DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 11/1/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burowski et al. (US 2021/0076163).
Regarding claims 1 and 5:
Burowski discloses an apparatus and method, applied to an initiator (figures; see abstract; see figs 21-22 [apparatus]), comprising:
sending an advertisement poll frame to a responder, wherein the advertisement poll frame is used to indicate measurement parameters supported by the initiator (para 6 [transmitting and receiving devices]; para 62 [ranging settings, are parameters]; para 122, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {Device 1 is the initiator of the ranging exchange and Device 2 is the responder device…}; figure 17 [step 1710 advertising between mobile devices]; para 173 {mobile device can transmit advertisements at a particular rate…}; para 178 [capabilities or settings]; para 187; fig 18 [steps 1801-1805]; para 206-209);
receiving an advertisement response frame from the responder (para 176 {receiving mobile device can also send an advertisement that includes an authentication tag…}[when receiving device send, the initiator receives]; fig 18; para 189 {event could be a detection of an advertisement from a receiving device that is being tracked by the sending device}), wherein the advertisement response frame is used to indicate measurement parameters supported by the initiator and the responder (para 191-193; para 194 {The ranging setup handshake can include the ranging capabilities of the two devices…}; para 195 {ranging capabilities include a number of antennas, location of those antennas (e.g., a relative distances between the antennas), how many antennas to use, encryption protocols, packet format, modes of operation, and supported frequency range...The ranging setup handshake can include a negotiation about how to carry out the ranging…});
sending a first frame to the responder, wherein the first frame is used to trigger ranging or sensing (para 47 {initiate a ranging measurement (operation) … The ranging measurement may be triggered} [initiating raging is triggering ranging]; fig 17 [step 1740, initiate ranging using first wireless protocol]; para 170, 179 {ranging can be initiated using the first wireless protocol}; para 193; figure 18; para 197 [initiate actions]);
sending a first ultra-wideband (UWB) signal to the responder (para 170; figs 17-18; para 180 {ranging can be performed using a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB)}; para 198 {sending device 1810 sends a ranging request message using UWB}); and
receiving a second UWB signal from the responder (para 49,65; para 199 {receiving device 1820 sends ranging response message using UWB…}[means sender/initiator receives]; see figures 1-18);
wherein the first UWB signal and the second UWB signal are used to perform ranging or sensing (para 180 {ranging can be performed using a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB)}; para 200; figures 1,2,15-19; para 231; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 2,6:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the measurement parameters comprise at least one of the following information ([note: optional language requires only one claim element] prior art may be teaching more than one elements): initial channel information (para 7 [the particular communication channel as designated]), UWB measurement channel information (para 62 {ranging settings..}), or physical layer rate information, wherein: the initial channel information is used to indicate a first narrowband channel (para 62 {ranging settings.. frequency ranges… multiple channels}; para 178 {ranging capabilities can include specifying a format for ranging messages between the mobile devices, a frequency range to use}; and throughout disclosure); the UWB measurement channel information is used to indicate a first UWB channel; and the physical layer rate information is used to indicate date rate and a corresponding modulation and mapping manner (and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claims 3,7:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and based on the measurement parameters, sending the first frame on the first narrowband channel to the responder (para 62 {frequency range of the first wireless protocol...}; para 193,201; para 211 {BLE has 40 physical channels in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, each separated by 2 MHz. Bluetooth defines two transmissions types: data and advertising transmissions... Advertising allows devices to broadcast information defining their intentions}; and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claims 4,8:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein based on the measurement parameters, sending the first UWB signal to the responder on the first UWB channel (para 170,180); and receiving the second UWB signal on the first UWB channel from the responder (para 62 {the frequency range can be between 3.1 to 10.6 Gigahertz (GHz) …. one channel at 6.5 GHz another channel at 8 GHz }; figures; para 197-201; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 9:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sender is further configured to report a first measurement result, and the first measurement result comprises all or a part of a result of ranging or sensing (para 197 {turn on a UWB antenna 1822, or multiple UWB antennas}; para 200 [ranging message for determination]; figs 17-18; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 10:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the first frame comprises at least one of the following information ([note: optional language requires only one claim element] prior art may be teaching more than one elements): identifier information of the responder (para 84 [identifier]; para 196 {ranging setup handshake messages can specify a destination address so as not to cause confusion with any other nearby devices.}), information indicating duration of the first UWB signal in each millisecond (para 122,182,193-198,213), information indicating a sequence used by the first UWB signal, information indicating a quantity of segments of the first UWB signal, information indicating a total length of the first UWB signal, or information indicating a feedback type of a result of ranging or sensing (and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 11:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the receiver is further configured to receive a second frame, and the second frame is used to respond to the first frame; and the second frame comprises at least one of the following information ([note: optional language requires only one claim element] prior art may be teaching more than one elements): information indicating duration of the second UWB signal in each millisecond (para 122; para 193-195 {ranging settings, … range measurements to each device (e.g., 25 milliseconds) … devices can agree to start ranging 100 milliseconds (or 90 milliseconds for extra margin) }; para 198,213), information indicating a sequence used by the second UWB signal, information indicating a quantity of segments of the second UWB signal, information indicating a total length of the second UWB signal, or indication information of a measurement periodicity (and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 12:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sender is further configured to send a third frame, and the third frame indicates to start ranging or sensing after first duration after the third frame (para 64 {..packet frame can include a synchronization part and a start frame delimiter, which can line up timing}; para 116-118; figures; para 211 { UWB transmission times is to broadcast the transmission time information}; para 212-216; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 13:
Burowski discloses an apparatus (abstract; figures), comprising:
a receiver, configured to receive an advertisement poll frame, and the advertisement poll frame is used to indicate measurement parameters supported by an initiator (figures 21,22 [transceiver 2208 in fig 22]; para 6; para 62 [ranging settings, are parameters]; para 122 {Device 1 is the initiator of the ranging exchange and Device 2 is the responder device…}; figure 17 [step 1710 advertising between mobile devices]; para 173 {mobile device can transmit advertisements at a particular rate…}; para 178 [capabilities or settings]; para 187; see fig 18 [steps 1801-1805]; para 206-209);
a sender, configured to send an advertisement response frame (para 176 {receiving mobile device can also send an advertisement that includes an authentication tag…}; fig 18; para 189 {event could be a detection of an advertisement from a receiving device that is being tracked by the sending device}), and the advertisement response frame is used to indicate measurement parameters supported by the apparatus and the initiator (para 191-193; para 194 {The ranging setup handshake can include the ranging capabilities of the two devices…}; para 195 {ranging capabilities include a number of antennas, location of those antennas (e.g., a relative distances between the antennas), how many antennas to use, encryption protocols, packet format, modes of operation, and supported frequency range...The ranging setup handshake can include a negotiation about how to carry out the ranging…});
the receiver is further configured to receive a first frame, wherein the first frame is used to trigger ranging or sensing (para 47 {initiate a ranging measurement (operation) … The ranging measurement may be triggered} [initiating raging is triggering ranging]; fig 17 [step 1740, initiate ranging using first wireless protocol]; para 170, 179 {ranging can be initiated using the first wireless protocol}; para 193; figure 18; para 197 [initiate actions]);
the receiver is further configured to receive a first ultra-wideband (UWB) signal (para 170; figs 17-18; para 180 {ranging can be performed using a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB)}; para 198 {sending device 1810 sends a ranging request message using UWB}); and
the sender is further configured to send a second UWB signal (para 49,65; para 199 {receiving device 1820 sends ranging response message using UWB…}; see figures 1-18);
wherein the first UWB signal and the second UWB signal are used to perform ranging or sensing (para 180 {ranging can be performed using a second wireless protocol (e.g., UWB)}; para 200; figures 1,2,15-19; para 231; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 14:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the measurement parameters comprise at least one of the following information ([note: optional language requires only one claim element] prior art may be teaching more than one elements): initial channel information (para 7 [the particular communication channel as designated]), UWB measurement channel information (para 62 {ranging settings..}), or physical layer rate information, wherein: the initial channel information is used to indicate a first narrowband channel (para 62 {ranging settings.. frequency ranges… multiple channels}; para 178 {ranging capabilities can include specifying a format for ranging messages between the mobile devices, a frequency range to use}; and throughout disclosure); the UWB measurement channel information is used to indicate a first UWB channel; and the physical layer rate information is used to indicate date rate and a corresponding modulation and mapping manner (and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claim 15:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the first frame on the first narrowband channel based on the measurement parameters (para 62 {frequency range of the first wireless protocol...}; para 193,201; para 211 {BLE has 40 physical channels in the 2.4 GHz ISM band, each separated by 2 MHz. Bluetooth defines two transmissions types: data and advertising transmissions... Advertising allows devices to broadcast information defining their intentions}; and throughout disclosure).
Regarding claim 16:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the first UWB signal on the first UWB channel based on the measurement parameters (para 170,180;figs); and the sender is further configured to send the second UWB signal on the first UWB channel (para 62 {frequency range can be between 3.1 to 10.6 Gigahertz (GHz).. one channel at 6.5 GHz another channel at 8 GHz}; figs; para 197-201; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 17:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sender is further configured to report a second measurement result, and the second measurement result comprises all or a part of a result of ranging or sensing (para 197 {turn on a UWB antenna 1822, or multiple UWB antennas}; para 200 [ranging message for determination]; figs 17-18; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 18:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the first frame comprises at least one of the following information ([note: optional language requires only one claim element] prior art may be teaching more than one elements): identifier information of the apparatus (para 84 [identifier]; para 196 {ranging setup handshake messages can specify a destination address so as not to cause confusion with any other nearby devices}), information indicating duration of the first UWB signal in each millisecond (para 122,182,193-198,213), information indicating a sequence used by the first UWB signal, information indicating a quantity of segments of the first UWB signal, information indicating a total length of the first UWB signal, or information indicating a feedback type of a result of ranging or sensing (and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 19:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the sender is further configured to send a second frame, and the second frame is used to respond to the first frame; and the second frame comprises at least one of the following information ([note: optional language requires only one claim element] prior art may be teaching more than one elements): information indicating duration of the second UWB signal in each millisecond (para 122; para 193-195 {ranging settings, … range measurements to each device (e.g., 25 milliseconds) … devices can agree to start ranging 100 milliseconds (or 90 milliseconds for extra margin) }; para 198,213), information indicating a sequence used by the second UWB signal, information indicating a quantity of segments of the second UWB signal, information indicating a total length of the second UWB signal, or indication information of a measurement periodicity (and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 20:
Burowski discloses all of the subject matter as described above and wherein the receiver is further configured to receive a third frame, and the third frame indicates to start ranging or sensing after first duration after the third frame (para 64 {..packet frame can include a synchronization part and a start frame delimiter, which can line up timing}; para 116-118; figures; para 211 { UWB transmission times is to broadcast the transmission time information}; para 212-216; and see throughout the disclosure).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reddy et al. (US 20250039638) discloses system and method for time difference of arrival enhancements for ultra-wideband.
Henry et al. (US 20220066010) discloses infrastructure triggering techniques to facilitate secure ultra-wideband (UWB) ranging.
Lu et al. (US 20210392541) discloses method, apparatus, for indicating a connection operation between first terminal and second terminal according to the Qos parameter.
Li et al. (US 20190182770) discloses system and method for data transmission.
Ledvina et al. (US 20190135229) discloses mobile device for communicating and ranging with access control system for automatic functionality.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631