DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 8/30/2024.
Claims 1-18 are pending with claims 1 and 17-18 as independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/30/2024 was filed at the same time of the mailing date of the application on 8/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MIYAZAKI (US 2018/0220017).
Claim 1. A remote control system comprising an image processing apparatus, a server, and at least one network terminal, the image processing apparatus including an image processing controller and an image processing display, the server including a server controller, the network terminal including a network terminal controller and a network terminal display, a remote control of the image processing apparatus by user operations on the network terminal through the server being enabled, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0021-0032 and 0035] “The image processing system 1 includes a multifunction peripheral (hereinbelow termed “MFP”) 10, and a terminal 200 configured capable of communicating with the MFP 10… the MFP 10 functions as a Web server, and the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 functions as a client. One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the remote control system may comprise a multifunction peripheral (MFP) as the image processing apparatus, terminal 200 as the at least one network terminal, and web server integrated with the MFP. The MFP may comprise LCD 16 having touch panel 17 as the MFP display and the terminal may comprise LCD 216 having touch panel 217 as the terminal 200 display, as shown in fig. 1,
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
a first displaying process of displaying a first display screen on the image processing display; a first generating process of generating first screen data that indicates the first display screen, the first screen data enabling the network terminal display to display the first display screen; and a first transmitting process of transmitting the first screen data generated in the first generating process to the server, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0026 and 0035-0039] “In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10… the CPU 11 displays the home screen on the LCD 16. FIG. 12 shows an example of the home screen P1. The home screen P1 includes button images B1 to B3. The button images B1 to B3 are images respectively for accepting an execution instruction for a FAX process, a copy process, and a scan process.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may generate and display home screen button images B1-B3 and keys K1-K3 as screen data displayed on the home screen 16 as shown in fig. 12,
wherein the server controller is configured to perform:
a first receiving process of receiving the first screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the first transmitting process; and a second transmitting process of transmitting the first screen data received in the first receiving process to the network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0035] “One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client. In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server, and
wherein the network terminal controller is configured to perform:
a second receiving process of receiving the first screen data transmitted from the server controller in the second transmitting process; and a second displaying process of displaying the first display screen on the network terminal display based on the first screen data received in the second receiving process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0035] “One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client. In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10.” And in [0087] “the CPU 11 displays a remote control screen on the LCD 216. FIG. 14 shows an example of a remote control screen C1. The remote control screen C1 includes a virtual screen PV1 and virtual key images KV1 to KV3. In the example of FIG. 14, the virtual screen PV1 is a screen with identical contents as the home screen P1 in FIG. 12. Each of the virtual key images KV1 to KV3 is an image corresponding to one of the STOP key K1 to HOME key K3.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. Terminal 200 may display virtual remote control screen C1 as the first screen data terminal 200 may receive from the web server as shown in fig. 14,
Claim 2. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 1 is incorporated,
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
a third displaying process of displaying a second display screen, instead of the first display screen, on the image processing display, the second display screen being a screen changed from the first display screen; a second generating process of generating second screen data that indicates the second display screen when the second display screen is displayed on the image processing display in the third displaying process, the second screen data enabling the network terminal display to display the second display screen; and a third transmitting process of transmitting the second screen data generated in the second generating process to the server, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to the user click action on button B1, the MFP may generate a second screen (P2) by switching from first screen (P1) and may transmit the second screen (P2) as PV2 (the second screen on the terminal) as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the server controller is configured to perform:
a third receiving process of receiving the second screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the first transmitting process; and a fourth transmitting process of transmitting the second screen data received in the third receiving process to the network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. All receiving and transmitting actions between the terminal and the MFP may be implemented via the web server as shown in fig. 15, and
wherein the network terminal controller is configured to perform:
a fourth receiving process of receiving the second screen data transmitted from the server controller in the fourth transmitting process; and a fourth displaying process of displaying the second display screen instead of the first display screen displayed on the network terminal display based on the second screen data received in the fourth receiving process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. The second screen (PV2) may represent receiving, at the terminal 200, second screen data transmitted by the web server to the terminal 200 as a client as shown in fig. 15.
Claim 3. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 2 is incorporated,
wherein the network terminal controller is configured to perform:
a first operation receiving process of receiving an input operation to a particular position on the first display screen displayed on the network terminal in the second displaying process; and a first event transmitting process of transmitting touch event information corresponding to the input operation received in the first operation receiving process, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the input to particular position may be indicated by button (B1) being the pressed position in screen (PV1) on terminal 200 and the transmission of the press event may indicated by press on button (B1) on screen (P1) on the MFP as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the server controller is configured to perform:
a first event receiving process of receiving the touch event information transmitted from the network terminal controller in the first event transmitting process; and a second event transmitting process of transmitting the touch event information received in the first event receiving process to the image processing apparatus, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0035] “One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client. In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. All receiving and transmitting requests between the terminal 200 and the MFP may be implemented via the web server, and
wherein the image processing controller is configured to:
perform a second event receiving process of receiving the touch event information transmitted from the server controller in the second event transmitting process; and in the third displaying process, display the second display screen, which is changed from the first display screen, on the image processing display in response to the touch event information received in the second event receiving process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the input to particular position may be indicated by button (B1) being the pressed position in screen (PV1) on terminal 200 and the transmission of the press event may be indicated by press on button (B1) on screen (P1) on the MFP as shown in fig. 15.
Claim 8. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated,
wherein the image processing display of the image processing apparatus is a touch screen panel, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0024] “The MFP 10 is provided with a CPU 11, a flash memory 12, a RAM 13, input keys 15, an LCD 16, a touch panel 17, a scanner 18, a printer 19, an NCU 20, a modem 21, and a wireless communication module 23.” (emphasis added),
wherein the input operation received in the first operation receiving process includes:
a press input operation corresponding to contact of an indicator with the touch screen panel or close proximity of the indicator to the touch screen panel; and a release input operation corresponding to release of the indicator from contact with or close proximity to the touch screen panel, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0027] “The touch panel 17 detects that a press operation is inputted when an indicator such as a finger or a stick is brought close to or into contact with the screen of the LCD 16, and outputs a press coordinate indicating a pressed position. Further, when the indicator such as the finger or a stick, which had been close to or in contact with the screen of the LCD 16, is withdrawn away therefrom, the touch panel 17 detects that a release operation is inputted, and outputs a release coordinate indicating a released position.” (emphasis added),
wherein the touch event information includes:
press event information, which corresponds to the press input operation, including press input operation time information; and release event information, which corresponds to the release input operation, including release input operation time information, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042-0044] the CPU 11 determines whether or not an http(s) cgi request including screen press information and press coordinate information is received from the terminal 200… the CPU 11 determines whether or not an http(s) cgi request including release information and release coordinate information is received from the terminal 200. The release information is information indicating that a release operation has been inputted to a position within the home screen P1 displayed in the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 by a remote operation from the terminal 200.” (emphasis added) examiner note: input operation time information may indicate press time and/or release time for the system to recognize an input gesture, which may be included in press information and/or the release information, and
wherein the server controller is configured to:
perform a first long-press determining process of determining whether a time interval is longer than a particular threshold value based on the press event information and the release event information included in the touch event information received in the first event receiving process, the time interval being an interval between the press input operation time information of the press event information and the release input operation time information of the release event information; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042-0044] the CPU 11 determines whether or not an http(s) cgi request including screen press information and press coordinate information is received from the terminal 200… the CPU 11 determines whether or not an http(s) cgi request including release information and release coordinate information is received from the terminal 200. The release information is information indicating that a release operation has been inputted to a position within the home screen P1 displayed in the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 by a remote operation from the terminal 200.” (emphasis added) examiner note: input operation time information may indicate press time and/or release time for the system to recognize an input gesture, which may be included in press information and/or the release information, and
in response to determining whether the time interval is longer than the particular threshold value, transmit touch event information to the image processing apparatus in the second event transmitting process, the touch event information causing the image processing apparatus to perform a first particular process or a second particular process different from the first particular process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042-0044] “the CPU 11 executes a screen pressing process. The CPU 11 then returns to S15. The screen pressing process is a series of processes for executing processes according to the press coordinate information in the MFP 10 and to send an html script and screen data to the terminal 200… the CPU 11 executes a releasing process. The CPU 11 then returns to S15. The releasing process is a series of processes for executing processes according to the release coordinate information in the MFP 10 and to send an html script and screen data to the terminal 200.” (emphasis added).
Claim 9. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated,
wherein the image processing display of the image processing apparatus is a touch screen panel, wherein the input operation received in the first operation receiving process includes:
a press input operation corresponding to contact an indicator with the touch screen panel or close proximity of the indicator to the touch screen panel; and a release input operation corresponding to release of the indicator from contact with or close proximity to the touch screen panel, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042] “The screen press information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed by a remote operation from the terminal 200. The press coordinate information is information indicating the pressed position on the home screen P1. When an affirmative determination is made in S30 (S30: YES), the CPU 11 proceeds to S40.” And in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added),
wherein the touch event information includes:
press event information, which corresponds to the press input operation, including press input operation time information; and release event information, which corresponds to the release input operation, including release input operation time information, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0089] “the CPU 211 determines whether or not a predetermined time has elapsed since a screen updating process of S830 was previously executed.” (emphasis added), and
wherein the image processing controller is configured to:
perform a second long-press determining process of determining whether a time interval is longer than a particular threshold value based on the press event information and the release event information included in the touch event information received in the second event receiving process, the time interval being an interval between the press input operation time information of the press event information and the release input operation time information of the release event information; and in response to determining whether the time interval is longer than the particular threshold value, perform a third particular process or fourth particular process different from the third particular process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0089] “the CPU 211 determines whether or not a predetermined time has elapsed since a screen updating process of S830 was previously executed. When a negative determination is made (S820: NO), the CPU 211 proceeds to S840, and when an affirmative determination is made (S820: YES), the CPU 211 proceeds to S830. In S830, the CPU 211 executes the screen updating process.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the long press may be time information to be elapse before executing a press action or release action. Such elapsing of time may be threshold value.
Claim 10. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated, wherein the network terminal controller is configured to perform a disabling process of disabling a new input operation to the network terminal display until the second display screen is displayed on the network terminal display when the second display screen in displayed on the network terminal display instead of the first display screen in the fourth displaying process based on the input operation received in the first operation receiving process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration… the terminal 200 updates the virtual screen PV1 to a virtual screen PV2 according to the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 (S1040). Due to this, the virtual screen PV2 including the same contents as the FAX sending screen P2 being displayed on the MFP 10 can be displayed in the terminal 200.” (emphasis added).
Claim 11. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated, wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform a disabling process of disabling receiving of new touch event information corresponding to a new input operation to the network terminal display until the second display screen is displayed on the image processing display when the second display screen in displayed on the image processing display instead of the first display screen in the third displaying process based on the touch event information, which is received in the second event receiving process, corresponding to the input operation to the network terminal. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added).
Claim 12. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated, further comprising a plurality of network terminals including a first network terminal and a second network terminal, remote control of the image processing apparatus being enabled by a user operation to each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0102] “The MFP 10 can be caused to function as the Web server, and the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 can be caused to function as a client.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the terminal 200 may represent one or more clients or terminals 200,
wherein the image processing controller is configured to:
in the first generating process, generate the first screen data enabling the network terminal display of each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal to display the first display screen; and in the first transmitting process, transmit the first screen data generated in the first generating process to the server, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as well,
wherein the server controller is configured to:
in the first receiving process, receive the first screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the first transmitting process; and in the second transmitting process, transmit the first screen data to each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the network terminal controller of each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal is configured to:
in the second receiving process, receive the first screen data transmitted from the server controller in the second transmitting process; and in the second displaying process, display the first display screen on the network terminal display of each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the network terminal controller of the first network terminal is configured to:
in the first operation receiving process, receive an input operation to a particular position on the first display screen displayed on the network terminal of the first network terminal in the second displaying process; and in the first event transmitting process, transmit touch event information corresponding to the input operation received in the first operation receiving process, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the server controller is configured to:
in the first event receiving process, receive the touch event information transmitted from the network terminal controller of the first network terminal in the first event transmitting process; and in the second event transmitting process, transmit the touch event information received in the first event receiving process to the image processing apparatus, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the image processing controller is configured to:
in the second event receiving process, receive the touch event information transmitted from the server controller in the second event transmitting process; in the third displaying process, display the second display screen, which is a screen changed from the first display screen, on the image processing display in response to the touch event information received in the second event receiving process; in the second generating process, generate the second screen data enabling the network terminal display of each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal to display the second display screen; and in the third transmitting process, transmit the second screen data generated in the second generating process to the server, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the server controller is configured to:
in the third receiving process, receive the second screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the third transmitting process; and in the fourth transmitting process, transmit the second screen data received in the third receiving process to each of the first network terminal and the second network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0103] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15,
wherein the network terminal controller of the first network terminal is configured to:
in the fourth receiving process, receive the second screen data transmitted from the server controller in the fourth transmitting process; and in the fourth displaying process, switch the first display screen displayed on the network terminal display of the first network terminal to the second display screen based on the second screen data received in the fourth receiving process and display the second display screen in a first mode, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0107] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15. Screen (PV2) may be the second screen data displayed on the terminal in the first mode, and
wherein the network terminal controller of the second network terminal is configured to:
in the fourth receiving process, receive the second screen data transmitted from the server controller in the fourth transmitting process; and in the fourth displaying process, switch the first display screen displayed on the network terminal display of the first network terminal to the second display screen based on the second screen data received in the fourth receiving process and display the second display screen in a second mode different form the first mode. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0107] “a case will be described in which the user is tapping on the button image B1 in the virtual screen in the terminal 200 as an initial state. In this case, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying the virtual screen PV1, in which the button image B1 is being displayed in the pressed configuration.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the virtual screen (PV1) may be the first screen data displayed on the terminal 200. Since terminal 200 operates as client to the web server associated with the MFP device, a second client may request and obtain the first screen data as shown in fig. 15. Screen (PV2) may be the second screen data displayed on the terminal in the first mode and screen (PV3a) may be second screen data displayed in second mode as shown in fig. 16,
Claim 14. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 2 is incorporated,
wherein the image processing display of the image processing apparatus is a touch screen panel; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0024] “The MFP 10 is provided with a CPU 11, a flash memory 12, a RAM 13, input keys 15, an LCD 16, a touch panel 17, a scanner 18, a printer 19, an NCU 20, a modem 21, and a wireless communication module 23.” (emphasis added),
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
an instruction receiving process of receiving an instruction operation by an indicator contacting, coming into proximity to, or releasing from the touch screen panel; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0067-0071] “The contents of the screen pressing process of S40 will be described with reference to FIG. 4. In S410, the CPU 11 executes conversion process of a coordinate indicated by the press coordinate information received in S30. The conversion process is a process for matching the pressed position on the virtual screen of the browser app 212b and a pressed position on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10… the CPU 11 sends an http(s) cgi response to the terminal 200.” And in [0072-0078] “The contents of the releasing process of S60 will be described with reference to FIG. 5. In S510, the CPU 11 determines whether or not the MFP 10 is set in a press-release coordinate matching mode. The press-release coordinate matching mode is a mode for bringing the release coordinate to match the press coordinate when the press coordinate and the release coordinate are different. In the press-release coordinate matching mode, the processes corresponding to the press coordinate can surely be executed even if the press coordinate and the release coordinate are different.” (emphasis added),
a fifth displaying process of displaying a third display screen, instead of the first display screen, on the image processing display, the third display screen being a screen changed from the first display screen based on the instruction operation received in the fifth displaying process; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0105] “A second operational example will be described with reference to FIG. 16. In the second operational example, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying a first password input screen P3 including the screen keyboard image KB1 and a text input BOX image TB1 in the initial state.” (emphasis added) examiner note: screen (P3a) may be the third display screen, as shown in fig. 16, because screen (P3) may be the first screen,
a third generating process of: generating third screen data that indicates the third display screen when the third display screen is displayed on the image processing display in the fifth displaying process, the third screen data enabling the network terminal display to display the third display screen; and a fifth transmitting process of transmitting the third screen data generated in the third generating process to the server, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0106-0107] When the user taps on one of the key images in the screen keyboard image included in the virtual screen PV3 (S910: YES), the http(s) cgi request including the press-release information and the press-release coordinate information is sent to the MFP 10 (S920). When the http(s) cgi request is received (S90: YES), the MFP 10 executes the screen switching process (S730), and switches to a second password input screen P3a. The second password input screen P3a is a screen in which asterisks indicating that the password has been inputted. In the screen switching process (S730), the pressing process and the releasing process are simultaneously executed… The terminal 200 receives the http(s) cgi response (S1120). The processes hereafter from S1140 to S1040 are identical to contents of the processes shown in an area R1 of FIG. 15. Due to this, a virtual screen PV3a having identical contents as the second password input screen P3a being displayed on the MFP 10 can be displayed on the terminal 200.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the terminal 200 may display the third screen (PV3a) as screen identical to screen (P3a) on the MFP,
wherein the server controller is configured to:
a fifth receiving process of receiving the third screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the fifth transmitting process; and a sixth transmitting process of transmitting the third screen data received in the fifth receiving process to the network terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0035] “One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client. In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server, and
wherein the network terminal controller is configured to perform:
a sixth receiving process of receiving the third screen data transmitted from the server controller in the sixth transmitting process; and a sixth displaying process of displaying the third display screen, instead of the first display screen displayed on the network display in a third mode, in a fourth mode different from the third mode, based on the third screen data received in the sixth receiving process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0107] “the MFP 10 stores screen data of the second password input screen P3a in the RAM 13 (S740). The MFP 10 sends the http(s) cgi response including the screen update script to the terminal 200 (S750). The terminal 200 receives the http(s) cgi response (S1120). The processes hereafter from S1140 to S1040 are identical to contents of the processes shown in an area R1 of FIG. 15. Due to this, a virtual screen PV3a having identical contents as the second password input screen P3a being displayed on the MFP 10 can be displayed on the terminal 200.” (emphasis added).
Claim 15. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 2 is incorporated, further comprising
a local terminal including a local terminal controller and a local terminal display, remote control of the image processing apparatus being enabled by a user operation to the local terminal,
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
a fourth generating process of generating fourth screen data enabling the local terminal display to display the first display screen, the fourth screen data indicating the first display screen displayed in the first displaying process; and a seventh transmitting process of transmitting the fourth screen data generated in the fourth generating process to the local terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0058] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not the MFP 10 is set in a bidirectional communication mode. The bidirectional communication mode is a mode by which screen data representing the displayed screen of the LCD 16 is sent periodically to the terminal 200. The setting of the bidirectional communication mode may freely be set by the user. Due to this, even when the screen being displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has changed, the virtual screen displayed by the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 can be changed without delay.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the bidirectional communication mode may enable terminal 200 to display the first screen (virtual screen PV1),
wherein the local terminal controller of the local terminal is configured to perform:
a seventh receiving process of receiving the fourth screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the seventh transmitting process; and a seventh displaying process of displaying the first display screen on the local terminal display based on the fourth screen data received in the seventh receiving process, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0058-0065] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not the MFP 10 is set in a bidirectional communication mode. The bidirectional communication mode is a mode by which screen data representing the displayed screen of the LCD 16 is sent periodically to the terminal 200. The setting of the bidirectional communication mode may freely be set by the user. Due to this, even when the screen being displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has changed, the virtual screen displayed by the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 can be changed without delay.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the bidirectional communication mode may enable terminal 200 to display the first screen (virtual screen PV1),
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
a fifth generating process of generating fifth screen data that indicates the second display screen when the second display screen is displayed in the seventh displaying process instead of the first display screen, the fifth screen data enabling the local terminal display to display the second display screen; and an eighth transmitting process of transmitting the fifth screen data generated in the fifth generating process to the local terminal, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0058-0065] “the CPU 11 sends the http(s) response to the terminal 200. Further, the CPU 11 sends the screen data read in S300 to the terminal 200. The body of the http(s) response includes various cgi scripts generated in S210 to S273. Further, a header of the http(s) response includes information indicating that the http(s) request received in S15 has succeeded.” (emphasis added),
wherein the local terminal controller is configured to perform:
an eighth receiving process of receiving the fifth screen data transmitted from the image processing controller in the eighth transmitting process; and an eighth displaying process of displaying the second display screen instead of the first display screen displayed on the local terminal display based on the fifth screen data received in the eighth receiving process, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0035] “One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client. In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10.” And in [0087] “the CPU 11 displays a remote control screen on the LCD 216. FIG. 14 shows an example of a remote control screen C1. The remote control screen C1 includes a virtual screen PV1 and virtual key images KV1 to KV3. In the example of FIG. 14, the virtual screen PV1 is a screen with identical contents as the home screen P1 in FIG. 12. Each of the virtual key images KV1 to KV3 is an image corresponding to one of the STOP key K1 to HOME key K3.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. Terminal 200 may display virtual remote control screen C1 as the first screen data terminal 200 may receive from the web server as shown in fig. 14. The fifth screen data may be screen data, similar to screen (PV2), regarding request, from the terminal 200, regarding scan and/or copy operation as shown in fig. 15, and
wherein the image processing controller is configured to exclusively perform one of:
a first mode-related processing mode including the first generating process, the first transmitting process, the third displaying process, the second generating process, and the third transmitting process according to a first mode associated with the network terminal connected to the image processing apparatus through the server; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0039] “the CPU 11 displays the home screen on the LCD 16. FIG. 12 shows an example of the home screen P1. The home screen P1 includes button images B1 to B3… the button images B1 to B3 are images respectively for accepting an input of a display switching instruction for switching the home screen P1 to a FAX screen, a copy screen, and a scan screen.” And in [0099] “the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) cgi response including the screen update script to the terminal 200 (S570). The terminal 200 receives this http(s) cgi response (S1120).” And in [0102] “The MFP 10 can be caused to function as the Web server, and the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 can be caused to function as a client.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the first mode may be the MFP generates home screen (P1). The home screen (P1) may receive a request to switch the home screen from screen (P1) to screen (P2). The home screen may generate and display screen (P2) and transmit, via the web server, screen (P2) to terminal 200 as virtual screen (PV2) as shown in fig. 15, and
a second mode-related processing mode including the fourth generating process, the seventh transmitting process, the fifth generating process, and the eighth transmitting process according to a second mode associated with the local terminal, the second mode being performed independently of the first mode. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0105-0107] “A second operational example will be described with reference to FIG. 16. In the second operational example, the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying a first password input screen P3 including the screen keyboard image KB1 and a text input BOX image TB1 in the initial state. Further, the remote control screen C1 of the terminal 200 is displaying a virtual screen PV3 including the identical contents as the first password input screen P3… the MFP 10 executes the screen switching process (S730), and switches to a second password input screen P3a. The second password input screen P3a is a screen in which asterisks indicating that the password has been inputted… The terminal 200 receives the http(s) cgi response (S1120). The processes hereafter from S1140 to S1040 are identical to contents of the processes shown in an area R1 of FIG. 15. Due to this, a virtual screen PV3a having identical contents as the second password input screen P3a being displayed on the MFP 10 can be displayed on the terminal 200.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the second mode may be displaying first password screen (P3), generating, by switching, screen (P3) to screen (P3a), and sending screen (P3a) to terminal 200 as virtual screen (PV3a) as shown in fig. 16.
Claim 16. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 15 is incorporated,
wherein the local terminal further includes a local storage, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0070] “the CPU 11 generates screen data for the home screen P1 in which the pressed button image is displayed in the pressed configuration, and stores the same in the RAM 13.” (emphasis added) examiner note: RAM 13 may be local storage for MFP,
wherein the local terminal controller is configured to perform:
a second operation receiving process of receiving an input operation to a particular position on the first display screen displayed on the local terminal in the seventh displaying process; and a second event storing process of storing, in the local storage, touch event information corresponding to the input operation received in the second operation receiving process, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0068] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not the stored press coordinate is within a display area of one of the button images B1 to B3. When an affirmative determination is made (S430: YES), the CPU 11 proceeds to S435. In S435, the CPU 11 determines whether or not the button image, within the display area of which the press coordinate is existing, is a button image for switching the screen being currently displayed on the LCD 16.
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform a second event query transmitting process of transmitting a query to the server at second particular intervals to check for the existence of the touch event information to be stored in the terminal storage, and wherein the local terminal controller is configured to perform a third event transmitting process of transmitting, to the image processing apparatus, touch event information stored in the terminal storage in the second event storing process when receiving the query from the image processing controller in the second event query transmitting process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0058-0065] “In S230, the CPU 11 determines whether or not the MFP 10 is set in a bidirectional communication mode. The bidirectional communication mode is a mode by which screen data representing the displayed screen of the LCD 16 is sent periodically to the terminal 200… the CPU 11 executes a process to generate a periodic update script. The periodic update script is a cgi script for instructing the terminal 200 to periodically send an http(s) request that requests for screen data to the MFP 10… the CPU 11 executes a process to generate a screen data requesting script. The screen data requesting script is a cgi script for instructing the terminal 200 to send the http(s) request requesting the screen data to the MFP 10 on condition that an input operation is accepted in the terminal 200 at a position within the virtual screen that the browser app 212b is displaying.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP CPU 11 (controller) may be configured to periodically transmit a request (query) to check for screen data (updates) on terminal 200 display and the terminal CPU 211 (controller) may be configured to transmit press event, which may change the displayed data on the terminal display to the MFP. The MFP has flash memory 12 as storage and the terminal has flash memory 212 as storage as shown in fig. 1.
Claim 17. An image processing apparatus, comprising an image processing controller, and an image processing display, a remote control of the image processing apparatus by user operations on a network terminal through a server being enabled,
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
displaying a first display screen on the image processing display; generating first screen data that indicates the first display screen, the first screen data enabling the network terminal display to display the first display screen; transmitting the first screen data to the server and displaying the first display screen on the network terminal based on the first screen data received from the server; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0026 and 0035-0039] “In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10… the CPU 11 displays the home screen on the LCD 16. FIG. 12 shows an example of the home screen P1. The home screen P1 includes button images B1 to B3. The button images B1 to B3 are images respectively for accepting an execution instruction for a FAX process, a copy process, and a scan process.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may generate and display home screen button images B1-B3 and keys K1-K3 as screen data displayed on the home screen 16 as shown in fig. 12,
displaying a second display screen instead of the first display screen on the image processing display, the second display screen being a screen changed from the first display screen; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to the user click action on button B1, the MFP may generate a second screen (P2) by switching from first screen (P1) and may transmit the second screen (P2) as PV2 (the second screen on the terminal) as shown in fig. 15,
generating second screen data that indicates the second display screen when the second display screen is displayed on the image processing display, the second screen data enabling the network terminal display to display the second display screen; and MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to the user click action on button B1, the MFP may generate a second screen (P2) by switching from first screen (P1) and may transmit the second screen (P2) as PV2 (the second screen on the terminal) as shown in fig. 15,
transmitting the second screen data to the server and displaying the first display screen on the network terminal based on the first screen data received from the server. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. All receiving and transmitting actions between the terminal and the MFP may be implemented via the web server as shown in fig. 15.
Claim 18. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium containing computer-executable instructions to be executed by a controller of a terminal, the computer-executable instructions including a remote control program, the terminal including a terminal display and an arithmetic unit, the terminal being configured to perform remote control of an image processing apparatus by a user operation through the server, the remote control program causing, when executed by the controller, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0021-0032 and 0035] “The image processing system 1 includes a multifunction peripheral (hereinbelow termed “MFP”) 10, and a terminal 200 configured capable of communicating with the MFP 10… the MFP 10 functions as a Web server, and the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 functions as a client. One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the remote control system may comprise a multifunction peripheral (MFP) as the image processing apparatus, terminal 200 as the at least one network terminal, and web server integrated with the MFP. The MFP may comprise LCD 16 having touch panel 17 as the MFP display and the terminal may comprise LCD 216 having touch panel 217 as the terminal 200 display, as shown in fig. 1, the arithmetic unit to perform operations comprising:
receiving first screen data indicating a first display screen displayed on an image processing display of the image processing apparatus from the server, the first screen data enabling the terminal display to display the first display screen; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0026 and 0035-0039] “In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10… the CPU 11 displays the home screen on the LCD 16. FIG. 12 shows an example of the home screen P1. The home screen P1 includes button images B1 to B3. The button images B1 to B3 are images respectively for accepting an execution instruction for a FAX process, a copy process, and a scan process.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may generate and display home screen button images B1-B3 and keys K1-K3 as screen data displayed on the home screen 16 as shown in fig. 12,
displaying the first display screen on the terminal display based on the first screen data; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0035] “One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client. In the technique described herein, a screen including identical contents as a screen displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 can be displayed with the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 as a “virtual screen”. Further, operations inputted to the virtual screen of the browser app 212b can be inputted to the MFP 10.” And in [0087] “the CPU 11 displays a remote control screen on the LCD 216. FIG. 14 shows an example of a remote control screen C1. The remote control screen C1 includes a virtual screen PV1 and virtual key images KV1 to KV3. In the example of FIG. 14, the virtual screen PV1 is a screen with identical contents as the home screen P1 in FIG. 12. Each of the virtual key images KV1 to KV3 is an image corresponding to one of the STOP key K1 to HOME key K3.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the MFP may be configured to transmit the MFP home screen to be received and displayed on the terminal 200 via the web server. Terminal 200 may display virtual remote control screen C1 as the first screen data terminal 200 may receive from the web server as shown in fig. 14,
receiving, from the server, second screen data enabling the terminal display to display a second display screen displayed on the image processing display of the image processing apparatus instead of the first display screen, the second screen data indicating the second display screen changed from the first display screen; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to the user click action on button B1, the MFP may generate a second screen (P2) by switching from first screen (P1) and may transmit the second screen (P2) as PV2 (the second screen on the terminal) as shown in fig. 15, and
displaying the first display screen on the terminal display instead of the second display screen based on the second screen data. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550)… The MFP 10 sends the http(s) response including these various scripts, and the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 to the terminal 200 (S310).” (emphasis added) examiner note: in response to the user click action on button B1, the MFP may generate a second screen (P2) by switching from first screen (P1) and may transmit the second screen (P2) as PV2 (the second screen on the terminal) as shown in fig. 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAKI as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Fukahori (US 2012/0102420).
Claim 4. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated, wherein the image processing controller is configured to:
perform a change identifying process of identifying whether the second display screen is the second display screen changed from the first display screen in response to the touch event information or the second display screen is the second display screen changed from the first display screen in response to information other than the touch event information; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550). Further, the MFP 10 stores the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 in the RAM 13 (S560). The MFP 10 sends the http(s) cgi response including the screen update script to the terminal 200 (S570). The terminal 200 receives this http(s) cgi response (S1120).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the received touch press (B1) at screen (P1) on the MFP may indicate change identifying process to switch screen (P1) to screen (P2) as shown in fig. 15,
when, in the change identifying process, the second display screen is the second display screen changed from the first display screen in response to the touch event information, generate the second screen data in the second generating process and transmit the generated second screen data to the server in the third transmitting process; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0068-0071 and 0098-0100] “When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550). Further, the MFP 10 stores the screen data of the FAX sending screen P2 in the RAM 13 (S560). The MFP 10 sends the http(s) cgi response including the screen update script to the terminal 200 (S570). The terminal 200 receives this http(s) cgi response (S1120).” (emphasis added) examiner note: the received touch press (B1) at screen (P1) on the MFP may indicate change identifying process to switch screen (P1) to screen (P2) as shown in fig. 15, and
MIYAZAKI does not explicitly disclose
when, in the change identifying process, the second display screen is the second display screen changed from the first display screen in response to the information other than the touch event information, not perform the second generating process and the third transmitting process. However, OKUNO, in an analogous art, teaches in [0046, 0137 and 0147] “it is determined whether the event qualifies for a feed tracked update. In one embodiment, a predefined list of events (e.g. as mentioned herein) can be created so that only certain actions are identified. In one embodiment, an administrator (or other user) of a tenant can specify the type of actions (events) for which a feed tracked update is to be generated.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the predefined list of events, which may be defined by an administrator, may be utilized to identify to which action to respond and to which action not to respond. For example, the system may respond to remote action to change screen (P1) to screen (P2) and may not respond to action to change color or shape of a button image as indicated by MIYAZAKI in [0069]. And since an action not in the predefined list of action is received, the system may not respond to it by generating and transmitting the action. In other words, the system may ignore actions not in the list of predefined actions.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MIYAZAKI with the teaching of Fukahori because “a configuration that changes a color of the button image, or a configuration that changes a shape of the button image to a shape” may not be important or not useful to a client user wants to perform remote printing or scanning functions. Therefore, not responding to actions that change color and/or shape of a button image would save resources.
Claim 5. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 4 is incorporated,
wherein the image processing display of the image processing apparatus is a touch screen panel, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0024] “The MFP 10 is provided with a CPU 11, a flash memory 12, a RAM 13, input keys 15, an LCD 16, a touch panel 17, a scanner 18, a printer 19, an NCU 20, a modem 21, and a wireless communication module 23.” (emphasis added),
wherein the image processing apparatus further comprises a plurality of operation keys configured to receive a pressing operation, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0039] “the CPU 11 displays the home screen on the LCD 16. FIG. 12 shows an example of the home screen P1. The home screen P1 includes button images B1 to B3. The button images B1 to B3 are images respectively for accepting an execution instruction for a FAX process, a copy process, and a scan process.” (emphasis added),
wherein each of the first display screen and the second display screen includes a liquid crystal display screen of the touch screen panel and icons of the plurality of keys, MIYAZAKI teaches in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added), and
wherein the touch event information includes at least one of coordinate position information of the pressing operation on the liquid crystal display screen or pressed key information indicating which icon of the plurality of keys is operated by the pressing operation. , MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042] “The screen press information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed by a remote operation from the terminal 200. The press coordinate information is information indicating the pressed position on the home screen P1. When an affirmative determination is made in S30 (S30: YES), the CPU 11 proceeds to S40.” And in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added).
Claim 6. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 5 is incorporated, wherein the image processing controller is configured to:
perform a machine-operation receiving process of receiving an input operation to the touch screen panel or the plurality of keys; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042] “The screen press information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed by a remote operation from the terminal 200. The press coordinate information is information indicating the pressed position on the home screen P1. When an affirmative determination is made in S30 (S30: YES), the CPU 11 proceeds to S40.” And in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added),
perform a machine-event generating process of generating the touch event information corresponding to the input operation received in the machine-operation receiving process; MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042] “The screen press information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed by a remote operation from the terminal 200. The press coordinate information is information indicating the pressed position on the home screen P1. When an affirmative determination is made in S30 (S30: YES), the CPU 11 proceeds to S40.” And in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added), and
in the third displaying process, display the second display screen changed from the first display screen on the image processing display in response to the touch event information generated in the machine-event generating process. MIYAZAKI teaches in [0042] “The screen press information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed on the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed by a remote operation from the terminal 200. The press coordinate information is information indicating the pressed position on the home screen P1. When an affirmative determination is made in S30 (S30: YES), the CPU 11 proceeds to S40.” And in [0098-0100] “the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 is displaying the home screen P1 in which the button image B1 in the pressed configuration… When the http(s) cgi request is received (S50: YES), the MFP 10 switches the screen to be displayed to the FAX sending screen P2 corresponding to the button image B1 (S550).” (emphasis added).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAKI as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of OKUNO (US 2021/0306488).
Claim 7. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 3 is incorporated,
MIYAZAKI does not explicitly disclose
wherein the server further comprises a server storage, however, OKUNO, in an analogous art, teaches in [0025, 0046, 0048 and 0052] “the server 300 generates an access token which is a unique character string in T164, stores the generated access token in T166, and sends the generated access token to the MFP 10 in T168.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the server may comprise storage component,
wherein the server controller is configured to perform: a first event storing process of storing, in the server storage, the touch event information received in the first event receiving process, further, OKUNO teaches in [0044-0046] “the mobile terminal 200 sends a token request to the MFP 10 in T160. The token request is a command requesting, via the MFP 10, the server 300 to send an access token… the server 300 generates an access token which is a unique character string in T164, stores the generated access token in T166, and sends the generated access token to the MFP 10 in T168.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the command request may be touch event information.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MIYAZAKI with the teaching of OKUNO because “The web server function is a function of sending web page data representing a web page to an external device in response to the external device accessing a web server of the MFP 10… The memory 34 can further store a download print application 38… The download print function is a function of downloading image data stored in the server 300 and printing an image represented by that image data.” OKUNO [0021-0023].
wherein the image processing controller is configured to perform:
a first event query transmitting process of transmitting a query to the server at first particular intervals to check for the existence of the touch event information stored in the server storage, MIYAZAKI, further, teaches in [0035] “the MFP 10 functions as a Web server, and the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 functions as a client. One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client.” And in [0042] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not an http(s) cgi request including screen press information and press coordinate information is received from the terminal 200. The http(s) cgi request is information for requesting the MFP 10, that is the Web server, to execute a program, and to return an execution result of the program to the browser app 212b that is the client.” And in [0048] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not a http(s) cgi request including press-release information and press-release coordinate information is received from the terminal 200. The press-release information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed in the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed and released by remote operations from the terminal 200.” And in [0059] “the CPU 11 executes a process to generate a periodic update script. The periodic update script is a cgi script for instructing the terminal 200 to periodically send an http(s) request that requests for screen data to the MFP 10.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the cgi request may be a query transmitted by the MFP to the terminal via the web server to check for updates, and
wherein the server controller is configured to transmit, in the second event transmitting process, the touch event information stored in the server storage to the image processing apparatus when receiving the query from the image processing controller in the first event query transmitting process. MIYAZAKI, further, teaches in [0035] “the MFP 10 functions as a Web server, and the browser app 212b of the terminal 200 functions as a client. One of characteristics of the technique described herein is that remote control of the MFP 10 using the terminal 200 is enabled by using such a Web server and a client.” And in [0042] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not an http(s) cgi request including screen press information and press coordinate information is received from the terminal 200. The http(s) cgi request is information for requesting the MFP 10, that is the Web server, to execute a program, and to return an execution result of the program to the browser app 212b that is the client.” And in [0048] “the CPU 11 determines whether or not a http(s) cgi request including press-release information and press-release coordinate information is received from the terminal 200. The press-release information is information indicating that a position within the home screen P1 displayed in the LCD 16 of the MFP 10 has been pressed and released by remote operations from the terminal 200.” And in [0059] “the CPU 11 executes a process to generate a periodic update script. The periodic update script is a cgi script for instructing the terminal 200 to periodically send an http(s) request that requests for screen data to the MFP 10.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the cgi request may be a query transmitted by the MFP to the terminal via the web server to instruct the terminal to periodically check for updates.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIYAZAKI as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of OKUNO (US 2021/0306522, hereinafter as OKUNO-2)
Claim 13. The rejection of the remote control system according to claim 12 is incorporated, MIYAZAKI does not explicitly disclose wherein the network terminal controller of the first network terminal is configured to, in the fourth displaying process, display the second display screen in the first mode only in a particular period and not to perform the first operation receiving process in the particular period. However, OKUNO-2, in an analogous art, teaches in [0043, 0052-0053 and 0068] “the MFP 10 does not execute the notification process and the confirmation process during the period of time in which the MFP 10 is in the access inhibited state ST4, even if there is a new enabling… Also in a case where no approval operation is performed within a particular period of time after the screen shown in FIG. 6 is displayed on the LCD module 19 of the MFP 10 (no operation timeout), the screen shown in FIG. 4E is displayed, but the state of the MFP 10 returns to the standby state ST1.” (emphasis added) examiner note: the particular period the terminal may display screen in the first mode may be when the MFP is in standby state or timeout, wherein the second screen may display screen data indicating the MFP is currently in use by someone else as shown in figs. 4 and 5.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of MIYAZAKI with the teaching of Fukahori because “it is a common issue for a device equipped with at least one of the recording device configured to record an image to a medium and the scanning device configured to scan an image on the medium (referred to herein as an image processing device) to improve the convenience of preparing to use the cloud cooperation function.” OKUNO-2 [0004].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/AHAMED I NAZAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178 8/9/2026
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178