DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The abstract is objected to for including purported merits and speculative applications of the invention
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figs. 1-2 and 4 are objected to for containing extraneous written matter (all of the words in the figures that are not reference characters or figure labels)
Figs. 1 and 4 are objected to for showing multiple views in a single figure
In Fig. 1, ref. no. “103” is objected to because its lead lines extend across multiple views from the same ref. no.
In Fig. 4, each instance of ref. no. “121” is objected to because its lead lines extend across multiple views from the same ref. no.
Figs. 1-5 are objected to for containing excessive shading of the slender piece 102 and its securing elements 103, such that their reproduction is unclear (see US Patent Application Publication 2025/0135729)
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the securing elements having a relative position relative to the slender piece that is “adjustable”, as required by claims 5 and 6, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 5-6, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claims 3, 5-6, and 11: In each of these claims the recitation “the securing element” or “the securing elements” should be replaced with --the one or more securing elements--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11-14, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Re Claims 9, 11-14, and 18: Each of these claims is drawn to the “slender piece” of claim 1, rather than the “apparatus” as a whole of claim 1. Accordingly, these claims are improper dependent claims because they do not include all the limitation of the base claim from which they depend.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret the preamble each of these claims as follows: --The apparatus of claim …--
Re Claim 20: This claim is drawn to the “jamming means” of claim 7, rather than the “apparatus” as a whole of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is an improper dependent claim because it does not include all the limitation of the base claim from which it depends.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret claim 20 as follows:
--20. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the jamming means further comprises at least one of a sensor, a duct, an actuator or a remote signal communication device.--
Clarification and correction are required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 and 16-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-20 of copending Application No. 18/796,526 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morris US Patent 7,988,721).
Re Claim 1: Morris discloses an apparatus (260/290; see Figs. 17-20) comprising
a pre-manufactured item (frame element 262/295; see Figs. 19 and 20);
a flexible and twistable slender piece (264; see Fig. 19) having a slenderness ratio; wherein (i) the slenderness ratio is defined as the ratio of the length of the slender piece to the thickness of the slender piece and (ii) the slender piece is inserted into a cavity (the aperture at, for example, loops 278, 279/294, 293; see Figs. 19 and 20) within the pre-manufactured item; and
one or more securing elements (teeth 274/292; see Figs. 19 and 20) on the slender piece that secures the slender piece within the cavity.
Re Claim 2: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the slender piece (264; Fig. 19) is at least partially inserted (at rail member 265) into the cavity (the aperture at, for example, loops 278, 279/294, 293; see Figs. 19 and 20).
Re Claim 3: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the securing element (teeth 274/292; see Figs. 19 and 20) secures the slender piece (166; Fig.19) to the pre-manufactured item (262/296) by a method selected from the group consisting of mechanical locking means (for example, teeth 292 mechanically engaging with corners 299; see Fig, 20), mechanical pin, rivet, friction, adhesion, fusion, welding, threaded fastening and any combination thereof.
Re Claim 4: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the slender piece (264; Fig. 19) is removable from the cavity (the aperture at, for example, loops 278, 279/294, 293; see Figs. 19 and 20).
Re Claim 5: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the relative positions of the securing elements (teeth 274/292; see Figs. 19 and 20) with respect to the slender piece (264) are adjustable (for example, by sliding coupling element 266 along the rail member 265) by users.
Re Claim 6: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the relative positions of the securing elements (teeth 274/292; see Figs. 19 and 20) with respect to the slender piece (264) are adjustable (for example, by sliding coupling element 266 along the rail member 265).
Re Claim 7: Morris discloses an apparatus further comprising a jamming means (for example, corners 299, which can cause the teeth 292 to be jammed within the openings of loops 294, 295; see Fig. 20).
Re Claim 9, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris discloses an apparatus further comprising longitudinal reinforcement (for example, protrusions 267; Fig. 19).
Re Claim 11, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the securing element (teeth 274/292; see Figs. 19 and 20) comprises a buffer layer (for example, an outer layer of the material of the teeth; note that the device can be formed of a layered material; see Col. 9 lines 34-35).
Re Claim 12, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the buffer layer (for example, an outer layer of the material of the teeth) comprises particle modifiers where the particle modifiers are selected from nanoparticles (see Col. 40 lines 33-35) or microparticles.
Re Claim 14, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the buffer layer (for example, an outer layer of the material of the teeth) the particle modifiers in said buffer layer are selected from one or more of the following: carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, graphene, electrically conductive nanofibers or nanoparticles, carbon blacks, carbon fibers (see Col 40 lines 32-35), and other electrically conductive microfibers and microparticles.
Re Claim 15: Morris discloses an apparatus, wherein the apparatus is reinforced by the slender piece (166; Fig.19).
Re Claim 16: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein two or more pre-manufactured items (see Fig. 17) are connected through at least one slender piece (body section 264, including rail member 265; Fig. 19).
Re Claim 17: Morris discloses an apparatus further comprising two or more slender pieces (at 269’ and 269’’; Fig. 19) connected to one another through a slender piece connecting means (upper body section 264 in Fig. 19).
Re Claim 18, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris discloses an apparatus wherein the slender piece further comprising at least one of a sensor, a duct (for example, the opening at 269’’’; Fig. 19), an actuator or a remote signal communication device.
Re Claim 19: Morris discloses an apparatus further comprising a release guide means (for example, the surface of the opening of loop 294/295/297/298 opposite of the corners 299, which can be used to guide the surface of the rail member 265).
Re Claim 20, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris discloses an apparatus, wherein the jamming means (for example, corners 299) further comprises at least one of a sensor, a duct (for example, the opening between corners 299; Fig. 20), an actuator or a remote signal communication device.
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 15-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James US Patent 5,286,135).
Re Claim 1: James discloses an apparatus (70; see Fig. 6) comprising
a pre-manufactured item (32, 12);
a flexible and twistable slender piece (70) having a slenderness ratio; wherein (i) the slenderness ratio is defined as the ratio of the length of the slender piece to the thickness of the slender piece and (ii) the slender piece is inserted into a cavity (46; see Fig. 3b) within the pre-manufactured item; and
one or more securing elements (72) on the slender piece that secures the slender piece within the cavity.
Re Claim 2: James discloses an apparatus wherein the slender piece (70; Fig. 6) is at least partially inserted into the cavity (46; Fig. 3b).
Re Claim 3: James discloses an apparatus wherein the securing element (72; Fig. 6) secures the slender piece (70) to the pre-manufactured item (32, 12) by a method selected from the group consisting of mechanical locking means (for example, by splice ring 70, including the teeth 72 mechanically engaging the cavity 46), mechanical pin, rivet, friction, adhesion, fusion, welding, threaded fastening and any combination thereof.
Re Claim 4: James discloses an apparatus wherein the slender piece (70; Fig. 6) is removable from the cavity (46).
Re Claim 8: James discloses an apparatus further comprising a deformation control device (for example, power driven device 74 can be considered a “deformation control device” since it controls the bending deformation of splice ring 70 by controlling its insertion into the cavity between members 12, 32; see Fig. 6).
Re Claim 10: James discloses an apparatus wherein the deformation control device (74; Fig. 6) is selected from the group consisting of a piezoelectric disk, a hydraulic cylinder, a power screw (76), a pinion-rack gear system, and a gear box.
Re Claim 15: James discloses an apparatus, wherein the apparatus is reinforced by the slender piece (70).
Re Claim 16, as best understood by the Examiner: James discloses an apparatus wherein at least one slender piece (70) connects two or more pre-manufactured items (12 and 32).
Re Claim 18, as best understood by the Examiner: James discloses an apparatus wherein the slender piece further comprising at least one of a sensor, a duct, an actuator (74; Fig. 6) or a remote signal communication device.
Re Claim 19: James discloses an apparatus further comprising a release guide means (for example, the opening in housing member 32, through which splice ring 70 extends; Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris US Patent 7,988,721).
Re Claim 13, as best understood by the Examiner: Morris, as applied to claim 11 above, discloses an apparatus significantly as claimed except wherein the buffer layer is piezoresistive.
Examiner notes that it has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) [discussed in MPEP 2144.07].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Morris, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the buffer layer is piezoresistive, for the purpose of achieving desired material characteristics, and since such a material choice would amount to a design consideration within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678