DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication(s) filed 07/24/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/24/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Re claim 9, it is unclear whether “a first power converter station”, “a first transmission line”, and “a power transmission network” is the same or different as “a first power converter station”, “a first transmission line”, and “a power transmission network” recited in claim 1.
Claims 10 and 11 recite the limitation "the first transmission line". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 inherits the same from claim 11.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the power transmission network". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-9, 11, 14, and 15, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuno et al. (“Tsuno”, US 2023/0208134).
Re claim 1, Tsuno teaches an apparatus [Fig 1], comprising: means for regulating a power output of a first power converter station [32, Fig 2, 4] in a DC power transmission network [dc bus 70] in response to a DC voltage at the first power converter station exceeding a first DC voltage threshold, wherein the first DC voltage threshold is variable based on a current direction [i.e., the charging and discharging] through a first transmission line [paragraph 30], wherein the first transmission line couples to the first power converter station [32, Fig 1] to at least a second power station [42, Fig 1].
Re claim 2, Tsuno teaches means [32b] for setting the first DC voltage threshold to one of a plurality of voltage values [paragraph 52].
Re claim 6, Tsuno teaches means [via 40] for determining the current direction [paragraph 31].
Re claim 7, Tsuno teaches wherein the means for determining the current direction comprises a means [via 40] for measuring a current magnitude at one or more locations at an interface between the first power converter station, the first transmission line, and/or a second transmission line [paragraph 31].
Re claim 8, Tsuno teaches means for measuring the DC voltage at the first power converter station [paragraph 52, the bus voltage is at the first power converter station].
Re claim 9, Tsuno teaches a system [Fig 1], comprising: a first power converter station [32] coupled to a first transmission line and at least a second power converter station [42] in a power transmission network [dc bus 70]; and a first controller [32b] for controlling a power output of the first power converter station into the first transmission line, wherein the first controller comprises an apparatus according to claim 1.
Re claim 11, Tsuno teaches wherein the first transmission line is further coupled to the second power converter station [42, Fig 1].
Re claim 14, Tsuno teaches a method [Fig 1], comprising: regulating a power output of a first power converter station [32, Fig 4] in a DC power transmission network [dc bus 70] in response to a DC voltage at the first power converter station exceeding a first DC voltage threshold, wherein the first DC voltage threshold is variable based on a current direction through a first transmission line coupled to the first power converter station [i.e., the charging and discharging] through a first transmission line coupled to the first power converter station [32, Fig 1, paragraph 30] and at least a second power converter station [42, Fig 1].
Re claim 15, Tsuno teaches setting [via 32b] the first DC voltage threshold to one of a plurality of voltage values [paragraph 52].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 10, and 13, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumo in view of Rajapakse et al. (“Rajapakse”, US 2021/0382103).
Re claim 3, Tsumo teaches wherein the means for setting is configured to set the first DC voltage threshold to a first of the plurality of voltage values if the current direction is directed to a DC load [paragraph 31, values are set based on the current as it relates to charging/discharging] but does not teach a grid.
Rajapakse teaches a system for a grid [as described in paragraph 349]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tsuno to include the features of Rajapakse because it is used as a desired form of power delivery, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 4, Tsuno teaches wherein the means for setting is configured to set the first DC voltage threshold to a second of the plurality of voltage values if the current direction is directed from the DC load [paragraph 31, values are set based on the current as it relates to charging/discharging] but does not teach a grid.
Rajapakse teaches a system for a grid [as described in paragraph 349]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tsuno to include the features of Rajapakse because it is used as a desired form of power delivery, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 5, Tsuno teaches wherein the first of the plurality of voltage values is less than the second of the plurality of voltage values [paragraph 30, it is understood that with a variable bus voltage, one value would be less than another value].
Re claim 10, Tsuno teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the first transmission line is further coupled to a direct current power grid.
Rajapakse teaches a system for a grid [as described in paragraph 349]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tsuno to include the features of Rajapakse because it is used as a desired form of power delivery, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 13, Tsuno teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the power transmission network is a symmetrical monopole, an asymmetric monopole, or bipolar transmission network.
Rajapakse teaches a network having a monopole operation [paragraph 425]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tsuno to include the features of Rajapakse because it is used as a desired form of power delivery despite faults, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claim 12, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsumo in view of Peng et al. (“Peng”, EP).
Re claim 12, Tsumo teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the second power converter station is an onshore power converter station and the first power converter station is an offshore power converter station.
Peng teaches a system having an onshore power converter station and an offshore power converter station [paragraph 16]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Tsuno to include the features of Peng because it is used to deliver power to vast area with minimum impact, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “…amended claim 1 describes an apparatus wherein regulation of power output of a power converter station happens "in response to a DC voltage at said first power converter station exceeding a first DC voltage threshold, wherein said first DC voltage threshold is variable based on a current direction through a first transmission line." Tsuno does not describe setting a voltage threshold on the basis of current direction in the transmission line. Although the DC-DC converters in Tsuno can transmit and receive DC power bidirectionally (paragraph [0032]), there is no consideration of bidirectional current flow on the DC bus (70). In fact, Tsuno only considers power flow towards the load (90). In the absence of bidirectional current flow, the skilled person would not consider setting a voltage threshold based on current direction in the DC bus (70).”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0033] of Tsuno teaches two threshold values, such as a charging threshold value and a discharging threshold value. The threshold values are determined as a result of the direction of the current. The claim language “based on” is interpreted as being used as a point from which something can develop. In this case, the charging threshold value is used when the current is flowing to the power converter station and the discharge voltage threshold is used when the current is flowing away from the power converter station. The threshold values are correlated with the direction of the current. Therefore Tsuno teaches the claimed limitation, and rejection is proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838