DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference numerals 1122, 1123 in figure 2 do not match the numerals mentioned in the specification (i.e. oil slots 1212, oil leak prevention slots 1213 as disclosed in paragraph [0028] of applicant's specification filed 8/30/24). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiyama (US Patent No.: 6059459) in view of Shishido et al. (US Patent No.: 7775719).
For claim 1, Ichiyama discloses the claimed invention comprising a cylindrical bearing main body (reference numeral 4, figure 1); and a through hole (i.e. hole in which shaft 3 is disposed, see figure 1) provided in a center of the bearing main body in a penetrating manner (see figure 1), wherein an oil storage groove (reference numeral 48) is arranged in a middle part of the through hole (see figure 1); a plurality of oil slots (reference numerals 50, 52, see figure 2) are provided on upper and lower sides of an inner wall of the through hole (see figure 2); the oil slots (reference numerals 50, 52) are herringbone (see figure 2); and Ichiyama also disclose additional slots (reference numeral 84, figure 2) positioned near end openings of the through hole (see figure 2). Ichiyama however does not specifically disclose the additional slots being oil leak prevention slots that are respectively provided on two sides, close to end openings, of the inner wall of the through hole; and the two oil leak prevention slots being respectively communicated with the corresponding oil slots.
Shishido et al. disclose two oil leak prevention slots (reference numerals 343b, 344b, see figure 20) being respectively communicated with the corresponding oil slots (reference numerals 343a, 344a, see figure 20), which when applied to the additional slots of Ichiyama would disclose oil leak prevention slots being respectively provided on two sides, close to end openings, of the inner wall of the through hole; and the two oil leak prevention slots being respectively communicated with the corresponding oil slots.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the oil leak prevention slots as disclosed by Shishido et al. for the oil slots of Ichiyama for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper lubrication of the components within the device.
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shih et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2008/0267545 A1).
For claim 2, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a plurality of heat dissipation slots being provided on an outer side of the bearing main body. Shih et al. disclose slots (reference numeral 122, figure 4) on an outer side of the bearing body (reference numeral 10, see figure 4), which when applied to the bearing body of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. would disclose a plurality of heat dissipation slots being provided on an outer side of the bearing main body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the heat dissipation slots as disclosed by Shih et al. for the outer side of the bearing main body of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper cooling of the device.
For claim 4, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Shih et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a material of the bearing main body being copper. Shishido et al. further disclose the bearing being made of copper (see column 14, lines 30-34), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the copper as disclosed by Shishido et al. for the material of the bearing main body of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Shih et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper structure of the device.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2021/0348616 A1).
For claim 5, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a rotating shaft, and a magnet, wherein the rotating shaft is arranged on the hydrodynamic bearing in a movably penetrating manner; the rotating shaft and the hydrodynamic bearing are connected in a non-contact manner through lubricating oil; and the magnet is fixedly arranged on the rotating shaft and drives the rotating shaft to rotate. Having a bearing assembly with a rotating shaft, a magnet, wherein the rotating shaft is arranged on the bearing in a movably penetrating manner; the rotating shaft and the bearing are connected in a non-contact manner; and the magnet is fixedly arranged on the rotating shaft and drives the rotating shaft to rotate is a known skill as exhibited by Hwang et al. (i.e. figure 3 of Hwang et al. disclose a rotating shaft 110 in figure 2, a magnet 141 in figures 2 and 3, the rotating shaft arranged on the bearing 180 in a movably penetrating manner in figures 2 and 3; the rotating shaft 110 and the bearing 180 are connected in a non-contact manner in figures 2 and 3; and the magnet 141 is fixedly arranged on the rotating shaft 110 and drives the rotating shaft 110 to rotate in figures 2 and 3), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have these components of the bearing assembly as disclosed by Hwang et al. for the hydrodynamic bearing of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper drive of the rotating manner of the device.
For claim 6, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Hwang et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the rotating shaft comprising a rotating shaft main body and a limiting column; the limiting column being arranged at a middle part of the rotating shaft main body; and the rotating shaft main body and the limiting column being integrally formed. Hwang et al. further disclose the rotating shaft main body (reference numeral 113, figure 2) and a limiting column (reference numeral 112, see figure 2); the limiting column (reference numeral 112) being arranged at a middle part of the rotating shaft main body (see figure 2); and the rotating shaft main body (reference numeral 113) and the limiting column (reference numeral 112) being integrally formed (see figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the rotating shaft main body and the limiting column as disclosed by Hwang et al. for the rotating shaft of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Hwang et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper structure assembly of the device.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Hwang et al. as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zhang (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 109617352 A).
For claim 7, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Hwang et al. disclose the claimed invention including the bearing assembly according to claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), but Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Hwang et al. however do not specifically disclose a high-speed motor, comprising a motor shell, a circuit board, a stator assembly, and fan blades, wherein the motor shell is a hollow cylindrical chamber; the stator assembly is fixedly arranged in the motor shell; the circuit board is fixed on one side of the stator assembly and is electrically connected to the stator assembly; the bearing assembly is arranged on the stator assembly in a movably penetrating manner; and the fan blades are fixedly arranged at one end of the bearing assembly. Hwang et al. further disclose a high-speed motor (i.e. fan motor, see the Abstract of Hwang et al.), comprising a motor shell (reference numeral 100, figure 2), a stator assembly (reference numeral 130, figure 2), and fan blades (reference numeral 120, figure 2), wherein the motor shell is a hollow cylindrical chamber (reference numeral 100, figure 2); the stator assembly (reference numeral 130) is fixedly arranged in the motor shell (reference numeral 100, figure 2); the bearing assembly (reference numeral 180) is arranged on the stator assembly (reference numeral 130) in a movably penetrating manner (figure 2); and the fan blades (reference numeral 120) are fixedly arranged at one end of the bearing assembly (see figure 2). Zhang discloses a circuit board (reference numeral 40, figure 3), and the circuit board (reference numeral 40) being fixed on one side of the stator assembly (reference numeral 70) and is electrically connected to the stator assembly (see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the high-speed motor with the motor shell, stator assembly, and fan blades as disclosed by Hwang et al. and also the circuit board as disclosed by Zhang for the bearing assembly of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al. and Hwang et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper functioning of motor components within the device.
For claim 8, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the stator assembly comprising a stator core and a stator winding; the stator core being fixedly arranged in the motor shell; and the stator winding being arranged on the stator core. Hwang et al. further disclose the stator assembly comprising a stator core (reference numeral 131, figure 2) and a stator winding (reference numeral 134, figure 2); the stator core (reference numeral 131) being fixedly arranged in the motor shell (see figure 3); and the stator winding (reference numeral 134) being arranged on the stator core (see figures 2, 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the stator core and stator winding as disclosed by Hwang et al. for the stator assembly of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang for predictably providing functional stator components within the device.
For claim 9, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for a connection interface being arranged on the circuit board, and the connection interface using a connection needle seat. Zhang further discloses a connection interface (reference numeral 42) being arranged on the circuit board (reference numeral 40, see figure 3), and the connection interface using a connection needle seat (reference numeral 42, see figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection needle seat for the connection interface as disclosed by Zhang for the circuit board of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper connections between components of the device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Smith (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2018/0259019 A1).
For claim 10, Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang disclose the claimed invention except for the motor shell being made of a metal material, and contact portions between the hydrodynamic bearing and an inner wall of the motor shell being in interference fit. Smith discloses the motor shell (reference numeral 4, figure 1) being made of a metal material (see paragraph [0060]), and Smith also discloses the bearing (reference numeral 11, figure 1) and the motor shell (reference numeral 4, figure 1) being in interference fit (see paragraph [0021]), which when applied to the hydrodynamic bearing of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang would disclose contact portions between the hydrodynamic bearing and an inner wall of the motor shell being in interference fit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have metal material for the motor shell and also have interference fitting between the bearing and the shell as disclosed by Smith for the motor shell of Ichiyama in view of Shishido et al., Hwang et al., and Zhang for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating proper assembly for the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including the heat dissipation slots comprising transverse heat dissipation slots and longitudinal heat dissipation slots; and the transverse heat dissipation slots and the longitudinal heat dissipation slots being respectively crosswise arranged on the outer side of the bearing main body as recited in claim 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of hydrodynamic bearing units: US 9500227 B2 (Chen; Yu-Yueh), US 9030069 B2 (Kwon; Yong Il et al.), US 8177433 B2 (Ito; Kenji et al.), US 8001691 B2 (Hou; Chuen-Shu), US 7857516 B2 (Hou; Chuen-Shu), US 7210850 B2 (Kusaka; Keigo et al.), US 6765326 B1 (Nakazono; Eiichiro et al.), US 20150267741 A1 (CHEN; YU-YUEH), US 20140271287 A1 (SMIRNOV; Viatcheslav), US 20130004351 A1 (Hirono; Teiichi et al.), US 20080037915 A1 (Obara; Rikuro), US 20040104634 A1 (Nishimura, Hideki et al.), US 20040028301 A1 (Kull, Andreas et al.).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834