DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dillon US 2013/0041314.
Regarding claim 1, Dillon discloses a steerable catheter handle (Figs. 7-8) comprising: a housing (handle 148, P0028); a first follower (control wire 20a, P0028) disposed in the housing; a second follower (control wire 20b, P0028) disposed in the housing; a first driver (knob 128a, P0028) rotatably coupled to the housing and coupled to the first and second followers, wherein rotation of the first driver moves the first and second followers in opposite directions; a third follower (control wire 20c, P0028) disposed in the housing; a fourth follower (control wire 20d, P0028) disposed in the housing; and a second driver (knob 128b, P0028) rotatably coupled to the housing and coupled to the third and fourth followers, wherein rotation of the second driver moves the third and fourth followers in opposite directions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-10 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,040,174. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent 11,040,174 discloses a steerable catheter handle comprising: a housing (handle, c 20 ln 65); a first follower (first follower, c 20 ln 67) disposed in the housing; a second follower (second follower, c 21 ln 1) disposed in the housing; a first driver (first driver, c 21 ln 2) rotatably coupled to the housing and coupled to the first and second followers, wherein rotation of the first driver moves the first and second followers in opposite directions; a third follower (third follower, c 21 ln 7) disposed in the housing; a fourth follower (fourth follower, c 21 ln 8) disposed in the housing; and a second driver (second driver, c 21 ln 9) rotatably coupled to the housing and coupled to the third and fourth followers, wherein rotation of the second driver moves the third and fourth followers in opposite directions (c 21 ln 11-13).
Claim
11,040,174
Citation
1
1
2
2
3
4
4
5
5
8
6
6
7
7
8
9
9
10
10
12
11
1
12
2
13
4
14
5
15
8
16
6
17
7
18
9
19
10
20
12
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are potentially allowed, subject to the double patenting rejection above.
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but are potentially allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as by addressing the double patenting rejection above.
Reasons for Potential Allowance
The following is an Examiner's statement of reasons for potential allowance: the claims in this application are potentially allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose either singularly or in combination the claimed steerable catheter handle of claims 2-10 and the steerable catheter assembly of claims 11-20.
The closest prior art is Dillon US 2014/0107623 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Dillon fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a steerable catheter handle as claimed, which includes wherein the first driver comprises: a first drive ring; a first drive screw coupled to the first drive ring; and a second drive screw coupled to the first drive ring, in combination with the total structure and function of the steerable catheter handle as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Dillon fails to teach among all the limitations or render obvious a steerable catheter assembly as claimed, which includes a first and second follower, wherein rotation of the first driver moves the first and second followers in opposite directions, and a third and fourth follower, wherein rotation of the second driver moves the third and fourth followers in opposite directions, in combination with the total structure and function of the steerable catheter assembly as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schultheis et al. (Schultheis) US 2019/0038873 A1 Fig. 5 teaches a steering assembly having a drive ring 540 coupled to first and second screws 552 s/f and first and second followers 551 s/f. However, it does not teach a second driver coupled to third and fourth screws and third and fourth followers.
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783