DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-18, the claims recites “third parameter set” and “fourth parameter set”, but no mention on first parameter set and second parameter set. The claim scope is unclear because the sequence of parameters skips a first parameter set and a second parameter set. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-10, 12-14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 (August 2021 – cited on IDS filed on 04/03/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving a request frame from a first station (page 6, lines 1-5; page 11, section 9.6.36.5; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; a requesting MLD or non-AP EHT STA transmits the EPCS Priority Access Enable request to request priority access), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (page 6, lines 1-5; i.e., EPCS non-AP MLD); and
sending a response frame for the request frame to the first station (page 6, lines 1-5; page 12, section 9.6.36.6; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; the EPCS Priority Access Enable Response is transmitted in response to an EPCS Priority Access Enable Request Frame), wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (page 6, lines 6-10), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by the first station to perform channel contention (page 6, lines 6-10; EDCA parameters in request/response frames; pages 8-9, section 35.16.3.2; EDCA operation using EPCS EDCA parameters).
Regarding claim 3, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a priority access multi-link element (MLE) field (pages 6-7, section 9.4.2.312.5; the priority access multi-link element carries EDCA Parameter sets used by EPCS priority access).
Regarding claim 4, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a link information field in a priority access MLE field (pages 6-8, section 9.4.2.312.5; Figure 9-1002f5 – STA control field format for the Priority Access Multi-Link element including a Link ID subfield).
Regarding claim 5, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses a communication method, comprising:
sending a request frame to an access point (page 6, lines 1-5; page 11, section 9.6.36.5; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; a requesting MLD or non-AP EHT STA transmits the EPCS Priority Access Enable request to request priority access); and
receiving a response frame that is sent by the access point for the request frame (page 6, lines 1-5; page 12, section 9.6.36.6; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; the EPCS Priority Access Enable Response is transmitted in response to an EPCS Priority Access Enable Request Frame), wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (page 6, lines 6-10), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by a first station to perform channel contention (pages 8-9, section 35.16.3.2; EDCA operation using EPCS EDCA parameters), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (page 6, lines 6-10; EDCA parameters in request/response frames).
Regarding claim 8, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a priority access multi-link element (MLE) field (pages 6-7, section 9.4.2.312.5; the priority access multi-link element carries EDCA Parameter sets used by EPCS priority access).
Regarding claim 9, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a link information field in a priority access MLE field (pages 6-8, section 9.4.2.312.5; Figure 9-1002f5 – STA control field format for the Priority Access Multi-Link element including a Link ID subfield).
Regarding claim 10, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver module, configured to receive a request frame from a first station (page 6, lines 1-5; page 11, section 9.6.36.5; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; a requesting MLD or non-AP EHT STA transmits the EPCS Priority Access Enable request to request priority access; is inherent that an AP includes a transceiver module), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (page 6, lines 1-5; i.e., EPCS non-AP MLD); and
a processing module, configured to generate a response frame for the request frame (page 6, lines 1-5; page 12, section 9.6.36.6; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; the EPCS Priority Access Enable Response is transmitted in response to an EPCS Priority Access Enable Request Frame; is inherent that an AP includes a processing module), wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (page 6, lines 6-10), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by the first station to perform channel contention (page 6, lines 6-10; EDCA parameters in request/response frames; pages 8-9, section 35.16.3.2; EDCA operation using EPCS EDCA parameters).
Regarding claim 12, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a priority access multi-link element (MLE) field (pages 6-7, section 9.4.2.312.5; the priority access multi-link element carries EDCA Parameter sets used by EPCS priority access).
Regarding claim 13, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a link information field in a priority access MLE field (pages 6-8, section 9.4.2.312.5; Figure 9-1002f5 – STA control field format for the Priority Access Multi-Link element including a Link ID subfield).
Regarding claim 14, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a processing module, configured to generate a request frame; (page 6, lines 1-5; page 11, section 9.6.36.5; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; a requesting MLD or non-AP EHT STA transmits the EPCS Priority Access Enable request to request priority access; note that a processing module is inherent in a MLD or non-AP EHT STA); and
a transceiver module, configured to: send the request frame to an access point, and receive a response frame that is sent by the access point for the request frame (page 6, lines 1-5; page 12, section 9.6.36.6; an EPCS non-AP MLD and an EPCS AP MLD exchange EPCS Priority Access Request and Response messages; a requesting MLD or non-AP EHT STA transmits the EPCS Priority Access Enable request to request priority access; the EPCS Priority Access Enable Response is transmitted in response to an EPCS Priority Access Enable Request Frame; note that a transceiver module is inherent), wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (page 6, lines 6-10), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by a first station to perform channel contention (pages 8-9, section 35.16.3.2; EDCA operation using EPCS EDCA parameters), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (page 6, lines 6-10; EDCA parameters in request/response frames).
Regarding claim 17, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a priority access multi-link element (MLE) field (pages 6-7, section 9.4.2.312.5; the priority access multi-link element carries EDCA Parameter sets used by EPCS priority access).
Regarding claim 18, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the third parameter set is comprised in a link information field in a priority access MLE field (pages 6-8, section 9.4.2.312.5; Figure 9-1002f5 – STA control field format for the Priority Access Multi-Link element including a Link ID subfield).
Claims 1, 5, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FANG et al. (US 2022/0361193).
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses a communication method, comprising:
receiving a request frame from a first station (p. [0046]; priority access capable AP or AP MLD receives a priority access enable request from a priority access capable non-AP STA), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (p. [0005], [0041]); and
sending a response frame for the request frame to the first station, wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (p. [0047]; the priority access capable AP or AP MLD sends a priority access enable response, the response may include MU EDCA parameters), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by the first station to perform channel contention (p. [0047]; after the priority access service is enabled, the priority access enable non-AP STA can use the priority access MU EDCA for subsequent priority channel access).
Regarding claim 5, Fang discloses a communication method, comprising:
sending a request frame to an access point (p. [0046]; a priority access capable non-AP STA sends a priority access enable request to a priority access capable AP or AP MLD); and
receiving a response frame that is sent by the access point for the request frame, wherein
the response frame carries a third parameter set (p. [0047]; the priority access capable non-AP STA receives a priority access enable response, the response may include MU EDCA parameters), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by a first station to perform channel contention (p. [0047]; after the priority access service is enabled, the priority access enable non-AP STA can use the priority access MU EDCA for subsequent priority channel access), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (p. [0005], [0041]).
Regarding claim 10, Fang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver module (Fig. 4; radio 415/420; p. [0068]), configured to receive a request frame from a first station (p. [0046]; priority access capable AP or AP MLD receives a priority access enable request from a priority access capable non-AP STA), wherein the first station is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non- access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (p. [0005], [0041]); and
a processing module (Fig. 4; processor 405), configured to generate a response frame for the request frame (p. [0047]; the priority access capable AP or AP MLD sends a priority access enable response, the response may include MU EDCA parameters), wherein the transceiver module is further configured to send the response frame for the request frame to the first station (p. [0047]; the priority access capable AP or AP MLD sends a priority access enable response), wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (p. [0047]; the response may include MU EDCA parameters), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by the first station to perform channel contention (p. [0047]; after the priority access service is enabled, the priority access enable non-AP STA can use the priority access MU EDCA for subsequent priority channel access).
Regarding claim 14, Fang discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
a processing module (Fig. 4; processor 405), configured to generate a request frame (p. [0046]; a priority access capable non-AP STA sends a priority access enable request to a priority access capable AP or AP MLD); and
a transceiver module (Fig. 4; radio 415/420; p. [0068]), configured to: send the request frame to an access point (p. [0046]; a priority access capable non-AP STA sends a priority access enable request to a priority access capable AP or AP MLD), and receive a response frame that is sent by the access point for the request frame, wherein the response frame carries a third parameter set (p. [0047]; the priority access capable non-AP STA receives a priority access enable response, the response may include MU EDCA parameters), and the third parameter set comprises multi-user (MU) enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameters that are to be used by the communication apparatus to perform channel contention (p. [0047]; after the priority access service is enabled, the priority access enable non-AP STA can use the priority access MU EDCA for subsequent priority channel access), wherein the communication apparatus is affiliated with an emergency preparedness communications service (EPCS) non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) (p. [0005], [0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 in view of ASTERJADHI et al. (US 2018/0098350).
Regarding claim 2, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 5, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method apparatus to claim 14, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 in view of CARIOU et al. (US 2017/0245261).
Regarding claim 7, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the method according to claim 5, but does not particularly disclose wherein the method further comprises: after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set.
However, Cariou teaches after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set (p. [0016], [0047], [0057], [0059]; the AP accesses the channel to send a trigger frame that triggers UL transmissions from multiple STAs; the STA access the channel for uplink transmissions to the AP either using EDCA parameters or MU EDCA parameters that favor MU operations in which the AP schedules UL transmissions via trigger frames). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 with the teachings of Cariou, since such a modification would allow the AP to schedule uplink transmissions from multiple non-AP STAs and indicate the STAs when to start of the EDCA contention procedures.
Regarding claim 16, Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, but does not particularly disclose wherein the processing module is further configured to: after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set.
However, Cariou teaches after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set (p. [0016], [0047], [0057], [0059]; the AP accesses the channel to send a trigger frame that triggers UL transmissions from multiple STAs; the STA access the channel for uplink transmissions to the AP either using EDCA parameters or MU EDCA parameters that favor MU operations in which the AP schedules UL transmissions via trigger frames). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Document IEEE 802.11-21/1317r4 with the teachings of Cariou, since such a modification would allow the AP to schedule uplink transmissions from multiple non-AP STAs and indicate the STAs when to start of the EDCA contention procedures.
Claims 2, 6, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FANG et al. in view of ASTERJADHI et al. (US 2018/0098350).
Regarding claim 2, Fang discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Regarding claim 6, Fang discloses the method according to claim 5, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Fang discloses the apparatus according to claim 10, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Fang discloses the method apparatus to claim 14, but does not particularly disclose wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device.
However, Asterjadhi teaches wherein the response frame further carries a fourth parameter set, the fourth parameter set comprises MU EDCA parameters that are to be used by a second station to perform channel contention, and the second station and the first station belong to a same multi-link station device (p. [0029], [0077]; an AP that supports at least first and second type of devices, the AP generates a first frame with a first EDCA parameter set (i.e., third EDCA parameter set) having an indication for a first type of device and a second frame with a second EDCA parameter set (i.e., fourth parameter set) having an indication of the second type of device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang with the teachings of Asterjadhi, since such a modification would allow different devices to obtain and use different EDCA parameter sets, effectively allowing for different access priorities (p. [0029]).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FANG et al. in view of CARIOU et al. (US 2017/0245261).
Regarding claim 7, Fang discloses the method according to claim 5, but does not particularly disclose wherein the method further comprises: after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set.
However, Cariou teaches after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set (p. [0016], [0047], [0057], [0059]; the AP accesses the channel to send a trigger frame that triggers UL transmissions from multiple STAs; the STA access the channel for uplink transmissions to the AP either using EDCA parameters or MU EDCA parameters that favor MU operations in which the AP schedules UL transmissions via trigger frames). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang with the teachings of Cariou, since such a modification would allow the AP to schedule uplink transmissions from multiple non-AP STAs and indicate the STAs when to start of the EDCA contention procedures.
Regarding claim 16, Fang discloses the apparatus according to claim 14, but does not particularly disclose wherein the processing module is further configured to: after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set.
However, Cariou teaches after a data frame triggered based on a trigger frame of the access point is sent, performing channel contention by using the parameters in the third parameter set (p. [0016], [0047], [0057], [0059]; the AP accesses the channel to send a trigger frame that triggers UL transmissions from multiple STAs; the STA access the channel for uplink transmissions to the AP either using EDCA parameters or MU EDCA parameters that favor MU operations in which the AP schedules UL transmissions via trigger frames). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fang with the teachings of Cariou, since such a modification would allow the AP to schedule uplink transmissions from multiple non-AP STAs and indicate the STAs when to start of the EDCA contention procedures.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a) CHU et al. (US 12,250,711) – High Priority Medium Access
(b) CHERIAN et al. (US 2021/0144778) – Priority Access in a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN).
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643