DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/820,837 (reference application) and claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/820,824 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application and the claims of the ‘824 and ‘837 applications all recite a method apparatus that includes monitoring or receiving information on respiratory depression, presenting an opioid user with a challenge based on the monitoring, and initiating injection of an opioid antidote if the challenge is not successfully met.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosinko et al. (US PBPUB 2022/0305202) in view of Ahmed et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0290184).
Regarding claims 1, 10 – 12, and 17, Rosinko discloses a method of detecting and treating in a patient for use in a wearable (e.g. ABSTRACT, ¶ 124, 129, 182), the method comprising:
monitoring the opioid user for respiratory depression utilizing at least one sensor and determining a risk level based on said monitoring (e.g. ¶ 697);
if the risk level determined exceeds a threshold, presenting the opioid user with a challenge (e.g. ¶ 690);
continuing to present the opioid user with the challenge while the risk level is determined to exceed the threshold when the challenge is successfully met (e.g. ¶ 690);
initiating injection of the opioid antidote if it is determined that it is necessary (i.e. the challenge is not successfully met) (e.g. ¶ 807); and
providing a periodic external stimulus to the opioid user after injection of the opioid antidote, said stimulus cancellable thereby (e.g. ¶ 351, 690).
Rosinko fails to teach treating an opioid overdoes in an opioid user, rather treating diabetes. However, Ahmed teaches it is known to treat an opioid overdose in an opioid user using a wearable (e.g. ¶ 60), to present the user with a challenge (e.g. ¶ 277); and to initiate injection of an opioid antidote if it is determined it is necessary (e.g. ¶ 175, 181). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Rosinko with treating an opioid overdose in an opioid user as taught by Ahmed, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using known method to treat a larger population of patients and presenting quick and efficient treatment in an emergency.
Regarding claim 2, Rosinko discloses said at least one sensor comprises at least one of a pulse oximeter sensor, end tidal CO2 sensor, chest wall muscle monitor, capnography, contactless respiratory rate monitor, body temperature monitor, infrared sensor, heart rate monitor, blood pressure monitor, motion sensor, radar based sensor, optical based sensor, acoustic sensor, thermal based sensor, a respiration monitor belt, and a respiratory sensor (e.g. ¶ 237).
Regarding claim 3, Rosinko discloses the step of monitoring, as described above. Ahmed teaches it is known to obtain pulse oximetry information from a pulse oximetry sensor in contact with the user (e.g. ¶ 45). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the monitoring as taught by Rosinko with the obtaining pulse oximetry information as taught by Ahmed, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of effectively determining if a user is having an overdose using a noninvasive and readily available known sensor.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 13, and 18, Rosinko discloses the challenge comprises having the user complete a task on the wearable or a smartphone (e.g. ¶ 141-142), but doesn’t explicitly state the task comprises solving a puzzle, playing a game, pressing a hard key connected to the wearable, pressing a switch connected to the wearable, or pressing a virtual button on the wearable or a mobile station of the opioid user. Ahmed teaches it is known to use a mobile device and require the user to at least press a virtual button on the wearable or a mobile station (e.g. Figs. 24A, 30 and corresponding text). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Rosinko with requiring the user to press a button as taught by Ahmed, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a simple task that anyone with knowledge of a mobile device could perform.
Regarding claim 6, 14, and 19, Rosinko discloses the invention as discussed above, but does not teach that the opioid antidote comprises naloxone, Narcan, naltrexone, nalmefene, buprenorphine, or an opioid antagonist or mixtures thereof. Ahmed teaches it is known to use an opioid antidote that comprises naloxone, Narcan, naltrexone, nalmefene, buprenorphine, or an opioid antagonist or mixtures thereof (e.g. ¶ 173). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Rosinko with treating an opioid overdose in an opioid user as taught by Ahmed, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using known method to treat a larger population of patients and presenting quick and efficient treatment in an emergency.
Regarding claim 7, Rosinko discloses the risk level is adapted to indicate that respiratory depression in the user may be imminent (e.g. ¶ 697).
Regarding claims 8, 15, and 20, Rosinko discloses transmitting information related to at least one of the determined risk level, user medical history, overdose status, and injection status of the opioid antidote to a mobile station of a monitor caregiver (e.g. ¶ 878).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Rosinko discloses requesting pre-authorization for an injection of an opioid antidote from the opioid user and/or a monitor caregiver before opioid use by the opioid user (e.g. ¶ 897).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796