DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim is 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub No.: 20160331128 (“Chuang et al.”)
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 8-9, Chuang et al. discloses an apparatus (10), comprising:
a first panel (14) comprising a plurality of foldable portions (along each side edge, via hinges);
a plurality of plates (12) attachable to the plurality of foldable portions (along each side edge, via hinges) of the first panel (14), wherein the first panel (14) and the plurality of plates (12) are configured to form a first sub-assembly (10) of an article of furniture (best seen in Figs. 1 and 11); and
a second sub-assembly (52) configured to attach to or interface with the first sub- assembly to form the article of furniture, wherein the first sub-assembly (10) and the second sub-assembly (52) correspond to different portions, components, or sub-assemblies of the article of furniture (dresser).
Regarding Claim 2, Chuang et al. discloses wherein the first sub-assembly (10) comprises a cabinet and dresser (as seen in Figs. 1 and 11).
Regarding Claim 3, Chuang et al. discloses wherein the second sub-assembly (52) comprises a drawer (as seen in Fig. 11)
Regarding Claim 8, Chuang et al. discloses wherein the first panel (14) comprises a sheet material (as envisaged in Figs.1 and 11).
Regarding Claim 9, Chuang et al. discloses wherein the sheet material comprises a metallic (as envisaged in Figs.1 and 11).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No.: 2461219 (“LEW”).
Regarding Claim 1, LEW discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a first panel (1) comprising a plurality of foldable portions (each side portion, via hinges 6) ;
a plurality of plates (5) attachable to the plurality of foldable portions (each side portion, via hinges 6) of the first panel (1), wherein the first panel (1) and the plurality of plates (5) are configured to form a first sub-assembly (cabinet) of an article of furniture ; and
a second sub-assembly (shelf or doors) configured to attach to or interface with the first sub- assembly to form the article of furniture, wherein the first sub-assembly (cabinet) and the second sub-assembly (shelf or doors) correspond to different portions, components, or sub-assemblies of the article of furniture (cabinet); Claim
Regarding Claim 2, LEW discloses wherein the first sub-assembly (cabinet) comprises a cabinet.
Regarding Claim 3, LEW discloses wherein the second sub-assembly (doors 9) comprises a drawer 3.
Regarding Claim 5, LEW discloses wherein the second sub-assembly (shelf 26) is insertable into and/or removable from the first sub-assembly (cabinet).
Regarding Claim 6, LEW discloses wherein the plurality of foldable portions (each side portion, via hinges 6) of the first panel correspond to one or more sections or peripheral edges of the first panel (side edges of 1).
Regarding Claim 8, LEW discloses wherein the first panel (1) comprises a sheet material.
Regarding Claim 9, LEW discloses wherein the sheet material comprises a metallic material.
Regarding Claim 10, LEW discloses wherein the plurality of plates (5) are configured to form one or more walls, sides, or surfaces of the first sub-assembly (cabinet) when (i) the plurality of plates are attached to the plurality of foldable portions (foldable portions, via hinges 6) of the first panel (1) and (ii) the plurality of foldable portions (foldable portions, via hinges 6) of the first panel (1) are folded relative to one or more other portions of the first panel (1, via hinges 6).
Regarding Claim 13, LEW discloses further comprising one or more fasteners (hinge 6, as seen in Fig.1) for attaching the plurality of plates (5) to the plurality of foldable portions (foldable portions, via hinges 6) of the first panel (1).
Regarding Claim 14 LEW discloses further comprising one or more rails (14) integrated with or attached to at least one of the plurality of plates (5), wherein the second sub-assembly (shelf 26) is configured to slide along the one or more rails to permit extension or a retraction of the second sub-assembly (shelf 26) relative to the first sub-assembly (cabinet).
Regarding Claim 16, LEW discloses wherein the plurality of plates (5) are attachable to the first panel (1) when the first panel (1) is provided in a flat, unfolded configuration (as seen in Fig.1).
Claims 1-6,10-11, 13-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108338547 (“XU et al.”
Regarding Claim 1, XU et al. discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a first panel (1) comprising a plurality of foldable portions (each side edge, via hinges);
a plurality of plates (11) attachable to the plurality of foldable portions of the first panel (1), wherein the first panel (1) and the plurality of plates (11) are configured to form a first sub-assembly (dresser) of an article of furniture; and
a second sub-assembly drawer box 6) configured to attach to or interface with the first sub- assembly (dresser) to form the article of furniture, wherein the first sub-assembly (dresser) and the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) correspond to different portions, components, or sub-assemblies of the article of furniture.
Regarding Claim 2, XU et al. discloses wherein the first sub-assembly (dresser) comprises a dresser.
Regarding Claim 3, XU et al. discloses wherein the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) comprises a drawer.
Regarding Claim 4, XU et al. discloses wherein the second-sub assembly (drawer box 6) comprises:
a second panel (31) comprising a plurality of foldable portions; and
one or more additional plates (33, 34) attachable to at least one foldable portion of the plurality of foldable portions (each side edge, via hinges 36) of the second panel (31), wherein the second panel (31) and the one or more additional plates (33, 34) are configured to form the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) of the article of furniture.
Regarding Claim 5, XU et al. discloses wherein the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) is insertable into and/or removable from the first sub-assembly (dresser cabinet).
Regarding Claim 6, XU et al. discloses wherein the plurality of foldable portions (each side edge, via hinges) of the first panel correspond to one or more sections or peripheral edges of the first panel (1).
Regarding Claim 10, XU et al. discloses wherein the plurality of plates (11) are configured to form one or more walls, sides, or surfaces of the first sub-assembly (dresser) when (i) the plurality of plates are attached to the plurality of foldable portions of the first panel (1) and (ii) the plurality of foldable portions of the first panel (1) are folded relative to one or more other portions of the first panel (1, via hinges along each side edge).
Regarding Claim 11, XU et al. discloses wherein the one or more additional plates (33, 34) are configured to form one or more walls, sides, or surfaces of the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) when (i) the one or more additional plates (33, 34) are attached to the at least one foldable portion of the plurality of foldable portions (along each side edge) of the second panel (31) and (ii) the at least one foldable portion of the second panel (31) is folded relative to one or more other portions of the second panel (31).
Regarding Claim 13 , XU et al. discloses further comprising one or more fasteners (hinges) for attaching the plurality of plates (11) to the plurality of foldable portions of the first panel (1).
Regarding Claim 14 , XU et al. discloses further comprising one or more rails (12) integrated with or attached to at least one of the plurality of plates (11), wherein the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) is configured to slide along the one or more rails (12) to permit extension or a retraction of the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) relative to the first sub-assembly (dresser cabinet).
Regarding Claim 16 , XU et al. discloses further comprising wherein the plurality of plates (11) are attachable to the first panel (1) when the first panel (1) is provided in a flat, unfolded configuration (the side plates are capable of being attached in the flat, unfolded configuration).
Regarding Claim 17, XU et al. discloses wherein the one or more additional plates (33, 34) are attachable to the second panel (31) after at least one foldable portion of the second panel (31) is folded relative to one or more other portions of the second panel (31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims19-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over CN 108338547 (“XU et al.”)
Regarding Claim 19, XU et al. discloses a method, comprising:
(a) attaching a plurality of plates (11) to a plurality of foldable portions (each side edge, via hinges) of a first panel (1), wherein the first panel (1) and the plurality of plates (11) are configured to form a first sub-assembly (dresser) of an article of furniture when the plurality of plates (11) are folded relative to the first panel (1); and
(b) attaching a second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) of the article of furniture to the first sub- assembly (dresser) to form the article of furniture, wherein the first sub-assembly (dresser) and the second sub-assembly correspond to different portions, components, or sub-assemblies of the article of furniture.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that of the invention to assemble and use the article of furniture according to the method steps set forth above, since XU et al. discloses the claimed invention of claim 19 such method steps would occur during the ordinary course using the article of furniture, see MPEP 2112.02
Regarding Claim 20, XU et al. discloses further comprising, prior to (b), forming the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) of the article of furniture by attaching one or more additional plates (33, 34) to at least one foldable portion of a plurality of foldable portions of a second panel (31).
Regarding Claim 21, XU et al. discloses wherein the second panel (31) and the one or more additional plates (33, 34) are configured to form the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) of the article of furniture when the at least one foldable portion (along each side edge) of the second panel (31) is folded relative to one or more other portions of the second panel (31).
Regarding Claim 22, XU et al. discloses wherein the plurality of foldable portions (along each side edge) of the first panel (1) correspond to one or more sections or peripheral edges of the first panel (1).
Regarding Claim 23 XU et al. discloses wherein the plurality of plates (11) are attachable to the first panel (1) when the first panel (1) is provided in a flat, unfolded configuration (the side plates are capable of being attached in the flat, unfolded configuration)
Regarding Claim 25, XU et al. discloses wherein the first sub-assembly (dresser) comprises a cabinet and the second sub-assembly (drawer box 6) comprises one or more drawers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637