone correction is executed. The CPU 10 derives a correction parameter (correction value) for eliminating a difference between a color measurement result obtained by the scanner 300 and a target value stored in advance in the memory 11, and stores or registers the correction parameter (correction value) into RAM storage 12 ]. As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Nakama teaches wherein the characteristic of the sheet includes a type and grammage of the sheet [ 0003-0004, 0039, 0041 ]. As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Nakama teaches wherein the sheet feeding unit is a manual feed tray [ 0005 ]. As to claims 10-11 [independent], However, the independent claims 10-11 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claims 10-11 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 10. Claims 6-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 (abstract idea), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 11. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance : The dependent claim 6 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ a display, wherein the registering includes displaying a settings screen for setting the parameter of the characteristic of the sheet on a basis of the chart on the display when printing of the chart is complete ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. The dependent claim 7 is allowable over the prior arts of record ( or cited or listed above ) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “ wherein the registering includes displaying an error screen indicating an absence of sheets on the display in a case where an absence of sheets is detected at the sheet feeding unit while the screen indicating that printing is being performed is being displayed ”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed. Conclusion 12. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HARIS SABAH whose telephone number is (571)270-3917. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday/Friday from 9:00AM to 5:30PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Benny Tieu, can be reached on (571)272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The Examiner’s personal fax number is (571)270-4917. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 2 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 3 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 4 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 5 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 6 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 7 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 8 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 9 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 10 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 11 Art Unit: 2682 Application/Control Number: 18/820,644 Page 12 Art Unit: 2682