DETAILED ACTION
for
FIXING PLATFORM FOR USE WITH INDUSTRIAL ROBOT AND METHOD OF AUTOMATICALLY MEASURING BACKLASH OF GEAR
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024, 04/11/2025 and 01/02/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The Oath/Declaration submitted on 09/19/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show (image capturing module, as cited in claims 7 and 17-18) as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears the “assembly apparatus entity”, “data acquisition apparatus” and the “Inductive sensor” do not have corresponding reference numerals in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5 and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, claim line 8: replace “balancing weight can be clamped between” with -- balancing weight is clamped between—to avoid an indefinite rejection.
Claim 4, claim lines 4-7: replace “the linkage can be accommodated within the gap when the balancing weight is coupled to the securing component such that the balancing weight is supported by the first protrusion” with -- the linkage can be accommodated within the gap when the balancing weight is coupled to the securing component such that the balancing weight is supported by the first protrusion —to avoid an indefinite rejection.
Claim 5, claim line 2: replace “the plunger can be actuated hydraulically” with -- the plunger is actuated hydraulically —to avoid an indefinite rejection.
Claim 11, claim line 2: replace “the plunger can be actuated hydraulically” with -- the plunger is actuated hydraulically —to avoid an indefinite rejection.
Claim 12, claim line 2: replace “the plunger can be actuated hydraulically” with -- the plunger is actuated hydraulically —to avoid an indefinite rejection.
Claim 13, claim line 2: replace “the plunger can be actuated hydraulically” with -- the plunger is actuated hydraulically —to avoid an indefinite rejection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “achieved by means of the fixing platform” in claim 10.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HORIGOME et al. [herein after Horigome] (US 2020/0318726).
Regarding claim 1, Horigome discloses fixing platform (10), having a baseplate (22), a securing component (20) provided on the baseplate (22); a balancing weight (202) coupled to a terminal arm of an industrial robot (200; Fig. 1); and a cylinder (24) provided on the baseplate (22) and adjacent to the securing component (20), having a plunger (34) configured to move along a first direction to
clamp the balancing weight (202) when the balancing weight (202) is coupled to the securing component (20).
Regarding claim 2, Horigome further discloses the securing component (20) having a base part (26) coupled to the baseplate (22); a first protrusion (see annotated Fig. 17) extending from the base part (22); and a second protrusion (see annotated Fig. 17) extending from the base part (26), the second protrusion being spaced from the first protrusion along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction to form a gap between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (see annotated Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 3, Horigome further discloses a plunger face (34, face) towards the first protrusion and the second protrusion, the first protrusion and the second protrusion (see annotated Fig. 17) having a protrusion face towards the plunger (see annotated Fig. 17), the protrusion face being parallel to the plunger face (52), the balancing weight (202) is clamped between the protrusion face and the plunger (52) face when the balancing weight (202) is coupled to the securing component (20).
Regarding claim 4, Horigome further discloses the balancing weight (202) being coupled to the terminal arm of the industrial robot via a linkage, and the linkage is accommodated within the gap when the balancing weight (202) is coupled to the securing component (20) such that the balancing weight (202) is supported by the first protrusion and the second protrusion (see annotated Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 5, Horigome further discloses the plunger (34) is actuated hydraulically (Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 6, Horigome further discloses a base (20) coupled to a stationary body (204), the baseplate (22) is coupled to the base (20).
Regarding claim 8, Horigome further discloses stationary body (204) is the ground (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannitti et al. [herein after Giovannitti] (US 2021/0008712) in view of KOKUBO [herein after Kokubo] (US 2016/0365771).
Regarding claim 9, Giovannitti discloses a method of automatically measuring a backlash of a gear and obtaining the torque and rotated degree of the gear (see abstract); and determining the backlash of the gear based on the torque and the rotated degree (¶0031).
Giovannitti fails to specifically disclose an input shaft and an output shaft; the input shaft being coupled to a motor and the output shaft being coupled to an actuator and securing the output shaft; causing the motor to provide a torque for the input shaft to allow the gear to rotate by a degree under the torque
Kokubo discloses an input shaft and an output shaft (Fig. 10); the input shaft being coupled to a motor (611) and the output shaft being coupled to an actuator (300) and securing the output shaft (Fig. 1); causing the motor (611) to provide a torque for the input shaft to allow the gear to rotate by a degree under the torque “a desired rotational velocity and torque are transmitted to members connected downstream of the output shaft 350”; ¶0057).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field a platform that helps an industrial robot lock itself in place, to modify Giovannitti, to include a input shaft and a output shaft, as taught by Kokubo, for the benefit of providing a device to ensure smooth movements and reduce jamming and failure.
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giovannitti in view of KOKUBO in further view of Horigome.
Regarding claims 10-16, Giovannitti in view of Kokubo discloses securing the output shaft.
Giovannitti in view of Kokubo fails to explicitly discloses fixing platform, a baseplate, a securing component provided on the baseplate; a balancing weight coupled to a terminal arm of an industrial robot; and a cylinder provided on the baseplate and adjacent to the securing component having a plunger configured to move along a first direction to clamp the balancing weight when the balancing weight is coupled to the securing component.
Horigome discloses fixing platform (10), a baseplate (22), a securing component (20) provided on the baseplate (22); a balancing weight (202) coupled to a terminal arm of an industrial robot (200); and a cylinder (24) provided on the baseplate (22) and adjacent to the securing component (20) having a plunger (34) configured to move along a first direction to clamp the balancing weight (202) when the balancing weight (202) being coupled to the securing component (20).
Horigome further discloses the plunger (34) being actuated hydraulically (Fig. 17).
Horigome further discloses a base (20) coupled to a stationary body (204), the baseplate (22) being coupled to the base (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants invention was filed in the field a platform that helps an industrial robot lock itself in place, to modify Giovannitti in view of Kokubo, to include fixing platform, a baseplate, a securing component provided on the baseplate; a balancing weight coupled to a terminal arm of an industrial robot, as taught by Horigome, for the benefit of providing a that supports a reduction gear provided in a robot so as to be rotationally or linearly movable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855